Jump to content











Photo
* * * * - 3 votes

WinVBlock


  • Please log in to reply
623 replies to this topic

#551 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15163 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 July 2015 - 12:17 PM

But my version files .inf and .oem is better because have some fixes:

Well, but (unless I am missing something) nothing prevents from mixing the best of both, if someone really wants to use nlite or fix the other minor issues.

The (nice :)) betterings you did to those two files do NOT anyway allow you to insist (again) on advising the use of a less-featured version of the driver, but much more than that deceive a new user with incorrect statements related only to the specific version of the driver you use as if they were an universal truth.

 

Of course you are perfectly free :) to consider yourself the ultimate expert of Winvblock, and propagate whatever (possibly inaccurate) information you believe into, but you have to be prepared to the possibility of receiving some critics by other members when this information is considered to be actually inaccurate.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#552 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 July 2015 - 07:30 PM

Of course you are perfectly free :) to consider yourself the ultimate expert of Winvblock, and propagate whatever (possibly inaccurate) information you believe into, but you have to be prepared to the possibility of receiving some critics by other members when this information is considered to be actually inaccurate.

Yes, but believe me, WinVBlock testing is difficult and time consuming. I use the method of trial and error, and I think that each of my information is precious. Today I tested the new driver WinVBlock 0.0.1.8-DEV (Feb-14-2011) and during the installation of WinXP system lost access to a virtual optical drive (xp.iso (0xff)):
Attached File  loss_access_ISO.png   111.42KB   0 downloads
The old version I tested many times in virtual machines, and in real computers. I think that the old version (0.0.1.8 (June-1-2010)), which was officially released by Sha0 at this topic on page 9 is more stable than later and my information about this version are very accurate.
Only a test gives the best information about operation of driver, and not heard opinions and inserting links to guides.

#553 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15163 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 July 2015 - 10:54 AM

Well, you are then again in the stance that what wim_b and Steve6375 (besides other much respected and experienced people) wrote (and that countless people have used with success, obviously with a few cases of failure) is false. :w00t: :ph34r:

Of course this is perfectly possible, but improbable.

There may be a zillion reasons why your attempt failed, including the particular hardware (real or virtual) you were using, the source CD/.iso, the settings you used and what not.

There is a simple way to verify, since you are into experimenting, try replicating what is in here:
http://reboot.pro/to...tall-xp-in-vhd/
WITHOUT introducing ANY change of ANY kind.
Then try replicating this (the FOR LOW RAM SYSTEMS (FASTER)):
http://www.rmprepusb...-xp-from-an-iso
again WITHOUT introducing ANY change of ANY kind.
(I am proposing these as examples to replicate because they are very detailed and comprehensive, and as such easier to replicate without making any assumption or unwanted changes, which may well happen when following less detailed tutorials)

Since we are going into this:

Only a test gives the best information about operation of driver, and not heard opinions and inserting links to guides.

allow me to change it into:
Only properly carried and documented  tests with results reproduced by many people on many different hardware gives  the best information about operation of a driver.

 

Anyway, this is essentially a S.E.P.:

https://en.wikipedia..._Else's_Problem

 

:duff:
Wonko


 



#554 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 July 2015 - 12:36 PM

Well, you are then again in the stance that what wim_b and Steve6375 (besides other much respected and experienced people) wrote (and that countless people have used with success, obviously with a few cases of failure) is false.

I do not think so! Just each of us prefer a different way of using WinVBlock:
wimb mainly prefer VHD, USB
steve6375 mainly prefer USB
I prefer mainly HDD, RAW image, PXE, AoE, iSCSI, Tiny PXE Server

I'm interested mainly speed of installation on computers without any drive except a hard drive using the network.

#555 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15163 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 July 2015 - 01:12 PM

Preferences are fine, of course :), but capabilities of a driver are a different thing.

 

Statement:

Winvblock, at least in some version can, when loaded through a properly configured menu.lst entry or set of grub4dos commands, map directly a .iso and this specifically has been reported to work in order to install a Windows XP from the directly mapped .iso to a number of different devices.

 

The last character in the above sentence is a "dot" or "full stop" or "period".

 

Obviously on some hardware (read as the note by Steve6375 about Atom based devices) or in some configuration or in some variations of source device and target device this may not work.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#556 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 July 2015 - 09:34 PM

I have prepared a package with drivers WinVBlock as x86_x64 F6 floppy image and a text-mode drivers ready for integration with nLite. I also added GRUB4DOS menus for PXE use :-):
FIX_INF_WinVBlock_0.0.1.8-DEV_(Feb-14-2011)_direct_map.zip
FIX_INF_WinVBlock_0.0.1.8_(June-1-2010)_no_direct_map.zip

Changelog txtsetup.oem:
  • change name driver to "WinVBlock x86" for x86 and "WinVBlock x64" for x64
Changelog winvblk.inf:
  • change Provider name to reboot12
  • change date and driver version
  • change name install section from [wvblkxx] to [install]
  • change name dispalyed in Device Manager to "WinVBlock x86" for x86 and "WinVBlock x64" for x64
  • delete unnecessary Compatible ID's in section [WinVBlockDriver]
  • rename section [DisablePrefetcher] to [Registry]
  • move AddReg=Registry to section [Service]
  • delete addreg HKLM...AutoReboot (this is unnecessary)
Now the files are clear and understandable :-)

--> Driver's source code has not been changed <--
Attached File  drv.png   21.74KB   2 downloads
Note: By using the ISO image with integrated WinVBlock in real optical drive appears twice in Device Manager but when mapping ISO vanilla + F6 floppy or ISO nLite integrated WinVBlock occurs only once in the device manager :-)

#557 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 13 July 2015 - 07:09 PM

Why BSoD when I change a display resolution with 800x600 for standard vga graphics adapter windows xp on
1024x768 ? :(  Notebook Asus 
On VMware Workstation, works normally........
 
WinVBlock in general is compatible with Integrated Graphics Processor ?
 
 
WinVBlock well works when Driver VGA is already install in system XP and loader.
Here it is impossible to install the driver VGA in already loaded VHD :(
 
Where there can be this problem in a code WinVBlock src ?

Edited by kievigreen, 13 July 2015 - 07:32 PM.


#558 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 July 2015 - 09:03 PM

Why BSoD when I change a display resolution with 800x600 for standard vga graphics adapter windows xp on
1024x768 ?

At what point does it happen?

#559 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 14 July 2015 - 09:31 PM

At what point does it happen?

I didn't understand a question. 
When Windows XP already works. Also it is install.


#560 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 July 2015 - 10:00 PM

How do you know that this fault WinVBlock?

#561 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 14 July 2015 - 10:03 PM

How do you know that this wine WinVBlock?

I transferred that XP to real HDD and everything worked.
And on WinVBlock BsoD 0x000000F4

 

And it occurs only when I try not only to change the Display resolution. Even at input of the DXDIAG team there is BsoD

And it always on the standard VGA controler...

 

It seems to me it is a problem in
dxapi.sys
dxg.sys
dxgthk.sys
 
or
 
vga.sys
vga.dll
videoprt.sys

Edited by kievigreen, 14 July 2015 - 10:29 PM.


#562 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 July 2015 - 10:47 PM

Which versions GRUB4DOS and WinVBlock are using? You use VHD from USB or HDD? Please attach your menu.lst

#563 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 14 July 2015 - 10:51 PM

Which versions GRUB4DOS and WinVBlock are using? You use VHD from USB or HDD? Please attach your menu.lst

I tried all versions WinVBlock
winvblock-3bcb138 
 
title XPSRC2.VHD - WinVBlock RAMDISK  - 620 MB
# Sector-mapped disk
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /XPSRC2.VHD
map --mem /XPSRC2.VHD (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr
 
or
 
title XPSRC2.VHD - WinVBlock RAMDISK  - 620 MB
# Sector-mapped disk
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /XPSRC2.VHD
map /XPSRC2.VHD (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr
 
or
 
title Boot XPSRC2 from VHD (Firadisk)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /XPSRC2.vhd
map /XPSRC2.vhd (hd0)
map --heads=2 --sectors-per-track=18 --mem (md)0x800+4 (99)
map --hook
write (99) [FiraDisk]\nStartOptions=disk,vmem=find:/XPSRC2.vhd,boot;\n\0
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr
 
 
 
by the way on FiraDisk a mistake as well as on WinVBlock
VHD from USB and HDD

Edited by kievigreen, 14 July 2015 - 11:24 PM.


#564 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 14 July 2015 - 11:52 PM

Look as it occurs

https://youtu.be/9Vn0MvoFE7I

 

f6f1c93fcf41.png


Edited by kievigreen, 14 July 2015 - 11:54 PM.


#565 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 July 2015 - 05:00 AM

I tried all versions WinVBlock
winvblock-3bcb138

Try my versions - direct or no_direct map: Link

#566 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 15 July 2015 - 10:59 AM

Try my versions - direct or no_direct map: Link

Now I use the version
0.0.1.8-DEV (Feb-14-2011)
 
wvblk32.sys - 42 KB
 
And this version perfectly works at Windows 7
There are no problems with VGA

Edited by kievigreen, 15 July 2015 - 11:01 AM.


#567 Zoso

Zoso

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 640 posts
  •  
    Isle of Man

Posted 15 July 2015 - 05:29 PM

I have prepared a package with drivers WinVBlock as x86_x64 F6 floppy image and a text-mode drivers ready for integration with nLite. I also added GRUB4DOS menus for PXE use :-):
FIX_INF_WinVBlock_0.0.1.8-DEV_(Feb-14-2011)_direct_map.zip
FIX_INF_WinVBlock_0.0.1.8_(June-1-2010)_no_direct_map.zip

Changelog txtsetup.oem:

  • change name driver to "WinVBlock x86" for x86 and "WinVBlock x64" for x64
Changelog winvblk.inf:
  • change Provider name to reboot12
  • change date and driver version
  • change name install section from [wvblkxx] to [install]
  • change name dispalyed in Device Manager to "WinVBlock x86" for x86 and "WinVBlock x64" for x64
  • delete unnecessary Compatible ID's in section [WinVBlockDriver]
  • rename section [DisablePrefetcher] to [Registry]
  • move AddReg=Registry to section [Service]
  • delete addreg HKLM...AutoReboot (this is unnecessary)
Now the files are clear and understandable :-)

--> Driver's source code has not been changed <--
attachicon.gifdrv.png
Note: By using the ISO image with integrated WinVBlock in real optical drive appears twice in Device Manager but when mapping ISO vanilla + F6 floppy or ISO nLite integrated WinVBlock occurs only once in the device manager :-)


hi reboot12, can you please provide upload mirror on reboot.pro for this?

dropbox wants me to jump through hoops and sign in for it.

thanks

#568 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 July 2015 - 05:54 PM

Mirror on reboot.pro:
Attached File  FIX_INF_WinVBlock_0.0.1.8_(June-1-2010)_no_direct_map.zip   738.54KB   48 downloads
Attached File  FIX_INF_WinVBlock_0.0.1.8-DEV_(Feb-14-2011)_direct_map.zip   765.38KB   27 downloads

#569 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 15 July 2015 - 05:58 PM

So nobody knows in what there can be a problem in WinVBlock  BsoD 0x000000F4 ?


Edited by kievigreen, 15 July 2015 - 05:59 PM.


#570 Zoso

Zoso

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 640 posts
  •  
    Isle of Man

Posted 15 July 2015 - 06:06 PM

thanks for that mirror reboot12!

So nobody knows in what there can be a problem in WinVBlock BsoD 0x000000F4 ?


I recall having the same problem you describe but it was long ago and I can not recall what I did do correct it, sorry. I do recall getting it to work finally though. just wanted to have reboot12's issue handy should I run into it again since I cant recall how I resolved it before.

thanks

#571 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 July 2015 - 06:40 PM

So nobody knows in what there can be a problem in WinVBlock BsoD 0x000000F4?

Does your computer have a dual-core processor? Read this:
Windows XP stops responding when you click or resize a window, or in Windows Server 2003, when you run many console applications, you receive a Stop error message: "0x000000F4"

#572 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 15 July 2015 - 07:12 PM

No, it didn't help

 

I don't understand why BsoD 0x000000F4 is only on the standard VGA controler...
And when I integrate manually the driver of the videocard, everything perfectly works.

Edited by kievigreen, 15 July 2015 - 07:13 PM.


#573 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 245 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, UEFI, Coreboot, MS VirtualPC, VMware
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 July 2015 - 07:34 PM

I have no experience with USB and VHD. Does it have to be necessarily using VHD? Maybe try with the RAW disk image.
I use WinVBlock only with RAW images disks or drives (HDD, FDD, ISO)

#574 memoarfaa

memoarfaa

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 15 July 2015 - 08:53 PM

hi kievigreen 

you my need to analysis with rigtht way to get right soulstion

 

  are you sure BsoD 0x000000F4 because of WinVBlock or FiraDisk

 try to boot your vhd using vboot without both of WinVBlock and FiraDisk

download vboot 

 

http://www.vmlite.co...d=51&Itemid=148

 

instructions can be found here:

 

http://www.vmlite.co...structions.html

 

 or install norma xp to hdd  without WinVBlock and FiraDisk and vga driver

 

are the  BsoD 0x000000F4  stell happen 


Edited by memoarfaa, 15 July 2015 - 08:57 PM.


#575 kievigreen

kievigreen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 15 July 2015 - 11:18 PM

 or install norma xp to hdd  without WinVBlock and FiraDisk and vga driver

 

are the  BsoD 0x000000F4  stell happen 

 

I can make it and it works.
But I should establish vga driver in memory of VHD
 
And VBoot which costs $179 or $79. 
STOP: 0x0000012F (0x00000001, 0xC000026A, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

Edited by kievigreen, 15 July 2015 - 11:19 PM.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users