Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

nanoVIS


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 dennis123123

dennis123123

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 52 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 07 October 2008 - 07:20 PM

nanoVIS v1.20 (beta)

mihi started and then seemingly abandoned (what i think is) a cool project to use a tiny file or set of files to run a PE system with explorer shell from a standard vista DVD in under 500kb! The advantage being, everyone who owns a legal copy of Vista will already have the DVD, so if you need to rescue a PC and don't have a ready made PE cd with you, you can use this! Also, this file is freeware (maybe open source in the future, when I tidy the code up!). It contains zero copyrighted files from Microsoft, so is legally redistributable, whereas distribution of a PE build is ILLEGAL!

Since it has been abandoned, I have coded my own much improved version which I have now released and will be actively developed!

nanoVIS is compatible with either the Windows Vista DVD, or the Windows Server 2008 (Trial) DVD (freely, legally, downloadable from Microsoft)

Some "teaser" screenies:

Go from this, to this, then to this!
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


For information on the original version by mihi, visit:

- mihi's topic at http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3806
- or his winbuilder page at http://rescup.winbuilder.net/
- or his website at http://rescup.wordpr...ategory/vision/

How to use nanoVIS:

1. Copy the single EXE file nanoVIS.exe to a floppy disc, usb flash drive, CD (if you have 2 drives) etc.
2. Boot to the Vista/Server2008 DVD
3. Pick a language (I can only code for + test English)
4. Click "Install Now" (dont worry, nothing will be installed!)
5. When the "enter serial" box appears, get to a CMD window with the keyboard shortcut [Shift]+[F10]
6. find the drive nanoVIS.exe has been copied to, and run: nanoVIS.exe /init
7. follow the instruction to choose a version on screen, and enjoy!
8. report any bugs, suggestions or comments to me!
9. when done, open Run, and run the command (change drive letter/path yourself): A:\nanoVIS.exe /shutdown

NOTE: for a list of command line switches and a quick summary of the above, just double click the exe in "normal" windows.

Advanced users:
If you want to customize the booting of nanoVIS, you can customize the filelist and regfile. Simply place two files in the same directory, called "filelist.txt" and "regfile.reg" respectively. to see the contents of my included files (already in the exe) you can extract them to the same directory in normal windows with the /regfile and /filelist commands (commands one at a time). the asterisk (*) before each file in filelist represents the user's choice for which version of vista they wish to run (business, basic, home prem, ultimate etc) and **MUST** be present. The program will then automagically detect the presence of these external data files, and use them instead of the built in ones.

Oh, and theres an undocumented, completely useless command line switch to trigger a function I wrote but isnt used for anything yet, well done to anyone who finds it!


Download v1.20: Attached File  nanoVIS_V1.20.zip   399.49KB   726 downloads
:confused1: :cheers:
NOTE: this is a BETA!!! please report any bugs/suggestions


Changelog:

V1.20
- Fixed the previously-hardcoded path to the Vista DVD
- Added some error checks to prevent a crash
V1.10
- Fixed the desktop.ini bug
- Added shortcuts in the start menu
- Added calc.exe to the default filelist
- Added a readme.txt to the download
V1.01
- Quick bugfix for a typo in the integrated filelist.txt (oops!)
V1.00
- Initial Release


Known Issues:

* Start->Shutdown doesn't work, user must type "nanovis.exe /shutdown" in Run or CMD
* drag and drop in explorer is broken
* additional fonts (arial, times new roman) dont appear in fonts list
* /setres doesnt change to 32-bit color

#2 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4164 posts

Posted 08 October 2008 - 02:05 AM

I really like the name and its easy to remember. You didnt include a readme on how to use and what its purpose is within the nanoVIS_v1.01.zip.

Step by step on how to use. If you need to include some of the text reference used from LiVista Rescup, i think it would be ok. Aslong as there are credits given to origianl author.


Will look forward to the gui when you include it.

#3 dennis123123

dennis123123

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 52 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 08 October 2008 - 07:17 AM

You didnt include a readme on how to use and what its purpose is within the nanoVIS_v1.01.zip.

Good point, I will include a readme in the next release. If you need a bit of help on how to get going with it, just double click it in normal windows, and it tells you the basics.

Will look forward to the gui when you include it.

So you personally think I should include a GUI, but be forced to increase the filesize slightly?
I am looking for peoples opinions on this matter





any more comments from people?

#4 kickarse

kickarse

    Member

  • Members
  • 67 posts
  • Location:USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 October 2008 - 12:57 PM

Looks great! Are you going to release the source so we can build in our own stuff?

Whats great about this is that you can cut the DVD down to CD size. Also inject your own drivers into the install.wim. But also Vista comes with much great hardware support than XP does out of the box too!

What do we need a GUI for?

#5 dennis123123

dennis123123

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 52 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 08 October 2008 - 01:41 PM

Looks great! Are you going to release the source so we can build in our own stuff?

You can already build in your own stuff - anything you want to change, just use your own filelist and regfile. its customizable up to the point where any further and it would be a different program!

Whats great about this is that you can cut the DVD down to CD size. Also inject your own drivers into the install.wim. But also Vista comes with much great hardware support than XP does out of the box too!

What do we need a GUI for?

People seem to like GUIs nowadays, they think you are a "haxxor" if you type things instead of clicking fisher-price themed buttons!



15 downloads and only 2 replies? :confused1:

#6 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 October 2008 - 05:36 PM

15 downloads and only 2 replies? :confused1:


Sure, what did you expect?

2/15 is an exceptionally good "rate", FYI :cheers::
http://www.boot-land...?...=2362&st=30

:cheers:

jaclaz

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 October 2008 - 09:14 PM

I did not yet download.

I'm too sad to download and try...
I'm also too sad to read all the links of the first post...

Maybe:
I'm only too engaged in some new development and I do not find the time to do the above stuff ...

The item sounds very interesting. Can it be possible to
  • write a bit more information here (w/o linking to other sites).
    About 15 to 20 lines really should be enough.
  • speak about the possibility of 'non-Vista' source like XP or W2003?
    As known, I'm no Vista friend and therefore I do not own any Vista source CD.
    For tests, I use a copy I downloaded as 'free', but I assume, it is Pirate's work.
    And I never would make a PE with it which is used for rescue etc.
Peter

#8 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4164 posts

Posted 09 October 2008 - 05:18 AM

So you personally think I should include a GUI, but be forced to increase the filesize slightly?
I am looking for peoples opinions on this matter

any more comments from people?


It would be great if you did make it gui based. It makes it easier to use for alot of people. If its below Floppy size, it shouldnt be to much of a burden for a gui.

You could release two versions. One with a none gui and one with a gui.

I like the instructions you give when you click it. Not bad. A person just has to remember the steps before using it. lol!


Dont expect to many coments at this time. They might come as time passes and the project develops more. So dont worry to much if you dont get alot of feedback at the moment.

#9 dog

dog

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 236 posts

Posted 09 October 2008 - 11:38 AM

Downloaded but not tried it yet - there, 3 / 15
No gui please, small is beautiful (although zipping after UPXing? bandwidth is cheap...)
If someone wanted to have it more "friendly" they could maybe write a .cmd wrapper like the ones for mbrfix, mbrwiz etc.

#10 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 09 October 2008 - 11:49 AM

@psc

do you know that a really free server 2008 trial exists that can be used to build vistape and maybe even used here?

So this might be an option for your future tests...:-)

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 October 2008 - 11:53 AM

@psc

do you know that a really free server 2008 trial exists that can be used to build vistape and maybe even used here?

So this might be an option for your future tests...:-)

I think that there exists an URL, too. ... :confused1:

Peter

#12 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 09 October 2008 - 12:20 PM

Well there is google :-)

"Server 2008 trial" -> first result

but here is the url anyway : Server 2008 trial

#13 kickarse

kickarse

    Member

  • Members
  • 67 posts
  • Location:USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 October 2008 - 12:51 PM

Why not do both? Appease both sides of the coin. Sometimes I like having just command line when doing deployments. But sometimes when I'm doing freelance home stuff I like GUI.

#14 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 October 2008 - 01:03 PM

Can it be possible to

  • write a bit more information here (w/o linking to other sites).


This is NOT "another site" :confused1::
http://www.boot-land...?...=3806&st=10

:cheers:

jaclaz

#15 dennis123123

dennis123123

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 52 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 09 October 2008 - 02:10 PM

Heh, yes I said, when I get a bit of free time (im *really* busy with work atm), ill provide detailed information etc.

Yes, it works perfectly with the free Server 2008 trial DVD.

There is ZERO chance of it working with XP, it relies on the fact Vista, Server08 use PE2 to install.

Oh, and I zipped after UPX simply because I tried to upload the EXE and it said I didnt have enough privilages to upload that filetype. Thats the only reason.

#16 kickarse

kickarse

    Member

  • Members
  • 67 posts
  • Location:USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 October 2008 - 03:38 PM

You could always just have only the install.wim (boot.wim?) on the DVD/CD.

#17 dennis123123

dennis123123

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 52 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 09 October 2008 - 04:02 PM

You could always just have only the install.wim (boot.wim?) on the DVD/CD.


er, no, you couldn't :confused1:

Besides, the whole point of this project is to enable you to use anybody's Vista original dvd to rescue a system, incase you do not have access to a custom CD/DVD.

#18 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 October 2008 - 04:22 PM

This is NOT "another site" :confused1: :
http://www.boot-land...?...=3806&st=10

:cheers:

jaclaz

Thanks, Jaclaz!

I think, after WB 076 is released, I'll spend some time into nanoVIS.

Peter

#19 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4164 posts

Posted 09 October 2008 - 04:45 PM

Heh, yes I said, when I get a bit of free time (im *really* busy with work atm), ill provide detailed information etc.

No hurry, It takes time for some projects to develop.

#20 dennis123123

dennis123123

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 52 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 09 October 2008 - 07:27 PM

OK, so I had some minutes to spare :confused1:

New version!! v1.10

See my first post for info, screenshots and download.

V1.10
- Fixed the desktop.ini bug
- Added shortcuts in the start menu
- Added calc.exe to the default filelist
- Added a readme.txt to the download

#21 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4164 posts

Posted 10 October 2008 - 05:08 AM

Thanks for the update.

I notice you say to type nanoVIS.exe /init in the command promp when trying to run nanoVIS in VistaSetup. Why not let it do it autmatically when you type nanoVIS.exe

In the future gui version can you test if you can click a button and display a screenshot of the steps after you select the Vista "Install now option" using the Vista Image viewer. Just a tought! a combine of images of what you posted in the first post.


Read my signature to where to upload youre screenshots. That way they wont go down when ImageShack deletes them.
Just rembered bootland users can use it for displaying their screenshots.

#22 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4164 posts

Posted 10 October 2008 - 06:06 AM

nanoVis.jpg
I think this happened because nanoVis needs a writable space to extract files. Is this right.
If so, can you add a way for nanoVis to create a Ramdrive to extract the files to instead of trying to extract them to a non writable CD.

I tried copying it to the c: drive but i still get the error.

#23 dennis123123

dennis123123

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 52 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 10 October 2008 - 08:13 AM

I think this happened because nanoVis needs a writable space to extract files. Is this right.


Negative, that error means your vista dvd doesnt have a valid install.wim on it. I dont know how you've managed that! It cannot find the install.wim to extract the "1.xml" file in the "root" of the WIM which has all the info on the versions on the disc. Vista setup always has writable space, 32mb or so provided by the fbwf. that is not the issue here.

EDIT: Oops!! :confused1: I'm so sorry to say it's my fault again :cheers: the path to the Vista DVD was hardcoded to "D:\" for some reason in my code?! Thanks for the bug report :cheers: , ill fix that and add some error checking in the next version so it doesnt "crash" on you if it cant find what it needs.

Are you trying to use a custom DVD or something? Give it a try with Untouched source.

Also, "nanovis /init" simply because a gui for a rescue system is not always necessary, if there is not enough ram to run explorer, a creative system rescuer may just want a command prompt, or to change the resolution, or to "killsetup" etc. The "init" word was picked simply for compatibility with mihi's original version.

#24 ireneuszp

ireneuszp

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 191 posts
  •  
    Poland

Posted 10 October 2008 - 11:40 AM

Source Windows Vista SP1 PL

:confused1:

Posted Image

#25 dennis123123

dennis123123

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 52 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 10 October 2008 - 02:06 PM

Source Windows Vista SP1 PL


Maybe try reading the post above yours.... :confused1: :cheers:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users