Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 4 votes

CloneDisk


  • Please log in to reply
603 replies to this topic

#251 ksanderash

ksanderash

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 162 posts
  • Interests:electronics, PCs, cinema, reading books, psychology, philosophy
  •  
    Moldova

Posted 01 September 2010 - 07:16 PM

Impatient to hear your feedback...

Done successfully. Congrats ! Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

#252 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2010 - 07:19 PM

Good news. :cheers:

You saved the money... ;) ...thanks to erwan.l :w00t:

:cheers:
Wonko

#253 ksanderash

ksanderash

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 162 posts
  • Interests:electronics, PCs, cinema, reading books, psychology, philosophy
  •  
    Moldova

Posted 01 September 2010 - 07:26 PM

I'll buy an ice-cream for my girlfriend ;)

And a virtual beer for Erwan!! Posted Image

#254 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2905 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 01 September 2010 - 07:35 PM

Well thanks you guys :cheers:

I just fixed 2 majors issues in 2 days thanks to extensive feedback and brainstorming from you :

-The disk size I using was wrong which means I was not doing an exact 1:1 copy and I learned more about these surplus sectors

-I was not properly locking volumes which means another process could write to it while clonedisk restoring which could definitely led to corrupted restores and I learned more about windows disk management

I dont pretend my tool to be a market profesional one but the least I can is to ensure users giving it a try dont end up with corrupted backups and/or restores ;)

Well, you made my evening, now I can relax and go back to the wife which will call me one more time a geek (or a freak if she is upset!) :cheers:

Cheers,
Erwan.

#255 bilou_gateux

bilou_gateux

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 230 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 02 September 2010 - 08:21 AM

Just to prove my concept...

Here is a quick and dirty app that will LOCK and DISMOUNT all volumes on a physical drive, allowing other applications to write to any sector by opening \\.\PhysicalDriveX.

Tested on Windows 7 with a 2GB UFD and CloneDisk (without any special driver requirements), RoadKil's DiskImage and dsfi!

Please note that you can't lock the system drive!

Download: LockDismount v0.1.0.0

Thanks Wonko for pushing me into the right direction ;)


@TheK
I haven't found his own topic for your tool.

I will report an issue here.

I have 2 Physical Drive inside my box
\\PhysicalDrive0 PATA (fixed) 2 partitions
\\PhysicalDrive1 SATA (fixed)
I have an option in the box BIOS (controller boot order) to select which one (SATA or PATA) to boot from.
Currently SATA is ticked as boot controller
I boot from \\PhysicalDrive1 SATA (fixed)
i launch Lockdismount
select to lock \\PhysicalDrive0 PATA (fixed)
2 partitions are locked and dismounted but 2 "LockDismount" windows error message

Error in function IsVolOnDrive.
Incorrect function.
[OK]



#256 TheK

TheK

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 141 posts
  • Location:Germany (BW)
  •  
    Germany

Posted 02 September 2010 - 11:17 AM

@TheK
I haven't found his own topic for your tool.

I will report an issue here.


Wonko already asked to to create a new thread. I'm a bit busy with work at the moment, but here it is:
http://www.boot-land...showtopic=12413

Please continue discussion about LockDismount there ;)

#257 ksanderash

ksanderash

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 162 posts
  • Interests:electronics, PCs, cinema, reading books, psychology, philosophy
  •  
    Moldova

Posted 02 September 2010 - 11:38 AM

Btw, Erwan, you said you can slightly polish CloneDisk interface. Any chance to see this soon? ;)

#258 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 November 2010 - 03:37 PM

@erwan.l

Can you try adding zip (as opposed to gzip) compression?

I was just inspired by this post by Rootman:
http://www.boot-land...?...=13044&st=1

Or alternatively make a gzip driver for this:
http://www.pismotechnic.com/pfm/ap/
(or something similar) ;)

Unless I am mistaken we don't have something equivalent to "Ghost Explorer" for file based restore when the image is gzipped....;)

;)
Wonko

#259 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2905 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 21 November 2010 - 04:45 PM

@erwan.l

Can you try adding zip (as opposed to gzip) compression?

I was just inspired by this post by Rootman:
http://www.boot-land...?...=13044&st=1

Or alternatively make a gzip driver for this:
http://www.pismotechnic.com/pfm/ap/
(or something similar) :hi:

Unless I am mistaken we don't have something equivalent to "Ghost Explorer" for file based restore when the image is gzipped....;)

;)
Wonko

Hi Wonko,
Indeed I could add zip compression.

However, note that you can already browse a gz image.
I myself open my xxx.img.gz with winrar and from there double click on the included xxx.img file which will open with you associated software (winimage in my case).

Regards,
Erwan



#260 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 November 2010 - 05:03 PM

Well, NO. ;)

I mean, what 7-zip (and I presume the Commercial WinRar also) usually do is:
  • open the compressed file
  • expand it's contents in a temporary directory
  • let you view (transparently) the contents of the temporary directory

Point is that if you have a big .img compressed, you need:
  • a lot of space to expand it
  • a lot of time to do the expanding

The idea is to use "filesytem like" access, INSTEAD of "archiver like" access.

:hi:
Wonko

#261 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2905 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 21 November 2010 - 05:15 PM

Well, NO. ;)

I mean, what 7-zip (and I presume the Commercial WinRar also) usually do is:

  • open the compressed file
  • expand it's contents in a temporary directory
  • let you view (transparently) the contents of the temporary directory

Point is that if you have a big .img compressed, you need:
  • a lot of space to expand it
  • a lot of time to do the expanding

The idea is to use "filesytem like" access, INSTEAD of "archiver like" access.

:hi:
Wonko



oki, I get it.
So even if I would add a zip feature, it would not help much as I would always have to put the image file in the zip file.
The thing is that I cannot get away from the monolithic file image format as we are dealing with byte to byte cloning in the first place.

So a user for now has to choose :
-use plain image file format and mount it with confort but use lots of space
-use compressed format and save lots of space but lose some confort

A driver mouting a compressed plain file (an img in a gz file) sounds possible but is beyong my skills for now :hi:

Regards,
Erwan.

#262 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 November 2010 - 06:00 PM

oki, I get it.
So even if I would add a zip feature, it would not help much as I would always have to put the image file in the zip file.
.....
A driver mouting a compressed plain file (an img in a gz file) sounds possible but is beyong my skills for now ;)

Yep, but since we do ALREADY have a driver capable of miunting a .zip file (see my previous post) my request does make some sense (or not)? :)

Point would be if the .zip format is suitable. ;)

OR, how difficult is to write a .gzip thing for the said "engine":
http://www.pismotechnic.com/pfm/ap/
Pismo File Mount Developer Kit:
http://www.pismotechnic.com/download/

Or for any of the "other ones" around.

The peeps playing with Dokan seem like oriented to either completely uneeded or unuseful things or to "high level" "better" filesystems. ;)

It seems like this:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=9948&hl=

Provoked no "reaction". :hi:


:hi:
Wonko

#263 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2905 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 21 November 2010 - 06:18 PM

Yep, but since we do ALREADY have a driver capable of miunting a .zip file (see my previous post) my request does make some sense (or not)? :)

Point would be if the .zip format is suitable. ;)

OR, how difficult is to write a .gzip thing for the said "engine":
http://www.pismotechnic.com/pfm/ap/
Pismo File Mount Developer Kit:
http://www.pismotechnic.com/download/

Or for any of the "other ones" around.

The peeps playing with Dokan seem like oriented to either completely uneeded or unuseful things or to "high level" "better" filesystems. ;)

It seems like this:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=9948&hl=

Provoked no "reaction". :hi:


:hi:
Wonko


It fully makes sense ;)

But even with some libs around, writing a working driver is still something complex.
It requires skills on a native language (i mean not interpreted like dotnet, vb, etc) which many times mean C langage and a good system knowledge.

Because of that, the free programmers out there writing drivers are pretty rare :)

/Erwan

#264 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 November 2010 - 06:53 PM

Because of that, the free programmers out there writing drivers are pretty rare ;)

I would word that differently, as:

The number of guys that self-proclaim themselves "programmers" and have NO idea whatsoever how the actual OS the program in works are more than the stars in the sky.
The number of real programmers is so little that you can count them without taking your shoes off.



but the result is the same ;), that's why since we do have a "difficult" .zip filesystem-like access ALREADY available I suggested you to try adding .zip compression (supposedly "easy"), and see what happens. :)

If you take the alternative suggestion of writing a .gz filesystem driver, though it may force me taking my left shoe off :hi:, would be anyway welcome ;).

:hi:
Wonko

#265 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2905 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 21 November 2010 - 08:42 PM

I would word that differently, as:



but the result is the same ;), that's why since we do have a "difficult" .zip filesystem-like access ALREADY available I suggested you to try adding .zip compression (supposedly "easy"), and see what happens. :)

If you take the alternative suggestion of writing a .gz filesystem driver, though it may force me taking my left shoe off :hi:, would be anyway welcome ;).

:hi:
Wonko


oki, you got me challenged ;)
Clonedisk will have a backup/restore to/from zip, next to gz.

Cheers,
Erwan

#266 rocketero

rocketero

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 155 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 November 2010 - 06:54 AM

I haven't read all posts here, but if there is something related please point me to it.

When I opened the program (v.1.8.3), and go to TOOLS-->INFORMATIONS

I get the following:


->Boot Sector
Invalid!!
->Partition_Info Type: 0, NO-Partition empty partition-table entry
->VolumeGUID: \\?\Volume{f3e563d6-f31a-11df-bdf9-806e6f6e6963}\
->GetDiskFreeSpace
Sectors per cluster: 8
Bytes per sector: 512
ClusterSize: 4096
Total clusters: 45849343 (179098 MB)
Free Clusters: 29080968 (113597 MB)

In the "Cloning" TAB it says: \\.\C: [] (shouldn't it say \\.\C: (System) ??

And when I click the button "Backup" and type a name for the .img file to create, I get a small pop-up that reads: "Could not create file"

I have not idea why it says "invalid!!" in the boot sector info when this computer boots fine into Windows 7 64bit (after booting first into Asus Express Gate, commented below).

And when I click on "Partition Table Editor" button I get a pop-up window that says:

Readfile Error: The handle is invalid.

I have only one HD (1TB) with 4 partitions and still some Unallocated space in it.

First Partition was created by Windows 7 64bit installer for some system files (100MB in size).
Second Partition is where Windows 7 64bit installed.
Third and fourth partitions I have them for data and backup storage.

So please tell me what this "invalid" boot sector message can refer to.


I don't know if a program I installed has to do with this, it's a program that came with the motherboard, from ASUS, called "ASUS EXPRESS GATE" (techcombo.com/2009/08/19/asus-express-gate-review-123/). This program installed some hiden boot files in order to access the Internet even before booting Windows (or DOS).

Any finding on this matter is appreciated.

#267 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 26 November 2010 - 04:05 PM

So please tell me what this "invalid" boot sector message can refer to.


I don't know if a program I installed has to do with this, it's a program that came with the motherboard, from ASUS, called "ASUS EXPRESS GATE" (techcombo.com/2009/08/19/asus-express-gate-review-123/). This program installed some hiden boot files in order to access the Internet even before booting Windows (or DOS).

Any finding on this matter is appreciated.

There are now different types of partition table schemes, primarily something called a GUID Partition Table (GPT) in addition to the MBR based types. According to Wikipedia, GPT forms a part of the Extensible Firmware Interface (EFI) standard (Intel's proposed replacement for the PC BIOS), it is also used on some BIOS systems because of the limitations of MBR partition tables, which restrict a disk partition's size to a maximum of 2.2 TB (2.2 × 1012 bytes). Maybe this is the issue...

I think Express gate stuff is no different than using GRUB or other boot manager to intercept thigns before the real boot process of Windows is called, etc.

Have you tried any other partition tools?

#268 rocketero

rocketero

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 155 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 November 2010 - 03:43 AM

There are now different types of partition table schemes, primarily something called a GUID Partition Table (GPT) in addition to the MBR based types. According to Wikipedia, GPT forms a part of the Extensible Firmware Interface (EFI) standard (Intel's proposed replacement for the PC BIOS), it is also used on some BIOS systems because of the limitations of MBR partition tables, which restrict a disk partition's size to a maximum of 2.2 TB (2.2 × 1012 bytes). Maybe this is the issue...

I think Express gate stuff is no different than using GRUB or other boot manager to intercept thigns before the real boot process of Windows is called, etc.

Have you tried any other partition tools?


I did not use any kind of third party tool to create the partitions, just the regular Microsoft Windows 7 partition software from "Manage" in Computer properties menu.

#269 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2905 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 27 November 2010 - 01:25 PM

I haven't read all posts here, but if there is something related please point me to it.

When I opened the program (v.1.8.3), and go to TOOLS-->INFORMATIONS

I get the following:


->Boot Sector
Invalid!!
->Partition_Info Type: 0, NO-Partition empty partition-table entry
->VolumeGUID: \\?\Volume{f3e563d6-f31a-11df-bdf9-806e6f6e6963}\
->GetDiskFreeSpace
Sectors per cluster: 8
Bytes per sector: 512
ClusterSize: 4096
Total clusters: 45849343 (179098 MB)
Free Clusters: 29080968 (113597 MB)

In the "Cloning" TAB it says: \\.\C: [] (shouldn't it say \\.\C: (System) ??

And when I click the button "Backup" and type a name for the .img file to create, I get a small pop-up that reads: "Could not create file"

I have not idea why it says "invalid!!" in the boot sector info when this computer boots fine into Windows 7 64bit (after booting first into Asus Express Gate, commented below).

And when I click on "Partition Table Editor" button I get a pop-up window that says:

Readfile Error: The handle is invalid.

I have only one HD (1TB) with 4 partitions and still some Unallocated space in it.

First Partition was created by Windows 7 64bit installer for some system files (100MB in size).
Second Partition is where Windows 7 64bit installed.
Third and fourth partitions I have them for data and backup storage.

So please tell me what this "invalid" boot sector message can refer to.


I don't know if a program I installed has to do with this, it's a program that came with the motherboard, from ASUS, called "ASUS EXPRESS GATE" (techcombo.com/2009/08/19/asus-express-gate-review-123/). This program installed some hiden boot files in order to access the Internet even before booting Windows (or DOS).

Any finding on this matter is appreciated.



Hi Rocketero,

Invalid boot sector means that i could not find the signature $aa55 in the last 2 bytes.
That could mean that you have a VBR instead of a standard MBR.
I would need this boot sector to investigate.

Backup / could not create file : i have put some more details now in the error message.
Please download clonedisk again and try again.

Partition Table Editor / readfile error : same as above, please give it another try.

Regards,
Erwan.

#270 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 November 2010 - 06:17 PM

Invalid boot sector means that i could not find the signature $aa55 in the last 2 bytes.
That could mean that you have a VBR instead of a standard MBR.
I would need this boot sector to investigate.

AHH...Learning something new every day... By VBR, I'm assuming you mean the volume boot record...Did some google searches...Very interesting (and complicated!) Glad you understand all of this !!!!

#271 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 05 December 2010 - 05:08 PM

Hi Erwan.
Is there any advantages or disadvantages to use Clonedisk
within LiveXP, VistaPE or Win7PE on UFD or CD?
Thinking of making a simple script for Winbuilder of your advanced App if I may?
:worship:

#272 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2905 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 05 December 2010 - 05:45 PM

Hi Al_Jo,

I myself use clonedisk from within a winpe (winre to be exact, made with make_pe3).
I have backuped and/or restored a few systems (windows and non windows ones).

Now, if there any pros or cons : being the author, I would not be objective :worship:

Regards,
Erwan.

#273 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 January 2011 - 07:46 PM

Maybe useful, maybe not. :unsure:
http://jcarlossaez1.wordpress.com/

2. – ZipPipe tool

ZipPipe tool creates a Windows named pipe, listens on it and compress using zlib library what other process writes on it using a compression level.
....

3. – UnZipPipe tool

UnZipPipe tool reads and uncompress the content of a gz compressed file using the zlib and writes it to a Windows named pipe
....

You can think on ZipPipe and UnZipPipe as the equivalent tool to mknod plus gzip in the Unix environment.


Also:
http://www.codeproje...ry/LiteZip.aspx

LiteZip/LiteUnzip

LiteZip.dll and LiteUnzip.dll are two Win32 Dynamic Link libraries. The former has functions to create a ZIP archive (i.e., compress numerous files into a ZIP file). The latter has functions to extract the contents of a ZIP archive.

This project is largely based upon work by Lucian Wischik, who in turn based his work on gzip 1.1.4, zlib, and info-zip which are by Jean-Loup Gailly and Mark Adler. Lucian's code has been reworked to be written in plain C, using only the Win32 API, and packaged into 2 DLLs. (Also some improvements to error-checking, some added functionality, and code-reduction/stream-lining was accomplished.)

The primary benefits of these 2 DLLs are as follows:
You can unzip (extract the contents) from a zip archive that's in a diskfile, memory-buffer, or pipe. And, you can unzip those contents into a diskfile, memory-buffer, pipe, or even a combination of the preceding.

The same applies to creating a zip archive. You can create the zip archive on disk, in memory, or to a pipe. And, the contents of this zip archive can come from diskfiles, memory-buffers, pipes, or even a combination of any/all of the preceding.

Given this flexibility, you're not required to write out your files to a temporary directory before using them. One noteworthy feature is that you can unzip directly from an embedded resource into a memory buffer or into a diskfile, which is great for installers. Another useful feature is the ability to create your zip in dynamically growable memory backed by the system pagefile (i.e., you don't need to guess the allocation size of a memory buffer before zipping some stuff into that memory buffer. You can let the DLL grow the memory buffer on-the-fly, as needed, on your behalf).
The zip and unzip functions are each in their own DLLs. So for example, if you need only to extract files from a ZIP archive, but not create ZIP archives, then you can use only LiteUnzip.dll and do not need to waste resources for code that you don't need (in LiteZip.dll).
The DLLs can be used by any program written in any language (that can load and call a standard DLL). This includes C or C++ compiled code, Visual Basic, etc. Although the source code for the DLLs is written in plain C, the compiled DLLs are included for those people who just want to use the DLLs with any language. A text file (Vb.txt) is supplied with function definitions to use the DLLs from Visual Basic.

And an update to the DLL means that all programs using it automatically obtain the update without needing to be recompiled.
The DLLs themselves have a small footprint. For example, LiteZip.dll is only around 40K. One copy of a DLL's code can be shared among many running programs. Read-only data in the DLL is also shared (i.e., some of the large "lookup tables"). On systems with limited memory, this can be a valuable feature.
The DLLs support password-based zip encryption.
The one set of DLLs support both Unicode and ANSI strings. You don't need separate DLLs for Unicode versus ANSI, nor do you need to recompile the DLLs.
The DLLs should work under all versions of Windows, including CE.
All human readable strings are in each DLL's resources, facilitating the easy creation of non-English language versions of these DLLs.
The DLLs also support reading and writing GZIP format (single file only -- not a tar ball).

The limitation of these DLLs is:
They don't support disk-spanning


:cheers:
Wonko

#274 erwan.l

erwan.l

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2905 posts
  • Location:Nantes - France
  •  
    France

Posted 23 January 2011 - 11:51 AM

Maybe useful, maybe not. :confused1:
http://jcarlossaez1.wordpress.com/



Also:
http://www.codeproje...ry/LiteZip.aspx



:dubbio:
Wonko


Hi Wonko,

Nice links, thanks for that.
Actually, the first one (wordpress) is pretty much what I do in clonedisk : I use a stream to write directly to a gz file.
The con with this method is the gz format which is not so popular on windows platform.

The second one has one inconvenient as well : you need to have an existing file in order to add it to a zip file.
I want to use a stream to directly write to a zip file so that I dont use extra space (original file + zipped file).
I did not manage it yet.

Regards,
Erwan.

#275 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15540 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 January 2011 - 12:38 PM

I want to use a stream to directly write to a zip file so that I dont use extra space (original file + zipped file).
I did not manage it yet.

From the little I understand this problem is due more to the zip algorithm than to anything else.
(I suspect that gzip is directly "pipable" - in an unnamed pipe - and zip is not).

:confused1:
Wonko




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users