Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Windows 2000 PE


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Tripo

Tripo
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 11 January 2009 - 04:13 PM

Hello don´t know if this is posted right.
But my question is.
does anyone or is it possible to make an liveCD of win2000 with winbuilder.
if it is posible can anyone help me doing it or explain howto do it.

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10512 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 January 2009 - 05:59 PM

Up until some time ago, I'd think it would be impossible.

Nowadays, it should possible. Win2000 doesn't come with a PE environment but it should be possible to run in "full" mode. (at least in theory)

This isn't something we see requested very often but there might be some ways to automate the build process and ensure that a "portable" windows 2000 is achieved.

Would you really be available to start a new research project for this goal?

:)

#3 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 11 January 2009 - 06:41 PM

What functions are required to work with the 2000 ?

If native disk-access is enough and you don't need any fancy sound or graphics features - why not simply run the 2000 as a VM ?

Have a look at a "fake" NT4 server LiveCD - to do the same with 2000 you only need to replace the VM.

#4 Tripo

Tripo
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 11 January 2009 - 10:14 PM

Would you really be available to start a new research project for this goal?

:)


yes but I have not work with winbuilder before.
i don´t know where to start.
But I can give it a try and see if that is possible.


What functions are required to work with the 2000 ?

If native disk-access is enough and you don't need any fancy sound or graphics features - why not simply run the 2000 as a VM ?

Have a look at a "fake" NT4 server LiveCD - to do the same with 2000 you only need to replace the VM.


That is one way.
but if it is possible to make it work real way thats more fun.
and there is live versions of.
win 3.11, win 9x, XP, Vista and so on.
but none on 2K so that would be nice to see.

#5 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 11 January 2009 - 10:36 PM

but if it is possible to make it work real way thats more fun.


Hey - the VM method is real way too :) - the 2k-VM loaded this way will not notice a difference - you can access local harddisks as if they were part of the VM.
Only sound and graphics will be an issue - but that is an issue with LiveCDs as well ...

Anyway - good luck

#6 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10512 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 January 2009 - 01:07 AM

but none on 2K so that would be nice to see.

The first step is research.

You manually try to achieve the lowest size possible by trial & error.

Jaclaz has all the links regarding the minification of Windows 2000 to an acceptable size so he might be of better help than me.


Then you use WinBuilder to script and automate the whole building process and we'll be here to talk about this when it's time.

---------

The most important thing from my perspective, are the test-drives to the write filters made by WinDrv - http://www.disklessangel.com/ (using the demo driver) or asking permission to John Hensley - http://www.resqware.com/ (free at the moment) to use his write filter on the windows 2000 project.

They are the key to make windows 2000 work from read only media just like PE does.

:)

#7 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 January 2009 - 07:13 PM

There is NO way to have a Windows 2000 based PE, since the kernel does NOT allow for the (needed for PE) /minint switch.

http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/faq/#11

There was at least one Commercial solution, called "Absolute boot" by APCT:
http://web.archive.o...ww.apct.net/en/
that did make Windows 2000 work from CD.

On the other hand it is possible, using "Dietmar's" way to have a "full" 2K run from USB stick.

jaclaz

#8 Tripo

Tripo
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 13 January 2009 - 10:07 PM

There is NO way to have a Windows 2000 based PE, since the kernel does NOT allow for the (needed for PE) /minint switch.

http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/faq/#11

There was at least one Commercial solution, called "Absolute boot" by APCT:
http://web.archive.o...ww.apct.net/en/
that did make Windows 2000 work from CD.

On the other hand it is possible, using "Dietmar's" way to have a "full" 2K run from USB stick.

jaclaz



ok thanks.

#9 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10512 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 January 2009 - 04:15 PM

Instead of using the term PE in Windows 2000 for "Pre-Installation Environment", use it for "Portable Environment" and be done with it.. :)

Any news regarding this project?

:)

#10 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 January 2009 - 05:44 PM

Instead of using the term PE in Windows 2000 for "Pre-Installation Environment", use it for "Portable Environment" and be done with it.. :)

Any news regarding this project?


There is no "project" AFAIK.

On the other hand it is possible, using "Dietmar's" way to have a "full" 2K run from USB stick.


Why do I have this deja-vu feeling? :)

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=14399

:)

jaclaz

#11 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10512 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 January 2009 - 06:41 PM

At the time of the mentioned posting you taught me that Windows 2000 did not had a Pre Install environment nor it was possible to run it from a read only media and I learned and agreed.

But things have changed in the years between. You can run Windows 2000 from a read only media, from a USB drive and work your way to make it smaller.

That was the reason why I wrote this:
http://www.boot-land...?...ost&p=54652

Why not letting a Windows 2000 PE project exist? :)

#12 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 January 2009 - 11:50 AM

But things have changed in the years between. You can run Windows 2000 from a read only media, from a USB drive and work your way to make it smaller.


I haven't noticed the changes :), at the time I already had it running from USB and from read only media (using the Absolute Boot), and already had a small build:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=5679

though through my "caveman" methods. :)

Why not letting a Windows 2000 PE project exist? :)


Why not, as long as you DO NOT call it PE, as to NOT generate further condusion. :)

@Tripo
If you are game for it, you could make use of the info I supplied at the time to Ispy, if needed drop me a PM.

jaclaz

#13 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10512 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 18 January 2009 - 12:18 PM

though through my "caveman" methods

Eheh.. I don't actually see them as "caveman" methods. I'm also a fan of these tools when it comes to the research and debug portion of some windows install.

The projects are just a way to quickly share the build results with other users.

---------

I haven't noticed the changes, at the time I already had it running from USB and from read only media (using the Absolute Boot), and already had a small build

Yes, it should be possible to use it comfortably with resource to the write filter from resq-ware if the author let us use his driver. The project where the driver is used remains free for the public but I haven't seen any further activity after the initial release and even tried to contact him about this driver question but he said that he'd wait a while to see how popular the resq-ware project would become before releasing the driver as freeware.

It's been well over a year now, should I try to contact the author again?

:)

#14 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 January 2009 - 12:41 PM

It's been well over a year now, should I try to contact the author again?

:)


Sure :) , worst that can happen is him replying that times are not yet mature...:) I don't think that asking after one year can be considered "pushing"....

jaclaz

#15 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 January 2009 - 01:16 PM

The project where the driver is used remains free for the public but I haven't seen any further activity after the initial release

The file was several times updated.
So there is still something going on.


:)

#16 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 January 2009 - 03:57 PM

Out of curiosity, Res-Q-Ware:
http://www.resqware.com/
is said to work with XP SP2, and recently with XP SP3, has anyone tried it with Win2K? :)

jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users