Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

[project] PicoXP


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
219 replies to this topic

#151 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 28 February 2009 - 01:19 PM

I'm afraid nobody but Peter understands, why there are two checkboxes to check to write one value. :cheers: :cheers:

:cheers:

If the checkboxes would not be there, some theme enthusiasts like you would suggest to fill the nearly empty panel with a theme!

Seriously: The sence is to avoid that on every build an already existent value is written again.

Peter

#152 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 28 February 2009 - 06:48 PM

They are necessary during very early boot time, while building the HAL (harware abstract layer). If

MOUCLASS and MOUHID are too smal to be bothered with, but when I "commented out" the line

Run,%ScriptFile%,driver-compress,ntfs.sy

in "5 - CopyAndExpand.Script", it still worked and saved me 108 KB in the 7zip-compressed ISO. (When one aims at minimum "solid archive" compressed ISO file size, the less compressed data is contained in the ISO file, the better; that's not only because 7zip compresses x86 code better than the MS cabinet compressor but also because in "solid archives", there is much repeated code in the different files which adds to more overall data surplus and therefore to less compressed file size.)

Thanks,
Лъчо

#153 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 28 February 2009 - 07:14 PM

MOUCLASS and MOUHID are too smal to be bothered with, but when I "commented out" the line

Run,%ScriptFile%,driver-compress,ntfs.sy

in "5 - CopyAndExpand.Script", it still worked and saved me 108 KB in the 7zip-compressed ISO. (When one aims at minimum "solid archive" compressed ISO file size, the less compressed data is contained in the ISO file, the better; that's not only because 7zip compresses x86 code better than the MS cabinet compressor but also because in "solid archives", there is much repeated code in the different files which adds to more overall data surplus and therefore to less compressed file size.)

Thanks,
Лъчо

Maybe it works in emulator.
But try it from ISO burned to CD on your real system: If you have NTFS formatted HDDs (and that is 'standard') IMHO you will get problems.

BTW: Congratulations to your 'Experiments' :cheers:
That is the best way to understand everything! And a REALLY good way is, like you do, to ask on everything in doubt!

I'm sure that within some Latin days we have a new .script developer!

Peter

EDIT: BTW as a recommendation:
As soon as your FIRST project runs successfully in the emulator, burn a (ReWritable) CD and try to boot from it.

This 'Burn CD' is not necessary on every following changes, but it sometimes should be repeated.

#154 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 February 2009 - 07:50 PM

May I add (out of topic, but maybe interesting to Lucho :cheers:) that cab compressed .iso to .is_ are directly bootable with the Server 2003 SP1 or R2 (NOT "gold", NOT SP2) ramdisk.sys method:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19737

In the case of a very small build, memory should not be a problem, and somewhere on the board (if you are interested I will try and look for it) there is a modified loader that avoids the "double" RAM occupation.

I want to join psc in telling you:
RIGHT attitude! :cheers:

I am waiting for you to complete your tests on picoXP to invite you to another, almost but not quite, completely unlike picoXP project :cheers: for which the interest and contributions of people with the right attitude would be needed and very welcome:
http://www.boot-land...?...17&hl=xpcli

jaclaz

#155 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 01 March 2009 - 07:55 AM

Maybe it works in emulator.
But try it from ISO burned to CD on your real system: If you have NTFS formatted HDDs (and that is 'standard') IMHO you will get problems.

It's working in both qEmu and real system. The "commented" line just packs NTFS.SYS. Without it, it's still there but unpacked :cheers:

BTW: Congratulations to your 'Experiments' :cheers:
That is the best way to understand everything! And a REALLY good way is, like you do, to ask on everything in doubt!

Thanks!

I'm sure that within some Latin days we have a new .script developer!

Let's hope so - the WinBuilder script language is easier than C or Assembler. But what does "Latin day" mean?

Regards,
Лъчо

#156 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 01 March 2009 - 08:15 AM

May I add (out of topic, but maybe interesting to Lucho :cheers:) that cab compressed .iso to .is_ are directly bootable with the Server 2003 SP1 or R2 (NOT "gold", NOT SP2) ramdisk.sys method:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19737

Thanks, but this would hardly reduce the size of the packed ISO image.

I want to join psc in telling you:
RIGHT attitude! :cheers:

Благодаря | Grazie | Merci | Gracias | Obrigado | Danke | Thanks :cheers:

I am waiting for you to complete your tests on picoXP to invite you to another, almost but not quite, completely unlike picoXP project :cheers: for which the interest and contributions of people with the right attitude would be needed and very welcome:
http://www.boot-land...?...17&hl=xpcli

Very interesting, thank you! But does it (as of your first post there) work also with the newest SP3? If so, and if it's really under 10 MB, why not write a WinBuilder project for it?

Regards,
Лъчо

#157 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 March 2009 - 09:06 AM

It's working in both qEmu and real system. The "commented" line just packs NTFS.SYS. Without it, it's still there but unpacked :cheers:

OK, I misundertstood. I thought that you ommitted ntfs.sys completelly.

Let me explain in general:

The PE works with ALL files decompressed. But it accepts that several files are compressed to *.??_ or UPXed.
That can save space if needed.

But what does "Latin day" mean?

If a north or middle European people like me German says "Within 5 minutes", he means really 5 minutes. Maybe by some circumstances it can become 6 or 7 minutes ...

But if a Latin speaking people (Italian, Spanish, Portuguese) says "Within 5 minutes", he means "I accept your wish and will fullfill it, maybe tonight, maybe tomorrow, ... At least I'll allways remember it." :cheers:

What about time interpretation in Bulgaria?
Latin or not Latin?

Peter

#158 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 March 2009 - 10:07 AM

@Lucho

Links to original defiinition of "Latin time" here:
http://www.boot-land...?...=5227&st=17

There is a "very rudimental" Winbuilder project by allanf:
http://www.boot-land...?...=3717&st=67
http://www.boot-land...?...=3717&st=72
but it needs lots of additions before being "full and easy".

The "checked" and "working" (though of course "rudimental" as well :cheers:) buiilding method is through my batches and instructions.

Summed up neeeded links in this post:
http://www.boot-land...?...=6996&st=26

"gold" is tested
SP1 is tested
SP2 is tested
I see no reason why it shouldn't work with SP3, but testing is needed.


There is also another "fork" of it here:
http://www.boot-land...?...c=6393&st=0
(untested by me)

jaclaz

#159 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 01 March 2009 - 01:16 PM

What about time interpretation in Bulgaria? Latin or not Latin?

There are two opposing proverbs about time: the American "Time is money" and the Turkish "Zamana parasız dır", which means "Time doesn't cost money". Bulgaria is closer to Turkey and Southern Europe so the German or Swiss punctuality isn't encountered very often here either.

Regards,
Лъчо

#160 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 01 March 2009 - 01:47 PM

Thanks, that's too much information! I'd prefer working in small steps. For example, may I simply replace the half-megabyte WINLOGON.EXE with the 17K WINLOGON.EXE from XP Embedded and expect it to work? Or do I need to add some registry entries for this to work?

Regards,
Лъчо

#161 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 March 2009 - 03:44 PM

Thanks, that's too much information! I'd prefer working in small steps. For example, may I simply replace the half-megabyte WINLOGON.EXE with the 17K WINLOGON.EXE from XP Embedded and expect it to work? Or do I need to add some registry entries for this to work?


No, you just add minlogon.exe and rename it winlogon.exe, if you have WFP/SFC enabled:
http://granturing.bl...g-minlogon.html

jaclaz

#162 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 01 March 2009 - 04:05 PM

No, you just add minlogon.exe and rename it winlogon.exe, if you have WFP/SFC enabled:
http://granturing.bl...g-minlogon.html

What about the registry key mentioned in the above article:

Next modify the registry on the XP system by changing the "Config" value in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon key to be 0x17.

Is this needed in order for the 17K WINLOGON.EXE (a.k.a. MINLOGON.EXE) to work?
(I mean replacing WINLOGON.EXE in PicoXP, of course, not in a "normal" Windows installation.)

Regards,
Лъчо

#163 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 March 2009 - 04:17 PM

Sorry :cheers:, of course you need to set Config to 0x17, I thought you were talking about an XP, in which case one normally uses a .reg file:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00



[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]

"Config"=dword:00000017

on a PE, you can use a .inf file, or add/convert it to the Winbuilder .script:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=15255

jaclaz

#164 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 01 March 2009 - 06:56 PM

Sorry :cheers:, of course you need to set Config to 0x17, I thought you were talking about an XP, in which case one normally uses a .reg file:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00



[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]

"Config"=dword:00000017

on a PE, you can use a .inf file, or add/convert it to the Winbuilder .script:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=15255

It's already in nativeEx_barebone -> Basic -> Shells -> Explorer Tweaks -> Misc Settings -> Use MinLogon :cheers:

But when I tested this with that setting enabled, it crashed just before starting CMD with the folloing fatal error:

STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error}
The Windows Logon Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0x00000000 (0x00000000,0x0000000)
The system has been shut down

(Of course, I set CMD as the shell, not Explorer.)

Thanks,
Lucho

#165 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 March 2009 - 07:20 PM

It's already in nativeEx_barebone -> Basic -> Shells -> Explorer Tweaks -> Misc Settings -> Use MinLogon :cheers:

But when I tested this with that setting enabled, it crashed just before starting CMD with the folloing fatal error:

STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error}
The Windows Logon Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0x00000000 (0x00000000,0x0000000)
The system has been shut down

(Of course, I set CMD as the shell, not Explorer.)

Thanks,
Lucho


That's very well known for me (BTW: Also for Explorer shell).

And now I hope that you as somebody really needing this functionality, can solve it.

Good luck! If I can I'll help!

Peter :cheers:

#166 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 02 March 2009 - 07:46 AM

That's very well known for me (BTW: Also for Explorer shell).
And now I hope that you as somebody really needing this functionality, can solve it.
Good luck! If I can I'll help!

Thanks for the wish, but this topic has already been discussed here and as far as I can see, the solution was to use a newer version of MINLOGON: http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3922

Unfortunately, even the new 24K MINLOGON gives the same error.

Therefore, I give up. I'm not qualified enough to fix this error and the gain from it would probably be just about 200K compressed size, so it's not worth the time to learn everything necessary to understand what exactly goes on and why, in order to fix it. Unless I'm skipping something obvious, as is very often the case.

But I found out that nativeEx_barebone/pico adds the following files not present in PicoXP:

DXAPI.SYS
DXG.SYS
DXGTHK.SYS
IPHLPAPI.DLL
MSV1_0.DLL
PCIIDEX.SYS
VGA.SYS
VIDEOPRT.SYS
WATCHDOG.SYS

Why? May I remove some of them?

Thanks,
Лъчо

#167 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 March 2009 - 09:08 AM

But I found out that nativeEx_barebone/pico adds the following files not present in PicoXP:

DXAPI.SYS
DXG.SYS
DXGTHK.SYS
IPHLPAPI.DLL
MSV1_0.DLL
PCIIDEX.SYS
VGA.SYS
VIDEOPRT.SYS
WATCHDOG.SYS

PicoXP has been tested file by file to find unnecessary files.
Here it is 'Only' a nativeEx_barebone configuration to produce a cmd line PE.
I'll try what happens if I remove them from Copy&Expand script under level '1'

Peter

#168 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2009 - 10:08 AM

Something else must be then different in PicoXP.

In XPCLI, minlogon (and CMD.EXE as the shell) works allright.

BTW, and still a bit - but not much - off topic, I thought that PicoXp/barebone used UNIVBE :cheers::
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2344

jaclaz

#169 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 March 2009 - 10:14 AM

BTW, and still a bit - but not much - off topic, I thought that PicoXp/barebone used UNIVBE :cheers: :

By standard UNIVBE is in the project, but not selected.
Do you thing that the missing UNIVBE has any impact on the minlogon issue?

Peter

#170 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2009 - 11:39 AM

Do you thing that the missing UNIVBE has any impact on the minlogon issue?


No, the minlogon.exe problem should be completely unrelated, only that maybe some "video related files" could be removed if UNIVBE is used :cheers:

jaclaz

#171 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 02 March 2009 - 11:58 AM

PicoXP has been tested file by file to find unnecessary files.
Here it is 'Only' a nativeEx_barebone configuration to produce a cmd line PE.
I'll try what happens if I remove them from Copy&Expand script under level '1'

Sorry, my previous list was wrong. Only the following nativeEx_barebone files aren't in PicoXP:

IPHLPAPI.DLL (94720 bytes)
MSV1_0.DLL (133120 bytes)

Regards,
Лъчо

#172 lucho

lucho

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Varna
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 17 March 2009 - 07:29 AM

Peter, I read about the new "neither fish nor crab" file system of Microsoft - exFAT, support to which was added recently to XP (KB955704). Could you add its driver(s) to PicoXP and/or nativeEx?

Thanks,
Lucho

#173 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 17 March 2009 - 08:34 AM

Script here: http://livexp.boot-l...NU_exFat.script

Regards,
Galapo.

#174 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 March 2009 - 08:37 AM

Script here: http://livexp.boot-l...NU_exFat.script

Regards,
Galapo.

Thanks, Galapo.

I'll add to nativeEx_barebone

Peter

#175 gale

gale
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 August 2009 - 05:24 AM

Hi, everybody.
Created bootable disk with picoxp.
For example, command del text.txt 2>nul 1>&2
causes the error message "the system cannot find the file specified".




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users