Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Windows 7 tips


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Brito

Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10565 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 18 January 2009 - 11:37 AM

I've found a good blog page detailing some of the new things that were introduced with 7 that might miss the casual eye.

I hadn't noticed but 7 already comes with a default .ISO file burner, it can create WinPE boot disks when typing "system repair disc" on the console and support for .ODF (OpenOffice) documents from wordpad.

More tips:
http://blogs.msdn.co...-7-secrets.aspx

btw: forgot mentioning that the fish on the desktop has double meaning, it's a siamese fighting fish that is also called "betta"

:)

#2 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 January 2009 - 01:21 PM

btw: forgot mentioning that the fish on the desktop has double meaning, it's a siamese fighting fish that is also called "betta"

:) Never would have made that connection on my own. Thanks.

:)

#3 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1739 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 January 2009 - 02:34 PM

Also this one:

http://blog.tiensivu...categories/72-7

#4 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1739 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 January 2009 - 03:34 PM

Finally got VMWare networking working following the instructions in the link I posted.

#5 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 20 January 2009 - 08:55 PM

Windows 7 beta testers find critical Windows Installer Bug:

Mary Jo reports that a number of Windows 7 Beta testers have come across a bug that crashes the system randomly whenever they try to start a Windows Update or install anything using Microsoft's MSI installer. Enthusiast Chris Holmes claims that many users have started experiencing random crashing of explorer and msiexec.exe when trying to start Windows Update or install anything that uses an MSI based installer. Some have gone to the extent of reinstalling the beta.

Includes several workarounds.

Windows 7 magnifier impractical for vision impaired people:

Hollier says "The bug occurs when a user tries to use the full screen Magnifier in combination with a high contrast colour scheme. The Magnifier appears to be largely dependent on the Aero graphics engine, meaning that it works well when Aero colour themes are used. However, when a user switches to a high contrast colour scheme such as High Contrast Black, the OS dumps the user back into the old Magnifier feature which, by default, shows a small magnification bar at the top of the screen."

According to Hollier the "majority of people that need the full screen magnifier will also need a high contrast colour scheme" so this could be a huge issue for the thousands of visually impaired people. We have contacted Microsoft for a response and are awaiting a company spokesperson to provide further feedback to this issue.



#6 Dave7

Dave7

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 210 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 29 January 2009 - 09:17 AM

Actually, I am looking for a tip :-)

It looks like that "dockable" toolbars are completely gone now?

In XP. You could drag the quicklaunch bar from the task bar to any edge of the desktop.

In Vista this was disabled, but there was a work around. You just had to create a folder on the desktop and drag it to any edge ... and your toolbar were back.

http://www.lockergno...to-set-them-up/
http://www.askvg.com...-windows-vista/

But how do you enable toolbars in Windows 7?

Any ideas?

Dave

#7 dog

dog

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 236 posts

Posted 29 January 2009 - 12:58 PM

Cheers Nuno, I just learned a win2000 tip from that win7 blog :cheers:

it makes the old Windows way of shift-clicking on two items in the taskbar and then using the context menu to arrange them feel really painful.



#8 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1739 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 31 January 2009 - 08:18 PM

Also look at this long list:

http://www.askvg.com.../windows-seven/

Also if you switch off the shortcut indicator on desktop icons by renaming the registry value IsShortcut to AriochIsShortcut in [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile] you may find that you can no longer pin programs to the taskbar. It does not affect existing pinned programs though.

#9 wendy

wendy

    Frequent Member

  • Lady
  • 287 posts
  • Location:one mile from the QR main line
  • Interests:Operating systems, Weights and Measures, Geometry
  •  
    Australia

Posted 15 March 2009 - 07:54 AM

Here's what i did with my laptop.

Windows XP is installed on partition 1 (its c).

I resized this to make room for vista, and created a second partition (say, d:)

Then i booted from c:, and did this

1. bootsect /nt52 d: /f
2. set the partition active using diskpart.

I then copied ntldr and ntdetect.com, and made a suitable boot.ini for it.

It successfully booted off d: and straight into c:

The next step is to install windows 7, which sees d: as the active partition, and installs into a selected partition (also d:). It calls this partition C: and xp's home D:.

Having done this, it is straight forward to deactivate and remove windows 7, by simply setting xp's partition as active, and rebooting straight into the original xp boot block. XP, with its horrid boot partition stuff, is then removed with a reformat of dL under xp, and nothing of vista lives on c:, except what is scavanged (bitmaps, useful utilities, &c).

#10 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 15 March 2009 - 08:13 AM

...

Then i booted from c:, and did this

1. bootsect /nt52 d: /f
2. set the partition active using diskpart.

I then copied ntldr and ntdetect.com, and made a suitable boot.ini for it.

It successfully booted off d: and straight into c:

The next step is to install windows 7, which sees d: as the active partition, and installs into a selected partition (also d:). It calls this partition C: and xp's home D:.

...


Great stuff. ... :good: ...

Does Win7 automatically add the existing XP boot info to it's BCD so you can Dual Boot?

Thanks

#11 wendy

wendy

    Frequent Member

  • Lady
  • 287 posts
  • Location:one mile from the QR main line
  • Interests:Operating systems, Weights and Measures, Geometry
  •  
    Australia

Posted 16 March 2009 - 10:03 AM

Yes, it's rather like booting Windows XP off the D: drive, and Win7 off the C: drive. Because there is a ntldr on both drives (including the active drive), win7 sees the one in the active drive, and absorbs that one.

If you activate the xp drive (which still contains the inactive ntldr), then it will load, but not win7. This is what one wants, because removal of the win7 partition will not upset the winxp partition.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users