Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Windows 7 to skip straight to release candidate stage


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Brotosaurus

Brotosaurus
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 02 February 2009 - 07:33 PM

http://techreport.co...ussions.x/16336

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 February 2009 - 08:07 PM

eheh.. those bugs were caught really quick to only release a single beta.. B)

Or are they hidden under the rug? :cheers:

Whatevr.. Let's go 7!! :cheers:

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 02 February 2009 - 10:06 PM

Wow, Vista must have really put some dent into their bank accounts, when they rush like that the release of a new OS.
If the rumors are right, that would make something like a year from first announcment to shiping. That is faster than any service pack! :cheers:

B)

#4 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4167 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 06:25 AM

Is this similar to what happened with Windows ME. Did anyone use Windows ME?

#5 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 February 2009 - 01:17 PM

Don't forget its only Vista with tweaks. Nothing really new in it other than the taskbar. That's why its stable as since sp1 Vista was very stable.

#6 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 February 2009 - 10:43 PM

And they don't have to reinvent their deployment method as was the case between XP and Vista.

Regards,
Galapo.

#7 JohnK

JohnK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 February 2009 - 08:49 AM

eheh.. those bugs were caught really quick to only release a single beta.. :poke:

Or are they hidden under the rug? :poke:

Whatevr.. Let's go 7!! :poke:


Well, I just removed it from my system. About 90% of applications I tried will not run on Windows 7.

#8 JohnK

JohnK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 February 2009 - 08:55 AM

Is this similar to what happened with Windows ME. Did anyone use Windows ME?


I don't know why I didn't get the word. I bought it. Had some terrible fight with USB not working until I went back to Windows 98. Then all worked fine....

#9 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 February 2009 - 12:43 PM

Only found 1 application, novastor backup version 10, that does not run on Windows 7 64. The compatability mode fixes most problems with most applications that don't check for the windows version correctly.

#10 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 February 2009 - 01:10 PM

I've been running my usual programs without any complications.

My selection of programs usually falls on a few open source projects and they're working well in whatever OS being used so I can't complain much.

----

jkolak, which programs didn't worked?

:poke:

#11 JohnK

JohnK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 February 2009 - 03:58 AM

jkolak, which programs didn't worked?
:


NeoDVD video capture and DVD creation tool.

Video Edit Master

KM Player

Gospel Link

The kid's Ghost Online -- which is surprising since it supports Vista.

Also I was surprised with IE8 because while admiring its speed, at one forum it ran the text off the right edge of the screen and provided no lower window slider to allow viewing the missing text.

Compatibility mode troubleshooter didn't help with any of these programs.

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 February 2009 - 10:22 AM

Let's hope this can soon be addressed.

Do you have any clues of what could be missing or changed with 7 that is capable of making this sort of errors to occur?

If they move from beta to RC with this sort of errors then we're bound for a bumpy road ahead.. :poke:

#13 JohnK

JohnK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 February 2009 - 11:23 AM

Let's hope this can soon be addressed.

Do you have any clues of what could be missing or changed with 7 that is capable of making this sort of errors to occur?

If they move from beta to RC with this sort of errors then we're bound for a bumpy road ahead.. :poke:


I wish I had an educated guess! I forgot to mention SiSoftware Sandra Lite. It works on Vista, but the installer said it doesn't work on this kind of Windows, thinking it was a Win95/98/Me series Windows. I ignored the message and installed anyway, but the program refused to work, saying that it couldn't connect with the target computer.

Gospel Link tries to work in Vista, but when you load the discs to hard drive and use the program to try to access one of the text volumes, it says there is not a good internet connection. When running in compatibility mode, it says Personal HTTP server has stopped working, so I guess Vista thinks the Personal HTTP server is an internet connection.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users