Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 4 votes

CloneDisk


  • Please log in to reply
563 replies to this topic

#551 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1914 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 08 April 2017 - 04:50 PM

Minor, minor thing (only as a reminder, not worth any intervention until *something else* is needed).

RMPREPUSB created USB stick (Removable) with "hidden" 0x21 partition, the 2nd partition (or 2nd partition entry) is not enumerated correctly (it remains 0), more loosely the "Number" in the view should really be "Slot Number" or "Entry Number"

 

Actually, this is a "normal" behavior : windows only "consider" the first primary partition on a removable disk.

All other partitions are non existing (for windows) and therefore numbered with 0.

 

As opposed to a fixed drive, where all partitions would be numbered.



#552 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1914 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 08 April 2017 - 04:54 PM

The:

1) Convert RAW to VMDK/VHD
2) Disk Image Conversion

 

Are somehow confusing, the working of the former could be included (consolidated) in the latter, removing one menu item.

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

Actually, "Convert RAW to VMDK/VHD" would need to be reworded : it does not really convert but actually creates a header.

 

Disk conversion is mostly meant as converting files (vmdk, vhd, ewf, vdi, etc) to RAW.



#553 alacran

alacran

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 460 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 08 April 2017 - 08:26 PM

@ erwan l

 

In your next update you may also update grub4dos 0.4.6a to a more recent version.

 

http://grub4dos.chen...4-6a/#year_2017

 

alacran



#554 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 April 2017 - 08:49 AM

Hi Erwan,

I've just downloaded clonedisk.zip and clonediskX64.zip from your site. The timestamps on the 64-bit build are a bit misleading -
  • Properties > Details > Date modified 03/01/2016 15:22
  • Properties > General > Modified 03 January 2016 15:22:02
Is this the latest version?

Misty

P.s. Including a text file with MD5 hash and version details in the download would be useful :whistling:

#555 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13441 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 April 2017 - 11:07 AM

Actually, this is a "normal" behavior : windows only "consider" the first primary partition on a removable disk.

All other partitions are non existing (for windows) and therefore numbered with 0.

 

As opposed to a fixed drive, where all partitions would be numbered.

Sure, and as said it is "minor", but if you go Advanced->MBR, the # is about "Partition entry" or "Partition slot", that is what I would find confusing if I didn't already know about the matter.

Maybe - similarly to the PBR editor, you could have "valid" (as seen by windows) partitions with white background and "not valid" (as seen by windows) partitions background gray. :unsure:, but IMHO the number should be referred to the "entry" or "slot".

 

 

 

Actually, "Convert RAW to VMDK/VHD" would need to be reworded : it does not really convert but actually creates a header.

 

Disk conversion is mostly meant as converting files (vmdk, vhd, ewf, vdi, etc) to RAW.

No, allow me to diasgree, the scope is always that of making things as simple and as less confusing as possible.

A conversion means to "transform" something in something else.

If you transform a whole disk RAW image into a "fixed" VHD by means of a header appending a footer ;) you are converting.

If you transform a "fixed" VHD into a RAW image by means of stripping a header footer you are converting.

If you transform a whole disk RAW image into a "fixed" VMDK by means of a header (do you actually do that conversion? :w00t: Or are you adding a VMDK descriptor file? :dubbio: Haven't tried.  :blush:  )  you are making a conversion, etc.

In other words, I would find easier to have a choice "Image format conversion" where you can chose as source and destination suitable "couples" of formats, without the "special cases" for RAW to VHD and RAW to VMDK.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#556 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1914 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 09 April 2017 - 11:26 AM

Hi Erwan,

I've just downloaded clonedisk.zip and clonediskX64.zip from your site. The timestamps on the 64-bit build are a bit misleading -

  • Properties > Details > Date modified 03/01/2016 15:22
  • Properties > General > Modified 03 January 2016 15:22:02
Is this the latest version?

Misty

P.s. Including a text file with MD5 hash and version details in the download would be useful :whistling:

 

 

ClonediskX64.zip has been refreshed.

It now contains a version.txt just like clonedisk.zip.

Beware that the x64 version is always slightly behind (extra work is needed for the x64 version).



#557 misty

misty

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 703 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 April 2017 - 11:34 AM

ClonediskX64.zip has been refreshed.
It now contains a version.txt just like clonedisk.zip.
Beware that the x64 version is always slightly behind (extra work is needed for the x64 version).

Thanks Erwan :thumbsup:

#558 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1914 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 10 April 2017 - 08:29 AM

it may help others : below the batch I use to generate version.txt.

set path="C:\Users\erwan\Documents\-= SOURCES =-\delphi\system\clone_disk"
set bin=clonedisk.exe
cd %path%
echo %bin% > version.txt
sigcheck.exe -n %bin% >> version.txt
for %%a in (%bin%) do echo %%~ta >> version.txt
md5 -n %bin% >> version.txt


#559 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1914 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 10 April 2017 - 08:32 AM

May be of interest for Wonko, latest version can backup/restore partitions directly from the MBR editor.

The MBR editor can also parse a disk image.

 

gmFFnc9.png

 

One can also perform the same task in the partition editor.

 

Main difference is that MBR editor parses the MBR when Partition editor uses windows API.

 

wnsrUjw.png



#560 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1914 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 10 April 2017 - 08:34 AM

 

No, allow me to diasgree, the scope is always that of making things as simple and as less confusing as possible.

A conversion means to "transform" something in something else.

If you transform a whole disk RAW image into a "fixed" VHD by means of a header appending a footer ;) you are converting.

If you transform a "fixed" VHD into a RAW image by means of stripping a header footer you are converting.

If you transform a whole disk RAW image into a "fixed" VMDK by means of a header (do you actually do that conversion? :w00t: Or are you adding a VMDK descriptor file? :dubbio: Haven't tried.  :blush:  )  you are making a conversion, etc.

In other words, I would find easier to have a choice "Image format conversion" where you can chose as source and destination suitable "couples" of formats, without the "special cases" for RAW to VHD and RAW to VMDK.

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

this is taken care of in latest version.



#561 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1914 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 10 April 2017 - 08:43 AM

Sure, and as said it is "minor", but if you go Advanced->MBR, the # is about "Partition entry" or "Partition slot", that is what I would find confusing if I didn't already know about the matter.

Maybe - similarly to the PBR editor, you could have "valid" (as seen by windows) partitions with white background and "not valid" (as seen by windows) partitions background gray. :unsure:, but IMHO the number should be referred to the "entry" or "slot".

 

 

I'll give it a thought.

For now, partition number comes from windows api/structure here.



#562 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13441 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 April 2017 - 07:46 AM

@erwan

Very good progresses :thumbsup:



About the partition number as recovered by the api, it makes little sense to show the value 0 that it is returned ( as 0 ) :w00t:, I mean. I do understand how the Api would return a 0, since the numbering is 1-based, maybe it would make more sense to "translate" the 0 to "N/A" or something like that.

If I get this right, this would happen only on non-first partition entries on Removable media, which would raise an interesting (side) question.

What happens on Windows 10 (latest-latest) that seemingly just changed the way Removable media is threated?



d@mn 500 server error!



:duff:

Wonko



#563 rafael84

rafael84
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 2 weeks ago

Hello, Im trying to restore an image but no clue.

I made an e01 image with encase 8, image from whole 500gb HD. Now I need to restore it to other 500GB HD. How can I do it? The software dont show me any HD when I click disk unit, only when I click disk part. The HD is new, its not formatted. How can I choose this new HD and restore the e01 image to it?

 

thank you.

 

Edited: It was giving error on x64 version, with 32 its working  normally.


Edited by rafael84, 2 weeks ago.


#564 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1914 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted A week ago

Hello, Im trying to restore an image but no clue.

I made an e01 image with encase 8, image from whole 500gb HD. Now I need to restore it to other 500GB HD. How can I do it? The software dont show me any HD when I click disk unit, only when I click disk part. The HD is new, its not formatted. How can I choose this new HD and restore the e01 image to it?

 

thank you.

 

Edited: It was giving error on x64 version, with 32 its working  normally.

 

Glad you found on a solution the solution.

On x64, I believe you need to explicitly run as admin whereas on x32 CloneDisk will natively run as admin (provided you are an admin).






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users