Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Windows Vista not booting


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#26 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 16 November 2013 - 04:12 PM

Thank you very much sir. I wil do that tonight and will come back to you later.
You underestimate me now. I am actually 25 years old and have alot of thing to learn from you.
Download and those thing i can do. I meant just which spesefic program i need.
But thank you i will try to find it and do it as you said. And i will come back to you and hopefully by your belp i can fix it.
Thanks alot and sorry for bothering you

#27 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 November 2013 - 06:41 PM

Download and those thing i can do. I meant just which spesefic program i need.
But thank you i will try to find it and do it as you said. And i will come back to you and hopefully by your belp i can fix it.
Thanks alot and sorry for bothering you

No problem :), but you have to understand how I cannot know from a distance what you have available/what you can do, as said there can be many tools/methods to make a partition active, depending on what you choose to use the specific program/command will be different.

If you use a Linux distro it will be fdisk or possibly gparted, if it is a Windows  install/repair DVD it will be diskpart, on the UBCD there are several tools that can do that, *anything* booting, one way or the other grub4dos  (like the mentioned RMPREPUSB prepared stick) would use grub4dos internal commands, etc., etc.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#28 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 16 November 2013 - 09:52 PM

Hello SIr

Thank you and thank's Lord by your help now i have done it.

Now i have insert bootible cd in my pc and now i have this on my page :

 

BIOS

CPU

MEMORY

Others

Peripherals

System

Parted Magic 2013_08_01_i586 - press f1 for more information

UBCD FreeDOS R1.50 (Based on NwDsk V3.40)

User-defined

 

Boot next device

Reboot

 

GRUB4DOS

 

I am very sorry but what should i do next now ?

Thanks



#29 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 November 2013 - 03:25 PM

Very good :).

I presume you have the latest version of the UBCD, the 5.2.7.

Choose the last item "GRUB4DOS menu".

Once you will be in it press the "c" ("c" is for "command line) and it will bring you to the grub> prompt.

At it type:

geometry (hd

and press the [TAB] key, it will show you probably:

 hd0 rd cd

complete the line to:

geometry (hd0)

and press [ENTER]

 

Post what it shows (EXACTLY). 

Most probably you have three partition entries, like Partition num: 0, Partition num: 1, Partition num: 2.

Enter the command:

root (hd0,0)

[ENTER]

ls /bootmgr

[ENTER]

then repeat for (hd0,1), (hd0,2)

 

Post output of the above commands.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#30 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 17 November 2013 - 03:34 PM

Hello
I have partition num :0, filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07
I have partition num :1, active, filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07
I have partition num :3, filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07
I have partition num :4, filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07
(There is no num 2)

#31 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 17 November 2013 - 03:41 PM

I did tve second command like this :
Grub> root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ntfs , partition type 0,07
Grub> ls /bootmgr
bootmgr bootmgr
Grub> root (hd0,1)
Filesystem type is ntfs , partition type 0,07
Grub > ls /bootmgr
Error 15: file not find
Grub> root (hd0,2)
Error 17 : cannot mount selected partition

#32 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 November 2013 - 03:52 PM

Good :), but you have to repeat that for partitions (hd0,3) and (hd0,4).

Also if you can remember/describe how the system was partitioned when it worked (i.e. which drive letters you saw, which one was the one with the Operating Systems, what you had on the other partitions) it would help in understanding the partitioning scheme.

 

Please run also for each of the partitions you have (hd0,0), (hd0,1), (hd0,3), (hd0,4) the following:



ls /windows/system32/config/

and post results.

(the idea is to find which partition is the actual Windows "System" partition, a "normal" install uses the "Windows" folder name, if your install used a different base directory for windows, change the name accordingly)

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#33 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 17 November 2013 - 04:16 PM

Absolutely.
I think i had c (windows and program) d (my own data). I think i had a D (recovery) but i am not sure
Grub> root (hd0,1)
Filesystem type is ntfs , partition type 0x07
Grub> ls /bootmgr

Error 15 : file not find

Grub> root (hd0,3)
Filesystem type is ntfs , partition type 0x07
Grub> ls /bootmgr
Error 15 : file not find
Grub> root (hd0,4)
Filesystem type is ntfs , partition type 0x07
Grub> ls /bootmgr

Error 15: file not find
Grub> ls /windows/system32/config/

Error 15: file not find

#34 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 November 2013 - 04:47 PM

Hmmm. :dubbio:

 

I asked you to look for /windows/system32/config/ on ALL partitions, and you just posted ONLY about (hd0,4)!

 

And you CANNOT have a "d" and a "D" drive letter! :w00t:

 

Please run for EACH n partitions that you have the commands:

root (hd0,n)

ls /windows/system32/config/

This means to run the above set of commands 4 times, substituting each time n with one among 0,1,3,4 (I hope this is more clear).

 

The /bootmgr file has only been found on (hd0,0), so that is likely to be the "boot" partition, if the PC was installed originally wit WIndows 7, the default is to have a small first partition "boot" partition, and the "system" partition separated, but the first partition has a partition ID of 27 (and not 07) that prevents the booting system from assigning it a drive letter/mount it.

But you have 4 partitions, so, even if the first is the "boot" one, it has to be found what the other ones are, it is possible that the (hd0,1) is the actual "system partition", that the (hd0,3) is a primary "recovery" partition (which also would normally be 27 and get no drive letter) and that the (hd0,4) which is a volume inside extended is the "data partition" that  you mention.

Since you surely recall some of the directory or file names on this data partition, if you try running on EACH the simpler:



ls

command, you will probably be able from the output to "recognize" which one is the partition holding your data. (the output of a ls command will be long, you do not need to post it :), just post which among the partitions is the "data" one)

 

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#35 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 17 November 2013 - 08:37 PM

Sorry it is very clear now  :clap:

 

 

root (hd0,0)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

ls /windows/system32/config/

Error 15 : file not found

 

root (hd0,1)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

ls /windows/system32/config/

BCD-Template BCD-Template.LOG components COMPONENTS.LOG COMPONENTS.LOG1 (there is much more)

 

root (hd0,3)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

ls /windows/system32/config/

Error 15 : file not found

 

root (hd0,4)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

ls /windows/system32/config/

Error 15 : file not found

 

 

AND

 root (hd0,0)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

grub> ls

 

 $attrdef  $badclus  $bitmap  $boot  $extend  $logfile  $MFT  $MFTMirror  $RECYCLE.BIN  $secure  $UpCase  $Volume Boot bootmgr bootmgr_BOOTSECT.BAK grldr.bak sh4ldr System/Volume/ Information VZJTO win7ldr

 

 

root (hd0,1)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

grub> ls

 $attrdef  $badclus  $bitmap  $boot  $extend  $logfile  $MFT  $MFTMirror  $RECYCLE.BIN  $secure  $UpCase  $Volume AdwCleaner ATsvclog.txt ATsvcLog.txt.old autoexec.bat Config.Msi Connect .log connectupdate.log debuglog.txt debuglog.txt.old doc2pdf_win.ini documents\and \settings hiberfil.sys intel logfileeui.txt msocache pagefile.sys perflogs program program \files programdata recovery sh4ldr spyhunter.fix system\volume\information temp users wepkeys.txt windows

 

 

 

root (hd0,3)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

grub> ls

$attrdef  $badclus  $bitmap  $boot  $extend  $logfile  $MFT  $MFTMirror  $RECYCLE.BIN  $secure  $UpCase  $Volume \information

 

 

root (hd0,4)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

grub> ls

 

In this file is my picture and my music and i think it is my D.

 

i wrote everything just to be sure that i do not tell anything wrong.

sorry for that¨

look forward to hear from you

 

 

 

 

sorry again



#36 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 November 2013 - 10:48 AM

Very good :)
So:
  • the "boot" drive is definitely (hd0,0)
  • the "system" drive is definitely (hd0,1)
  • the "data" drive is definitely (hd0,4)
it remains the "mistery" of the (hd0,3), it is possible that it is some kind of "recovery" partition. :unsure:
 
In any case it is safe to attempt booting the System "as is", what may happen (different from what happened originally) is that the (hd0,0) and the (hd0,3) will be mounted with two "new" drive letters.
 
Still booted from the UBCD you should try entering at the grub> prompt the commands:
 
 
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /bootmgr
boot
and hopefully the thingy will boot to Windows 7.
If it works, we will then proceed to "repair" the booting, so that it boots "normally" without the need for booting first through the UBCD.

When (if) it boots OK, you will most probably see (as before) the "System" drive as C:, the "Data" drive as "D:" but you may have two additional drive letters, I presume that the CD/DVD drive will get letter E: and thus the other two will get drive letters F: and G:, but you will have to confirm it. :dubbio:
Ideally, if the machine can connect to the internet and to the forum, you could post a screenshot of Disk Management, so that I can better understand how the drive lettering behaves.

:cheers:
Wonko

#37 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 18 November 2013 - 11:07 AM

Hello SIr and thank you for your answer

i got these :

 

grub >root (hd0,0)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

 

grub> chainloader /bootmgr

Error 13 : Invalid or unsupported executable format

grub> boot

Kernel must be loaded before booting



#38 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 November 2013 - 01:05 PM

It is very possible that that thingy has changed the original bootmgr file (though it is strange)
There are two other "strange" files on (hd0,0), one is "sh4ldr" and the other is "win7ldr"
What happens if you try chainloading each of them instead of "bootmgr"?

I.e. try:

root (hd0,0)
chainloader /win7ldr
boot

first, and if it doesn't work, 

root (hd0,0)
chainloader /sh4ldr
boot

:cheers:

Wonko



#39 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 18 November 2013 - 01:26 PM

Yes it is strange. :hammer:

i got these sir 

 

root (hd0,0)

Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

chainloader /win7ldr

Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format

boot

Error 8 : Kernel must be loaded before booting

 

And

 

root (hd0,0)

 Filesystem type is ntfs, partition type 0x07

chainloader /sh4ldr

Error13 : Invalid or unsupported executable format

boot

error 8 : kernek must be loaded before booting



#40 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 November 2013 - 01:41 PM

Strange.

 

Try another thing:

root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
boot

:cheers:

Wonko



#41 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 18 November 2013 - 01:56 PM

it worked :cheerleader:  i come to some place and the nummer in counting down and there is alot of words

i think i am att the first place i was before i messed up

.i pressed untill i come to a page and this is 

 

Windows 7/vista/server

Windows7/vista/server (no SLIC)

Debug (default)

debug(legacy)

windows nt/2000/xp

loader help



#42 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 November 2013 - 02:30 PM

If you choose one among
  • Windows 7/vista/server
  • Windows7/vista/server (no SLIC)
it should boot to Windows 7 :unsure:

Once (hopefully) in the Windows 7 booted environment, we must find a way to have it work "normally".

:cheers:
Wonko

#43 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 18 November 2013 - 03:19 PM

It does not boot i go to the same page that is counting down and goes to aanother page that is counting down and the third page like this ;
Driver 0x80(LBA): c/h/s= 38914/255/63, sector count /size = 625153410/512

Partition num : 0 , filesystem thpe (same thing as it was before)
Partiton num : 1. Active. Fikesystem (same thinf as it was before)
Partition num 3. Filesystem type (same)
Partition nun 4. Filesystem (same)

-*******
Options if your HDD is larger than 1TB :
* move your boot files to a smaller partition at the start of the HDD
* Format the HDD and allow Windows to create a 100 MB boot partition
*Shrink and move your partition with Gparter
Press any key to read more
(I press and this is what it says)

Option if you have an OEM/Recovery partition :
* Format the whole HDD with Active@ Kill Disk.
* If possibe use EasyBCD to rocate the boot files.

Tools to use :
* EasyBSD to move your boot files.
Active@ Kill Disk (IOS) to format.
*GParted to resize , move & create partitions

How to boot back into Windows :
* boot from your windows dvd and select repair
*select command prompt
*enter "bootsect /nt60 SYS /force" or "bootsect /nt60 ALL /force"
*reboot
Press any key to enter command line

I did both command but this the answer ;
No such ommand : bootsect

#44 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 November 2013 - 03:58 PM

The issue here is the failure of grub4dos with the "chainloader /bootmgr".

It seems like there is a problem with the actual bootmgr file.

The set of commands:



root (hd0,0)
chainloader /bootmgr
boot

are (roughly) the same thing as the effect of running the "bootsect /nt60 SYS /force", this latter command (from a booted WIndows 7 or PE) will simply make the bootsector of the drive chainload the file bootmgr, but from the result of your early try it is this latter that "doesn't work" or is *somehow* corrupted.

 

Try again this, reboot to the UBCD, and issue the (by now "usual") command:



root (hd0,0)

then run:



makeactive

and then:



chainloader (hd0)+1
boot

You should get back to the :



Windows 7/vista/server
Windows7/vista/server (no SLIC)
Debug (default)
debug(legacy)
windows nt/2000/xp
loader help

menu.

 

IF you cannot boot like this, you will need to download a Windows 7 install/repair disk, it is a rather large download and you will need a DVD to burn it.

 

:cheers:
Wonko



#45 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 18 November 2013 - 04:31 PM

No sir it did not work. I come to the same page that counting down and so on (the same that i wrote )
Just by clicking on ESC i am able to go there you mention.
So I have to go to the other option you mentioned.
Can you please tell me where i can Download a Windows 7 install/repar ?
I have a 8gb Usb can i use that or it should be a dvd ?
Will i LOSE my data that i have in partition D (those are very importent to me)

And thank you very much for your time and I MEAN it.

#46 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 November 2013 - 04:58 PM

No, no risk of losing data. :)

 

You should download a .iso from one of the links given here:

http://best-windows....disks.html#full

choose the same version that you have on the PC 32bit vs. 64 bit and Home vs. Pro vs. Ultimate (while the 32 bit vs, 64 bit is important, the actual edition doesn't make a difference for the repair AFAIK, but it is better if you have a DVD of the same Windows you have, in case it is useful for something else).

 

The DVD would be easier, but we can make the USB stick bootable with it alright (only it will be a bit more complex).

BTW you have another PC, right? Which OS does it run?

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#47 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 18 November 2013 - 05:16 PM

Ok thank you. My girlfriend pc is a Mac-Air.
I will do the downloding tonight when i go home.
So i just download it in my Usb and follow the instruction ?

#48 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 November 2013 - 05:29 PM

Ok thank you. My girlfriend pc is a Mac-Air.
I will do the downloding tonight when i go home.
So i just download it in my Usb and follow the instruction ?

No, that is a problem.

 

If you want to save the downloaded .iso to the USB stick, then you will need *something* to burn the .iso to a DVD (suggested).

 

Otherwise you will need to make the USB stick bootable (and test it on your "failed" PC) BEFORE saving to it the .iso.

 

You can use the RMPREPUSB program:

http://www.rmprepusb.com/

to make the stick bootable to grub4dos (just follow exactly the video on the home page), but you need a PC to run the RMPREPUSB program.

 

:cheers:

Wonko



#49 Hesam

Hesam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Sweden

Posted 18 November 2013 - 06:56 PM

Ok sir. I think i will go and buy a dvd if usb does not work. I did also make the ultimate bootibale cd on Mac-air and that worked fine.
I have a bunch of empety cd-r but i think they will not work or ?
Sir i have botherid you alot now and i don't want to be a pain in the ***
After i downloaded the ios and put it in the pc. Is there anyghing HARD i have to do or just i should follow the instruction ?
I mean what should i do after that ?
Thanks

#50 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13751 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 November 2013 - 07:25 PM

The .iso to be dowloaded is around (if I recall correctly) 2.4 Gb so yes, a DVD is needed.

Once you can boot the DVD on the PC it should be relatively "easy", it should be just (hopefully) a matter of replacing the BOOTMGR file (that somehow is not "good", this is the "strange" part, that this BOOTMGR file is not working/booting) with the one on the DVD, and run a couple commands to "repair" the booting (and possibly also run a CHKDSK on the volumes).

 

:cheers:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users