• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Yorn

Yorn

Frequent Member

• Advanced user
  • 178 posts

Posted 28 July 2006 - 01:01 PM

Hey guys. I'm a PHP coder and have been recently given a really large space along with good bandwidth in a hosting package for a domain I'm running. I'm working on the idea of having an online repository where OpenBuilder itself or individual people could store .SCRIPT files or Projects (which in this I call Builds). Anyway, Nuno and I think it'd probably be best integrated into Open Builder, but it'd be primarily a web app. It would take some time to code, but after I get moved, I think I could have it done by the middle of next month.

Attached is a .zip file with two text files that are designed to be read side-by-side. I want to get some opinions on what people think, Some of the coding time could be significantly reduced if I just implemented it as an XML-based web app that only interacted with Open Builder itself. That would mean developers wouldn't have a web interface, but I'm thinking that maybe you wouldn't really need one.

This does change some of the current architecture of script development, but I'm open to suggestions and in fact, if you see something you do not like, PLEASE MENTION IT HERE. I'm 100% for things that could be changed and would rather have negative feedback than no feedback, so please take a look at it and tell me what you don't like.

Also, I haven't sent these to you yet, Nuno, but if you could tell me what could or couldn't be done as far as XML interfacing with Delphi apps, that'd be good to know too. I'm not that great of a coder, but I know PHP/MySQL scripting.

Attached Files

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

Finder

• Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 July 2006 - 01:38 PM

my two cents, and I am probably the wrong person to actually give technical advice on this, but WHY one should use XML when a normal TXT file is MORE than enough?