Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

QtWeb Internet Browser version 2.0 -


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4165 posts

Posted 26 March 2009 - 02:43 AM

Very nice! Customizable. Around 6MB portable. Offers Private Browsing mode.

Usable in

Limited Windows environment (Windows booting and running from CD / DVD / USB Flash - WinPE, BartPE)
Portable scenarios (minimum dependencies, can be run directly from CD or USB, no installation is required)


QtWeb Internet Browser version 2.0

http://www.qtweb.net/download.php

3 download options, Exe, portable that is dependent on you having a system that has required dlls already on the system, or completely portable which already has the required dlls.


QtWeb_Internet_Browser.jpg


Description

Welcome to QtWeb Internet Browser

QtWeb is a compact and secure web browser having some unique UI and privacy features. QtWeb is an open source project based on Qt framework and Apple\'s WebKit rendering engine (the same as being used in Apple Safari and Google Chrome).

Customizable User Interface

Change Application Style on the fly, and see how the program and websites look under different versions of Windows and Unix environment
Move Navigation Bar and Bookmarks Bar anywhere within a mainframe, or even undock and place them on the Desktop
Customize web search engines, menu titles, assign hot keys and your favorite keyboard shortcuts to any menu commands
Show/Hide toolbar buttons and toolbars, including Menu Bar
Tabbed browsing by default. User Interface can be switched to non-tabbed
Privacy and Security features

Turn on Private Browsing mode to avoid leaving traces of browsing, even UserAgent which is being sent to the web server is masked
Full Reset feature - clears all caches and restores all local settings to the state just after installation, as it was never run on the machine
Supported SSL to access secure sites. Certificate information and certification path can be displayed
Easy access to most privacy functions via toolbar buttons, Privacy menu and customizable keyboard shortcuts
Lightweight, fast and portable browser.

Size of executable is 5MB only, no additional DLLs and other configuration files required
In most cases you just need one file - QtWeb.exe, that can be copied and run even from USB or CD/DVD
Can be run in limited Windows environment (Win PE), like Active@ Boot Disk, or BartPE running from CD/DVD/USB
Scripting support allows any web page (including JavaScripted ones) to be loaded and dumped into a file from a command line
More...

HTML5, Frames, JavaScript, Cookies, Bookmarks, History, Passwords, Media content - all essential browser features are here
Web Inspector allows to view and inspect page source, debug JavaScripts, view loading time and profile resources
Supported FTP browsing and downloading
AutoFill option - stores and pre-populates user names and passwords for the sites you visit most
With Qt 4.5 supported Netscape plugins, like Adobe Flash Player, QuickTime or MediaPlayer
Use Scenarios

Strong privacy required (no traces of browsing to be left on the local machine while browsing, or after browser has been reset)
Limited Windows environment (Windows booting and running from CD / DVD / USB Flash - WinPE, BartPE)
Portable scenarios (minimum dependencies, can be run directly from CD or USB, no installation is required)
Clean browsing environment (all toolbars, can be turned off or docked anywhere, and even moved outside the main browsing window)
Multimedia machines (Virtual Keyboard supported, simple and convenient mouse navigation, all functions easy access)



#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 March 2009 - 01:56 PM

Good suggestion, thank you for posting.

I might try it soon.

:good:

#3 billonious

billonious

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 528 posts
  • Location:greezeland
  • Interests:curiosity

Posted 29 March 2009 - 09:39 PM

TheHive,
very nice app. :good:

please, fix the link in your post
it is

http://www.qtweb.net/download.php

but when I click on, it looks for

http://\&quot/;http://qtweb.net/download.php%5C"

Nobody else has noticed it, or my firefox is fault?^_^

#4 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4165 posts

Posted 31 March 2009 - 04:04 AM

Thanks! That was odd. Fixed.

#5 billonious

billonious

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 528 posts
  • Location:greezeland
  • Interests:curiosity

Posted 25 December 2011 - 11:09 AM

bump!

It is on version 3.7.3 (2011), still 6mb, still fast, still portable, still ;under GNU.

http://www.qtweb.net/download.php (at the bottom of the page)
:good:

#6 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4165 posts

Posted 26 December 2011 - 06:44 AM

:mobile: Thanks for the update on their latest release.

#7 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 December 2011 - 12:58 PM

Just tried out the portable version. QtWeb is fast! :)

Very nice browser. :cheers:

#8 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 26 December 2011 - 10:17 PM

Just watch out. QTWeb is no full replacement for Opera, Firefox or IE.
There are too many sites, that don't work with QTWeb.

:cheers:

#9 billonious

billonious

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 528 posts
  • Location:greezeland
  • Interests:curiosity

Posted 26 December 2011 - 10:37 PM

Just watch out. QTWeb is no full replacement for Opera, Firefox or IE.
There are too many sites, that don't work with QTWeb.

:cheers:


You mean that there is no flash support?

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 12:50 AM

Does, for instance, mediafire require flash to work?

:cheers:

#11 billonious

billonious

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 528 posts
  • Location:greezeland
  • Interests:curiosity

Posted 27 December 2011 - 08:30 AM

No, only javascript needed, but QTWeb supports javascripts. Right or wrong? Could you tell me what are the disadvantages of QTWeb, or it is a mystery for the public?

#12 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 10:34 AM

Just try it for yourself. http://www.mediafire.../?wo408986c359u
It's working with any of the other mentioned browsers.

:cheers:

#13 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 December 2011 - 12:43 PM

QtWeb is using the apple webkit that also powers some browsers like Chrome. Therefore it should more or less "ok" to browse a large portion of sites.

The author specifies that isn't support are Java applets. Might mediafire be using a java applet? Just a thought.

#14 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 03:12 PM

Not unless the other browsers can execute a Java applet, without Java being installed on the computer.

:cheers:

#15 Icecube

Icecube

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1062 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 27 December 2011 - 04:23 PM

@ MedEvil
It is just a stupid browser check done by MediaFire.

Try this:

Settings ==> Advanced ==> Custom User Agent ==> e.g.: Firefox 3.0.5
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#16 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 December 2011 - 04:39 PM

Good find! :)

#17 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 06:42 PM

@Icecube
You know, that you should see a folder and be able to download files, don't you?

I tryed every possible user string and yes, some don't show the message to download a newer version.
However none helped QTWeb, to show a usable download page.

:cheers:

#18 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 08:52 PM

Sorry Icecube, my mistake. The link i gave is no longer valid and i assumed wrongly that the problem was with QTWeb.

Setting another ident string, does indeed solve the problem.
Actually any other, but QTWeb, let's mediafire work. I hate web designers! I feel like back when the first Opera browsers appeared and one had to change the ident string to IE or Netscape to get sites to hand out the data.

:cheers:

#19 billonious

billonious

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 528 posts
  • Location:greezeland
  • Interests:curiosity

Posted 27 December 2011 - 11:12 PM

Posted Image

Posted Image

Yes, the link is invalid. I tried http://www.mediafire.com/ as you can see from the screenshots and popups are opening. Mediafire uses common javascripts, not java applets. Even flv (utube) videos play.
  • Nuno Brito likes this

#20 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 December 2011 - 11:15 PM

So, a nice (complete and modern) web browser under 6Mb.

Very good. :)

#21 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 11:44 PM

Even flv (utube) videos play.

How did you get Youtube to work? Where do i have to put the dll?

:cheers:

#22 billonious

billonious

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 528 posts
  • Location:greezeland
  • Interests:curiosity

Posted 28 December 2011 - 07:58 AM

How did you get Youtube to work? Where do i have to put the dll?

:cheers:


:dubbio: Youtube worked without any dll nor plugin. Doesn't work for you?

#23 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4165 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:26 AM

Youtube worked fine for me also.


Clip.jpg

#24 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 01:35 PM

Then you have Flash installed in your OS.

I always use portable versions, so that, when i need to get away, i can take my browser, with all my setting and favorites, with me.

btw. Create a folder named Plugin next to QTWeb.exe and put the flash dll there.

:cheers:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users