Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Booting LiveXP_RAM.iso with Grub4dos.


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 30 January 2009 - 08:22 AM

i have build a VistaPE v11 with grub4dos as bootmanager and boot from a USB.
Is it easy to boot LiveXP_RAM.iso from the USB also by changing some code so that i can choose to boot from either? and how do i do that?

Thank,
Mancer

#2 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 January 2009 - 08:58 AM

i have build a VistaPE v11 with grub4dos as bootmanager and boot from a USB.
Is it easy to boot LiveXP_RAM.iso from the USB also by changing some code so that i can choose to boot from either? and how do i do that?

Thank,
Mancer

Hi Mancer, I was just thinking about whether this would be possible, it's easy to setup a LiveXP image to boot from HDD/USB/UFD with a grub4dos menu; I'm just not sure about the VistaPE option. Are you familiar with wimb's great tools and tutorials here? All we have to do is add the VistaPE image to the mix and edit the menu a bit, easy right? :cheers: - I'd like to try it, how is your VistaPE setup now, can you give me a link or something so I can try to replicate what you have?

#3 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 January 2009 - 09:10 AM

Well, all you have to do is to chainload SETUPLDR.BIN.

You need to have:
SETUPLDR.BIN (Server 2003 SP1 or R2, NOT "gold", NOT SP2) outside the .iso
RAMDISK.SYS (Server 2003 SP1 or R2, NOT "gold", NOT SP2) inside the .iso
NTDETECT.COM outside the .iso
the actual .ISO
a WINNT.SIF outside the .iso

Read this thread by aec:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=10482

Then read also this (optional) about using compressed .is_ image:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19737

And search here on boot-land, if I recall correctly Nightman or Highwaystar or Nikzzz :cheers: posted somewhere a patch to avoid "summed" RAM occupation (if you have scarce RAM).

jaclaz

#4 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 30 January 2009 - 09:59 AM

i got a txtsetup.sif is missing or corrupted error during booting. status 14
any idea?

i downloaded the vistePE v11 from
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3710

Mancer

#5 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 January 2009 - 11:09 AM

Post a DIR /s >C:\USBstick.txt
of the USB stick as is.

Post your WINNT.SIF contents.

jaclaz

#6 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 30 January 2009 - 12:44 PM

You can boot LiveXP_RAM.iso from grub4dos by making proper entry in menu.lst
(is preconfigured in menu.lst of recent U_XP_SET package)

http://www.boot-land...?...5226&st=141

menu.lst
title Start LiveXP_RAM.iso

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /LiveXP_RAM.iso

map /LiveXP_RAM.iso (hd32)

map --hook

chainloader (hd32)

boot

But, it seems to me better if you try to boot direct with LiveXP BootSDI.img file installed with BOOT_IMG.exe as described here
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=5306

The LiveXP_RAM.iso file is meant to be burned on CD and so to boot from RAMDISK with the BootSDI.img file located inside the ISO.

#7 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 02 February 2009 - 01:54 AM

WINNT.SIF content:

[SetupData]
BootDevice="ramdisk(0)"
BootPath="\i386\System32\"
OsLoadOptions="/noguiboot/fastdetect/minint/rdexportashd/rdpath=LiveXP_RAM.iso"

Thankz,
Mancer

Attached Files



#8 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 February 2009 - 02:48 AM

And search here on boot-land, if I recall correctly Nightman or Highwaystar or Nikzzz :cheers: posted somewhere a patch to avoid "summed" RAM occupation

Yes, Nikzzzz posted what had to be done as per research and programming done by a member on Russian forum. What has to be patched is now listed in the BootSDI script on the LiveXP server. (The script now also lists what has to be patched to enable automatic detection and switch of appropriate uni- or multiprocessor kernal even without network booting.)

Regards,
Galapo.

#9 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 02 February 2009 - 03:42 AM

SETUPLDR.BIN (Server 2003 SP1 or R2, NOT "gold", NOT SP2) outside the .iso
RAMDISK.SYS (Server 2003 SP1 or R2, NOT "gold", NOT SP2) inside the .iso

This two file must be from Server 2003 SP1 or R2.
Why is it so? can't use from XPPSP2? =X
downloading Server 2003 SP1 and try now.

Mancer

#10 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 February 2009 - 07:04 AM

WINNT.SIF content:

[SetupData]
BootDevice="ramdisk(0)"
BootPath="\i386\System32\"
OsLoadOptions="/noguiboot/fastdetect/minint/rdexportashd/rdpath=LiveXP_RAM.iso"

Thankz,
Mancer


The LiveXP_RAM.iso is NOT an ISO which you can load into RAMDISK this way. B)
Instead you have to burn such an ISO on CD and then will be able to load into RAMDISK the BootSDI.img file inside your ISO.
(btw don't post winnt.sif this way since you are loosing the spaces in OsLoadOptions)

As posted above you need a different approach.
Use Make_USB.exe and Select LiveXP <WinBuilder>\ISO\Ram\I386\BootSDI.img file
as RAMBOOT IMAGE File :cheers:

#11 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 02 February 2009 - 08:01 AM

I have tried both method but both show the same error.
INF file: txtsetup.sif missing or corrupted, status 14

i have use Windows server 2003 SP1 file:
SetupLDR.BIN(put in root of USB) and RAMDISK.SYS(inside LiveXP_RAM.iso)
NTDETECT.COM outside the .iso
the actual .ISO
a WINNT.SIF outside the .iso

when using the setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys file from Windows server 2003, the loading of the RAMDISK Image was very slow. Thought it work, but in the end the same error show up.

As posted above you need a different approach.
Use Make_USB.exe and Select LiveXP <WinBuilder>\ISO\Ram\I386\BootSDI.img file
as RAMBOOT IMAGE File


Run Make_USB.exe
Select target thumbdrive
Select LiveXP RAM BootSDI.IMG
Add extra sources - point to target/LiveXP folder
is this correct?

Mancer

#12 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 February 2009 - 08:09 AM

Run Make_USB.exe
Select target thumbdrive
Select LiveXP RAM BootSDI.IMG
Add extra sources - point to target/LiveXP folder
is this correct?

This is NOT correct B)

You should do:

Run Make_USB.exe
Select HP Format Tool to Format your USB-stick with NTFS FileSystem
Select Target USB Drive
Select XP Setup Source and Uncheck the Copy Checkbox
Select LiveXP RAM BootSDI.IMG
Click GO to make your USB-stick :cheers:

#13 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 02 February 2009 - 08:38 AM

that will format my thumb drive include the VistaPE that i have in it?
i want to boot either VistaPE or LiveXP from my thumbdrive.

#14 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 February 2009 - 08:48 AM

that will format my thumb drive include the VistaPE that i have in it?
i want to boot either VistaPE or LiveXP from my thumbdrive.

Yes it will Format your thumb drive.
If your OS is Vista then Make_USB.exe will detect
Vista - BOOTMGR type BootSector in USB-stick and will propose to Change BootSector to NTLDR Type to make USB-Drive Bootable.
You need NTLDR type bootsector to get boot.ini Menu.

Select VistaPE to Add as Extra Source using Vista - Windows PE Source Selector. :cheers: This is the BOOTMGR Group.

Boot with VistaPE by selecting in boot.ini Menu first GRUB4DOS Menu and then VistaPE

#15 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 02 February 2009 - 09:25 AM

I use the Make_USB.exe
Format with HP Format tools
Select target Thumbdrive
Select Vista Setup
Select LiveXP bootSDI.Img
Select Window XP setup source
Press GO
After build success, do i have to do anything else?

i got a black screen with blinking cursor when booting.

#16 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 February 2009 - 09:37 AM

I use the Make_USB.exe
Format with HP Format tools
Select target Thumbdrive
Select Vista Setup
Select LiveXP bootSDI.Img
Select Window XP setup source
Press GO
After build success, do i have to do anything else?

i got a black screen with blinking cursor when booting.

You should do:

Run Make_USB.exe
Select HP Format Tool to Format your USB-stick with NTFS FileSystem
Select Target USB Drive
Select XP Setup Source and Uncheck the Copy Checkbox
Select LiveXP RAM BootSDI.IMG file
Select VistaPE to Add as Extra Source using Vista - Windows PE Source Selector
Click GO to make your USB-stick

Is your computer mobo / BIOS able to boot from USB-stick ?
Try other computer if you have boot problem.

#17 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 02 February 2009 - 09:51 AM

Yes, previously i boot LiveXP as well as VistaPE separately on the same computer and the same USB.

i follow your steps but still fail. =(

#18 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 February 2009 - 10:06 AM

This thread seems to me like a good example about different schools of thought on how to try and help a member. :cheers:

Notwithstanding the very good work by wimb, and Galapo and all the other members involved directly or indirectly in Make_USB.exe, LiveXP and related projects B) , my opinion is that a member, instead of being told to "blindly" press a few buttons or choose from a menu some options, should be guided to understanding how it works, and why, and only once he managed to understand the reasons of certain settings, methods and procedures, and after having actually learned what it is the effect of the buttons he is invited to click on, be invited to do so.

http://www.quotation...quote/2279.html

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.


:cheers:

Back to topic:
Black screen with flashing cursor (usually in top left part of the screen) is a typical problem of a "wrong" partitioning/formatting of the stick.
This thread contains a similar report:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=21049
and a possible solution, check the MBR for CHS and LBA balanced values.
More info here:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2959
It is possible that this behaviour only happens on that particular motherboard and works OK with others, but of course it is advisable to have it working with "ALL" motherboards.
My everyday more outdated FAQ's give some hints on how to troubleshoot (FAQ #4 and #10):
http://home.graffiti...SB/USBfaqs.html

:cheers:

jaclaz

#19 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 February 2009 - 10:43 AM

This thread seems to me like a good example about different schools of thought on how to try and help a member. :cheers:
http://www.quotation...quote/2279.html
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.
B)

Nice quote and very TRUE,
but my Guide for MultiBoot USB-stick with boot.ini Menu
will be helpful to learn how to fish :cheers:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=20089

@mancer
What procedure did you use previously to Format your USB-stick ? I mean in the cases that you could boot from USB-stick.

#20 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 February 2009 - 11:58 AM

Nice quote and very TRUE,
but my Guide for MultiBoot USB-stick with boot.ini Menu
will be helpful to learn how to fish :cheers:


Yes, but when someone posts a "wrong" WINNT.SIF:
http://www.boot-land...?...c=6911&st=6

You should address the issue, instead of saying something that, although strictly speaking accurate, made the member (needlessly) re-format an otherways perfectly working USB stick....:cheers:

What I was suggesting mancer would have led him to attempt a "matryoschka" boot, (which would have failed B)) in order to show him the reason of the failure, and only then point him in the "right " direction:
http://www.boot-land...?...c=4952&st=0

As said, different schools of thought. :cheers:


@mancer
The WINNT.SIF you posted:

[SetupData]
BootDevice="ramdisk(0)"
BootPath="\i386\System32\"
OsLoadOptions="/noguiboot/fastdetect/minint/rdexportashd/rdpath=LiveXP_RAM.iso"

is "wrong" in two ways.

First thing there are no spaces between options, I cannot see what is difficult in reading the given thread and modifying the WINNT.SIF posted there :cheers::

[SetupData]
BootDevice = "ramdisk(0)"
BootPath = "\i386\System32\"
OsLoadOptions = "/noguiboot /fastdetect /minint /rdexportascd /rdpath=pebuilder.iso"


Second thing, if you export a .iso read CD image, you need to use /rdexportascd.

Reading the previously suggested thread:
http://www.boot-land...?...c=4952&st=0
should clear most of your current doubts.

jaclaz

#21 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 03 February 2009 - 06:11 AM

The booting was successful.
Follow the link
http://www.boot-land...?...c=4952&st=0

Extract the BootSDI.img to the root of Thumbdrive, edit the WINNT.SIF file as according and it work.
However, the loading RAMDISK image took like 5 mins to load.
So anyway to faster the process?
... /rdexportashd ...
when do u use hd or cd? why some need space and some don't?

If i want to boot another iso like ERD_Commander.iso, what's the way to do it?

Thankz,
Mancer

#22 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 February 2009 - 08:44 AM

The booting was successful.


Good. :cheers:

So anyway to faster the process?

Not really, on same hardware, only thing you can make is to make a smaller image (by removing unneeded things or by separation of core from rest).

... /rdexportashd ...

when do u use hd or cd? why some need space and some don't?

If it's a .iso image (i.e. a cd image), use /rdexportascd
If it's a HD image, or superfloppy image, .img, use /rdexportashd.
Please note that if it's not a superfloppy, but a Hard Disk image you wiill also need a /rdimageoffset=<bytes> parameter to skip MBR and hidden sectors.

From your question I gather that you did not yet read the two recommended threads by aec on 911cd:
http://www.911cd.net...o...c=10482&hl=
http://www.911cd.net...o...c=19333&hl=

Now, as wimb suggested, you may also try direct .iso booting with grub4dos:
http://www.boot-land...?...t=6911&st=5

If i want to boot another iso like ERD_Commander.iso, what's the way to do it?

Well, that's up to you to find out, search the board (use "ERD*" as keyword, without quotes), make some tests, you now have all the needed info, there are several versions of ERD Commander, cannot say (and I won't B) ).
If I am not mistaken some parts of ERD commander, like locksmith don't work (or nobody has found a way to have them working).

jaclaz

#23 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 03 February 2009 - 10:07 AM

I have tried cracking the setupldr.bin using hex editor and rename it to NTLD2.bin.
Also change the references of WINNT.SIF to NTLD2.SIF
Created a NTLD2.SIF in the root with
... /rdexportascd /rdpath=ERD_Commander.iso

i can see the ERD commander loading but an error occur.
File\i386\System32\ntoskrnl.exe could not be loaded
error code 14

this error was related to slipstream of XPSSP2, but why am i getting it? any idea?

#24 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 February 2009 - 11:06 PM

this error was related to slipstream of XPSSP2, but why am i getting it? any idea?


Not necessarily.

Sometimes:

File\i386\System32\ntoskrnl.exe could not be loaded
error code 14

can actually mean that file \i386\System32\ntoskrnl.exe could not be loaded :cheers:.

This can be due to several reasons, cannot say just one.

Can you post which version of ERD Commander you are trying to boot?

Did you read the threads that are already on the board?

Did you follow one particularly?

As a rule of thumb you should go the other way round:
  • have a working "standard" PE (the LiveXP BootSDI.IMG or .iso in your case)
  • apply the changes and editing to THAT build (that you know as already working)
  • see if they work
  • leave the "other" one (ERD_commander.iso in your case "as is")
  • if it does not work "as-is", start experimenting, but do not introduce to the latter more than one "change" at the time


jaclaz

#25 mancer

mancer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:53 AM

I think the problem is with the ERD Commander.iso as i could not find the file ntoskrnl.exe in the folder.
Not sure what version the ERD Commander is as the CD is from my supervisor. Anyway, i don't really need it to be inside the USB. Just trying out.

Hmm.. How come this way of booting LiveXP is much slower than booting from using PEtoUSB to create a Bootable USB LiveXP. What's the difference between this two type of booting?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users