Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Is VistaPE dead?


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 30 June 2009 - 12:22 PM

Is VistaPe abandoned? Didn't see any development in a while
Who's maintaining it right now?

:lol:

#2 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 June 2009 - 12:35 PM

Everyone switched to win7pe as its actively developed. Predictions are that win7 will go RTM towards the end of July so the final version is not very far away. Will have to wait till October for the retail version.

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 30 June 2009 - 01:28 PM

So which one is the best/most usable/least buggy Vistaish PE at the moment?

VistaPE 10

VistaPE 11

VistaPE 12RC1

Win7PE

:lol:

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 June 2009 - 05:53 PM

So which one is the best/most usable/least buggy Vistaish PE at the moment?

Win7PE is still under development, but IT IS under development!

Peter

#5 Joshua

Joshua

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Computer, Bikes, and many others
  •  
    Germany

Posted 30 June 2009 - 07:34 PM

but IT IS under development!

Well roared, lion! :lol:

Joshua

#6 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 June 2009 - 11:04 PM

So which one is the best/most usable/least buggy Vistaish PE at the moment?

VistaPE 10

VistaPE 11

VistaPE 12RC1

Win7PE

In that list, VistaPE 12 RC1 is the most useful. Win7PE is not yet ready for real-world use. But it's the wave of the future.

#7 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 30 June 2009 - 11:38 PM

Win7PE is still under development, but IT IS under development!

So it has the potential for success or failure, the only thing sure seems to be, that it's not the best right now, else you would have said so! :lol:

;)

#8 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 30 June 2009 - 11:44 PM

In that list, VistaPE 12 RC1 is the most useful. Win7PE is not yet ready for real-world use. But it's the wave of the future.

I didn't ask without reason. VistaPE12RC1 is surely the newest version, but i remember reading from several people that one of the earlier versions, no idea which, had less problems. But that has been some time ago. Meanwhile some work went int VistaPE12 which might or might not tiped the favor in VistaPE12.

:lol:

#9 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2009 - 11:55 AM

Various people have improved the VistaPE 12 RC1 scripts however you have to search the forum to find the fixes.

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 01 July 2009 - 01:58 PM

Since there is no more development of VistaPE.
How if someone would upload a ziped archive of VistaPE12RC1 complete with all available fixes and patches, for our Boot-Land Archive?
I'm sure a few people already have such a VistaPE on their machine.

:lol:

#11 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1030 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2009 - 02:09 PM

Since there is no more development of VistaPE.
How if someone would upload a ziped archive of VistaPE12RC1 complete with all available fixes and patches, for our Boot-Land Archive?
I'm sure a few people already have such a VistaPE on their machine.

:lol:


that is probably a a good idea. with nightman MIA we don't know if the site will be kept up indefinably.

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 July 2009 - 02:29 PM

This would be easy to solve.

Open a new forum topic at the VistaPE section that includes a location where to download a good working version.

Then list this new topic at the pinned topic at the VistaPE section so that readers know where to find it.

If necessary, add it to the "FAQ" - http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=8195

About the location, it could be uploaded to the winbuilder.net site - http://winbuilder.ne...load.php?list.5

It would replace the current VistaPE010 project that is listed there.

:lol:

#13 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2009 - 02:39 PM

I could probably do that ... today or tomorrow.

ETA: Or, how about a new project, downloadable through WInBuilder, contianing only updated VistaPE scripts.

#14 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 01 July 2009 - 03:20 PM

@Nuno
What download? There is no download of VistaPE10 available at winbuilder.net.

:lol:

#15 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 July 2009 - 03:38 PM

@Nuno
What download? There is no download of VistaPE10 available at winbuilder.net.

;)


Really? ;)

This must be somethng else then, mislabeled:
http://winbuilder.ne...load.php?list.5
http://winbuilder.ne...oad.php?view.28

:lol:

jaclaz

#16 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 July 2009 - 04:47 PM

Both options are feasible, the VistaPE version available at winbuilder.net is also in dire need of an update.. ;)

Just name this version as "VistaPE reloaded" (example) or something more adequate.

:lol:

#17 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 01 July 2009 - 05:02 PM

I could probably do that ... today or tomorrow.

ETA: Or, how about a new project, downloadable through WInBuilder, contianing only updated VistaPE scripts.

@JonF
I have ask YahooUk for change some variables
So VistaPE should also change
%VistaInfo% ===> Rename to %ProjectInfo% or %PEInfo%
%VPECfg% ===> Rename to %PECfg%
%VPECfgCD% ===> Rename to %PECfgCD%
%VPE_CFG% ===> Rename to %PE_CFG%

Doing this will make api more flexible and ready for more project

You can do it by:
TXTReplace,%BaseDir%\VistaPE-Core\*.*,#$pVistaInfo#$p,#$pProjectInfo#$p

TXTReplace,%BaseDir%\VistaPE-Core\*.*,#$pVPECfg#$p,#$pPECfg#$p

TXTReplace,%BaseDir%\VistaPE-Core\*.*,#$pVPECfgCD#$p,#$pPECfgCD#$p

TXTReplace,%BaseDir%\VistaPE-Core\*.*,#$pVPE_Cfg#$p,#$pPE_Cfg#$p
I do a test and don't get any error
For Win7PE
TXTReplace,%BaseDir%\Win7PE\*.*,#$pWin7Info#$p,#$pProjectInfo#$p

TXTReplace,%BaseDir%\Win7PE\*.*,#$p7PECfg#$p,#$pPECfg#$p

TXTReplace,%BaseDir%\Win7PE\*.*,#$p7PECfgCD#$p,#$pPECfgCD#$p

//TXTReplace,%BaseDir%\Win7PE\*.*,#$p7PE_Cfg#$p,#$pPE_Cfg#$p

Wait a little that YahooUK accepte this new variable name

Thanks
Pedro

#18 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 01 July 2009 - 05:33 PM

@jaclaz
Smartypants, why don't you amuse me and try to actually download? ;)

:lol:

#19 yahoouk

yahoouk

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 518 posts

Posted 01 July 2009 - 05:43 PM

@pedrole15

Thanks for your wise and acceptable idea.
That's great to be unique all projects under one variable name.
I much appreciate with this and I will change all mine to those.
I think all Project Creators should be informed and acknowledged them.

Thanks & B Regards,

yahooUK

#20 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2009 - 06:47 PM

@Pedro: I can do that. WIil I get a log of all files in which the changes were made? Or, I think I could do it in Notepad++.

#21 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 July 2009 - 07:05 PM

@pedrole15

Thanks for your wise and acceptable idea.
That's great to be unique all projects under one variable name.
I much appreciate with this and I will change all mine to those.
I think all Project Creators should be informed and acknowledged them.

Thanks & B Regards,

yahooUK

That's an excellent decision :lol:

Just to tell you one of different 'benefits', if you as author decide to want to have it:

If you include ScriptLog.Script from nativeEx_barebone, and add at the end of [process] sections a one word - line
[Scripts]Retrieve Project Info=Version 25 at 2009-06-28 19:40:10Make directories=Version 8 at 2009-06-28 19:40:15HoJoPE Hives Factory=Version 62 at 2009-06-28 19:40:21Build Model=Version 76 at 2009-06-28 19:40:27Copy and Expand files=Version 24 at 2009-06-28 19:40:44AutoIt Support=Version 3 at 2009-06-28 19:40:47OleSupport=Version 14 at 2009-06-28 19:40:50InfSupport=Version 5 at 2009-06-28 19:40:53Explorer=Version 060 at 2009-06-28 19:41:01ImDisk=Version 28 at 2009-06-28 19:41:04Misc Settings=Version 19 at 2009-06-28 19:41:05Auto Keyboard=Version 5 at 2009-06-28 19:41:07autoLocalization=Version 5 at 2009-06-28 19:41:09CMD Window Settings=Version 3 at 2009-06-28 19:41:11Display Properties=Version 13 at 2009-06-28 19:41:19driverSigning=Version 9 at 2009-06-28 19:41:20Essential Fonts=Version 7 at 2009-06-28 19:41:27Toggle Keyboard=Version 4 at 2009-06-28 19:41:28Off By One Web Browser=Version 8 at 2009-06-28 19:41:33Welcome=Version 11 at 2009-06-28 19:41:34Notepad=Version 009 at 2009-06-28 19:42:08hojoPEsoftwareHive=Version 000 at 2009-06-28 19:42:22Registry Editor=Version 8 at 2009-06-28 19:42:37Task Manager=Version 8 at 2009-06-28 19:42:39AutoRuns=Version 5 at 2009-06-28 19:42:41Depends=Version 2 at 2009-06-28 19:42:43Devcon=Version 3 at 2009-06-28 19:42:45FileMon=Version 5 at 2009-06-28 19:42:47RegMon=Version 4 at 2009-06-28 19:42:50Services=Version 11 at 2009-06-28 19:42:53qEmu 0.9.0 Network Driver=Version 5 at 2009-06-28 19:42:54Universal Video Driver=Version 11 at 2009-06-28 19:42:55VirtualBox / VMWare Network Driver=Version 6 at 2009-06-28 19:42:56locale Additions=Version 5 at 2009-06-28 19:42:57Create ISO=Version 31 at 2009-06-28 19:43:10Run ISO in VirtualBox=Version 22 at 2009-06-28 19:43:28
in %ProjectInfo%

Maybe good for debugging purposes.

Peter

#22 Max_Real Qnx

Max_Real Qnx

    Gold Member

  • Patrician
  • 1382 posts
  • Location:Istanbul
  • Interests:To be or not to be that is the question.
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 01 July 2009 - 08:04 PM

Hi my friends ;)

VistaPE is never die.

Coming soon Leopard beta 1 based on the VistaPE 11 !

Attached File  Leopard.7z   391.13KB   530 downloads

Regards :lol:

#23 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 July 2009 - 08:51 PM

The graphic part is looking cool.

:lol:

#24 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 01 July 2009 - 10:16 PM

Good new Max_Real_Qnx is always alive ;)
Good work as always Max :lol:
I have no too many people to help to create a new VistaPE French (See VistaPE section...) ;)
If i can help you Max for your Leopard Project; it's will be with a big pleasure ;)
It's great if we can add Audio device and network wifi support (With holger Project...) in Leopard project and maybe not the feature of Windows Vista (Internet explorer 8, Sidebar, Photo Gallery is create; we have a problem with windows media player 11... Services...).
If we can have a VistaPE complete it's better; i think...
And if the Api of VistaPE and Win7PE can have the same parameter (Or more with PRESERVE Parameter, i hope in Winbuilder 077RC2) it's a good new !!! ;)

#25 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 July 2009 - 09:28 AM

@jaclaz
Smartypants, why don't you amuse me and try to actually download? ;)

:lol:


It wasn't aimed at you ;), but rather at the mantainer of winbuilder.net, which "advertised" a non-existant download (i.e. one that redirects to vistape.net). ;)

More explicitly:
@Nuno
The page here:
http://winbuilder.ne...load.php?list.5

has this link:
http://winbuilder.net/request.php?28
http://winbuilder.ne...oad.php?view.28
that resolves to:
http://www.vistape.n...ape010-base.rar

thus, though perfectly accurate:

It would replace the current VistaPE010 project that is listed there.

could have been better said as:

It would replace the current VistaPE010 project that is ONLY listed there, but that is unavailable as a download.


;)

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users