Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Various problems with the board


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10547 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 21 December 2008 - 02:08 PM

Learn & teach subforum was renamed to "Requests" and placed as a subforum of the tutorials forum.

This should help to keep the tutorials section less cluttered with requests or discussions about new tutorials..

:cheers:

#2 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 22 December 2008 - 05:00 PM

@nuno: when i attach a file with a - in the filename it is converted to a _ why is that? And when removing an attachment from an post (while doing full edit of the post) the interface is not ok

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 December 2008 - 05:20 PM

Another missing bit or better image:

log.html shows the 'alt' text, because http://boot-land.net/images/??? seems to be not available.


Peter

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 23 December 2008 - 03:46 PM

log.html shows the 'alt' text, because http://boot-land.net/images/??? seems to be not available.

Seems to work now!

Peter

#5 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 26 December 2008 - 03:55 PM

can you please make winbuilder.exe available at http://boot-land.net.../WinBuilder.exe as ist was before...i assumed that it was always there in some scripts...would be good if this works again...thanks..

#6 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10547 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 December 2008 - 01:05 PM

galapo.boot-land.net is back online

ctmag, are sure that there was a WinBuilder.exe at that specific location?

If it was there then it should have been quite outdated.

The specific folder was extinguished but I can try to redirect to anywhere else and solve this specific issue.

Which version of winbuilder.exe are you expecting to see available at that specific location?

If possible, a link would be appreciated.

:cheers:

#7 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 27 December 2008 - 02:47 PM

i am just doing a download test to this url, nothing special is expected...even some text file would be enough...
I found the url somewhere in your docs about WB (it said something like "you always find the latest exe here"...i do not remember where i found it...)

As i shipped this as a small WB download test with the magzine, now people report that downloading does not work.-))
I admit i could have used some other file...was not my brightest idea :-)

#8 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10547 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 December 2008 - 03:46 PM

How is btw. the further proceedings, regarding the subdomains.
Will they all come alive bit by bit by 'themselfs', or only the ones requested?


I will be trying to add back the ones that are missed the most and take a bit longer to complete all subdomains as the holiday season makes it more difficult to find enough quality hours around the house to devote solely on this task.

There were over 70 subdomains, a lot of empty subdomains are not being recreated and I'm checking the contents of each website to ensure things are being correctly done.

As i shipped this as a small WB download test with the magzine, now people report that downloading does not work.-))

It's ok, I can try to fix it by adding a redirect on the respective .htaccess file.

At the moment all traffic looking for something at http://boot-land.net/winbuilder is being redirected to http://winbuilder.net

I might as well try adding a http://winbuilder.net/winbuilder.exe to see if it will work.

Will report back if I make some progress on this matter.

:cheers:

#9 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10547 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 December 2008 - 03:58 PM

Ok, worked as expected.

Just needed to add WinBuilder.exe on the root folder of http://winbuilder.net

I've placed there the 074 stable, if necessary to update with one of the 075 beta please do let me know.

:cheers:

#10 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 27 December 2008 - 06:00 PM

@Nuno: Thanks, will try later...

@jaclaz: nothing is done automatically...i replaced the WB download functions WebGet and WebGetIfNotExist with some costom made functions (that are aspecially made to give the user full control, like supplying a local file, and beeing asked if he wants that a connection is made, it also supports downloading large files (2GB ISOS.-)) and proxy (by now WB should also allow this, but i did not test)). The script that adds this has a button to test the new function (the user can switch between Standard WB and my enhanced functions) and this test downloads a file (winbuilder.exe) which i assumed to be always there...

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 December 2008 - 07:20 PM

Right now I got a multiple 'Offline'

What's that?

Peter

offline.gif

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10547 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 December 2008 - 07:33 PM

I was testing a new skin designed specifically for bots that doesn't contain images or javascript so that the regular forum spidering doesn't slurp too many resources when they crawl the site.

This has been successfully implemented but I hadn't noticed that the board was placed in offline status while making these modifications.

Guests and regular members aren't allowed to access boot land but all other members continue to work as before with the difference of the window title saying "(offline)"

:cheers:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users