Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

[script]PENetwork


  • Please log in to reply
735 replies to this topic

#1 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 18 January 2007 - 10:59 PM

Hi everybody,

here you can find the current information about my "PENetwork"-manager project - primary for LiveXP, Win7PE, Win8PE and Win10PE systems.

The current version you can always download from 'my' personal website (http://penetwork.bplaced.net).

At the moment the most time I'm writing on PENM itself.
However, some older WinBuilder scripts for LiveXP and VistaPE you can still find there.

If you have any questions, suggestions or problems just let me know.

Tested by others and me with Win10, Win8.1, Win7 / Vista / XP / W2K3-source and VMWare / VirtualBox / QEmu / RealWorld - thank you all very much :)

Greets...
Holger

Latest beta:

01.11.2016 (PENM 0.59 Beta 4)

 

Latest stable:
31.01.2014 (PENM 0.58.2):

- Changed: Recompiled with AutoIt3.3.0.0 to better work with virus scanners
No functional change!

 

Note!: network browsing doesn't work in QEMU by default cause of the buildin firewall

History:

Spoiler


Script-screenshot:
PENMScript-Mini.jpg

Screenshots of PENM at work:

Latest beta:

PENMCurrentBeta.gif

 

Latest stable:

PENMCurrent.gif

Dark color scheme:
PENM09-Mini.jpg
 



#2 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4138 posts

Posted 18 January 2007 - 11:46 PM

1.jpg
:P :P
Thanks for the release.


When you click on the ok button it doesnt close the PE Network Manager. I used the x close button to close the PE Net Manager.


Excellent! it works.
2.jpg

#3 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 18 January 2007 - 11:54 PM

When you click on the ok button it doesnt close the PE Network Manager.

One of the: "not all features enabled" / "bug fixing" :P

#4 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4138 posts

Posted 18 January 2007 - 11:58 PM

One of the: "not all features enabled" / "bug fixing" :P


Yeah! Thats why Im reporting it. Not a bad bug but hey its the first one I saw. Atleast I can browse using this method. :P

We are off to a great start.

Tested on nativeEx Project using Winbuilder53 beta 14. I had to add Vmware Scripts from LiveXP Project.

#5 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4138 posts

Posted 19 January 2007 - 12:30 AM

It works under LiveXP also.
LiveXp.jpg

#6 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10448 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 January 2007 - 10:11 AM

houston, we have lift off.. :P

will get a test machine and try it out on real hardware too! :P

Great work! :P

#7 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10448 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 January 2007 - 05:35 PM

Holger, just tested PEnetwork - unfortunately my portuguese source is still not compatible (shell32.dll issue) so it auto-started the detection of qemu's NIC - should be fixed soon..

Your script is very complete - really adds most needed tools, ipconfig still complained about a missing netshell.dll

Will also test phox's driverpack to see if it adds the missing dll.

A suggestion
: can you make PEnetwork support multi-language through an INI style file?

This would really help others who don't understand english.

Excellent work - Thanks for this release! :P

#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 January 2007 - 05:56 PM

Your script is very complete - really adds most needed tools, ipconfig still complained about a missing netshell.dll

Will also test phox's driverpack to see if it adds the missing dll.


During my first troubles I tried to bring ipconfig to run.
There is not only netshell.dll.
I remember about 10 files to be copied to the target, until ipconfig gave no error message.
But it still did not work ...

So I decided: Let's wait for Holger's release.

Peter

#9 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 22 January 2007 - 06:29 PM

I have no problems at all with making LiveXP and nativeEx
RAMBoot builds with FBWF (RamDisk letter “B”), USB Support,
SATA drivers and PENetwork with 15 MB of Net drivers.

With my standard rescue application set (6.9 MB) and very heavy
UPXing size of both RAMBoot builds is 60.2 MB. Without SATA and
Network support size of builds is 38.6 MB!!!

Source is English XPSP2 and I have done successful testing in
qEmu and all four of my home PCs.

I have just corrected PENetvork StartMenu shortcut (typing error).

#10 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 22 January 2007 - 06:58 PM

@Nuno/Peter: there will an extra option for using "ipconfig" and "ping" with some more details (like the one which is already there) - these tools will not be included by default (simple ping is now build'in).

@Nuno: the language is already changable with a 'language-ini' - but not completed with all strings (cause there are always some new at this time) - so I didn't publish it (the german sample).

Next update I plan at the end of this week (hopefully, maybe a little bit earlier :P )
So long...
Holger

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 January 2007 - 07:05 PM

@Nuno: the language is already changable with a 'language-ini' - but not completed with all strings (cause there are always some new at this time) - so I didn't publish it (the german sample).


That will be the first INTL application here :P
Besides what I'm trying with nativeEX this is the second part of an 'universal' product! :P

BTW @Nuno: What about a script command to read strings from <script>_<language>.ini?

Peter

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10448 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 January 2007 - 09:21 AM

Do you mean adding support for non-english speakers?

Why not? Perhaps a good approach would be using a standard table of values and then replace the values with the ones corresponding on each language - but inside the script engine this would likely increase the dosage of variables and make other scripts be like tweaks and settings regarding vars - really intensive use..

This is actually a matter of optimizing this process, I'll be trying to improve this soon - Adding language support on winbuilder itself would also be good - these are nice ideas to work on.. :P

#13 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 January 2007 - 06:58 AM

Hi. 1st just want to thank Holger for his fine efforts.
The 'localization' is stored in NETTCPIP.INF & NETMSCLI.INF
The 1st time I ran this script it failed to get IP and DHCP services running using Server 2k3 r2. I was supprised as it looked to be well thought out and organized, I now know why.
Tonight I decided to test Holgers INF patch section in my own script just for kicks, it currently either extracts INFs (from srv2k3) that work on all builds or copies the users if supplied.
Using Server 2k3 networking didn't start. However, using XPSP2 it did. It seems the Server INFs are a little different and the script was designed to modify English INFs from XPSP2. Hopefully the INFs from Server 2k3 can be taken in to account (Server 2k3 INFs will work for XPSP2). Updating the INF sections is certainly the cleanest way to complete this task, It may not display services correctly in other languages though.
-keep up the great work... -t

#14 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 24 January 2007 - 09:06 AM

Thanks thuun for information.
Will do some tests later in the evening with 2k3.
The language thing was one that I did expect.

Can you or another one please send me one of the localized inf-files per PM in your language?
English and German I have by myself so I don't need them.

Thanks and greets :P
Holger

#15 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 January 2007 - 10:07 PM

Thanks thuun for information.
Will do some tests later in the evening with 2k3.
The language thing was one that I did expect.

Can you or another one please send me one of the localized inf-files per PM in your language?
English and German I have by myself so I don't need them.

Thanks and greets :P
Holger


If you can develop a patch for multiple languages, I'd really be impressed. Having the user supply those two infs may be the most full proof way to get it to work, so...guess I'll stick with that.
I was thinking about something earlier today... Wouldn't it be nice if there was a tool that would convert a text file into 'script' code so developers could recreate the file line by line at build time, making changes as nessessary? It wouldn't be hard to parse and write the lines one by one, just a thought, maybe there's already something, dunno. Anyway, rock on. :P

#16 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10448 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 January 2007 - 11:56 PM

...
Wouldn't it be nice if there was a tool that would convert a text file into 'script' code so developers could recreate the file line by line at build time, making changes as nessessary? It wouldn't be hard to parse and write the lines one by one, just a thought, maybe there's already something, dunno. Anyway, rock on. :P


Yes, it was added already - look inside the latest beta 14 - there's a new section called "Tools" where you find a file converter wich can be used for bartPE plugins and plain text files just as you've mentioned.

bartPE support is still quite incomplete, but text convert works good enough.. :P

#17 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 January 2007 - 04:02 AM

Awsome.

#18 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 January 2007 - 06:39 AM

To reduce the size, it will be nice to have network drivers
heavily compressed and during booting automatically
selected and activated only drivers needed for that PC.

I hope that it would be possible to make Script in that fashion!

#19 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 25 January 2007 - 11:32 AM

@pohx: You mean like a "take the driver from a cab-file"-thing, don't you?
The problem is, that the drivers has to be in the system32\drivers-directory.

However, does anyone has a non-ansi-Windows-version and can provide me a localized version of the file "nettcpip.inf" (english and german I have by myself)?
Yesterday I tried some things with a small selfcreated cmdline "inipatch" which also supports unicode writing.
There is still a problem with adding a string like "initwritetextline"...

Thanks and greets :P
Holger

#20 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 25 January 2007 - 01:58 PM

@pohx: You mean like a "take the driver from a cab-file"-thing, don't you?
The problem is, that the drivers has to be in the system32\drivers-directory.


Exactly!
It is just important to have them in compressed form.

#21 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 25 January 2007 - 02:15 PM

Exactly!
It is just important to have them in compressed form.

As i said before, not cab, zip! If we add the 'build in zip functionality' then there is no difference between a folder and a zip archive to windows. Alternatively maybe one could upx all the files and drivers?

:P

#22 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 27 January 2007 - 04:43 AM

New version available (see first post).
The language thing is one open thing I hope to manage when I have finished the "inipatch"-cmdline utility.
Greets and happy testing :P
Holger

#23 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 27 January 2007 - 09:40 AM

New version available (see first post).
The language thing is one open thing I hope to manage when I have finished the "inipatch"-cmdline utility.
Greets and happy testing :P
Holger


Initial testing in qEmu on LiveXP made from English XPSP2 with WB5314:

1. The same problem with StartMenu shortcut as before.

2. If you answer “OK” after detection the connection closes!

3. Automatic detection is now working but not properly: in order to let
explorer to finish showing the shortcuts it is necessary to answer “OK”
after detection and then there is the problem from point 2.

#24 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 27 January 2007 - 11:18 AM

@phox: thanks for info :P
Now I understand.
Will check now where the problem is...

#25 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 January 2007 - 11:30 AM

I1. The same problem with StartMenu shortcut as before.


This is an issue of the script engine. See here

Peter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users