Jump to content











Photo
* * * * - 3 votes

WinVBlock


  • Please log in to reply
619 replies to this topic

#601 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 215 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, Coreboot
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 March 2016 - 07:23 AM

I do not use driver aoe32.sys of Sha0 but I tested the driver AoE 0.97g from winaoe.org and this driver does not work with TXT WinXP Setup.
 
But I was able to integrate all drivers iSCSI, AoE and WinVBlock to ISO image so that after installation are all available in Device Manager - please read this post: WinXP AOE boot problem with new hardware
 
In addition, the more stable is old WinVBlock 0.0.1.8 without direct map support ISO images - fix_inf_winvblock_0.0.1.8_(june-1-2010)_no_direct_map.zip


  • wimb likes this

#602 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13787 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 March 2016 - 08:39 AM

reboot12, on 17 Mar 2016 - 08:23 AM, said:
In addition, the more stable is old WinVBlock 0.0.1.8 without direct map support ISO images - fix_inf_winvblock_0.0.1.8_(june-1-2010)_no_direct_map.zip

This one, right?
http://reboot.pro/to...block/?p=193676
http://reboot.pro/to...block/?p=193748

:duff:
Wonko

#603 mr_jrt

mr_jrt

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 March 2016 - 04:45 PM

I do not use driver aoe32.sys of Sha0 but I tested the driver AoE 0.97g from winaoe.org and this driver does not work with TXT WinXP Setup.

 

Indeed, I tried that as well, and it didn't show up in text mode.



#604 mr_jrt

mr_jrt

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 20 March 2016 - 03:08 AM

Well, good news. I've managed to get, tweak, and build the code and get a working driver using a newer version of the Windows Driver Devkit. I tried using the latest code but that fails to even handle the memdisk, let alone the AoE disk (or indeed, direct mapping), so as suspected I'll have to try cherry-picking changes from the unreleased work to see if I can get direct-mapped disks working without breaking everything else. :)


Edited by mr_jrt, 20 March 2016 - 03:08 AM.


#605 mr_jrt

mr_jrt

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 21 March 2016 - 01:01 AM

Hmm. Still no joy.
 
I've got kernel logs of installing XP successfully with iSCSI: http://pastebin.com/SUETWpxP
..and unsuccessfully with AoE: http://pastebin.com/0sbDT27p
 
Just doesn't seem to contact the AoE target when booting from it in GUI mode...

Text mode:
Successfully identified aBFT NIC
No sBFT found
Attempting SAN boot; will wait for system disk
iBFT requested
No iBFT available!
Waiting for SAN system disk (attempt 1)
  System disk is <unknown>, boot disk is <unknown>
  MBR f9e4bcb6: "\??\WinVBlock#AoEHardDisk#1&c0ac9c8&0&AoE_at_Shelf_0.Slot_0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}"
Found system disk at "\??\WinVBlock#AoEHardDisk#1&c0ac9c8&0&AoE_at_Shelf_0.Slot_0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}"
Found SAN system disk; proceeding with boot
GUI mode:
Successfully identified aBFT NIC
No sBFT found
Attempting SAN boot; will wait for system disk
iBFT requested
No iBFT available!
Waiting for SAN system disk (attempt 1)
  System disk is <unknown>, boot disk is <unknown>
Waiting for SAN system disk (attempt 2)
  System disk is <unknown>, boot disk is <unknown>
Waiting for SAN system disk (attempt 3)
...etc
Comparing it against the successful text mode boot (and the successful GUI mode iSCSI boot) I can't see anything obvious, so I guess I'll have to add more logging in. :(

Edited by mr_jrt, 21 March 2016 - 01:03 AM.


#606 mr_jrt

mr_jrt

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2016 - 11:08 PM

Gaah! I was being stupid. The two reasons it wasn't even being loaded was:

i) Because I thoughtlessly inserted it into a non-sticky section ([CdRomDrivers.Load], incidentally) along with the iScsiPrt driver. The integratedrv utility does this to control load ordering, but adds in the required service keys manually for GUI mode to work:
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iScsiPrt\Parameters","BusType",0x00010001,9
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iScsiPrt","DisplayName",0x00000000,"iScsiPort Driver"
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iScsiPrt","ErrorControl",0x00010001,1
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iScsiPrt","Start",0x00010001,0
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iScsiPrt","Type",0x00010001,1
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iScsiPrt","ImagePath",0x00000000,"system32\drivers\msiscsi.sys"
and ii) ...even once moved into a "sticky" section, the proto-service entries in the proto-registry don't specify the driver filename, i.e. these entries: 
[SCSI.Load]
wvblk32 = wvblk32.sys,4
AoE     = aoe32.sys,4
...will create the following registry values:
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wvblk32","ErrorControl",0x00010001,1
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wvblk32","Group",0x00000000,"SCSI miniport"
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wvblk32","Start",0x00010001,0
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wvblk32","Type",0x00010001,1

HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\AoE","ErrorControl",0x00010001,1
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\AoE","Group",0x00000000,"SCSI miniport"
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\AoE","Start",0x00010001,0
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\AoE","Type",0x00010001,1
You should note that there is no "image path" value to the .sys driver yet. Windows will look for a driver in system32\drivers with a filename that matches, meaning that the filenames would need to be "wvblk32.sys" and "aoe.sys". My next problem came from the fact the filename as built by the project's build is aoe32.sys, meaning the driver will not get loaded once GUI mode starts, but will load fine in text mode from txtsetup.sif. It's old information, but easily forgotten if you're not careful.

With those two issues resolved, it's actually loading, abet still crashing. But at least it's loading!

Finally, I also want to take a moment to congratulate Sha0 and the original author of WinAOE - the debug tracing in the code base is absolutely top-notch.

#607 mr_jrt

mr_jrt

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 March 2016 - 01:25 AM

...and success, we have a winner. Just installed XP completely over WinVBlock's AoE from start to finish, both text and GUI modes.

Now to get direct mapping working with this older version... :)

#608 baselsayeh

baselsayeh
  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 August 2016 - 09:36 PM

Hello

@sha0

I think that i found a bug in your driver.

Tried to install windows vista in vhd using winvblock [56fb4f1438f0cdb2652de24ccff06737248dd942 from github] by wimb without any success.

Applied the vista wim file and rebooted from the vhd.

It would fail without any log file is written to disk.

Then i tried to install windows vista in virtual box and then install winvblock and boot the machines vhd in my real laptop

it worked but it doesn't want  to save any change to the vdh file

Each restart it would install my laptop drivers

but with firadisk everything works fine.



#609 tinybit

tinybit

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1052 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 27 December 2016 - 03:41 AM

Some people encountered a problem(Blue STOP:07B) with WinVBlock(reported at somewhere in a Chinese site - bbs.wuyou.net). It seems the driver does not support memory blocks at above 4GB. Can anyone confirm it? Note that It is OK loading IMGs at blocks below 4GB. So I guess WinVBlock does not support blocks above memory address of 4GB.



#610 Biatu

Biatu

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 14 January 2017 - 05:21 AM

This would be a very useful utility in linux. Create G4D ramdisk, Boot Linux, format ramdisk, do stuff, kexec into bootmgr/syslinux/grub, boot WinPE. Would work wonders for persay...PlopKexec. we could use LZMA/LZMS conpression in WIM, boot.


Edited by Biatu, 14 January 2017 - 05:22 AM.


#611 ITriedOkay

ITriedOkay
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Antarctica

Posted 25 October 2017 - 02:18 PM

Sorry to necro-bump the thread, but has anyone managed to get this to work with Windows 2000?

My attempts were unsuccessful as I always get stuck on the "Starting Windows" screen, and there were no errors/BSODs from which I could find out what went wrong.


Edited by ITriedOkay, 25 October 2017 - 02:21 PM.


#612 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13787 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 25 October 2017 - 08:21 PM

Sorry to necro-bump the thread, but has anyone managed to get this to work with Windows 2000?

My attempts were unsuccessful as I always get stuck on the "Starting Windows" screen, and there were no errors/BSODs from which I could find out what went wrong.

In theory WinvBlock shoudl be compatible with Windows 2000, but I don't think that anyone has tested it in a recent version on that platform, but besides that, you will have to detail how exactly you are using it, "I made some attempts and they didn't work" means little, there are several ways the driver can be installed and invoked/started.

 

:duff:

Wonko


  • ITriedOkay likes this

#613 ITriedOkay

ITriedOkay
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Antarctica

Posted 26 October 2017 - 10:40 PM

you will have to detail how exactly you are using it

 

:duff:

Wonko

 

Sure thing  :D

  1. Installed Windows 2000 in a virtual machine on a virtual hard disk file (VHD), configured the system to use generic drivers, removed pagefile and whatnot.
  2. Installed WinVBlock using the Add Hardware wizard, the exact steps were the ones from the FiraDisk thread, first post under the section called "Firadisk driver installation instruction for Windows XP" (I can't find the install steps for WinVBlock right now but IIRC they are the same for both WVB and FiraDisk).
  3. Converted the VHD to RAW IMG using CloneDisk without unallocated space or the extra sector at the end.
  4. Booted from GRUB4DOS using the regular --mem switch (see code below).
title Windows 2000
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /2K.img
map --mem /2K.img (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr
I used this same exact procedure for Windows XP and it booted without any problems. My issue with Windows 2000 is that it freezes at the "Starting Windows" screen after the loading bar is filled completely... I tried using the /sos switch in boot.ini and saw all driver files being loaded including wvblk32.sys which is even loaded before disk.sys. After they're all loaded the screen just stays the same.


#614 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13787 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 November 2017 - 10:31 AM

Hmmm.

It doesn't sound like an issue with the driver (or its installation) that would normally end up in a Blue Screen Of Death, typically with STOP ERROR 0x0000007b.

 

It reminds me of an issue connected with drive letter assignments and with a "fixed" Winlogon path.

 

Maybe it is not connected, but do check the Registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\Current Version\Winlogon\Userinit:

https://web.archive.....com/kb/249321/

 

And the MountedDevices keys, checking drive letter assignments (and detected devices).

 

Before the above, what happens in Safe Mode?

 

:duff:

Wonko



#615 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 06 November 2017 - 03:10 AM

Some people encountered a problem(Blue STOP:07B) with WinVBlock(reported at somewhere in a Chinese site - bbs.wuyou.net). It seems the driver does not support memory blocks at above 4GB. Can anyone confirm it? Note that It is OK loading IMGs at blocks below 4GB. So I guess WinVBlock does not support blocks above memory address of 4GB.

32-bit Windows: 2^32 = 4,294,967,296.  4,294,967,296 bytes = 4 GiB.  At this time, I'm not sure how one might reach above that limit: https://msdn.microso...5(v=vs.85).aspx
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#616 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13787 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 4 weeks ago

32-bit Windows: 2^32 = 4,294,967,296.  4,294,967,296 bytes = 4 GiB.  At this time, I'm not sure how one might reach above that limit: https://msdn.microso...5(v=vs.85).aspx

Hmmm. :dubbio:

 

And how would Gavotte's Ramdisk work? :unsure:

 

http://reboot.pro/to...ottes-rramdisk/

https://www10.atwiki.jp/gavotterd/

 

:duff:

Wonko


  • Sha0 likes this

#617 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 4 weeks ago

[...]

And how would Gavotte's Ramdisk work? :unsure:

[...]

 

I'd have to read the source-code.  Thanks for the idea!



#618 tinybit

tinybit

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1052 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 4 weeks ago

32-bit Windows: 2^32 = 4,294,967,296.  4,294,967,296 bytes = 4 GiB.  At this time, I'm not sure how one might reach above that limit: https://msdn.microso...5(v=vs.85).aspx

 

But firadisk supports memory address above 4G. I think you may have a look at it.


  • Sha0 likes this

#619 ITriedOkay

ITriedOkay
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Antarctica

Posted 2 weeks ago

Sorry I'm late!

 

what happens in Safe Mode?

Same as last time, frozen at the "Starting Windows..." screen.

 

Maybe it is not connected, but do check the Registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\Current Version\Winlogon\Userinit:

https://web.archive.....com/kb/249321/

 

And the MountedDevices keys, checking drive letter assignments (and detected devices).

Changed the userinit.exe path and checked that the MountedDevices are assigned correctly and accessible by me, but still no difference. The virtual machine still boots as usual.


Edited by ITriedOkay, 2 weeks ago.


#620 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13787 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 2 weeks ago

Sorry I'm late!

 

Don't worry, you will be  paid the agreed upon amount nonetheless ;).

 

 

 

Changed the userinit.exe path and checked that the MountedDevices are assigned correctly and accessible by me, but still no difference. The virtual machine still boots as usual.

 

Hmmm.

Good (meaning bad :(), the fact that the driver is loaded should mean that something in the later "GUI" part of booting is missing or *somehow* loops, if drive letters are OK, maybe it is some of the other "less used" disk path ID's that are involved (it is possible that XP *somehow* resolves them while 2K does not).

 

But I wonder what it could be.

 

If you use a direct mapping (without --mem) of the (contiguos) image, does it change anything? :unsure:

 

:duff:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users