Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

[RELEASE] WimToolBatches


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 November 2009 - 07:59 PM

psc has made a little great tool, WimCaptEx.exe, that allows to use the Windows 7 .wim mounting tools under XP:
http://nativeex.boot...x/WimCaptEx.htm
:dubbio:

I just made a few batches to easen the use of the thingy and without using Winbuilder.


Attached WimToolBatches, now with:
w_create.cmd	  <- to create an image

w_install.cmd	 <- to install the set of files and services &#40;uses wimtools.inf&#41;

w_mount.cmd	   <- to mount an image

w_test.cmd		<- to test the state of the service

w_uninstall.cmd   <- to uninstall the service 

w_unmount.cmd	 <- to mount an image

wimtools.inf	  <-.inf install file, you can right click in Explorer and Install

Add in the same directory (stoopidly long paths with spaces in it NOT tested):

wimgapi.dll

wimmount.sys

wimserv.exe

and of course :) :
WimCaptEx.exe
from:
http://nativeex.boot...x/WimCaptEx.htm

Please note that a suitable source for the Windows 7 files is this stoopidly long path (but without spaces :():

\sources\boot.wim\2\Windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-wimgapi_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_88d1f88d76321f27\
\sources\boot.wim\2\Windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-wimgapi_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_88d1f88d76321f27\wimserve.exe
\sources\boot.wim\2\Windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-wimgapi_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_88d1f88d76321f27\wimgapi.dll
\sources\boot.wim\2\Windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-wimgapi_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_88d1f88d76321f27\wimmount.sys


WARNING:
This is NOT a joke, use the batches at your own risk, they could hose your system in no time. :cheers:
They are at this moment VERY experimental, don't come here whining about an unbootable system, I told you. :w00t:

However reports from the bravehearts (or more experienced peeps around) are welcome. ;)

The (very little testing) has been carried on x86 ONLY, I have no idea if the batches will work on x64, nor if they can be easily adapted to it.
(this seems like work for Lancelot ;) )

Development/historical thread here:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=9658&hl=

;)

jaclaz

Attached Files



#2 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 22 November 2009 - 09:26 PM

(this seems like work for Lancelot :cheers: )

Sorry for late response, batches working fine on x64 (no waik installed etc ;>) :dubbio:

Jaclaz, you are the ultimate batcher I know, I have a suggestion for your further batches if you like,

Here is the story:
To use batches easly on different platforms, I always pack required files of specific architecture.
So, In addition to the batches and psc's tool, I add sfx archive files to the batch folder.
wimgapi.dll_wimmount.sys_wimserv.exe-amd64-KB3AIK_EN.exe
wimgapi.dll_wimmount.sys_wimserv.exe-x86-KB3AIK_EN.exe
WimCaptEx_x64.sfx.exe (includes WimCaptEx.exe)
WimCaptEx_x86.sfx.exe (includes WimCaptEx.exe)

Another workaround i do not use is having a w_Add_Arch_Files.cmd with:
copy /y "%~dp0%PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE%\*.*" "%~dp0"

Here is the suggestion:
Maybe you may decide to use %PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE% folder (%~dp0%PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE%\) for tasks in batches , than all a user would need is to provide required files to AMD64 and x86 (and maybe ia64) folders...



This is only a suggestion :w00t: if you like (If you do not like, please ignore suggestion part of this post) , I hope this do not cause a strong Mediterranean wind From Italy to Izmir :cheers: , I am verry happy with your batches and with the sfx workaround I use. Thanks a lot for providing them :( :cheers:

#3 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 November 2009 - 08:37 AM

If you are game, we can leave everything "as is" and modify just the .inf file. :dubbio:

I'll have to study a bit the part about x86 and x64, but I seem to remember that it is very possible to have the .inf run only the "architecture" section.

Of course, all I can do is transform the now "only" part to the x86 part and create a "tentative" x64, up to you the actual testing.

Or create a separate x64 .inf ?

I am also (slowly) working towards a "real" install.inf.....one that puts an entry in "installed apps" and that has an uninstall entry.

As you migth know the information on .inf files is (at the best) incomplete, very bad organized, controversial and all in all lacking real examples.

I just re-discovered a good ol' tool that is windows 9x oriented, but that still has a few very nice tricks up it sleeves, WillyPad:
http://snoopy81.ifrance.com/

Any objection to using advpack.dll instead of setupapi.dll?

:cheers:

jaclaz

#4 felix

felix

    Member

  • Members
  • 55 posts
  • Location:In the BOOT
  • Interests:Sports
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 November 2009 - 10:51 AM

thnx for the batches.

here's something that can help you with INF's :

OSR Online

Device and Driver Installation Reference

I'm really busy with my thesis right now so I can't help you much guys..

:dubbio:

#5 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 November 2009 - 05:16 PM

thnx for the batches.

here's something that can help you with INF's :

OSR Online

Device and Driver Installation Reference

I'm really busy with my thesis right now so I can't help you much guys..

:dubbio:


Good. :cheers:
EXACTLY two (among many other places) to which I was referring to as:

information on .inf files is (at the best) incomplete, very bad organized, controvrsial and all in all lacking real examples.


:w00t:

jaclaz

#6 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 23 November 2009 - 06:07 PM

Sorry for late response, batches working fine on x64 (no waik installed etc ;>)


Are we seeing here some possible "light at the end of the tunnel" for some of the much larger "dead end" issues arising from PE2/3's current reliance on certain "proprietary" aspects of earlier development work? :w00t:

Or am I reading too much into this announcement? :dubbio:

#7 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 23 November 2009 - 06:10 PM

"light at the end of the tunnel"

I am not very sure since I am very inexperienced with pe2/pe3 builds, check here for a light :dubbio:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=9753&hl=




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users