#1 kfishoh

kfishoh
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 August 2008 - 12:28 AM

Hello All,

I am really new to the VistaPE project but I am very impressed as I am coming over from BartPE and I like it very much for its flexibility and other features it offers. I am currently having an issue using it with my new Toshiba laptop and have diagnosed it down to a problem with the version of the MSHDC.inf file used based on the information from Microsoft KB943170.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/943170

Is there a way to integrate this hotfix to get the newer version of the MSHDC.inf in the build? I really dislike vlite and would prefer to use another way if possible.

Thanks for all the help.

#2 SiM99

SiM99

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 12 March 2009 - 12:10 AM

I am also attempting to create a Vista PE disc for use with a Toshiba L40-17F and having the same trouble.

Was there a fix found? Also, how would vlite help solve the issue?

#3 Adam_W

Adam_W

• Members
  • 31 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 23 March 2009 - 08:16 PM

My Instructions assume the following directory structure

C:\VistaPE\Target\VistaPE - RootDir VistaPE TargetDir
C:\VistaPE\Mount - Mount Dir
C:\VistaPE\ISO
C:\Hotfix - Location of hotfix

You can try this:

1. Ensure WAIK is installed
2. Download Hotfix
3. Rename Windows6.0-KB943170-v2-x86.msu to KB943170-v2-x86.cab
4. Extract Windows6.0-KB943170-v2-x86.cab from KB943170-v2-x86.cab to C:\hotfix\
5. Delete KB943170-v2-x86.cab
5. Open Vista PE under Finalize uncheck Create ISO
6. Build vista PE project
7. Open start menu navigate to WAIK\Windows PE Tools Command Prompt
8. Mount vistape from the cmd line
cmd: imagex /mountrw C:\VistaPE\Target\VistaPE\VistaPE.wim 1 C:\VistaPE\Mount
9. Import Hotfix
cmd:peimg "C:\VistaPE\Mount\Windows" /import="C:\hotfix\Windows6.0-KB943170-v2-x86.cab"
10. List Packages
cmd:peimg /list "C:\VistaPE\Mount\Windows"
11. Install Update Package