Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

PENetwork Manager for VistaPE/Win7PE


  • Please log in to reply
136 replies to this topic

#26 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 22 February 2009 - 04:59 PM

New Version 22.02.2009 - v3 beta (PENM 0.46):
- Fixed: Bug in refresh of WiFi available networks
- Fixed: Bug in WiFi profile export (OneX not supported at the moment)
- Fixed: WiFi listviews did not react on DblClick anymore after color scheme change
- Fixed: Direct key input striped the key
- Fixed: WiFi bug while adding profile with WEP encryption
- Changed: WiFi arrays
- Added: WiFi profile apply without change without retyping key
- Added: WiFi exporter (XPSP2 with WlanApi, XPSP3, Vista, 2008)
- Added: Some additional checks/routines for WMI using under WAIK-PE

For more infos see 1st post.

Using with WAIK is not implemented in the WB script yet.
However, if have a PE with WMI package added then just extract the .exe from the scripts and then you can use it also with WAIK-PE.

I also added a WiFiExporter function to export WiFi profiles from within Vista/2008, XPSP3 or XPSP2 with WlanApi-patch.
You also can now directly from within PE double click in the available WiFi network list to connect to a network.

Greets
Holger

Attached Thumbnails

  • PENetworkExporter.jpg


#27 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 22 February 2009 - 10:40 PM

New Version 22.02.2009 - v3 beta (PENM 0.46):

...

Using with WAIK is not implemented in the WB script yet.
However, if have a PE with WMI package added then just extract the .exe from the scripts and then you can use it also with WAIK-PE.


Well done! I do not have Vista, but have a project based on WAIK only, with optional insatllation of WMI package. Can you create a direct download link to the .exe itself so it can be downloaded by the project and placed in the Target?

I would like to try it out.

Thanks

#28 lew247

lew247

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 February 2009 - 11:51 PM

This is an absolutely brilliant project however I have one question
I fix all my family's computers and neighbours, however I dont have a wifi card in my computer.
Is there anyway to include drivers for the main wireless cards?
Or is there anywhere that anyone knows where I can download "generic" drivers for the most popular wireless cards?
An example is My wife has a toshiba with an Intel wireless card, My son has a laptop with a ralink adaptor
Another friend has a different adaptor, but I dont have drivers for any of these .

Any ideas on how to get drivers for all the major wireless cards, to work with this project?

#29 Imalone

Imalone
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 23 February 2009 - 02:38 AM

This is an awesome tool and thanks very much for making it so great! Question I have is, and maybe I'm just an idiot here, but how can this version be loaded up using a profile? There doesn't appear to be a profile editor in the VistaPE versions as there is in the XP versions. I have tried creating a profile usin an XP version and dropping it into the system32 folder as the XP version looked for it there, but I am still unable to set the startup as a stic entry. Can you please explain?

#30 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 23 February 2009 - 07:44 AM

Hello Holger :poke:
You have make a good job :poke:
Can i ;or you; optimize your script with "Require_File," and "RequireSysFile," command API ?

- Fixed: WiFi bug while adding profile with WEP encryption


I seen than you don't use Extensible Authentication Protocol, Wired AutoConfig, CNG Key Isolation, Link-Layer Topology Discovery Mapper, Network Access Protection Agent, Network Connections, Network List Service, Network Location Awareness and Network Store Interface Service.
For more information about this service see here :http://www.speedyvista.com
It's normal ?

#31 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 23 February 2009 - 03:06 PM

Thanks for feedbacks.
Didn't know about these API's "Require_File",...
I will optimize it then for next beta version.
Yeah, it's normal that these services are not included in WB script.
All services to build a 'normal' privat wireless connection are included.
For the future I will take a look for the additional services to also use wirelss enterprise connections with (P)EAP/TLS/certificate using, etc. but for now this is not supported from my utility or my script.

Next time I will do something is middle of next week cause on tuesday (03.03.) I have another MS certification test (70-643) so the most time now I have to learn for that....

Greets :poke:
Holger
P.S.
Here just the DirectDL to the exe/lng-files:
http://holger.winbui...Network.exe.zip

#32 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 23 February 2009 - 05:45 PM

I have modified your Vistape script here with API recquire_file...
Your script Modified

With language files in French
French language for PENetwork Manager

#33 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 51 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 February 2009 - 04:57 PM

Holger,

Thanks for the updated version. I tried it and it works great!!!
Good luck on your Microsoft tests.....

#34 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 25 February 2009 - 09:31 PM

Hello everybody :cheers:

Holger, I can't start Network Manager because i have a error "Network service failed in installation"
Can you help me, please Thanks

#35 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 26 February 2009 - 12:26 AM

...

P.S.
Here just the DirectDL to the exe/lng-files:
http://holger.winbui...Network.exe.zip



Thanks. I tried out your PENetwork in my pe21 Project. I don't have a network - only dialup (and adaptor in Virtual PC) - so it looks very advanced to me.

In pe21, if 'AutoStart wpeinit' is not selected for the build, PENetwork requires (for most shells in running pe21):
Rt-Click Desktop>Start>Programs>wpeutils>InitializeNetwork
or:
Rt-Click Desktop>Start>Programs>wpeinit

My knowledge - I can ping!



... :cheers: ...

Script for pe21.003a (WB076) Project - copy to script.project, adding one line to [Apps] section:

[Apps]

....

Run,"%ProjectDir%\script.project",PENetwork
#\-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------/#

[PENetwork]
DirMake,"%TargetDir%\Program#$sFiles\PENetwork"
Run,"%ProjectDir%\script.project",dload,"http://holger.winbui...etwork.exe.zip"
Run,"%ProjectDir%\script.project",uzip,"%ProgramFilesRoot%\Program#$sFiles\PENetwork"
#--- Add WMI Package ---#
If,"%pe21_WMI%",Equal,"False",Set,"%pe21_WMI%","True"
#--- Shortcut or Set Path ---#
If,"%pe21_Shell%",NotEqual,"* cmd Shell",TxtAddLine,"%TargetDir%\Windows\System32\Startnet.cmd","Echo#$sCreating#$sShortcut#$sfor#$sPENetwork","Append"
TxtAddLine,"%TargetDir%\Windows\System32\Startnet.cmd","call#$s%TargetPath_Cmd%#$s#$qPrograms\PENetwork#$q#$s#$q#$q#$s#$qProgram#$sFiles\PENetwork\PENetwork.exe#$q#$s#$q#$q#$s#$q#$q#$s#$qPENetwork#$q#$s#$q#$q#$s#$q1#$q","Append"
#\-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------/#

Regards :cheers:

#36 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 26 February 2009 - 06:28 AM

@ludovici: does this message "Network service failed in installation" come on PENetwork start?
Please take a look in your windows-temp-folder.
There should be a PENMDebug.txt.
Please post it here.

@allanf: thanks for testing.
With the wpeinit - this is something I will also implement, cause sometimes it's also needed if you use vistape and cancel the init process by key pressing.

Thanks for feedback so far :cheers:
Holger

#37 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 26 February 2009 - 10:36 AM

@allanf: thanks for testing.
...


I don't have a network - only dialup (and adaptor in Virtual PC)...

... then I remembered that someone in the neighbourhood does! Open and unsecured wireless access point.

So I built the project with my laptop wireless adaptor drivers included, and booted up (real , not virtual). To my surprise...



... :cheers: ... First time I've tried that!

However, I can't see the name or details of the actual wireless connection. Is that what the missing WLANAPI would do? Perhaps this feature is available in VistaPE, so no need to worry.

Regards

#38 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 26 February 2009 - 11:31 AM

Yes, the NativeWiFi-API does it.
However, at the moment (I mean more middle of next week) I do some tests with miniport driver functions with DeviceIoControl for LiveXP.
Maybe this stuff is also later possible with 'WAIK-PE'.
Greets
Holger

#39 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 26 February 2009 - 11:41 AM

... Maybe this stuff is also later possible with 'WAIK-PE'.


OK. When you have time...

Thanks :cheers:

#40 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 05 April 2009 - 06:28 AM

Hello Holger  :good:

Sorry for the " There should be a PENMDebug.txt, Please post it here."

I will seen this day and i will post this files tonight...

Can you explain how work your program ? ^_^

Have you need of help ? ^_^

Have you update your Penetwork Manager for VistaPE ?

thanksfor all  ^_^

#41 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 06 April 2009 - 05:40 AM

Hello Holger and everybody  ^_^

@ Allanf : However, I can't see the name or details of the actual wireless connection. Is that what the missing WLANAPI would do? Perhaps this feature is available in VistaPE, so no need to worry.

I had the same problem i after i have modified the "PENetwork Manager for VistaPE" script with this post Wlan Post and this script Wlan script.

And after the modification, i have no problem with WLANAPI  :good: ; (And i can seen correctly the WIFI Tab in your PENetwork Manager...)

And for my previous problem (@ludovici: does this message "Network service failed in installation" come on PENetwork start?); this problem is also solved  ^_^

P.S : Holger, want you than i post my modification directly on this post ?

Or maybe you prefer a personnel link of my modification in your Personnaly Winbuilder Mail Box ?

#42 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 06 April 2009 - 08:27 AM

Hi ludovici :good:

please send me the modified script as PM.
I will compare at first what you have modified.
I tested again my original script (not your modified - which has some (mui) bugs cause of optimizing) on 3 machines (+1 virtual) and have no problems at all with the following adapters: Intel 2200, Intel 3945, US Robotics USR54XX and Realtek 8187B.
Which adapter do you have - not really needed just for interest, cause the service starting error is something different.
So maybe after knowing this and comparing with your modifications I will see what the problem is/was.

Thanks and greets ^_^
Holger
Edit:: read again your post - you mean the problem was in VistaPE right?

#43 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 06 April 2009 - 09:55 AM

Hello Holger  :good:

@ Holger : Edit:: read again your post - you mean the problem was in VistaPE right?

Yes it's right, it's on VistaPE...

What version of Winbuilder and VistaPe use you for your test ?

And you use http://holger.winbui...Network_vpe.zip v3 beta, right ?

I send you my modified script as PM this night...

Have you seen this post Wlan Post ?

Thanks for your work Holger

#44 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 06 April 2009 - 05:47 PM

Yeah I use this version beta v3 and WinBuilder 076 together with VistaSP1.
Also I saw this WLAN post but what I should see there?
For the basic WiFi functionality (which uses my tool) to connect to private networks you don't need all of these services.
If somebody wants to use the Vista WiFi management functionality - sure, then you need more stuff...
So long :good:
Holger

#45 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 06 April 2009 - 06:33 PM

:good: OK, if i understand with your script :

For a exemple, if i want to connect me on a wlan private network protect by a WPA or a WEP Key it's not possible ?

@ Allanf : However, I can't see the name or details of the actual wireless connection. Is that what the missing WLANAPI would do? Perhaps this feature is available in VistaPE, so no need to worry

Allanf have you always the same problem ?

#46 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 06 April 2009 - 06:38 PM

No, just only private networks, no enterprise networks like mostly in companies ((P)EAP proctection and so on) - cause of missing certificates too.
With my script you can connect to (for now) only to WEP/WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK networks.
The WLANAPI and NativeWiFi service are completely missing in WAIK - so the only possibility would be maybe with third party tools (I'm also working on device direct management).

#47 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 07 April 2009 - 01:56 AM

The WLANAPI and NativeWiFi service are completely missing in WAIK - so the only possibility would be maybe with third party tools (I'm also working on device direct management).


@ludovici

Holger states what I suspected. The Windows AIK does not have the files, etc to enable your script. I had a look at the WLAN thread. Great work for VistaPE! ... not for pe21 Project.

There are three 'permanent' Wireless Access Points in my neighbourhood - non are mine - and one is always open and unsecured... ^_^ ... :good: ...

I discovered that with WinPE, I can easily connect to a Wireless Access Point by simply running wpeinit, provided that I have installed the driver for my Wireless Network Adapter. There is no need to run PENetwork or anything else before connecting.

The problem is that I don't know which Wireless Access Point has been automatically selected, although, I can guess. There should be a way to enumerate the Wireless Access Points in PENetwork?

With WEP, a connection would be not so easy.

Regards ^_^

#48 Filip Hasa

Filip Hasa

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 408 posts

Posted 23 April 2009 - 08:04 AM

Hello Holger,

is it possible compile your grate "PENetwork Manager" for amd64 architecture?

WinPE 2.1 from source amd64 cannot use win32 binaries.

Thank you

#49 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 526 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- programming / scripting
    - scooter driving / modifying
    - writing poems
  •  
    Germany

Posted 23 April 2009 - 02:21 PM

Should be possible.
Little usy at the moment - much todo at work and in my free time -> started again to learn how to drive a car after ~ 14 years...
Maybe I will do something at weekend (sunday) - @skanders: if you read here - will try to answer/reply to your posts...
Greets :)
Holger

#50 Filip Hasa

Filip Hasa

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 408 posts

Posted 23 April 2009 - 02:49 PM

Should be possible.
Little usy at the moment - much todo at work and in my free time -> started again to learn how to drive a car after ~ 14 years...
Maybe I will do something at weekend (sunday) - @skanders: if you read here - will try to answer/reply to your posts...
Greets :)
Holger


Thank you for help. I found your source for PENM 0.45. I compiled without problem. I will test it and report it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users