Photo
- - - - -

Stupid questions from a desperate newbie!

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Arus

Arus

• Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 May 2009 - 10:52 AM

Hello all you clever people.
I am completely new to Grub4DOS.
I had a look at the tutorial, and to be completely honest, didnt understand a word of it.

What I am trying to do, is make a PC, purely for me to test, and become familiar with the different OS.
I want it to include:
Win: XP, Vista, 7RC, Ubuntu Linux and Mac OS X (Kalyway), and maybe Win2k.

I started using a program called Arconis, which was very useful for managing the partitions, but after installing XP, Vista, 7 and Ubuntu Linux on the partitions I created for them, the Arconis OS Loader only recognised XP and Vista.
Also, after installing 7, Vista now fails to boot.....

I scoured Google but found nothing that my feeble brain could understand.....

I downloaded Grub4DOS, and even after looking at the tutorial, i can even figure out where to start!

Help!!

Thanks

#2 pscEx

pscEx

Platinum Member

• Team Reboot
  • 12,424 posts
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 May 2009 - 10:55 AM

I'm also a Grub4DOS newbie, and therefore cannot help you.

But concerning the topic's title:

Have a look into my signature! :D

Peter

#3 Arus

Arus

• Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 May 2009 - 10:56 AM

I think it should read 'There are no stupid questions, just stupid people'.... well in my case anyway! :D

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

Finder

• Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 May 2009 - 11:40 AM

I think it should read 'There are no stupid questions, just stupid people'.... well in my case anyway! ;)

You are not "stupid". ;)

You are:
  • new to the specific topic -> i.e. a n00b in jargon - which is not an offence, it is simply a description of an initial level of knowledge
  • inaccurate (as often n00bs are)