Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

VirtualBox


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 April 2009 - 11:11 AM

I downloaded and installed the new 2.2.0 version, published about two weeks ago.

The result was rather bad.

In my machine with 1 GB of memory the VB did not run with 384 MB as before. It stopped because of low memory. Even giving 512 MB to the VM, did not help.
In the VirtualBox forum there have been a lot of memory complains and the recommendation to regrade to 2.1.4.

So I had to deinstall and regrade to 2.1.4.

That also has been difficult, because 2.2.0 did 'upgrade' some old configs and VMs.
I had to delete all of there old files; as a result I started with a 'brand new' 2.1.4. Every 'historic' files have been lost.


SO: I recommend: Do not try 2.2.0, wait for the next release.

Peter

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 April 2009 - 11:17 AM

Thanks for the warning. I am using 2.1.4 - I'll do as you say and wait for a future version without these memory leaks.

:)

#3 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 April 2009 - 11:38 AM

Would this be somehow connected with the reason why I use the portable version of Virtualbox? :)

http://www.vbox.me/
http://www.vbox.me/?...file=ReadMe.txt
. : Portble VirtualBox : . Description: Only start the Portable-VirtualBox.exe and all settings             becomes automatically made. It must be nothing manuell             edited.Features of starter:- SplashScreen to start and end (with it one sees, which pass  something) - HotKeys (STRG+1 bis STRG+6)- HotKeys can be now self selected- Tray-Menu (multilanguage)- settings and languages saved in *.ini-files- hide of the VM and of the manager in tray- change the homefolder, start-VM, hotkeys and language with  mouseclick (multilanguage)- start of VirtualBox-Manager with parameter (Portable-VirtualBox.exe  "VM")- all absolute paths in the VirtualBox.xml are replaced automatically  by relative paths- examined to VirtaulBox-files exists- a.o.f.Note: VirtualBox needs at least main user rights, there 4 Services      (VBoxDRV, VBoxUSBMon and if not already installs VBoxUSB,      the VBoxNetFLT and sun_VboxNetFLT) to be furnished and      VirtualBox must in " Ring-3" - Mode is initiated. The drivers      the network become with snetcfg.exe (from the ms DDK 2003)      merged. So that they are loaded, must into that Attitudes of      Portable-VirtualBox, under the rider " NET" , this to be      selected. For security, which one installs, must for the      installation be agreed. After terminating Portable-VirtualBox      the drivers become and files again removes!       Thus the NAT network functions and thus those shared-folders,      must be installed the guest-extensions.      Who wants to save some more place, knows all language files      except that you which necessarily and the documentation delete       Again approx. 9MB saves. The language files are in the folder:      app..\nls and the documentation in the folder: app..\doc.      If VM runs you must press "Host-Key" (right CTRL-Key) in order      to be able to use the Hotkeys. Since the focus lies then on the      VM!Network support: 1. to download of Portable-VirtualBox                 2. unpack from Portable-VirtualBox                 3. start from Portable-VirtualBox                 4. attitudes open (Tray --> attitudes, CTRL+5)                    --> rider Network (Tab) --> VirtualBox with                    network support start --> memory (save)                 5. terminate from Portable-VirtualBox                 6. start from Portable-VirtualBox                 7. driver installation agree                 8. wait                 9. selection of a VM and the network map to host                    interfaces stop                 10. attitudes make                 11. FINISHED Important: No files became of VirtualBox (http://www.virtualbox.org)           modifies or otherwise changed. The files became only           unpacked ones and with UPX (http://upx.sourceforge.net) or           MPRESS (http://www.matcode.com/mpress.htm) packed, in           order to save storage location!Download and support:[url="http://www.german-winlite.de/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=28"]http://www.german-winlite.de/wbb/index.php...amp;threadID=28[/url]Languages of Launcher: english, german, portuguese, spanish, french,                       italianMuch fun Micha (michaelm_007)<

:)

:)

jaclaz

#4 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 April 2009 - 11:53 AM

There's an annoying update reminder on startup that can be disabled until vbox is up to date.

Click File --> Preferences --> Update --> Check for updates


I use the portable version of Virtualbox

Good reference.

:)

#5 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 April 2009 - 01:00 AM

2.2.0 works fine for me on win7 x64 except for my mouse wheel. Tried with both xp and win7 x32 guests. Both had the problem with the mouse wheel.Networking worked without any tweaking. This was a clean install of virtualbox with new virtual machines.

#6 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4165 posts

Posted 18 April 2009 - 06:46 AM

So I had to deinstall and regrade to 2.1.4.

That also has been difficult, because 2.2.0 did 'upgrade' some old configs and VMs.
I had to delete all of there old files; as a result I started with a 'brand new' 2.1.4. Every 'historic' files have been lost.


SO: I recommend: Do not try 2.2.0, wait for the next release.

Peter

Thanks for the warning,
Just suggestion. You , could have saved the new 2.2.0 configs and VMs for a future usage when VirtulBox updates and fixes some of the problems.

What do you mean by 'historic' files.

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 18 April 2009 - 08:18 AM

What do you mean by 'historic' files.

Simply all files, configurations etc. used before the upgrade. :)

Peter

#8 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 18 April 2009 - 08:25 PM

SO: I recommend: Do not try 2.2.0, wait for the next release.

Thank you a lot for warning.


Would this be somehow connected with the reason why I use the portable version of Virtualbox? :)

:) I've been using Vbox portable for a long while since i read a post from jaclaz loooong time ago :) . It is nice to move vbox from x64 to x86; vista to xp etc. which i experienced during last 2 months a lot when migrating :).

#9 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 28 April 2009 - 10:25 PM

saydin says new 2.2.2 version fixed the ram problem, he says successfull test with 160mb ram :)

#10 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 May 2009 - 01:31 PM

saydin says new 2.2.2 version fixed the ram problem, he says successfull test with 160mb ram :D

That's true.

I installed 2.2.2 on my PC and it works fine.

Peter

#11 risolutore

risolutore

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 311 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 May 2009 - 10:30 PM

the portable VirtualBox, is a very nice product!! I discover only some weeks ago..

#12 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 September 2009 - 09:35 PM

The 2.2.0 warning is history, but now I have a new one:

I installed 3.0.6, and I got some troubles.

First: The reg entry changed again, but that is a minor issue and solved within some minutes.

Second: More important is that appearently the syntax of VBoxManage.exe is changed and not back compatible.

I'm going to try to solve this.

Until then:

Members using VirtualBox as test emulator for their builds: Do NOT upgrade to 3.0.6 (before a 'go' is coming here)

Peter

#13 fxscrpt

fxscrpt

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 328 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 September 2009 - 09:46 PM

The 2.2.0 warning is history, but now I have a new one:

I installed 3.0.6, and I got some troubles.

First: The reg entry changed again, but that is a minor issue and solved within some minutes.

Second: More important is that appearently the syntax of VBoxManage.exe is changed and not back compatible.

I'm going to try to solve this.

Until then:

Members using VirtualBox as test emulator for their builds: Do NOT upgrade to 3.0.6 (before a 'go' is coming here)

Peter

Hi Peter,
Thanks. I use this altered section and 3.0.6 seems to work.
&#91;Process&#93;

System,ERROROFF

RegRead,HKLM,SOFTWARE\InnoTek\VirtualBox,InstallDir,%VBPath%

If,NOTEXISTVAR,%VBPath%,Begin

System,ERROROFF

RegRead,HKLM,&#34;SOFTWARE\Sun\xVM VirtualBox&#34;,InstallDir,%VBPath%

End

If,NOTEXISTVAR,%VBPath%,Begin

System,REGREDIRECT,64

System,ERROROFF

RegRead,HKLM,&#34;SOFTWARE\Sun\xVM VirtualBox&#34;,InstallDir,%VBPath%

System,REGREDIRECT,OFF

End

If,NOTEXISTVAR,%VBPath%,Begin

System,REGREDIRECT,64

System,ERROROFF

RegRead,HKLM,&#34;SOFTWARE\Sun\VirtualBox&#34;,InstallDir,%VBPath%

System,REGREDIRECT,OFF

End

Set,&#34;%VBExe%&#34;,&#34;%VBPath%VBoxManage.exe&#34;

If,ExistFile,%VBExe%,Run,%ScriptFile%,Installed

If,NotExistFile,%VBExe%,Run,%ScriptFile%,NotInstalled

Run,%ScriptLog%,Process-log
Whats the problem with VBoxManage.exe?
Thanks.
:)
Peter

#14 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 September 2009 - 09:57 PM

Hi Peter,
Thanks. I use this altered section and 3.0.6 seems to work.

&#91;Process&#93;

 System,ERROROFF

 RegRead,HKLM,SOFTWARE\InnoTek\VirtualBox,InstallDir,%VBPath%

 If,NOTEXISTVAR,%VBPath%,Begin

 System,ERROROFF

 RegRead,HKLM,&#34;SOFTWARE\Sun\xVM VirtualBox&#34;,InstallDir,%VBPath%

 End

 If,NOTEXISTVAR,%VBPath%,Begin

 System,REGREDIRECT,64

 System,ERROROFF

 RegRead,HKLM,&#34;SOFTWARE\Sun\xVM VirtualBox&#34;,InstallDir,%VBPath%

 System,REGREDIRECT,OFF

 End

 If,NOTEXISTVAR,%VBPath%,Begin

 System,REGREDIRECT,64

 System,ERROROFF

 RegRead,HKLM,&#34;SOFTWARE\Sun\VirtualBox&#34;,InstallDir,%VBPath%

 System,REGREDIRECT,OFF

 End

 Set,&#34;%VBExe%&#34;,&#34;%VBPath%VBoxManage.exe&#34;

 If,ExistFile,%VBExe%,Run,%ScriptFile%,Installed

 If,NotExistFile,%VBExe%,Run,%ScriptFile%,NotInstalled

 Run,%ScriptLog%,Process-log
Whats the problem with VBoxManage.exe?
Thanks.
:)
Peter

What you changed, is a 'copy' of my (for you unknown) changes :)

But I have some troubles with this change in the Win7RescuePE project. There 'nothing' is inserted into the VBox.

And as long as I see these troubles (maybe they depend on the Win7RescuePE project, maybe they depend on ????) I want to hold this warning open.

No problem: Whoever wants to neglect the warning, may install 3.0.6. Maybe everything works fine for him.

Peter

#15 fxscrpt

fxscrpt

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 328 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 September 2009 - 10:16 PM

What you changed, is a 'copy' of my (for you unknown) changes :)

But I have some troubles with this change in the Win7RescuePE project. There 'nothing' is inserted into the VBox.

And as long as I see these troubles (maybe they depend on the Win7RescuePE project, maybe they depend on ????) I want to hold this warning open.

No problem: Whoever wants to neglect the warning, may install 3.0.6. Maybe everything works fine for him.

Peter


Thanks for the info,
For me, after update to version 3.0.6, VirtualBox sometimes continues
running after closing main window and i have to kill in task manager!

:)
Peter

#16 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 September 2009 - 11:12 AM

Everything is ok.

3.0.6 can be used.

I made a mistake.

Peter

#17 dtdionne

dtdionne
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 December 2009 - 03:22 PM

I can't seem to get bridged networking working with the latest portable vbox, any ideas?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users