Jump to content











Photo
* * * * - 1 votes

winbuilder.net being transfered to new server!


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2008 - 03:02 AM

It's time to transfer winbuilder.net to the new server where it will have more room to work good.

However, this will imply some changes that will impact on users for the next two days and will require subdomains on winbuilder.net to login with new account details since new accounts will be created from scratch.

No other changes should be noticeable after these transfer days.


This is the predicted plan of operations:

- MySQL is transfered to the new server (done)
- A copy of winbuilder.net is made on the new location
- DNS will be modified to point winbuilder.net onto the new location
- winbuilder.net site will be corrected to work 100% as before
- Subdomains will be transfered, most active subdomains will have priority
- New accounts will be created for each subomain owner and sent to their email boxes
- email accounts @winbuilder.net will be restored

This affects 19 subdomains.

----------

Sorry for any inconvenience that this situation might cause, will keep this topic updated on the progress of this transfer.

:)

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2008 - 11:36 AM

If this also affects the WinBuilder source SVN, please bring this to function first!

I currently have some troubles.

Peter

#3 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2008 - 12:06 PM

Ok Peter, will keep it mind.

Unfortunately SVN doesn't come as a one-click option but I will work to solve it.

:)

#4 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2008 - 05:37 PM

http://winbuilder.net website is fully operational again.

Will now start working on the most active subdomains and SVN support.

:)

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:00 PM

http://winbuilder.net website is fully operational again.

Will now start working on the most active subdomains and SVN support.

:)

SVN support does not work yet.

I get an error 405 - method not allowed.

Is it possible that my account is no longer valid?

EDIT: Sorry, Nuno, I did read your post too fast. I only saw 'SVN support'
I did not see that you are starting ... :(

Peter

#6 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:49 PM

I'm a bit stuck on the subdomain creation process and cannot make any promises regarding how long it will take to bring SVN back.

Some subdomains were created but were not yet available for some reason.

I'm waiting to see if it's a matter of DNS propagation before moving forward to all other subdomains.

------------

:) Note to Peter:

Regarding SVN, I've temporarily solved the situation and made SVN active again by moving everything to boot-land.net - this should allow all work flow to continue as before.

Please use the same details that were sent to you but modify the SVN server details from winbuilder.net to boot-land.net - I'm crossing my fingers in the hope it works exactly as expected.


:(

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2008 - 07:47 PM

Regarding SVN, I've temporarily solved the situation and made SVN active again by moving everything to boot-land.net - this should allow all work flow to continue as before.

Nuno, I do not want to put any pressure on you.
I can work with my local data.

Do your job as scheduled. This will bring the fastest solution of all.
To respect some (very personal, 2 persons) SVN requirements, can slow down the process remarkably.

It is a great work you are doing now!

Peter

#8 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 December 2008 - 08:15 PM

Don't worry, I was just worried in case you needed some additional file.

In either case, it's already fully functional from boot-land.net and will continue this way until we finish working on winbuilder.net and move SVN to the new location as well.

----

btw: Testing on wimb's site I notice that it is a matter of waiting for every DNS record to be updated which shouldn't take much longer to complete moving all accounts.

:)

#9 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 December 2008 - 09:26 PM

Hi again.

The transfer of subdomains is now being resumed, there were some complications because the DNS server used for winbuilder.net was limited to 10 sub domains.

Found another DNS server that is unrestricted and allowed using a wildcard (*.winbuilder.net) to point any new subdomains to winbuilder.net immediately.

I've already transferred most subdomains, will send away emails with the respective login details to the rightful owners.

-----------

One remark:

All files are by default write protected and if your site runs some script that expects to write a file then you need to change the permissions back to 777 so that it is allowed to write.

I can later explain how his is done from the FTP client if necessary.

:)

#10 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 December 2008 - 12:17 AM

Subdomains were moved to the new location and made operational.

FTP login accounts were sent to the personal email box of the respective site owners.

Please confirm back by replying the received message or mentioning something on this topic.

----------

If you didn't received any message and your subdomain is still not operational please let me know right away.

Thank you! :)

#11 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 December 2008 - 05:09 AM

Is browsing an Index of / a thing of the past? It will be sorely missed :)

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 December 2008 - 11:43 AM

By default, the browsing of contents when an index.html or index.php is not found was disabled.

This is mostly intended to secure some privacy to website owners who don't wish that everything is readable by anyone on the internet.

------------

But this doesn't mean that you can't add a browsing script.

I've copied over to your site the same browsing script that we're using here on boot-land.net for the newsletters section.

http://amalux.winbuilder.net

Hope you like it.

:)

#13 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 07 December 2008 - 12:04 PM

I've copied over to your site the same browsing script that we're using here on boot-land.net for the newsletters section.


Me too Me too Me too :)

also, a question, i couldnt upload my xxx.rar file, but i could upload xxx.txt file!?

#14 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 December 2008 - 12:30 PM

Me too Me too Me too


Done! :(

This folder browsing script also allows to view thumbnails of the images as preview, hope you like it.

---------

also, a question, i couldnt upload my xxx.rar file, but i could upload xxx.txt file!?


I'm a bit puzzled since your account has no restrictions and this behavior shouldn't occur.

However, the server is equipped with an antivirus and I don't know (yet) if it might interfer on cases like this. Would you please make this RAR available somewhere else to try figure if the contents of the file were the reason why it doesn't work?

Amalux would you help us and do a similar test with a RAR file? :(

:)

#15 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 07 December 2008 - 12:43 PM

Done! :(

This folder browsing script also allows to view thumbnails of the images as preview, hope you like it.


Thank you and i like it :(

---------

I'm a bit puzzled since your account has no restrictions and this behavior shouldn't occur.

However, the server is equipped with an antivirus and I don't know (yet) if it might interfer on cases like this. Would you please make this RAR available somewhere else to try figure if the contents of the file were the reason why it doesn't work?

Amalux would you help us and do a similar test with a RAR file? :)


My suspect: antivirus
i put test.txt to a test.rar and successfully uploaded
BUT
When i put winbuilder.exe to WinBuilder075_Beta5zB.rar and tried to upload, i failed?! (also tried WinBuilder075Beta5zB.rar)
I hope picture gives a clue
http://img117.images...30/snap2yu7.png

#16 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 December 2008 - 12:50 PM

Maybe it works if you use .zip? :)

Or certainly it should work with .7z (7zip), that's the format is use to exchange attachments with the gmail account to bypass the antivirus.


Unfortunately I don't see any option to disable this.. :(

#17 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 07 December 2008 - 01:06 PM

sorry nuno

i cant upload .7z , .zip(used winzip to make zip) , .script, .exe

#18 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 December 2008 - 01:40 PM

Hmm..

I've just logged in with your account details and uploaded with FileZilla a zipped called test.zip that contained winbuilder.net

So the issue must be somewhere else as this rules out antivirus interference.

If possible, I would recommend trying to upload a file from a virtual machine to ensure that it isn't your work machine causing these woes.


:)

#19 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 07 December 2008 - 11:37 PM

I found out that all problems i wrote before about uploading .rar, .7z etc. are related to Note Nuno wrote:

One remark:

All files are by default write protected and if your site runs some script that expects to write a file then you need to change the permissions back to 777 so that it is allowed to write.

I can later explain how his is done from the FTP client if necessary.

:(


Folders are also write protected too,

If anybody have similar problem, for a temporary solution create a new folder, and upload your files there till Nuno explains to change the permissions back to 777. (i had some trials and failed, only could set 777 to root folders (cgi-bin,httpdocs,httpsdocs), i hope i didnt do sth wrong :) , no need rush, better to wait nuno :( )

#20 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 December 2008 - 12:30 AM

Amalux would you help us and do a similar test with a RAR file? :(

:)

Nuno,

Upload .7z; .rar; .exe (sfx or other); .script; .jpg etc. = 'Permission denied - Critical Error' :( - Can't create new folders, delete files etc.

#21 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 December 2008 - 12:47 AM

To change file permissions, you need to login as usual with an FTP client.

Then, you select the files to which you want to change permissions.

Right-click to view the respective menu and select the "Properties" or "File attributes".

It should display a box with the available security permissions, using the number 777 gives full unrestricted access to your files (read/write/delete, etc)

-------------

To save you the troubles of doing all these steps I've logged in and modified the permissions for both lancelot.winbuilder.net and amalux.winbuilder.net

I hope it works good now.

:)

#22 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 December 2008 - 12:55 AM

To change file permissions, you need to login as usual with an FTP client.

Then, you select the files to which you want to change permissions.

Right-click to view the respective menu and select the "Properties" or "File attributes".

It should display a box with the available security permissions, using the number 777 gives full unrestricted access to your files (read/write/delete, etc)

-------------

To save you the troubles of doing all these steps I've logged in and modified the permissions for both lancelot.winbuilder.net and amalux.winbuilder.net

I hope it works good now.

:)

Yup, workin' good now! Thanks!! :(

#23 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 08 December 2008 - 01:35 AM

Hi Nuno,

Are you able to post the browsing script you're using? Or maybe email me if you don't want to post here.

Thanks,
Galapo.

#24 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 December 2008 - 12:41 PM

No problem.

It's a freeware script that I found some time ago, the author contact can be found on index.php

I've uploaded the zipped file to http://www.nunobrito.eu/browse/

:)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users