Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Parted Magic 4 script


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 450 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 May 2009 - 02:59 PM

Hi anyone got a parted magic 4 script - can't get only one to work now as 3.x files removed from download locations

Thanks

#2 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 May 2009 - 08:43 PM

3.7 is still available at ftp://linuxfreedom.com/partedmagic/pmagic-4.0.iso.zip. Script for 3.7 attached.

Attached File  PartedMagic3.7.script.7z   111.07KB   311 downloads

#3 Phatboy

Phatboy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 May 2009 - 08:20 PM

Hi Darren,

Here is the script I use for Parted Magic 4.0. Just download the usb version of Parted Magic 4 and put the files in the folder that matches the script.

Hope this helps

Attached Files



#4 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 450 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 08 May 2009 - 08:45 PM

Can't seem to get it to work

Added files from usb folder and it builds fine

But when I boot and select it from grub menu get following error:-

Error 11: Unrecognized device string, or you omitted the required DEVICE part which should lead the filename


Entry in menu.lst is:-

title Parted Magic version: 4.0 Default settings (Runs from RAM / USB usable)
kernel /pmagic/bzImage noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=791 sleep=10 loglevel=0 keymap=us
initrd /pmagic/initramfs
map --unmap=0:0xff

#5 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 May 2009 - 09:14 PM

What are you unmapping, since you didn't map anything before? :D

Are you booting the .iso or the expanded build?

If the .iso see here:
http://www.911cd.net...o...1702&st=189
and here:
http://partedmagic.c...so-booting.html

(in this case the unmapping is needed)

jaclaz

#6 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 450 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 08 May 2009 - 11:26 PM

What are you unmapping, since you didn't map anything before? :D

Are you booting the .iso or the expanded build?

If the .iso see here:
http://www.911cd.net...o...1702&st=189
and here:
http://partedmagic.c...so-booting.html

(in this case the unmapping is needed)

jaclaz

?????

I am not knowingly unmapping anything

simply replaced my partedmagic 3 script with the one supplied by Phatboy and it doesn't work

I am booting from the iso mounted in virtual PC and tried it burnt to CD

#7 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 May 2009 - 07:57 AM

Entry in menu.lst is:-

title Parted Magic version: 4.0 Default settings (Runs from RAM / USB usable)
kernel /pmagic/bzImage noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=791 sleep=10 loglevel=0 keymap=us
initrd /pmagic/initramfs
map --unmap=0:0xff



I am not knowingly unmapping anything


jaclaz

#8 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 450 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 May 2009 - 09:19 AM

jaclaz

the entry is being created by the partedmagic4 script, so I assumed that the entry was correct?

instead of being sarcastic, try being helpful - I am using a script someone posted so I simply assumed it would work okay, I don't understand the grub entries etc

so if I remove that line it should work is that what you are saying?

#9 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 450 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 May 2009 - 09:36 AM

removed map --unmap=0:0xff line from menu.lst and it now works

@jaclaz - thanks for pointing me in the right direction

@Phatboy - you may want to amend your script so that the menu.lst entry is correct

#10 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 May 2009 - 10:30 AM

Sarcastic? :D maybe.

Helpful? :D definitely.

;)

jaclaz

#11 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 450 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 May 2009 - 12:04 PM

Sarcastic? :D maybe.

Helpful? :D definitely.

;)

jaclaz


Sarcastic? ;) definitely.

Helpful? ;) debatable.

could of just answered my original question and read that I said I wasn't knowingly mapping anything etc, was just using supplied script which created the entries

but thanks anyway, it is now sorted

#12 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 May 2009 - 12:42 PM

What I was trying to do (and evidently succeeded with ;)) was to make you "aware" that you were unmapping something. (and that you didn't map anything before)

To sum up:
  • you had a problem
  • through my suggestion you solved it

http://www.thefreedi...ary.com/helpful

help·ful (hlpfl)
adj.
Providing assistance; useful.



Hard to debate about the helpfulness of my intervention (meaning #1.). ;)

  • helpfulness - the property of providing useful assistance
  • helpfulness - friendliness evidence by a kindly and helpful disposition

Of course, if you prefer the 2nd meaning of the word, next time I will post something like:

Hey, mate ;). Sorry 'bout your problems ;), I would help you gladly but I don't know anything about it.
You should try formatting your PC, this has saved my butt more than once. :D


As a side note, next time you want an answer to a question, it would be appropriate to actually post one:

Can't seem to get it to work

Added files from usb folder and it builds fine

But when I boot and select it from grub menu get following error:-

Error 11: Unrecognized device string, or you omitted the required DEVICE part which should lead the filename


Entry in menu.lst is:-

title Parted Magic version: 4.0 Default settings (Runs from RAM / USB usable)
kernel /pmagic/bzImage noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=791 sleep=10 loglevel=0 keymap=us
initrd /pmagic/initramfs
map --unmap=0:0xff


I cannot see ANY question in your post. :D

:)

jaclaz

#13 darren rose

darren rose

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 450 posts
  • Location:Norwich, Norfolk
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 May 2009 - 12:47 PM

okay point taken :D

#14 steelbone

steelbone

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 126 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 11 May 2009 - 11:03 AM

Hi guys.

i used until now the old 3.x version of gparted.

i tryed the new 4.1 with the script from here. i created a multiboot-cd with mem86+,boot&nuke,vistape,trueimage+gparted. I booted thi Multi-Iso in a VM Workstation 6.5 - but after choosing gparted 4.1 i got a black screen and a message that the cpu's where deactivated from the guest system itselfs. but i couldn't recognize HW/SW ressource problems

so i didn't had this problem in the old version.

may any other guys did have this curious manner? ;(

i would be glad getting some hints on this :D

many thx

regards

Steel

#15 risolutore

risolutore

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 311 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 May 2009 - 01:09 PM

pay attention that 4.1 is out and actually doesn' urse the compressed filesystem due to problems with the new kernel.
As suggested from the author this is a bugfix version, suggested, too.

#16 steelbone

steelbone

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 126 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 11 May 2009 - 02:52 PM

hi,

thx for reply.

yeah i tryed the new version. but as i said the VM was not bootable.

the standalone gparted iso is booting without problems.

i have only problems using gparted script with the multi-iso cd. and i don't know why. i only recognize that the shutdown comes from inside the vm. so i thought this is a bug ;( (no error entrys during winbuilder process)

the script pointed to this Thread is working for you?

Regards

Steel

#17 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 26 May 2009 - 12:09 PM

PartEdMagic for VistaPE




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users