Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Little stuck with Driver Import PE


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 TGP1994

TGP1994

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 August 2009 - 03:11 PM

Hi there, I'm kind of in a stalemate, if you will. So I want to add in Driver Import PE into my project, since I plan on running it in VMWare Workstation. The reason I'm trying to do that is because Server 2008 can't seem to find the virtual hard disk, so I'm trying to figure that out.

Anyways, it looks like DIPE requires FBWF on CISO or BoodSDI. CISO requires these special files which are apparently hard to find, (and which I don't have,) and BootSDI seems to require Server2003, which I also don't have. So what can I do?

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 August 2009 - 04:17 PM

Anyways, it looks like DIPE requires FBWF on CISO or BoodSDI. CISO requires these special files which are apparently hard to find, (and which I don't have,) and BootSDI seems to require Server2003, which I also don't have. So what can I do?


1) state the problem, rather than the problem AND the solution that you think is the right one (there might be other solutions/workaround)
2) buy a License for the files you don't have and get them from the appropriate source, if not available for free and legally

jaclaz

#3 TGP1994

TGP1994

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 August 2009 - 04:21 PM

Well, you all ready have the problem, all I need is the solution. And if this is going to cost money, then I'm not interested. All it seems like I need is a simple driver for the VMWare SCSI hard drive to be detected.

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 August 2009 - 04:28 PM

Well, you all ready have the problem, all I need is the solution. And if this is going to cost money, then I'm not interested. All it seems like I need is a simple driver for the VMWare SCSI hard drive to be detected.


I'm notoriously a bit tough, but I simply do not know, being temporarily deprived of my crystal ball, and besides other things:
  • what has 2008 to do with LiveXP
  • why you need the VMWare SCSI hard drive

jaclaz

#5 TGP1994

TGP1994

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 August 2009 - 04:38 PM

I'm notoriously a bit tough, but I simply do not know, being temporarily deprived of my crystal ball, and besides other things:

  • what has 2008 to do with LiveXP
  • why you need the VMWare SCSI hard drive

jaclaz


If you had asked those in the first place, that would have been nice :frusty:

Well, I'm trying to figure out why I can't find the SCSI drive. It seems like using LiveXP now, it says it can not find the device associated with the driver, so I am very confused. For question number two, the reason is, VMWare doesn't give me a choice. I can only use their emulated SCSI drives.

EDIT: And congratz on your 5,600th post xD

#6 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 15 August 2009 - 04:52 PM

Usually i build LiveXP from an XP source
and in these builds for VMware SCSI used to use the script:
'\Projects\LiveXP\Drivers\4 Storage\lsi_buslogic.script'

the BusLogic SCSI (Version: 1.2.0.4) driver is here:
http://www.vmware.co...vers_tools.html

the LSI Logic SCSI drivers are here: http://lsi.com

in my XP based PE i use this driver:
http://lsi.com/stora.../...1&locale=EN
Windows XP WHQL 1.20.18.00 26-JUL-05
LSI20320-R_xp_50700_01034132IT_1201800_1005239.zip

#7 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 15 August 2009 - 04:56 PM

Hi TGP1994,

for bootsdi:
you can get setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys from 2k3 sp1

probably 1st link help to download the file
http://www.google.co...2...mp;oq=&aqi=

and I guess you can extract setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys from the packed file
this may help
http://www.google.co...W...mp;oq=&aqi=


rest is,
on bootsdi script, click "OpenDir" button and put ramdisk.sys and setupldr.bin files in the opened explorer.
enable bootsdi script
make your build
have fun.

Besides I put a bit more info about required setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys to the bootsdi script hoping it will be more helpful next time to new users.
(click download button to get newest, well it wont help you since you are reading currnet post ;) )

I hope Dipe help you to solve your scsi integration :frusty:

#8 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 August 2009 - 05:02 PM

If you had asked those in the first place, that would have been nice :D

Well, I'm trying to figure out why I can't find the SCSI drive. It seems like using LiveXP now, it says it can not find the device associated with the driver, so I am very confused. For question number two, the reason is, VMWare doesn't give me a choice. I can only use their emulated SCSI drives.

EDIT: And congratz on your 5,600th post xD


Well, it would have also been nice :unsure: if you had a quick look to the "Common Sense Advice" attached to Rules:
http://www.boot-land...?act=boardrules
with particular regard to points #d., #f1. and #f2. and possibly follow them and give some of the needed information. ;)

However, AFAIK VMWare can use also "plain" disks (IDE), some reference:
http://www.boot-land...?...=3890&st=86

Get the .pdf from here:
http://www.boot-land...?...3890&st=124

The SCSI disks in VMware are sometimes cause of problems, see here:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=7004
but if you add the drivers to your build you shouldn't have problems.

:frusty:

jaclaz

#9 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 August 2009 - 05:29 PM

The windows desktop os default to ide disks in VMWare. Server os default to scsi disks in vmware. However by overriding the recommended disk type you should always be able to create a IDE disk in VMWare unless you have already used the maximum of 4 ide connections in a VM.

#10 TGP1994

TGP1994

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 August 2009 - 04:36 AM

Ok, thank you all for your replies, I think jaclaz is the winner. Little did I know, VMWare was defaulting to a SCSI SAS drive, rather than a regular SCSI drive. So all I had to do was run the workstation creator in custom mode so I could select it.

#11 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 August 2009 - 10:46 AM

Happy problem was solved. :frusty:

And another occasion in which surely willing and in good faith engineers/programmers think that subtracting knowledge by making "intelligent" interfaces is "smart": in an attempt to easen users' life they actually make it more, much more difficult. :unsure:

;)

jaclaz

#12 TGP1994

TGP1994

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 August 2009 - 03:26 PM

Heh... hopefully that puts the date back for when the first computer gets built that takes over the world.

#13 TGP1994

TGP1994

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 August 2009 - 04:58 PM

Oh, and if you wouldn't mind me bringing up another issue:

So now I have LiveXP in vmware. I've set the virtual hard drive to both IDE and SCSI, but both times the driver manager reports:

Windows successfully loaded the device driver, but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41)

IF anyone knows how to fix that, that would be great.

#14 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 August 2009 - 05:34 PM

Windows successfully loaded the device driver, but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41)

IF anyone knows how to fix that, that would be great.


Hmm :frusty: code 41's are bad beasts ;), I do like much better 39's and 40's :frusty:.

There is no way to help troubleshoot you if you do not detail what you did and which driver gives the error.

It may be because you somehow "forced" a driver for non existant (virtual) hardware or due to lower/upper filters:
http://support.micro...kb;en-us;314060
which of course depends on what you have installed/have in the build.

Most of the remedies that sometimes work in "full" XP:
http://forums.techar...ort/1026878.htm

have of course no effects on a PE, one needs to find the cause and remove it form the build.

jaclaz

#15 TGP1994

TGP1994

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 August 2009 - 07:32 PM

Well, the driver is both the IDE and SCSI vmware drivers. I may have added a few stuff here in there in the build before building it, so could that be the cause? Should I redownload LiveXP and not touch anything?

I have no clue what these upper/lower filters are or what they do, but I seem to remember checking it before building. Should I uncheck it? The kb link seems to be a 404, doesn't link to anything specifically.

And the funny thing is, I can't remove it. It first says that it cannot use the uninstaller, then another popup message says it will not remove it because it says it may be needed to boot up the system. And you don't happen to know why there isn't an add hardware option, do you?

#16 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 August 2009 - 08:05 AM

The kb link seems to be a 404, doesn't link to anything specifically.


Strange, it works for me.
However try googling for it:

Article ID: 314060 - Last Review: July 8, 2009 - Revision: 7.0


A good idea would be to start with a pre-made build:
http://www.boot-land...hp?showforum=31
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=4111

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users