Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

full feautured xp on usb and boot anywhere


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 knoppix

knoppix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 02 August 2009 - 05:47 PM

previously i am sory for my bad english

i want to use full xp on usb flash disk.

and nearly i do it but i have some problems.

maybe you help me about this problem

i make same changes on winpe and now xp run on usb with a lot of srvices

but i can't run network support

here is my usb pe...

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 August 2009 - 06:34 PM

Are you talking about "Full XP" or about a "PE"? :) (they are two different things).

I can see a lot of nice screenshots :P, but actually no info about what you have done and what you want to do. :P

Maybe it's better if you wait for Lancelot (he is Turkish) to reply you on the other "regional" thread:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=8614&hl=

Anyway, Welcome to the board. :P

:idea:

jaclaz

#3 knoppix

knoppix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 02 August 2009 - 06:39 PM

Are you talking about "Full XP" or about a "PE"? :idea: (they are two different things).



i convert "PE" to "Full xp"
i can add/remove programs and a lot of full xp functions.

but only can't use network.

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 August 2009 - 07:08 PM

i convert "PE" to "Full xp"
i can add/remove programs and a lot of full xp functions.


NO. :)

You do not "convert" anything into "anything else", unless you are a magician :P, and if you were one, you won't be here asking for help :idea:.

Answer this simple quesion:
Which loader do you use to start your "whatever" :P:
  • SETUPLDR.BIN
  • NTLDR

If right answer is 1., it's a PE, if it's 2. it's a XP.

jaclaz

P.S.: just in case, SETUPLDR.BIN renamed to NTLDR counts as SETUPLDR.BIN :P

#5 knoppix

knoppix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 02 August 2009 - 07:33 PM

it is not importont boot loader.

u use maybe grub4dos

but i make some change on winpe and so i can use a lot of xp function on it and i can boot it anywhere

_____________________

1-i install a clear xp on my laptop with no drivers and no any more programs.
2-install winpe to usb flash disk (4gb)
3-on the full clear xp , i run "regedit" and export registry and save it; eg:addreg.reg
4-then edit this reg file and change all path (c:\program files) to (x:\programs) and
(c:\windows) to (x:\i386) and all (c:\**) to (x:\**)
and copy this file to usb (i386\system32)

5- then edit "software" file where (i386\system32\config)
and add value to the (microsoft\windows\currentversion\run) that "hiderun /w reg import addreg.reg)

6- then copy all files into the windows folder in the usb i386 folder (not only system32\config folder)

then boot from usb

so alot of function is running.



but the tcp/ip service is not running and
if i add or remove any program , then i run regedit and export the registry x:\i386\system32\addreg.reg)
so the registry updating.

#6 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 August 2009 - 06:55 AM

it is not importont boot loader.


No, the boot loader isn't important, but the OS loader is. :idea:

What you have appears like a PE, NOT a "full XP".

FYI, you can have a "real" "full XP" on USB stick.

jaclaz

#7 knoppix

knoppix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 03 August 2009 - 07:15 AM

No, the boot loader isn't important, but the OS loader is. :idea:

What you have appears like a PE, NOT a "full XP".

FYI, you can have a "real" "full XP" on USB stick.

jaclaz


ok.
this system boot on pe but i can add/remove programs on it.
normally u can't.

if you have a better idea please share it.

#8 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 August 2009 - 07:51 AM

if you have a better idea please share it.


NOT necessarily "better" :), simply if you want a "full XP" on USB, build one. (just do it :P)

Only trying NOT to confuse apples with oranges. :idea:

Links:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=14181
(links in Dietmar's signature)

More links here:
http://www.msfn.org/...o...122443&st=2

And a lesser known document, listing yet more ways/links:
http://www.nedprod.c...uff/BootWinUSB/

Additionally, USBbootwatcher:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=22473

:P

jaclaz

#9 knoppix

knoppix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 03 August 2009 - 08:18 AM

NOT necessarily "better" :), simply if you want a "full XP" on USB, build one. (just do it :P)

Only trying NOT to confuse apples with oranges. :idea:

Links:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=14181
(links in Dietmar's signature)

More links here:
http://www.msfn.org/...o...122443&st=2

And a lesser known document, listing yet more ways/links:
http://www.nedprod.c...uff/BootWinUSB/

Additionally, USBbootwatcher:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=22473

:P

jaclaz


thank u for link
but
these are not portable.

my system is booting all pc.

#10 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 August 2009 - 08:41 AM

these are not portable.

This is what you think.

my system is booting all pc.

"all" is a very "heavy" word.

My "full XP" can boot a vast number of PC's, of course not all.

:idea:

jaclaz

#11 knoppix

knoppix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 03 August 2009 - 08:57 AM

This is what you think.


"all" is a very "heavy" word.

My "full XP" can boot a vast number of PC's, of course not all.

:idea:

jaclaz



what is your "full xp"

#12 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 August 2009 - 09:24 AM

what is your "full xp"


I already gave you all the links in the world (and even more) :P.

Add to them UNIATA and UNIVBE:
http://www.boot-land...hp?showforum=60

and the Drivers Pack:
http://driverpacks.net/


and you have a fairly portable XP.

As always, your mileage may vary. :idea:

jaclaz

#13 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 03 August 2009 - 09:47 AM

"all" is a very "heavy" word.

Yep, I couldn't agree more! :P

My "full XP" can boot a vast number of PC's

My one too! :) :P

By the way, never known you had your own "Full XP"... :P


@knoppix

i want to use full xp on usb flash disk.

Please, note that (at least in a good communication) the naming is (very) important.
Your PE environment, even if it does some things that other PEs do not (yet) do, is NOT a "Full XP": it remains a PE environment, with its advantages and its limits.
So, if you want to really use a "Full XP" from your UFD then you can follow the suggestions that jaclaz has already pointed (or even you can perform a tutorial in my signature).
Indeed, if you want "only" to enhance the featuring of your current PE environment, then please detail much more your network-issue: I'm sure that any member "PE-oriented" could help you.

:idea:

#14 maanu

maanu

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1134 posts
  •  
    Pakistan

Posted 03 August 2009 - 10:14 AM

My "full XP" can boot a vast number of PC's, of course not all.

:idea:

jaclaz


Sir , may i ask HOW did u prepare ur usb ?

plz give all possible details ,if not so personal :P

#15 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 03 August 2009 - 10:43 AM

@maanu

As everyone knows: he usually flip the removable-bit of his UFD(s)... :idea:

#16 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 03 August 2009 - 11:27 AM

The used OS loader does not make the difference between a 'Full XP' and a PE. The registry setting SystemSetupInProgress does!
It is quite possible to load a 'Full XP' with setupldr or a PE with ntldr. Though the adapting is usually a real pain in the behind! :P

What knoppix does:
- augmenting a PE with all XP files --> still a PE
- towards the end of the boot cycle he overwrites the complete PE registry with a 'Full XP' one. --> To all files startet after this point, the OS is a 'Full XP'. To all files started before this point it is still a PE.

So the end result is a hybrid system, with one part reacting exactly like a PE, while the other reacts exactly like a 'Full XP'.

I would guess that the behavior of the system as a whole is mostly unpredictable, due to its hybrid nature.
But due to it's PE nature during the early booting stages, it will without doubt have the same ability to run on 'all' hardware that every PE has.


:idea:

#17 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 August 2009 - 12:18 PM

The used OS loader does not make the difference between a 'Full XP' and a PE. The registry setting SystemSetupInProgress does!
It is quite possible to load a 'Full XP' with setupldr or a PE with ntldr. Though the adapting is usually a real pain in the behind! :P

What knoppix does:
- augmenting a PE with all XP files --> still a PE
- towards the end of the boot cycle he overwrites the complete PE registry with a 'Full XP' one. --> To all files startet after this point, the OS is a 'Full XP'. To all files started before this point it is still a PE.

So the end result is a hybrid system, with one part reacting exactly like a PE, while the other reacts exactly like a 'Full XP'.

I would guess that the behavior of the system as a whole is mostly unpredictable, due to its hybrid nature.
But due to it's PE nature during the early booting stages, it will without doubt have the same ability to run on 'all' hardware that every PE has.


:idea:

What you think knoppix does might be VERY interesting :), but it is not what he reported doing.

He reported that he boots a PE where the Registry and Windows directory has been overwritten (offline) with an XP one:

1-i install a clear xp on my laptop with no drivers and no any more programs.
2-install winpe to usb flash disk (4gb)
3-on the full clear xp , i run "regedit" and export registry and save it; eg:addreg.reg
4-then edit this reg file and change all path (c:\program files) to (x:\programs) and
(c:\windows) to (x:\i386) and all (c:\**) to (x:\**)
and copy this file to usb (i386\system32)

5- then edit "software" file where (i386\system32\config)
and add value to the (microsoft\windows\currentversion\run) that "hiderun /w reg import addreg.reg)

6- then copy all files into the windows folder in the usb i386 folder (not only system32\config folder)

then boot from usb



jaclaz

#18 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 03 August 2009 - 01:23 PM

:P Hmm, eighter me or you have a problem reading knoppix correctly. To me, he says exactly, what i explained.
Where exactly do you see the difference?

:idea:

#19 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 03 August 2009 - 01:30 PM

He reported that he boots a PE where the Registry and Windows directory has been overwritten (offline) with an XP one:

Sorry, overlooked this sentence.
You are the one reading knoppix wrong. :P :)

knoppix only overwrites the directory offline. The registry is overwritten, when the run key is executed by explorer.


:idea:

#20 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 August 2009 - 01:43 PM

Sorry, overlooked this sentence.
You are the one reading knoppix wrong. :P :)

knoppix only overwrites the directory offline. The registry is overwritten, when the run key is executed by explorer.


Maybe I see. :P

This:

6- then copy all files into the windows folder in the usb i386 folder (not only system32\config folder)

actually means:

6- then copy all files into the windows folder in the usb i386 folder (exclusion made for registry hives in system32\config folder)


:P

So at each boot, he imports a "full registry" every time?

And how are the changes saved?

Or they are not?

And each time he detects "New Hardware"?

But then, where are the drivers to support "all" hardware?

And if the "source" XP is "clean", and changes aren't saved, when/where are apps installed?

Still, as I see it, it's a PE (sort of).

:idea:

jaclaz

#21 maanu

maanu

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1134 posts
  •  
    Pakistan

Posted 03 August 2009 - 03:29 PM

@maanu

As everyone knows: he usually flip the removable-bit of his UFD(s)... :idea:


but doesn't it limited to some specific brands ? all i can remember is , there is some lenovo tool which flips that bit . but it aint work universally or am i wrong ?

#22 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 August 2009 - 03:38 PM

but doesn't it limited to some specific brands ? all i can remember is , there is some lenovo tool which flips that bit . but it aint work universally or am i wrong ?


Maybe it's "Lexar", not Lenovo. :idea:

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=21850

And of course it is NOT universal, it only works on those stick that use the same controller the Lexar sticks use.

It is a simplified version of the actual "Manufacturer Tool" or "Manufacturere Mass Production Tool".

Latter ones are available for most makes/models of controller chips, but of course you cannot say "ALL" not "UNIVERSAL".

Since you are reknown to go peeking on Chinese boards :P, get ChipGenius:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=4661
http://www.mydigit.cn/chipgenius.htm

But of course the only thing that "flipping the bit" does is to have the stick look like a hard-disk.

Another good source (Russian) is:
http://www.flashboot...php?name=iflash
http://www.flashboot....php?name=Files

:)

jaclaz

#23 knoppix

knoppix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 03 August 2009 - 03:47 PM

Maybe I see. :idea:
....

Still, as I see it, it's a PE (sort of).



it is not important the name (pe or whatever)
ofcourse this is a sort of pe because boots like pe.
but after boot, automatically a full registry key importing the system (addreg.reg)

and when installed or removed program
i manually export the registry to addreg.reg file.

so i am manually updating it.


and i don't need any more plugin for installing programs

i can istall what i want.

#24 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 03 August 2009 - 04:06 PM

So at each boot, he imports a "full registry" every time?

Yes.

And how are the changes saved?

He didn't say, but since it's an USB drive, there is no reason to not save the whole registry to addreg.reg before exiting and since the hives are not touched, the load routine will work every time.

And each time he detects "New Hardware"?

Yes, that's because of the use of setupldr and that the system behaves just like a PE until explorer loads. This is also what makes this build working on all hardware.

But then, where are the drivers to support "all" hardware?

I think he meant, it works on all hardware, not that it supports all hardware. Same as for instance nativeEX_barebone. It works on all hardware, but is not even close to support all hardware. :P

And if the "source" XP is "clean", and changes aren't saved, when/where are apps installed?

In the running 'Full XPPE', i hope. Cause PE 'installed' software will loose some of it's registry entries. Namely those which also exist in the clean XP. :)

Still, as I see it, it's a PE (sort of).

Sure it's sort of a PE, just as it is sort of a 'Full XP'. It's a hybrid system and thereby a cup half full, half empty thing.

@knoppix
Think i know where your network problem comes from. Network support is started after you merge the addreg.reg file into the registry and thereby make entries for services and maybe even the network card in the clean XP, which could collide with what PENetwork tries to do.
You could try to run PENetwork before the registry merge.

@jaclaz
You seem to be pretty focused lately on correct english. Did you switch jobs and became an english teacher? :P


:idea:


edit: Ooops, cross posting.

#25 knoppix

knoppix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 03 August 2009 - 04:14 PM

Yes.
@knoppix
Think i know where your network problem comes from. Network support is started after you merge the addreg.reg file into the registry and thereby make entries for services and maybe even the network card in the clean XP, which could collide with what PENetwork tries to do.
You could try to run PENetwork before the registry merge.



after running penetwork , it is install drivers then error
Posted Image


and about job: i am an industrial engineer and but no more english

:P


:idea:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users