Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

WimCaptEx: WIM handling w/o WAIK


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 November 2009 - 06:17 PM

Preface: This is valid when using a x86 host and a x86 source CD. On other combinations I'm working (@Lancelot: including %SourceArch% etc. :w00t: )
  • Optional: To be sure that this method works, uninstall your WAIK, if you do not necessarily need it for other tasks (I did so)
  • Put a Win7 x86 DVD into your DVD drive
  • Extract wimgapi.dll and wimmount.sys to your host
    :thumbup: :dubbio: How to extract from a WIM, when you do not have a WAIK?
    :( 7z can do it:
    ShellExecute,Hide,%Tools%\7z,"e -y #$q-o%WindowsDir%\System32#$q -r #$q%SourceDir%\sources\boot.wim#$q #$q%WimIndexBoot%\Windows\System32\wimgapi.dll#$q"
    
    		ShellExecute,Hide,%Tools%\7z,"e -y #$q-o%WindowsDir%\System32\Drivers#$q -r #$q%SourceDir%\sources\boot.wim#$q #$q%WimIndexBoot%\Windows\System32\drivers\wimmount.sys#$q"
  • Register wimmount.sys as service:
    RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT,NextInstance,1
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,Service,wimmount
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,Legacy,1
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,ConfigFlags,0
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,Class,LegacyDriver
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,ClassGUID,{8ECC055D-047F-11D1-A537-0000F8753ED1}
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000,DeviceDesc,wimmount
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000\Control,*NewlyCreated*,0
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000\Control,ActiveService,wimmount
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Type,2
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Start,3
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,ErrorControl,1
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Tag,5
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x2,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,ImagePath,system32\DRIVERS\wimmount.sys
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,DisplayName,wimmount
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Group,FSFilter#$sActivity#$sMonitor
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x7,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,DependOnService,FltMgr,
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x7,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,DependOnGroup,
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,Description,Wim#$sMounting#$sDriver
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount,DebugFlags,0
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Instances,DefaultInstance,Wimmount#$sInstance
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Instances\Wimmount Instance,Altitude,180700
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Instances\Wimmount Instance,Flags,0
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x3,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Security,Security,01,00,14,80,90,00,00,00,9c,00,00,00,14,00,00,00,30,00,00,
    
     	00,02,00,1c,00,01,00,00,00,02,80,14,00,ff,01,0f,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,01,
    
       00,00
    
     	,
    
     	00,00,02,00,60,00,04,00,00,00,00,00,14,00,fd,01,02,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,
    
       05,12
    
     	,
    
     	00,00,00,00,00,18,00,ff,01,0f,00,01,02,00,00,00,00,00,05,20,00,00,00,20,02,
    
       00,00
    
     	,
    
     	00,00,14,00,8d,01,02,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,0b,00,00,00,00,00,18,00,fd,
    
       01,02
    
     	,
    
     	00,01,02,00,00,00,00,00,05,20,00,00,00,23,02,00,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,
    
       12,00
    
     	,
    
     	00,00,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,05,12,00,00,00
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x1,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Enum,0,Root\LEGACY_WIMMOUNT\0000
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Enum,Count,1
    
    			RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,System\CurrentControlSet\Services\wimmount\Enum,NextInstance,1
  • Copy the attached WimCaptEx.exe to %Tools%
Now you can use WimCaptEx.exe to replace ImageX for
  • Mount a WIM's image into a folder
  • Unmount this folder
  • Capture a folder into a WIM
The syntax you can see by starting WimCaptEx.exe without arguments.

Happy testing!

Peter

BTW: Sorry, my insertings of code into the list items do not look nice. Perhaps a topic for the forum's software ...
EDIT: Changed codebox to code to hold the post readable on Firefox

To get the latest information, watch nativeEx forum!

WimCaptEx program: http://nativeex.exec...s/WimCaptEx.zip
WimCaptEx documentation:http://nativeex.exec...x/WimCaptEx.htm

#2 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4199 posts

Posted 09 November 2009 - 03:40 AM

So will you still need to install something to work with Wim Files or will this be automatic somehow?

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 November 2009 - 10:16 AM

So will you still need to install something to work with Wim Files or will this be automatic somehow?

Install manually by executing a WinBuilder script, but only once for the whole life time of your OS.

Peter

#4 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 09 November 2009 - 02:48 PM

So will you still need to install something to work with Wim Files or will this be automatic somehow?

automatic for pe2, pe3 builds.

The advantage is not using imagex which causes troubles (as far as i read),
*imagex with waik 2.0 mounts/dismounts very slow ==> I guess WimCaptEx would be quite faster
*imagex requires right container number ==> I guess WimCaptEx do not
*PE2 PE3 projects requires user to download and install waik ==> with WimCaptEx now there is no such limitation (automatic) :dubbio:

*PE2 PE3 projects admins will love WimCaptEx ===> Yeeeeees :thumbup:

@psc
:thumbup:

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 November 2009 - 03:10 PM

You make me to the super-genious! :thumbup:
May I stop your enthusiasm a bit:

*imagex with waik 2.0 mounts/dismounts very slow ==> I guess WimCaptEx would be quite faster

Theoretically ImageX is always faster when mounting: It uses WimFltr.sys seeing the WIM as file system, and therefore does no physical file move
WimCaptEx really 'Exports' the complete contents.

I do not know why ImageX sometimes needs a long time to mount ( :dubbio: )

*imagex requires right container number ==> I guess WimCaptEx do not

WimCaptEx also needs the container number.
But I wrote an additional tool, which (automagically?) gives the 'appropriate' numbers for the actual boot.wim and install.wim

*PE2 PE3 projects requires user to download and install waik ==> with WimCaptEx now there is no such limitation (automatic) :thumbup:

Part #1 is true, part #2 is possible, but I want to stay on 'manually'. It is done only once for the host (not once for WinBuilder installation or once for project)

Peter

#6 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 November 2009 - 11:58 AM

OK, I am completely failing to understand the usage of the app.

WimCaptEx Program version 2.0.0

Copyright (C) 2009 Peter Schlang





Syntax&#58; WimCaptEx -A&#58;C -W&#58;<wim file> -D&#58;<directory> &#91;-C&#58;{N | X | L}&#93; &#91;-P&#93;

		WimCaptEx -A&#58;M -W&#58;<wim file> -I&#58;<image index> -D&#58;<directory> &#91;-P&#93;

		WimCaptEx -A&#58;U&#91;D&#93; -D&#58;<directory> &#91;-P&#93;



		-A&#58;C >> Capture

		-A&#58;M >> Mount

		-A&#58;U >> Unmount committing changes

		-A&#58;UD >> Unmount discarding changes



		-C&#58;N >> No compression

		-C&#58;X >> XPRESS compression &#40;default&#41;

		-C&#58;L >> LZX compression



		-P >> show progress dots



Press Execute to finish ...


The only thing I can contribute is that this:

Press Execute to finish ...

actually means:

Press Execute Enter to finish ...


If I have a boot.wim in the same directory as WimCaptEx (D:\TESTWIM), what shoud I run to access it?

How it will be mounted?

Can you post a couple of example of usage?

:drunk:

jaclaz

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2009 - 12:28 PM

The syntax is described using a (slightly modified) Backus-Naur Form.
Some main definitions:
  • items in [] are optional
  • items in {}: one and only one of the items separated by the vertical bar | must be choosen
  • <> either a pointer to a new definition, or a "human understandable" expression like "<path>"
The "What happens" description is not provided there. Therefore my personal creation of ">>"

If I made mistakes in describing, please correct.

"Capture" sample
  • Capture (-A:C)
  • Directory (-D:V:\SP)
  • Into Wim file (-W:V:\wb\projects\pscProgs\WimCapt\test.wim)
  • Using LZW compression (-C:L)
  • And Show Progress (-P)
  • -A&#58;C -W&#58;V&#58;\wb\projects\pscProgs\WimCapt\test.wim -D&#58;V&#58;\SP -C&#58;L -P
"Mount" sample
  • Mount (-A:M)
  • Image #1 (-I:1)
  • Of Wim file (-W:V:\wb\projects\pscProgs\WimCapt\test.wim)
  • Into Directory (-D:V:\WIM)
  • And Show Progress (-P)
  • -A&#58;M -W&#58;V&#58;\wb\projects\pscProgs\WimCapt\test.wim -D&#58;V&#58;\WIM -I&#58;1 -P
"Unmount" sample
  • Unmount committing changes (-A:U)
  • Mounted Directory (-D:V:\WIM)
  • And Show Progress (-P)
  • -A&#58;U -D&#58;V&#58;\WIM -P
Currently full paths are needed. It is not yet implemented to define paths relative to the WimCaptEx.exe path.

Order of different switches is not fixed. It can be defined by the user

EDIT:

The post has been made in the development forum. :drunk:

So it adresses developers, and the title intentionally contains the 'pseudo': You need some background, and some personal work to understand.
If you have troubles to understand everything, do not worry.
You do not need the understanding to survive. :)

BTW: thanks for the "Execute" hint. I already changed in my source code.

But I think you agree that this sentence already has been much better than my old one using "Click" :)


Peter

#8 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 November 2009 - 01:16 PM

Well, the syntax is perfectly clear, but I simply cannot understand how it works, or it isn't working for me.

The feedback it gives seems to me non-existant. :drunk:

This is all I can get:
D&#58;\testwim>WimCaptEx.exe -A&#58;M -W&#58;D&#58;\testwim\boot.wim -D&#58;D&#58;\SP -I&#58;1 -P

WimCaptEx Program version 2.0.0

Copyright &#40;C&#41; 2009 Peter Schlang



WimCaptEx.exe -A&#58;M -W&#58;D&#58;\testwim\boot.wim -D&#58;D&#58;\SP -I&#58;1 -P



Using wimgapi.dll version 6.1.7600.16385

Maybe I failed to install the stoopid .sys file properly, can't we have, if this is the case, something actually saying:
ERROR&#58; you stoopid n00b, the wimmount.sys is not correctly installed!

I'll try again later.

jaclaz

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2009 - 01:31 PM

Maybe the missing 'stupid' causes the troubles.

I use the attached WB scripts
Attached File  GetDism.script   43.15KB   1202 downloads
Installs (hopefully) the 'stupid'
Let the options untached, you do not need DISM
Attached File  _ManageWims.script   5.29KB   993 downloads
captures, mounts, unmounts.
If you have success, look into log.html for syntax.

Try this and good luck!

Peter :drunk:

#10 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 November 2009 - 01:41 PM

The whole point of the exercise is understanding how it works, not using one of your .scripts.

The Service is installed and running NOW.

However:
D&#58;\testwim>WimCaptEx.exe -A&#58;M -W&#58;D&#58;\testwim\boot.wim -D&#58;D&#58;\SP -I&#58;1 -P

WimCaptEx Program version 2.0.0

Copyright &#40;C&#41; 2009 Peter Schlang



WimCaptEx.exe -A&#58;M -W&#58;D&#58;\testwim\boot.wim -D&#58;D&#58;\SP -I&#58;1 -P



Using wimgapi.dll version 6.1.7600.16385



..........



D&#58;\testwim>cd ..



D&#58;\>cd sp



D&#58;\SP>dir

 Il volume nell&#39;unità D non ha etichetta.

 Numero di serie del volume&#58; F897-57AC



 Directory di D&#58;\SP



11/11/2009  14.33	<DIR>		  .

11/11/2009  14.33	<DIR>		  ..

			   0 File			  0 byte

			   2 Directory  299.371.425.792 byte disponibili

What should I see instead? :drunk:

jaclaz

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2009 - 02:06 PM

Especially during tests, there sometimes is something left from an aborted test.

wimgapi.dll records mounted wims in [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\wimmount\Mounted Images]
Just delete that in registry.

I have had the some troubles with that after many successful mounts.
The WimMountImage came back 'successfull', no error, but nothing was mounted :drunk:

Peter

#12 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2009 - 02:12 PM

D&#58;\testwim>WimCaptEx.exe -A&#58;M -W&#58;D&#58;\testwim\boot.wim -D&#58;D&#58;\SP -I&#58;1 -P

 WimCaptEx Program version 2.0.0

 Copyright &#40;C&#41; 2009 Peter Schlang

 

 WimCaptEx.exe -A&#58;M -W&#58;D&#58;\testwim\boot.wim -D&#58;D&#58;\SP -I&#58;1 -P

 

 Using wimgapi.dll version 6.1.7600.16385

Here is a 'special' of Billy the Door working:
Depending on the size of the *.wim and depending on the speed of your host for some times nothing happens.
(And I currently do not see a chance to refresh 'progress' during this time)

With a usual boot.wim on my system it is about half a minute.

Maybe you are only not patient enough ........

Peter

#13 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 November 2009 - 02:38 PM

I think this particualr item needs to be slept on for a couple of nights. :)

Thanks anyway. :)

:drunk:

jaclaz

#14 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2009 - 02:44 PM

Just an addon:

When you use Billy the Door's DISM to mount, the same 'nothing happens' occurs for the same time like with WinCaptEx.

Peter

#15 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 November 2009 - 01:59 PM

Still completely UNLIKE solved :), but I would be curious to know if this approach to simplify the command line works.

Could you try using the attached batch and see if it works on your setup?

I am sure I will manage to have the stoopid thingy working before or later, and want to prepare myself for that day. :)

I am perplexed by the trailing backslash in the "target_dir". Should I remove it? :)


Then I will make a w_unmount.cmd and a w_create.cmd one.

:drunk:

jaclaz

Attached Files



#16 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 November 2009 - 08:49 PM

Please give me some time for development!

The WimCaptEx.exe you referr to, has been written in Delphi.

Currently, this app is obsolete, and replaced by WimCaptEx_x86.exe and WimCaptEx_x64.exe, depending on your host OS.
They are written in Visual Studio 2008 Express C.

These apps are 'pre-alpha' and I'm still testing. But giving you a chance to look into them:
Attached File  WimCaptEx.zip   76.34KB   914 downloads
Build of 'some minutes ago'. No opinion whether it runs under all circumstances.

Currently used for test:
//-A&#58;M -W&#58;&#34;Q&#58;\CDs Standard\W7_32_DE_ENT_7600\sources\Boot.wim&#34; -I&#58;2 -D&#58;&#34;V&#58;\wb\wb debug\Temp\Win7RescuePE\Boot&#34; -P

  //-A&#58;UD -D&#58;&#34;V&#58;\wb\wb debug\Temp\Win7RescuePE\Boot&#34; -P

BTW: If necessary, a quick and dirty method to unmount 'locked' WIMs:
  • Remove the registry key in [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\wimmount\Mounted Images]
  • Use cmd window (Explorer may bring errors) and
    RMDIR /s /q <mounted directory>
    Maybe a reboot is necessary to finally remove :drunk:
    @backslash: That does not bring any troubles inside WB scripts using this syntax.
    If there are issues in CMD, let me know. I can try to modify.
  • In my logic, a file path consists of:
  • Directory
  • NO backslash
  • File name
Because between Directory and File there is no backslash, the backslash must be part of 'Directory'
Peter

#17 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 November 2009 - 10:00 AM

I will continue experimenting.
I had mixed successes and failures, deleting keys, directories and what not +re-booting in my book means that the method/app is NOT working properly.



[*]In my logic, a file path consists of:

  • Directory
  • NO backslash
  • File name
Because between Directory and File there is no backslash, the backslash must be part of 'Directory'

I cannot understand. :drunk:
You seem to think like I (and your friend Billy :)) do:
To me a directory is:
D:\SP2\
(including backslash)
If you use "D:\SP2" as a batch parameter, i.e. %1, %~dp1 will return "D:\"
If you use "D:\SP2\" as a batch parameter, i.e. %1, %~dp1 will return "D:\SP2\"
The batch I posted adds the trailing backslash if missing, BUT the WimCaptEx.exe you posted before does not accept this, seemingly (and from your examples too). :)
It's a non-problem :), the batch can either add the trailing backslash if missing or remove it if unneeded, I just want to know what the program accepts.

Since:
  • everything appears pre-alpha
  • it doesn't work - at least in a dependable manner - and at least for me

I would re-name the topic title from "[SOLVED]" to "[WORKING ON IT]":

This taught me a lesson, but I'm not quite sure what it is.

:)

:)

jaclaz

#18 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 November 2009 - 02:40 PM

The "new" "C" version x86 simply crashes on my system.
The "old" Delphi" version "sometimes" work on my system.

Observed behaviour (limited to the "Capture" fuction, which right now is the only thing working consistently on my system), with reference to
WimCaptEx -A&#58;C -W&#58;<wim file> -D&#58;<directory> &#91;-C&#58;{N | X | L}&#93; &#91;-P&#93;
  • if the <wim file> is already existing, it is OVERWRITTEN without warning
  • if the <directory> is not existing, the program silently does NOTHING

Attched w_create.cmd

jaclaz

Attached Files



#19 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 November 2009 - 06:41 PM

I would re-name the topic title from "[SOLVED]" to "[WORKING ON IT]":

Just because of the "[WORKING ON IT]" I did not reply lasts post. It makes no sence to write something which is obsolete within some minutes.
I only can repeat:

Please give me some time for development!

BTW: 'Solved' in the title for me seems to be correct.

I offered a script extracting DISM from sourse code. and (as far as I remember) there is also a 'Empty.wim' published, because DISM can not 'capture'.

"Working on it" is due to my new solution with "WimCaptEx"

Peter :drunk:

BTW: To save time and to protect my nerves, next answer in this topic after finishing the "final"? version of WimCaptEx.

@jaclaz: are you interested in getting the 'nightlies' by PM?

#20 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 November 2009 - 07:01 PM

Well, I may be completely wrong, as always, I read the present thread as being WimCaptEx.exe ONLY (and EXPERIMENTAL), and this other one:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9113
as the DISM "working and tested" solution.

Am I the only one around for which the tool is not completely, and easily working? :drunk:

I trust you on your word.

Changed to:

[SOLVED] WIM handling w/o WAIK
A pseudo - tutorial, an already mature app, working for all BUT jaclaz


Happy development of your tool. :)
I take it back, I forgot it is already completely developed and functional :)

...and suddenly this has become an S.E.P......: :)

jaclaz

#21 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 November 2009 - 07:42 PM

[SOLVED] WIM handling w/o WAIK
A pseudo - tutorial, an already mature app, working for all BUT jaclaz

Let's change it to

[SOLVED] WIM handling w/o WAIK
A pseudo - tutorial, Working already with Billy the door's DISM
A new app can replace DISM, and development goes faster, if unpatient users like Jaclaz do not put so many questions.
Answering the questions cuts development time, and final success will be postponed ...


Peter :drunk:

#22 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 November 2009 - 03:14 PM

Though this is now a S.E.P., for the record the missing step was getting from the Windows 7 source wimserv.exe also.

Which means that the thread should be titled:

[SOLVED] WIM handling w/o WAIK
A pseudo - tutorial, in which the great developer who wrote it, besides his unneededly unpolite and grumpy attitude, missed mentioning a fundamental requisite


Since the sub-title would be too long, it is now titled:

[SOLVED] WIM handling w/o WAIK
A pseudo - tutorial, DO NOT ask questions!

in order to help conveying the right state of mind to the developer

I will start a new thread, when ready, with a working tutorial and my pre-neolithic batches.

jaclaz

#23 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 November 2009 - 06:22 PM

Now the idea of this post is realized in a real project

The build time of e.g. Win7RescuePE can be decreased from 10 - 15 minutes to 2 - 3 minutes by using my WimCaptEx program.

More information: http://nativeex.boot...x/WimCaptEx.htm

@Jaclaz: If you did a read until here:
To develop this solution I had to do many tests.
And the tests included repair of crashed directories in my PC.
And in this situation I do not feel able to answer questions.
Maybe the answer is invalid after some seconds of trying the next coding ...

If my (bad English !?) post has been understood as unpolite or similar, I apologize.
I never did intend to hurt you. I only wanted to say 'you MUST wait'

Peter

#24 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 November 2009 - 07:08 PM

What you completely failed to understand was that I was actually trying to help you and your app, as I find it very useful.

It was not your "bad" English, it was your attitude that was unpolite, if you want to work in secret, do so, if you post a tutorial or a pseudo-one you are morally obliged to:
  • post correct information
  • answer to questions

It is even allright to ignore them alltogether, but replying another thing is frankly unpolite as well as hinting not-so-coverly:

EDIT:

The post has been made in the development forum. :w00t:

So it adresses developers, and the title intentionally contains the 'pseudo': You need some background, and some personal work to understand.
If you have troubles to understand everything, do not worry.
You do not need the understanding to survive. :cheers:

that I have either not enough background (possible, but unlikely :() and have not done my homework (rest assured I ALWAYS do them :cheers: )

To sum up, and JFYI, the above quote translates into plain English as follows:

You are too damn stoopid and lazy to understand something that only a restricted number of elected and myself can.


Or, if you were trying to be funny, you failed miserably.

However, no problem :), back to business.


Can NON-winbuilder users have latest WimCaptEx.exe or is it only "bundled"?
(I hope that NOW I can ask questions :w00t:)

:cheers:

jaclaz

#25 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 November 2009 - 07:23 PM

Can NON-winbuilder users have latest WimCaptEx.exe or is it only "bundled"?

Yes, they have the link I gave above: http://nativeex.boot...x/WimCaptEx.htm

If there are any questions, suggestions, ...:
Now I'm reachable again.

Peter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users