Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

FTPD32 and Cisco IP Phones


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 March 2009 - 12:46 PM

Hi All,

I am trying to connect my Cisco IP 7965 to grab newest firmware files from the TFTP server.

I can see in the log viewer is trying to get an IP from the DHCP server but it doesn't get one. The DHCP server works, my laptop connects just fine.

See attached images.

Thanks in advance!

--

It also says:
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [13/03 14:21:48.778]
DHCP: proposed address 192.168.178.42 [13/03 14:22:00.727]
330176 Request 2 not processed [13/03 14:22:00.779]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [13/03 14:22:00.829]
Previously allocated address 192.168.178.42 acked [13/03 14:22:12.727]
Connection received from 192.168.178.42 on port 49152 [13/03 14:22:12.771]
Read request for file <term65.default.loads>. Mode octet [13/03 14:22:12.771]
File <term65.default.loads> : error 2 in system call CreateFile The system cannot find the file specified. [13/03 14:22:12.771]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [13/03 14:22:12.778]
Suppress pingable address 192.168.178.42 [13/03 14:22:12.790]
Connection received from 192.168.178.42 on port 49153 [13/03 14:22:12.946]
Read request for file <term65.default.loads>. Mode octet [13/03 14:22:12.946]
File <term65.default.loads> : error 2 in system call CreateFile The system cannot find the file specified. [13/03 14:22:12.946]
Previously allocated address 192.168.178.43 acked [13/03 14:22:24.727]
330176 Request 2 not processed [13/03 14:22:24.778]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [13/03 14:22:24.828]
Client requested address 192.168.178.42 which was not allocated by tftpd32 and is either outside our pool or is used by someone else [13/03 14:22:24.828]
330176 Request 2 not processed [13/03 14:22:24.878]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [13/03 14:22:24.928]
Client requested address 192.168.178.42 which was not allocated by tftpd32 and is either outside our pool or is used by someone else [13/03 14:22:24.929]
330176 Request 2 not processed [13/03 14:22:24.979]
330176 Request 2 not processed [13/03 14:22:25.029]

Attached Thumbnails

  • logviewer.JPG
  • dhcp.JPG


#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10,155 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 March 2009 - 11:23 AM

Good question but wrong section.

Here is the "Hello World" section and I think you're looking for the TFTPD32 section., that is probably the reason why it is probably ignored.

Have you already tried using wireshark and see what is the output given by the IP phone?

This might give some clues.

Also, is this issue also occuring to other IP phones or just this one?

:good:

#3 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 March 2009 - 11:50 AM

Moved. :good:

jaclaz

#4 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 18 March 2009 - 06:26 PM

Thanks :good: I intended the post it here indeed, guess something went wrong.

This is occuring on just this one phone, since I so far haven't connected the other phones. First want to figure out what I did wrong before I kill another phone, haha.

I'll give Wireshark a go!

#5 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 08 April 2009 - 06:12 PM

Looks like tftpd32 is playing up. First it issues the IP address OK and afterwards when the same MAC request IP address TFTPD32 complains that IP address is out of range. I'd try other TFTPD32 version because I've experienced problems with newer ones. I use v3.26 for everything including loading IOS files for cisco switches and routers.

Also make sure to do a good RTFM on a firmware update procedure on a particular phone. Cisco like changing small details around their model range and since you're doing it for the first time I would recommend following all the steps in a procedure exactly as it says and using recommended tftp server. Only when you succeed with a "stock" method you can try introducing some "tweaks".

Regards,
Andrius

#6 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 March 2010 - 10:30 PM

Hi guys,

I haven't had time to continue with this till now.

Still hitting the same problem (with several versions of FTPD32, including 3.25, 3.27 and 3.35).

See attachment.

Hope anyone can help!

Thnx

Attached Thumbnails

  • tftpd32_problem.JPG


#7 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 13 March 2010 - 11:06 PM

Your best bet is to clear the IP address showing in a log from DHCP spool and try again. You must have changed IP address of your server last time the setup worked. If that's the case DHCP remembers MAC address of your device and the IP address assigned last time. The IP address 192.168.178.201 is most likely in a different subnet from your DHCP server IP address and that's what could be causing communication problem.

#8 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 March 2010 - 11:09 PM

Even when I make the pool 1 IP big and start at 192.168.178.75 (which I know is empty on my network) it still gives the same problem.

Shall I make some screenshots of the total settings I have set?

#9 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 13 March 2010 - 11:15 PM

yes, that might help, go ahead

#10 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 March 2010 - 11:19 PM

All right. Here you go:

The additional option is set to: 66 and 192.168.178.47 (server interface IP)

Attached Thumbnails

  • tftpd32_problem2.JPG


#11 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 13 March 2010 - 11:32 PM

Strange, all looking fine here. You might want to try clearing allocated IP addresses from DHCP tab and see how it goes. I still think that 192.168.178.47 and 192.168.178.201 might be in two separate subnets. Have you checked your servers subnet mask? It has to be 255.255.255.0

#12 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 March 2010 - 11:41 PM

Servers is :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-31-AF-A6-2E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1da0:6841:fa80:4216%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.178.47(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : maandag 8 maart 2010 4:15:06
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : dinsdag 23 maart 2010 4:15:01
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.178.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.178.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.178.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


I've cleared all the allocated IP addresses, problem remains.

I do notice that when I connect the Cisco 2 IP's are given. one for the phone, and one for a mac address I don't know (the 45:45 in the screenshot). Maybe it's the TFTPD server?

#13 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 13 March 2010 - 11:50 PM

There's your problem, there's another DHCP server on a network. Try set a static IP address on your laptop and connect IP phone directly to the laptop via crossover cable. If that works take it from there.

#14 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 March 2010 - 11:55 PM

Thats the weird part, DHCP is disabled on my router..

I'll try with the notebook!

#15 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 14 March 2010 - 12:26 AM

On the notebook I get this:

Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:07:08.656]
Client requested address 192.168.178.27 [14/03 01:07:08.656]
DHCP: proposed address 192.168.178.200 [14/03 01:07:11.140]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:07:11.203]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:07:11.250]
Client requested address 192.168.178.27 [14/03 01:07:11.250]
DHCP: proposed address 192.168.178.200 [14/03 01:07:12.750]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:07:12.812]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [14/03 01:07:13.703]
Suppress pingable address 192.168.178.201 [14/03 01:07:15.765]
DHCP: proposed address 192.168.178.202 [14/03 01:07:17.328]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:07:17.390]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [14/03 01:07:17.453]
Previously allocated address 192.168.178.202 acked [14/03 01:07:18.953]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:07:19.015]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:07:20.953]
Client requested address 192.168.178.27 [14/03 01:07:20.953]
DHCP: proposed address 192.168.178.200 [14/03 01:07:23.140]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:07:23.218]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:07:23.265]
Previously allocated address 192.168.178.200 acked [14/03 01:07:24.765]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:07:24.890]
Freeing item 192.168.178.200 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:08:24.515]
Message truncated (length was 8) [14/03 01:08:24.546]
Freeing item 192.168.178.202 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [14/03 01:08:26.984]
Message truncated (length was 8) [14/03 01:08:27.000]
Freeing item 192.168.178.201 46:46:3A:46:46:3A [14/03 01:08:29.328]
Message truncated (length was 8) [14/03 01:08:29.328]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:11:19.656]
Client requested address 192.168.178.200 [14/03 01:11:19.656]
DHCP: proposed address 192.168.178.200 [14/03 01:11:22.140]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:11:22.203]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:11:22.250]
Previously allocated address 192.168.178.200 acked [14/03 01:11:23.750]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:11:23.843]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [14/03 01:11:24.078]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [14/03 01:11:56.078]
DHCP: proposed address 192.168.178.201 [14/03 01:11:58.140]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:11:58.187]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:21:55:D5:B2:FC [14/03 01:11:58.234]
Previously allocated address 192.168.178.201 acked [14/03 01:11:59.750]
Connection received from 192.168.178.201 on port 49152 [14/03 01:11:59.781]
Read request for file <term65.default.loads>. Mode octet [14/03 01:11:59.781]
Using local port 4591 [14/03 01:11:59.781]
3596 Request 2 not processed [14/03 01:11:59.796]
<term65.default.loads>: sent 2 blks, 642 bytes in 0 s. 0 blk resent [14/03 01:11:59.859]
Connection received from 192.168.178.201 on port 49153 [14/03 01:12:00.765]
Read request for file <term65.default.loads>. Mode octet [14/03 01:12:00.765]
Using local port 4592 [14/03 01:12:00.765]
<term65.default.loads>: sent 2 blks, 642 bytes in 0 s. 0 blk resent [14/03 01:12:00.828]
Rcvd DHCP inform Msg for IP 192.168.178.200, Mac 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:16:00.203]
Rcvd DHCP inform Msg for IP 192.168.178.200, Mac 00:13:A9:3B:CA:17 [14/03 01:16:03.218]


Now it doesn't look like it's doing much...

#16 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 14 March 2010 - 01:28 AM

According to your last log your phone has obtained the IP address (192.168.178.201) and even downloaded term65.default.loads file. So you have connectivity between server and a phone, isn't it what you wanted to achieve? Now you just have to download IOS to your phone.

I suspect you have another DHCP server on your network which was supplying IP address to the phone quicker than TFTPD32, hence the confusing messages on the previous log. Ipconfig dump you posted suggests that there's an active DHCP server too.

#17 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 14 March 2010 - 03:32 PM

Yes I noticed the connectivity, but it ends there and doesn't upload all the firmware files to the phone. It starts connecting again as you can see above.

The DHCP thing I don't get, router is switched off. Last log is from the notebook though so that should work.. (although FTPD32 keeps giving it's server interface a different IP with every try from the phone..)

#18 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 14 March 2010 - 05:13 PM

From the file name it looks like it is some sort of default config file, not the firmware. I think you need to initiate firmware download from the phone itself or maybe put something into the config file so the phone knows that you want to update it and where to download update from. Anyway, this all is just a guesswork. Have you tried following the IOS update guide on your phone's manual?

#19 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 14 March 2010 - 06:06 PM

I have, the phone was loaded with flauty firmware and therefore can not be updated from the phone interface (can't access it).

The way I'm going for this should load all the firmware files according to several articles I found online but somehow it's not happening.

edit:

the term65.default.loads tells the phone what do download next:

#
# This file contains a list of archive image files that will be requested by the
# RELEASE load version 9-0-2ES2
#


jar45sip.9-0-2ES2.sbn
cnu45.9-0-2ES2.sbn
apps45.9-0-2ES2.sbn
dsp45.9-0-2ES2.sbn
cvm45sip.9-0-2ES2.sbn

But somehow after getting the term65.default.loads the phone restarts (which means it started updating) but then TFTPD32 interfears and it looks like it then messes up the updating (see log above?)

#20 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 14 March 2010 - 07:09 PM

What do you mean interfears and messes up? I can not see anything wrong in a log. Phone gets an IP address and pulls the config file. That's it. No more download requests or anything. Maybe something missing in term65.default.loads ? Like IP address or path to the IOS files?

#21 RaphaelS

RaphaelS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 14 March 2010 - 07:20 PM

I got term65.default.loads from Cisco just before I tried again, should work..

But for some reason the proces stops after that files is put on the phone, the rest of the files are untouched.

Edit: I just downloaded the oldest firmware that Cisco is offering. It worke! Now I'll update to the newer versions.

#22 andriusst

andriusst

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  •  
    Lithuania

Posted 14 March 2010 - 09:18 PM

Good to hear your good news, well done.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users