Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

[LODR-U] VMware Workstation 6.5.1 - 6.5.3


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 31 January 2009 - 06:57 AM

Update 22.09.09;
New version 4.0.0.0 ws653_LODR_v4.zip
New Visual C Runtime patcher for nt7.1 vc_patcher_win7rc1.zip

Update 14.09.09;
NEW version 3.0.0.0 ws653_LODR

Update 19.04.09;
NEW version 2.0.0.1 ws652_LODR_v2001
NEW vc_patcher vc_patcher_v1002

Update 18.02.09:
version 1.0.0.11 ws651_LODR_v10011.rar
vc patcher vc_patcher.rar

For those that haven't followed the discussion around Load On Demand Ready Packages, take a look at this thread filed under Development: http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=6621 It is about how to seperate your bootable system into the core system and applications strictly not needed by the core system.

My "LODR Package" for VMware Workstation 6.5.1 will let you hotplug an external stick/disk with the files on, and with the loader, install the necessary drivers and services as well as the correct dll's and registry entries. Best of all, it supports xp/2k3/vista. This should be thought of as a portable app for PE/livecd's.

Do never run this under a real running windows. In fact there is a check to prevent it from accidentaly being executed in the wrong environment.

You will need to have a serial to run workstation, but the player is free. Serial is NOT included.

What's the benefit?

- No need to rebuild your favourite livecd
- Can keep your bootable cd small
- Faster bootup
- Very flexible as the LODR Package can reside on any available drive. You just type the drive letter when loading it.
- Supports xp/2k3/vista and is project independant. That means regardless if your bootable cd was buildt with pebuilder, moa or any winbuilder. This is autodetected.
- No need for writeable systemdrive, nor any large ramdisk
- May also be packed into a wim image to save a lot of space.
- Ridiculously easy to use
- Running apps not supported in Preinstallation Environments

Requirements:
- Writeable %temp% and %USERPROFILE% (this requirement will be relaxed in later release)
- Keep the files in this directory structure counting from toplevel; LODR\ws651 (ie, k:\LODR\ws651\vmware.exe, this requirement will also be relaxed in later release)
- You will need somewhat more ram to run vm's
- Collect the files with supplied script. This will be a ripped and compact package containing just what you need.
- MS Visual C Runtimes v.8.0. If you don't have the uploaded wim image, then you will need to have/put the latest Microsoft C Runtimes v.8.0 present in either systemroot or directory ws651, or just path in general (enough to have the binary present, no need for registry mod).

Important:
- Type only 1 letter in the inputbox, then press Ok.
- Keep correct directory structure
- Forget about this at buildtime, it is meant as hotpluggable portable solution for an advanced app to run in PE only. It has nothing to do with the buildprocess of your iso.

Tested OS/Architectures:
- Pebuilder and different builds with xpsp2 source
- MOA and different builds with 2k3r2 source
- 1 VistaPE build I made a year ago.

Issues:
- Networking support in workstation (vmnet1 & vmnet8) is not easily hotplugged after networking is set up. A workaround is not yet found. Networking is still possible, just not the virtual communication.
- If it gets screewed up, then close the process and try again.

Please report any issues you experience with this.

Joakim

#2 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 31 January 2009 - 02:41 PM

Thanks :cheers:

#3 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 31 January 2009 - 03:30 PM

Tested OS/Architectures:
- Pebuilder and different builds with xpsp2 source
- MOA and different builds with 2k3r2 source
- 1 VistaPE build I made a year ago.


When using this in MOA - which makes no sense because MOA already has a loader for any recent Workstation-versions build in
remember to set
start_vmware=no
in moa.ini

#4 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 02 February 2009 - 11:42 PM

Finally having a stable working solution that runs satisfactory. Fixed many small annoying issues. Now also with usb support for xp/2k3/vista.

It should now be fairly easy to run. Just need to met 3 conditions:
- writable %temp%, only need some kb.
- presence of visual c runtimes 8.00.50727.762
- having files in correct directory structure

Inputbox in vistape should look like:
Posted Image

Inputbox in xpe may look like:
Posted Image


This is how it could look like in vistape (running OSX Tiger, Server 2008, Windows 7 and BackTrack2!)
Notice the wireless usb adapters attached.

Posted Image

and in oldstyle xpe;
Notice the wireless usb adapters attached here as well.

Posted Image

These were both run from the ws651 LODR package. Flexible and handy!!
One example more. This time I took a premade iso that I would not expect to be prepared for running vmware workstation on, namely StorageCraft's Recovery Environment CD, based on winpe. By adding the missing vc2005 runtimes, it was possible to run workstation. Well loader failed for some reason in the final step, so by executing vmware.exe directly I got it running there. As I don't have vt-supported hardware I didn't bother to reboot for this test, but ran a simplified in a vm:

Posted Image

These were the runtimes necessary for this test: http://www.mediafire...c2005_vista.rar

Version 1.0.0.8 available: http://www.mediafire..._LODR_v1008.rar

Joakim


PS next version will include VIX.

#5 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 03 February 2009 - 12:49 AM

Joakim - the way you launch vmnet1 and vmnet8 interferes with virtual networks launched later.
The two with the exclamation mark are the ones you launch at start and they do not work - the others launched manually later work.
vmnetwork.png

#6 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4138 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 06:19 AM

Looks like its comming along nicely.

#7 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 03 February 2009 - 08:06 AM

@Ulli

I actually removed the virtual nics alltogether. What you see there is probably just junk/leftover regentries I haven't cleaned. I'll remove it, and maybe

vmnat, vmnetdhcp and vmnetbridge, (not sure) since not really used. Safest way as I see it, would be to remove all this as to not interfere with a possibly

existing vmnet1 and vmnet8, already there.

The reason for that:
- As we discussed, the virtual nics are difficult to install after bootup and after networking is installed. I have not found a way to "hotplug" these.
- An easier way would be to have this particular feature installed earlier in the bootprocess (prenetwork), and thereby having it correctly registered.

Note:
It will only make sense to do this if you are to communicate host/guest and guest/guest through ethernet/wired-based network. Ofcourse usb and wireless (and

other options as well) works as the screenshots show. You will still be able to drag/drop because vmware tools is installed (if it is).

It will be on my todo-list to figure out this, or you can give me a hint if the answer is know to you.

#8 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 03 February 2009 - 10:25 AM

Ideally this could be included in core, or as an optional parameter at boottime. And then completely exclude it from LODR package.

Based on this and the above, should these 3 services be removed from LODR package, until hotplugging issue has been solved?

Joakim

#9 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 03 February 2009 - 01:05 PM

Joakim - if VMware is loaded after network-start you better remove the virtual nics.
Hosts with free space in %systemroot% and WMI-support can load them via GUI more easily if there is no unclean adapter installed.

What about vmnetbridge - IMHO running VMware without bridged network is only half the fun.
Does that work for you ?
Here it works if done via GUI manually

Ulli

#10 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 03 February 2009 - 10:09 PM

Version 1.0.0.9; http://www.mediafire..._LODR_v1009.rar

Have now added vix support that is reflected in the getfiles batch as well as startmenu shortcut.

Still issues with virtual nics.

Joakim

#11 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 03 February 2009 - 10:24 PM

Last version had some issues:
tried it on LiveXP from Galapos signature with default build - and it doesn't launch - looks like two dlls in WINSXS are missing.
Next time I'll write them down.

In MOA it works but calling Menu > File > Import crashs all running VMs.

Joakim - if you have vmnetbridge.sys loaded - try to install the service manually by right clicking a nic-icon in systray and manually installing a service.
Point to vmnetbridge.inf in ..LODR\ws651 (only works with writeable %systemroot%)

Do you have any test-systems with WMI-support ?

#12 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 03 February 2009 - 10:43 PM

Version 1010; http://www.mediafire..._LODR_v1010.rar

There was a bug in ws651.reg (ControlSet001\Enum\Root\VMWARE\0001 - Hardware ID) that caused some trash.

WMI and writeable systemroot on several different testsystems, but thought maybe it is possible to modify netadapter.inf to point the installed files to current directory instead of %systemroot%\system32\drivers. And thereby circumvent the need for writeable x, in order to install drivers from inf files, instead of drv_ctl... Don't know but will check tomorrow.

Joakim.

#13 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 04 February 2009 - 11:45 AM

tried it on LiveXP from Galapos signature with default build - and it doesn't launch - looks like two dlls in WINSXS are missing.


That is because required visual c runtimes are not present. You must have them winsxs at boottime or put them there later if x is writeable.

I have not found a way to redirect winsxs folder to alternative location.

Joakim

#14 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 04 February 2009 - 01:02 PM

joakim

verrrrrrrrrrry minor things

*
in this commands
get_files_ws651.cmd
get_files_ws651_install.cmd

copy %systemroot%\system32\drivers\vmnet.sys ws651\%

i guess % not needed :cheers:

*
x86 check should be in
get_files_ws651.cmd
get_files_ws651_install.cmd
not in
get_files_ws651_setup.cmd
get_files_ws651_setup_with_vix.cmd

http://lancelot.winb...iles_ws651_.rar

*
minor idea,
can ws651_LODR.exe check if %currentdrive%\%LODR_dir%\%MainExecutable% exists to start automatically B).

#15 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 04 February 2009 - 01:48 PM

copy %systemroot%\system32\drivers\vmnet.sys ws651\%

minor idea,
can ws651_LODR.exe check if %currentdrive%\%LODR_dir%\%MainExecutable% exists to start automatically :cheers:.


The % must have jumped in there by mistake. Thank you.

About checking presence for %MainExecutable%, I don't exactly understand what you mean... Launching it directly from the loader, if present, will either way break usb support, as well as missing the install and registration of the numerous dependant services and drivers. The loader is only meant to be run once. Then use the shortcuts that point to the usb-support-loading batch.

Joakim

#16 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 04 February 2009 - 05:35 PM

joakim

To clear: i understand ws651_LODR.exe will be used once after PE loads (which i was thinking before).
If answer is yes, than thinking my usb letter is C:, double clicking on C:\LODR\ws651_LODR.exe should automatically start vmware since it is in C:\LODR\ws651 and than why asking drive letter and i answer C.
If answer no, than very sorry, i misunderstand, but what?

From my experience, for LiveXP users, i advice to enable msi.script (Projects\LiveXP\Basic\Shells\Addons) and DrvImpe.script (\Projects\LiveXP\Drivers\5 Other). yep i know we are in Vista topic but i try to run this lodr pack with livexp. :cheers:.

a minor thing, shortcut creation fails with wrong icon also execution of .exe fails (both same reason)
during shortcut creation and executing, ws651_LODR.exe thinks vmware.exe is in C:\LODR\ but it is in C:\LODR\ws651\
http://img25.imagesh...00/snap1jw9.gif

waiting for ws651_LODR_v1011.rar B), than i will try on real hardware :cheers:

#17 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 04 February 2009 - 05:56 PM

Explanation is:
Put loader in LODR\ws651\ folder and execute from there.
Put .ini there too.

Joakim

Yes, 1.0.0.11 soon there.

#18 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 04 February 2009 - 06:04 PM

joakim
Thank you for explanation, :cheers: B) :cheers: :cheers:

#19 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:43 PM

but thought maybe it is possible to modify netadapter.inf to point the installed files to current directory instead of %systemroot%\system32\drivers.


That was my plan too when writing the loader for moa24.exe - after some months I gave up.
Even with traditional plugins this did not gave clean results.
vmnetcfg.exe and vnetlib.exe seem to expect the drivers in system32\drivers.

#20 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 04 February 2009 - 09:13 PM

vmnetcfg.exe and vnetlib.exe seem to expect the drivers in system32\drivers.

It seems like not everything can be loaded on demand then, at least vmnetadapter.sys. If this one should be included in core, maybe also vnetinst and vnetlib should. Then these should temporarily be removed from LODR package until issue solved.

Ulli, do you reckon these 3 are the crucial ones, or would vmnetbridge (and maybe also nat/dhcp too) also be such crucial?

Joakim

#21 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 04 February 2009 - 09:26 PM

Some people have had issues with the visual c runtimes.

This is the plugin I used for the pebuilder plugin.

http://www.mediafire...2005-joakim.rar

If you do not have writeable systemdrive, you must include these at buildtime.
If you have writeable systemdrive, then

- either install directly with installer
- or copy winsxs folder into %SystemRoot% and apply a registry patch
- or if filesystem=ntfs you can junction and apply a registry patch

Joakim

#22 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 05 February 2009 - 11:07 PM

Just tried to hotplug the package to a plain standard buildt vista recovery cd 123 Mb.

Only small tweaks necessary to get the beast running (visual c runtimes and ddraw.dll)

Here's are patch package that should get most, if not all, vista based cds to run ws651:

Patch for Vista Recovery CD

Some screenshots from the "new" recovery console:

Posted Image

Posted Image

This cd had no shell other than the recovery console.

To do this you must run cmd, start notepad, click open file, locate regedit, right click, run as admin, and then import the regfile.

Joakim

#23 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 18 February 2009 - 07:44 PM

NEW version 1.0.0.11 out:

http://www.mediafire...LODR_v10011.rar
http://www.mediafire.../vc_patcher.rar

What's new?
- Added suppport for Server 2008
- Fixed virtual networking (loader will autodetect if %SystemRoot% is writeable) and install with vnetlib if writeable x.
- Added autodetection of driveletter
- Improved patchers for the visual c runtimes for all OS's (1 exe that autodetects correct OS and patches accordingly)
- Most of the Windows 7 sfuff is already incorporated, but currently does not work

Some screenshots from a running Windows Server 2008 System Recovery Disc.

You can barely see the familiar grey 2008 background, due to some resolution issues...

Hmm, www.microsoft.com did not look like this last time?

REMOVED PIC

and neither did www.sanbarrow.com;

REMOVED PIC

he he, just some fun with linux wireless.

Nothing is broke on www.microsoft.com or www.sanbarrow.com and not even the browser, ie7.

On the right side backtrack2 is running airpwn with a rt2570 card. On the left, Server 2008 is browsing the internet with an Alfa 500mW.

Even more funny is the fact that an unknown person connected to this network and was hit by it, lets prey there were no heart conditions present...

Joakim

#24 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 18 February 2009 - 08:29 PM

Joakim - you will ruin my reputation with mention my site in one sentence with Microsoft :poke:

:poke:

By the way - do you have vmauthdservice running in your latest LODR-pack ?
At the moment I am making one for VMware View and need vmauthdservice but have some problems with launching it.

Ulli

#25 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:23 PM

By the way - do you have vmauthdservice running in your latest LODR-pack ?


No, that service is not running. I have made a few attempts myself, but no luck.

The way I see it there's 3 options:

- vnetlib (tricky to emulate)
- sc create ....
- registry patch

What else do you have?

Joakim




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users