Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

How to Add "press any key to boot from cd/dvd"


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 DanTang

DanTang

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 28 October 2009 - 04:32 AM

How to add "Press any key to boot from CD/DVD" feature to VistaPE iso image?

Anyway to change the displayed text as well.

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 28 October 2009 - 08:11 AM

How to add "Press any key to boot from CD/DVD" feature to VistaPE iso image?

Anyway to change the displayed text as well.

Add bootfix.bin to the target windows directory. In XP / W2003 world it is inside i386. I do not know the Vista name.

There is no 'official' way to define the text. Maybe you can patch.

Peter

#3 DanTang

DanTang

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 28 October 2009 - 09:56 AM

I checked Vista DVD, it is under \boot folder, I'll try on VistaPE

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 October 2009 - 10:55 AM

Just for the record (since VistaPE should be using grub4dos anyway):
# This is a basic menu.lst file for GRUB4DOS



# Following is the timeout for the default choice

# By not pressing any key during the timeout, the default will be chosen

timeout 10



# Following is the menu item that will default

default 0



# This reflects the "normal" behaviour of a PC

# i.e. booting the first partition of first harddisk

# By setting it as default with timeout 10 seconds (see above)

# We try to replicate somehow the "Press any key to boot from CD..." message

# of Microsoft Install CDs, this way if no key is pressed, as an example for 

# unattended installs, the system will boot "normally" even if CD is inserted

# of course if the "any" you press is [ENTER]system will boot from this entry

title Boot Hard Disk MBR on (hd0)

chainloader (hd0)+1

jaclaz

#5 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 November 2010 - 04:43 AM

Add bootfix.bin to the target windows directory. In XP / W2003 world it is i386. I do not know the Vista name.

There is no 'official' way to define the text. Maybe you can patch.

Peter


Can u plz elaborate the procedure, I mean

1) Where can I have bootfix.bin from?
2) Where should I put it?
3) Is there any other things to be adjusted?

#6 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1716 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 November 2010 - 11:01 AM

Just add this script to the tweaks folder:

[Main]
Title=Enable press any key to boot option
Author=Paraglider
Level=3
Version=1
Description=Enable press any key to boot option
Locked=false
Date=April 4th,2010
Selected=True
Interface=Interface
Download_Level=0
Mandatory=False
NoWarning=False

[Process]
ReadENV
FileCopy,%SDIR%\boot\bootfix.bin,"%TargetDir%\Boot\BootFix.bin"



#7 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 November 2010 - 04:59 PM

Just add this script to the tweaks folder:


OK, but can u tell me any method to do the same with normal Win XP install CD?

#8 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 10 November 2010 - 07:16 PM

from source CD\I386\BOOTFIX.BIN to TargetDir\I386\BOOTFIX.BIN

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 November 2010 - 09:24 PM

See my post #2 above.

Peter

#10 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 November 2010 - 03:00 AM

See my post #2 above.
Peter


from source CD\I386\BOOTFIX.BIN to TargetDir\I386\BOOTFIX.BIN


@ pscEx & dera

I've noticed a surprising fact today while searching for BOOTFIX.BIN. My XP CD contains the required file in I386. But when I simply try to install XP on both Oracle VirtualBox & VMWare, only in the first case I got a "Press any key to boot from CD" prompt while in the second case, it directly enters into "Setup is inspecting your hardware configuration" on a blue screen - i.e. it straightaway starts the text mode setup without leaving any choice not to boot from it. Can anybody explain this behaviour?

#11 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 11 November 2010 - 06:10 AM

in VMWare is there any Hard Disk defined?
i mean do you have any .vmdk file attached to the virtual machine?

#12 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 November 2010 - 06:59 AM

in VMWare is there any Hard Disk defined?
i mean do you have any .vmdk file attached to the virtual machine?


YES, in VMWare the first HARD disk is a PHYSICALDISK(which is my Pen drive) & the second one is a virtual hard disk.

But, in VirtualBox, I've only the virtual hard disk.

#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 November 2010 - 07:59 AM

I think that you should try to change the boot order.

When VMWare boots, click into the black screen and then hit F2. That will bring you into bioa aetup, whwre you can change the boot order.

BTW in VirtualBox you can define the boot order in the settings, when the VM is not running.

Peter

#14 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 November 2010 - 08:02 AM

I think that you should try to change the boot order.


Either changing the boot order or simply ejecting the CD from the drive is the solution, I understand. But that does not explain me the behaviour that I've stated.

#15 cdob

cdob

    Gold Member

  • Expert
  • 1344 posts

Posted 11 November 2010 - 05:11 PM

in the second case, it directly enters into "Setup is inspecting your hardware configuration"

Bootfix.bin validate MBR at hard disk.
Given a bootable hard disk, bootfix.bix offers a user choice to boot from CD.
Given a non bootable hard disk, bootfix.bix continue CD boot without user choice.

#16 dsolomon

dsolomon

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 243 posts

Posted 12 November 2010 - 04:28 AM

@ pscEx & dera

I've noticed a surprising fact today while searching for BOOTFIX.BIN. My XP CD contains the required file in I386. But when I simply try to install XP on both Oracle VirtualBox & VMWare, only in the first case I got a "Press any key to boot from CD" prompt while in the second case, it directly enters into "Setup is inspecting your hardware configuration" on a blue screen - i.e. it straightaway starts the text mode setup without leaving any choice not to boot from it. Can anybody explain this behaviour?

if your boot order is
1. CD/DVD Drive
2. Hard Disk

then it will ask you to push any key to boot from cd

if your boot order is
1. hard disk
2. CD/DVD Drive

then it will boot directly to your setup on your windows install CD.
that is the default behaviour of a regular windows xp professional setup disc.

#17 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 November 2010 - 10:46 PM

if your boot order is
1. CD/DVD Drive
2. Hard Disk

then it will ask you to push any key to boot from cd

if your boot order is
1. hard disk
2. CD/DVD Drive

then it will boot directly to your setup on your windows install CD.
that is the default behaviour of a regular windows xp professional setup disc.

It also has more to do if there is a bootable hard disk, since if there isn't any choice (i.e. the CD is the only thing that could boot), why ask? This is why in the second case (i.e. HD first, CD second) that if it gets to the CD, there is nothing to ask about. Note: even in the first case, if the HD isn't "bootable", then it won't ask!

#18 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 November 2010 - 01:16 AM

Note: even in the first case, if the HD isn't "bootable", then it won't ask!


But, after Windows XP Text mode setup is comleted, a HD must become bootable even if it was not bootable before. Then also, it's not asking for "Press any.............."

#19 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 November 2010 - 08:48 PM

But, after Windows XP Text mode setup is comleted, a HD must become bootable even if it was not bootable before. Then also, it's not asking for "Press any.............."

Correct - again, depending on the order of the boot in the BIOS...

i.e. if at start, HD is first, but NOT bootable, will go to second in list, the CD, and not ask. After first pass, HD is now bootable, so if first, again, won't ask, and go straight to the HD (first) and start boot/install.

IF on the other hand, HD is second, on first "boot", BIOS will bott from the CD, initial boot looks as says - Hmmm - there is a HD here, but it is NOT bootable - no need to ask user - OR - Hmmm, even though BIOS had me first, the HD *IS* bootable, so ask user if they really wanted to boot ME (i.e. the CD) or really boot the HD.

THis is very similar to an automated GRUB or other CD boot manager which loads, and does some work and decides *IF* it should chain to the HD or not.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users