Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

PENetwork Manager for VistaPE/Win7PE


  • Please log in to reply
136 replies to this topic

#1 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:45 AM

I uploaded version 5 beta of the script for my "PE Network Manager" utility to manage the IP settings under VistaPE and Win7PE.
You also have the possibility to connect to wireless networks (private networks only for the moment).
With this utility you can connect to network drives, share folders (still in progress) and do some other things like just 'ping' a host/address.

The script you can also download from 'my' personal Bootland-website http://holger.orgfree.com/
DirectDL (zipped 458KB): http://holger.orgfre...Network_vpe.zip

Current state:
05.08.2009

- Updated "PE Network Manager" to version 0.56 -> use script option "Check for newer version of PENM..."
- Fixed: Missing 'Then' in WiFi start/stop function
- Added: Some missing lang strings

02.08.2009 - v5 beta (PENM 0.55)
- Fixed/Changed: Internal update procedure in WB script
- Fixed: WiFi key can now includes '&' character and '<', '>' characters (thanks to KdN)
(-> ''' and '"' - characters test is sill open cause the 1st test with XPSP: these characters were stored directly in XML,
not with "&apos;" or "&quot;")
- Fixed: Internal script bug with some disabled controls - bug was not visible in compiled mode
- Added: Window position of PENM will be saved on GUI closing and reloaded on GUI starting
- Added: Optional using profiles in WB script (like in LiveXP script)

27.05.2009 - v4 beta (PENM 0.51)
- Fixed: Bug in VistaPE/Win7PE driver installing (FileRepository)

22.05.2009 - v4 beta (PENM 0.50)
- Fixed: Error while connecting to nonsecured wireless network
- Fixed: Wrong connection state tooltip after changing language
- Fixed: 64bit OS issues (right mouse click on network drives, last used network path, etc.)
- Fixed: Some missing color settings (ping, profiles - will be explained later how to use)
- Fixed: Missing title update in WiFi connection GUI
- Fixed: Bug in VistaPE driver installing (inf section removing)
- Changed: Some internal WMI using
- Added: Profile CMD's are now executed after changing network parameters
- Added: Domain automatically used from target path on network drive connecting
- Added: Option to update "PE Network Manager" program automatically from WB script


History:
22.02.2009 - v3 beta &#40;PENM 0.46&#41;&#58;

- Fixed&#58; Bug in refresh of WiFi available networks

- Fixed&#58; Bug in WiFi profile export &#40;OneX not supported at the moment&#41;

- Fixed&#58; WiFi listviews did not react on DblClick anymore after color scheme change

- Fixed&#58; Direct key input striped the key

- Fixed&#58; WiFi bug while adding profile with WEP encryption

- Changed&#58; WiFi arrays

- Added&#58; WiFi profile apply without change without retyping key

- Added&#58; WiFi exporter &#40;XPSP2 with WlanApi, XPSP3, Vista, 2008&#41;

- Added&#58; Some additional checks/routines for WMI using under WAIK-PE

Using with WAIK is not implemented in the WB script yet.
However, if have a PE with WMI package added then just extract the .exe from the scripts and then you can use it also with WAIK-PE.

There is still a lot todo and space for improving, not all things are working now (like iw. starting sharing - you still need the script "FileSharing")...
(For LiveXP I'm also do some new tests with WiFi with DeviceIoControl - miniport direct commands).
However, you can already test the basic functionality.
In LiveXP it is working good so I think there should no big problems with running it under VistaPE and you can give it a chance :poke:
If you have any questions, suggestions or problems just let me know.

For additional information you can also take a look in the "Developement" section or my winbuilder page (ie. screenshots).

Thanks :poke:
Holger

#2 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:45 AM

And some screenshots:

Attached Thumbnails

  • PENetwork.jpg
  • wifi.jpg
  • Wifi2.jpg


#3 yahoouk

yahoouk

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 518 posts

Posted 09 February 2009 - 11:17 AM

Can I test it with Win7 PE, Holger? :poke:

Regards,

yahooUK

#4 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 09 February 2009 - 01:37 PM

I already added a checku string "Longhorn" for the Win7 beta but however for the pure Win7PE (like the CMD prompt from the repair tools) it will not work or did you build it with WinBuilder?
Then it should or do not like under VistaPE :poke:

#5 yahoouk

yahoouk

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 518 posts

Posted 09 February 2009 - 02:33 PM

Have you seen my Win7 PE images?
cmd prompt is left ages ago for me, hee hee. :poke:
My one is with BSexplorer shell, network, MMC, and so many apps are running.
At the moment, networking is very well with PeNetCfg.exe from The Truth latest one.
:poke:

Here is the link for my Win7 PE images.
http://www.boot-land...?...c=6801&st=0

Many thanks for your reply.

Regards,

yahooUK

#6 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 09 February 2009 - 03:47 PM

1 more good news :poke:
WinPE2.1 build with WAIK source (tested with version for SP1/2008) with WMI package added will also be able to use "PENetwork Manager" in a few days/weeks (currently I implement some routines for using WMI if the TCPIPRegistry service is not available).

So long...
Holger

#7 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,256 posts

Posted 09 February 2009 - 04:03 PM

Hope to try it soon in pe21 project. ... :poke: ...

#8 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:50 AM

Hate to ask a dumb question, but what folder should I put the PENetwork Manager script under? Are there any special build setup instructions?
I looked at http://www.boot-land...?...ic=976&st=0 it doesn't seem to indicate anything special.

If I copy the script to App/System or App/Network, the build fails.In addition, doing so causes a duplicate folder to appear, i.e. app/system and another app/system to appear in the tree. The first app/system contains the PENetwork Manager Script, and the second app/system contains the other original scripts. Exiting winbuilder and re-executing it still shows this issue. In any case, putting the script in System or Network kills the build.


I just found the wiki by googling (http://en.wikibooks....Builder#Scripts). The instructions below don't make sense in VistaPE, or do they???

Where do I place my scripts?

You can place your scripts inside the same folder where the project you want to create is placed.

Using LiveXP as example, you can place your scripts inside the %BaseDir%\Projects\LiveXP folder, where %BaseDir% is the same path where WinBuilder.exe is found. Placing your script inside this folder is more than enough to make it available from the the main window when browsing your project.

Also worth noting that some projects also have a specific folder where all related scripts are grouped. Using the same LiveXP example, you can place your scripts with programs inside the %BaseDir%\Projects\LiveXP\Apps folder.




Thanks,

Phil

#9 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 February 2009 - 06:27 AM

I managed to put the script in the "Games" folder. The system built, but when I go to games, there is no PENetwork manager listed.

It is however listed under the network folder.

Fortunately there is also desktop shortcut. Running it, I unfortunately see that my laptop intel 3945abg wireless chipset is not detected, nor does the normal PENetcfg list the chipset.

So, I now have to find out how to add the intel 3945abg wireless chipset driver to the build......

http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3660, not clear from here how to do it

#10 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 11 February 2009 - 06:43 AM

Just put the "PENetwork"-script in the same folder like "PENetCfg" - on my system ie: "Addons".
The network drivers can be copied automatically copied by the script itself - just point it to the drivers folder.
There is also created a "PENMDrvCpy.txt" in your %TEMP%-folder (Start -> Run -> %TEMP%) - so you can take a look here.

Greets
Holger

#11 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 February 2009 - 04:03 PM

Holger, many thanks.

When you say 'just point it to the drivers folder.' you mean change a path in the text in the script somewhere? I also have to figure out if my drivers folder has the driver for the intel wireless, which I don't think so, since the regular PENetCfg can't find it either.

#12 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 11 February 2009 - 04:26 PM

Just in the GUI of the script itself: "Copy network drivers.... from this directory...".

#13 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 February 2009 - 08:17 PM

Holger, during the vistaPE boot, I see the hardware detection dialog and I see the computer detecting 945gm. However, even though I pointed the gui toward the "drivers" folder, and even after forcing scanning for new devices on adapter list refresh, I only see the wired nic adapter, not the 3945gm wireless. If I look in the device manager, only the wired nic appears, no wireless adapter.
Am I supposed to copy the intel wireless files to the drivers folder???

#14 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 February 2009 - 11:45 PM

In my live running vistaPE, I browsed to the drivers folder and unzipped the intel 3945abg drivers there. I also copied them to the intel folder, which has subfolders 1-7, I created a folder named '8' and also copied the drivers there. I rebooted and Pe Network manager nor device manager saw the wireless driver. I then went to device manager, found an unknown network device and updated its drivers by pointing it to my 3945abg intel drivers folder. then the intel wireless adapter appeared on the device manager as well as in PE Network manager. I found my network in available networks, set the ssid, encryption and password in preferred networks and told it to connect, I'm not sure if it did because I did not get a written confirmation, however, there is a gold star next to the ssid listing. I released and tried to renew the ip, but it seemed to hang, and hitting the info button shows a blank ip address.

I fired up internet explorer and it was dead, could not browse anywhere. ARE YOU SUPPOSED TO REMOVE THE SCRIPT FOR PeNetCfg if I add your script??

#15 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 February 2009 - 04:10 AM

Per my parallel post: http://www.boot-land...amp;#entry58966

"I just tried to decode drivers-lan.script with wbzip_new.exe, but it either fails because of my syntax or just fails. Is this thing encoded with wbzip_new.exe or yEnc32, if the former, what is the syntax so I can decode and see what is going on and what drivers are in this thing...... "

#16 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,256 posts

Posted 12 February 2009 - 04:41 AM

Per my parallel post:

I think there is some confusion at the moment regarding VistaPE's Drivers Installation.

Just in the GUI of the script itself: "Copy network drivers.... from this directory...".

Did you try this recommendation?

Find your specific Network Driver Package, extract it to any old folder and point to it.

I haven't tried it. What happens?

Regards

#17 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 February 2009 - 05:54 AM

Like I wrote: at the moment I cannot test it in deep cause I have no accesspoint here (not at home before mid of next week).
But I did some tests some weeks ago and I could connect to my WPA2-home network...
Also I do only tests with VistaPEv12RC1 (maybe you have the older version v11 - should also work).
At the moment I'm finished to implement the small WMI routines into PENM but has to add some stuff to the WB script for WMI using for WAIK.
After that I will take a look into the wireless stuff again.
So long :poke:
Holger

#18 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 February 2009 - 06:20 PM

Holger,

Thanks. I am using v.12 RC1. And I did download the intel drivers in the "drivers" folder and point to them with the gui. The first issue however is that VistaPE never detects and installs the drivers in device manager....

The other issue is that I am using aes encryption, are you using AES in your network??????

#19 madhopsman

madhopsman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 February 2009 - 12:44 AM

In my live running vistaPE, I browsed to the drivers folder and unzipped the intel 3945abg drivers there. I also copied them to the intel folder, which has subfolders 1-7, I created a folder named '8' and also copied the drivers there. I rebooted and Pe Network manager nor device manager saw the wireless driver. I then went to device manager, found an unknown network device and updated its drivers by pointing it to my 3945abg intel drivers folder. then the intel wireless adapter appeared on the device manager as well as in PE Network manager.


Except, I cannot connect to any networks, nor can I see any networks around. Any suggestions?

#20 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 February 2009 - 03:36 AM

I could definitely see networks after I manually loaded the network driver in device manager. I assume you told it to redetect networks, so I'm suspecting something went wrong with the wireless adapter device/driver...

Except, I cannot connect to any networks, nor can I see any networks around. Any suggestions?



#21 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 February 2009 - 04:43 AM

Success! THANKS HOLGER!!! I rebuilt VistaPE with PE Network manager pointing to a folder with the wireless drivers in it. I booted VistaPE and ran PE Network Manager and saw that the wireless adapter is now listed in the drop down box at the top of the gui. I added in the preferred network SSID and encryption type and key, then went to available networks and tried to connect, but it didn't seem to work. I then opened PeNetCfg and applied the normal settings to the wireless adapter, then went back to PE Network manager and double clicked the line in available networks that lists my "signal SSID and Security, etc"

I then ran IE and it works. Let me reboot and find out if I really must run PeNetCfg as well to get this to work or not....

#22 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 February 2009 - 05:18 AM

FOUND THE BUG.

There is a bug in the Preferred Networks Tab.

When you go into Preferred Networks tab, you hit the 'Add' button, then a 'Wireless Connection Properties' window pops up.

You then enter in your SSID name,
Network Authentication type, Data Encryption type.

BUT YOU MUST CHECK THE CHECKBOX 'Show networkkey on input' before or after you put your key into the 'Network key:' box. If the key shows up as masked dot characters, the connection WILL NOT WORK.
The key must show up as the alphanumeric characters that you type or paste into the box.


You then hit the 'apply' button, go back to the 'Available Networks' tab and either double click the desired network or highlight the desired network and click the 'Connect' button.

#23 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 13 February 2009 - 06:06 AM

Thanks for info :poke:
Yeah, there is something wrong.
I already did some corrections yesterday.
On wednesday I will publish a new version (when I'm back home again).
So long.
Holger

#24 charlestek

charlestek

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 February 2009 - 07:18 AM

Holger,

Thanks again. How did you learn to write wireless clients? Are you away at college??
Is the gui done in winforms in Visual Studio, or are you using another development platform?

#25 Holger

Holger

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 521 posts
  • Location:Munich
  • Interests:- scooter driving / modifying
    - programming / scripting
  •  
    Germany

Posted 13 February 2009 - 09:56 AM

I would say learning by doing - much trying and testing...
I't written in AutoIt3 (myself is scripting since feb. 2004 in AI3).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users