Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

[LODR-U] VMware Player 2.5.3


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 29 August 2009 - 11:14 PM

LODR package for VMware Player 2.5.3

Update 04.10.09; vmplayer253_LODR_v3.zip

http://www.mediafire...yer253_LODR.zip

As usual a tool is included to prepare the necessary files.

From the readme.txt;

Included;

- Player253_Preparation.exe (download the installer if not present in current directory and unpack/prepare files)

- vmplayer253_LODR.exe	  (the loader that install all required services and apply necessary registry patches)



How to do this;

After preparing the files with Player253_Preparation.exe, place vmplayer253_LODR.exe inside the directory created. Now copy the directory, hopefully but not necessarily named "player253", to somewhere accessible to your running windows boot environment. If not Visual C 2005 Runtimes are present, grab a  universal 32-bit vc_patcher I made from here; http://www.mediafire.com/file/mmtjumqcv0u/vc_patcher_v1002.rar. Then just launch vmplayer253_LODR.exe which will take about 40 seconds to finish and eventually execute vmplayer.exe. If a box pops up asking for some installation files in drive A:, just click cancel once. Next time you start player either use the shortcuts generated on desktop/start menu, or the vmplayer.exe directly.



This package don't require a certain directory tree as earlier packages by me had. Can basically be inside any folder, but be reasonable. Example locations of the files are;



"C:\player253\vmplayer.exe"

"G:\Program Files\VMware\VMware Player\vmplayer.exe"

"P:\temp\whatever\vmplayer.exe"

"X:\programs\player253\vmplayer.exe"



Should work on any running windows PE-environment from xpsp2 - Server 2008)

Beware, it needs to have %temp% defined (will be changed).



Limitation;

- Only 32-bit

- Don't yet support Win7pe

- Maybe more

Joakim

#2 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 30 August 2009 - 10:08 AM

thanks joakim
:frusty:

#3 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4138 posts

Posted 07 September 2009 - 01:39 PM

Thanks!

#4 ani_nambi

ani_nambi
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 30 September 2009 - 12:44 PM

Hai


I have used ur method to install vmwar player in WinPE. It installed successfully but when im trying to open any .vmx file from it, there comes an error "Error while powering on: The VMware Authorization Service is not running". Can anyone tell me how to solve this problem?

Regards,
Anitha.N

#5 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 30 September 2009 - 12:59 PM

I have used ur method to install vmwar player in WinPE. It installed successfully but when im trying to open any .vmx file from it, there comes an error "Error while powering on: The VMware Authorization Service is not running". Can anyone tell me how to solve this problem?


If you are using this package from WinPE you are running as LocalSystem. The Authorization service is restricted accounts and therefore has no usage from WinPE. In fact, it is almost impossible to install the Authorization service in PE-mode.

What host OS do you have?
Have you tried adding the SYSTEM account to the local administrators group?
What guest are you trying to start?

Joakim

#6 ani_nambi

ani_nambi
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 30 September 2009 - 01:10 PM

Joakim,

Nice to see ur reply... :-)
Im using Windows XP as host OS. In WinPE OS, no user account and Adminstrator account is available in the management of My Computer. I have tried to open Fedora-10 vmx file from vmware player.

Regards,
Anitha.N

#7 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 30 September 2009 - 01:18 PM

Try to run these commands and see

net localgroup administrators /add system

net localgroup __vmware__ /add

net user __vmware_user__ /add

net localgroup __vmware__ /add __vmware_user__

If not then post your vmx file.

Joakim

#8 ani_nambi

ani_nambi
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 30 September 2009 - 01:27 PM

Joakim,

I run the commands given by you. Now there comes (error.jpg) and after clicking Ok in (error.jpg) there comes (error1.jpg).

Regards,
Anitha.N

Attached Thumbnails

  • error.JPG
  • error1.JPG


#9 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 30 September 2009 - 01:32 PM

Do you have any free space on your SystemDrive (X:\)?

If so, how much free space do you have? Is it ramload/fbwf/ewf/ramdisk..?

Where is your %temp% located?

Joakim

#10 ani_nambi

ani_nambi
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 30 September 2009 - 01:39 PM

Joakim

See the attached screenshot for drive specifications. The %temp% is located in Ramdisk (B:)

Anitha.N

Attached Thumbnails

  • error2.JPG


#11 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 30 September 2009 - 02:25 PM

Joakim

See the attached screenshot for drive specifications. The %temp% is located in Ramdisk (B:)

Anitha.N


This does not make any sense to me. I suspect you did not execute the launcher/loader from the right directory. Do you have all the binaries exctracted to a given directory with the loader inside that same directory. I see the vmware player installer on your desktop. What did you do with that one prior to executing the loader? Remember the loader will asume that all binaries are present in current directory.

Joakim

#12 ani_nambi

ani_nambi
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 01 October 2009 - 10:39 AM

Yeah dats the problem Joakim..
I havent put the vmware253-LODR.exe in player253 folder.. Now its working fine...
Thanks for ur reply...

Anitha.N

#13 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 04 October 2009 - 09:16 PM

New version 3.

- Supports Win7PE based on RC1. Use this special Visual C Runtime patcher for Win7PE; http://www.mediafire...her_win7rc1.zip
- Changed link in startmenu from LODR into Programs submenu

vmplayer253_LODR_v3.zip

Joakim

#14 ani_nambi

ani_nambi
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 05 October 2009 - 04:30 AM

Thank u Joakim...

#15 ani_nambi

ani_nambi
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 26 October 2009 - 07:42 AM

Joakim,

When i opened vmplayer there comes an error as like in the attached screenshot.
The properties of my drive is

Used space - 250MB
Free space - 771MB

How to solve this error?

Anitha.N

Attached Thumbnails

  • error26.JPG


#16 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 26 October 2009 - 08:40 AM

What a bunch of lazy programmers in vmware, they did not customize the popup box to player properly.

Luckily this has nothing to do with the my loader or vmware player itself either (I assume).

From the message it looks like a size issue. What is the file size of the virtual disk, and what filesystem does it have?

Joakim

#17 ani_nambi

ani_nambi
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 26 October 2009 - 08:50 AM

The problem is the drive is not in ntfs partition. Now the problem is solved..

#18 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 04 November 2009 - 01:04 PM

this problem can also be addressed by adding
diskLib.sparseMaxFileSizeCheck= "false"

to the vmx-file.
It disables VMwares overeager filesystem check




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users