Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

UltraSCSI320 Adaptec 29320LPE + Seagate Cheetah 15k.5 + Win XP


  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#26 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 03:54 PM

SETUPLDR.BIN in the Installation CD is 256Kb

SETUPLDR.BIN in the \$WIN_NT$.~BT\ of SCSI Hdd is 256Kb

I Can't find setupldr.bin in the SATA Hdd where XP is regulary installed and working.

#27 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 04:06 PM

I Can't find setupldr.bin in the SATA Hdd where XP is regulary installed and working.

Yes, that's normal:
NTLDR is the NT LoaDeR
SETUPLDR.BIN is the SETUP LoaDeR

since the SETUP on the SATA disk was finalised, there is no reason why it should be there.

The point is that if you did what I told you:

Make another attempt, first format again the SCSI disk, just to make sure that there are no "leftovers"

there is no possible way I know of that you could have a SETUPLDR.BIN renamed to NTLDR in the ROOT of the SCSI disk.
[Italian]
..le bugie hanno le gambe corte....
[/Italian] :whistling:

THIS TIME ;), do the following:

Try copying the NTLDR file from CD (or from SATA, they should be exactly the same) to the SCSI disk.

(to the ROOT of it overwriting the existing, wrong one)
jaclaz

#28 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 04:19 PM

Jac, look that I really have formatted SCSI Hdd before executing f:\i386\winnt32.exe /......

I formatted it using Fast Format from the right click menù... wasn't this ok?

however, I've just replaced the wrong ntldr with the right one.. and I've rebooted from SCSI Hdd...

This time the text menù (boot.ini) regulary apperared, and i choosed the first of the SATA option.

Win XP has been regulary loaded...!!

You are the number one jac! :whistling:

#29 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 04:52 PM

Then HOW it happened is "black magic" or "voodo" as psc would put it! :whistling:

To recap what should happen when installing Windows:
to the ROOT of the first Active Primary Partition of First disk
a. the following files are copied
1) NTLDR (the real one)
2) NTDETECT.COM
3) a BOOT.INI with these contents:
[Boot Loader]

Timeout=5

Default=C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT

[Operating Systems]

C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT="Installazione di Windows"

b. the following directories are created:
1) $WIN_NT$.~BT
2) $WIN_NT$.~LS

c. inside the $WIN_NT$.~BT directory all files needed for booting the setup are copied and a copy of the bootsector of the partition is made, called BOOTSECT.DAT, invoking SETUPLDR.BIN

d. inside the $WIN_NT$.~LS directory all other needed files are copied

Why this did not happen to you is part of the "black magic". ;)

However, now you can boot to the SATA drive with the SCSI one active, which is good. ;)

From the SATA XP install, delete everything in ROOT of the SCSI drive, exception made for:
NTLDR
NTDETECT.COM
BOOT.INI

Check, by rebooting, that you can still access the SATA drive XP.

Now switch the machine off, and physically disconnect the SATA drive, i.e. remove the cables from it.

Reboot, enter the BIOS, and remove any reference to the SATA

Set BIOS boot order to CD-ROM first, SCSI second, insert the XP install CD.

When setup starts press F6 and give it the floppy with the SCSI drivers.

Report.

jaclaz

#30 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 05:39 PM

Check, by rebooting, that you can still access the SATA drive XP.


Yes, I can still access the SATA drive XP :whistling:


When setup starts press F6 and give it the floppy with the SCSI drivers.

Report.

jaclaz


I've just tried:

It happens the same known thing...

after copied 100% files, when the machine reboot, after 10 seconds of Black screen and Hdd LED partial activity, this error message appear:

\WINDOWS\INF\biosinfo.inf mancante o danneggiato

;) ;)

#31 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 05:49 PM

Yes, I can still access the SATA drive XP :whistling:



It happens the same known thing...

after copied 100% files, when the machine reboot, after 10 seconds of Black screen and Hdd LED partial activity, this error message appear:

\WINDOWS\INF\biosinfo.inf mancante o danneggiato


No, it is not the "same" thing, this error:

Impossibile caricare il file \$WIN_NT$.~BT\biosinfo.inf

comes from SETUPLDR.BIN
this error:

\WINDOWS\INF\biosinfo.inf mancante o danneggiato

comes from NTLDR

Now, can you still see the BOOT.INI choices?

jaclaz

#32 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 06:14 PM

No, it is not the "same" thing, this error:

comes from SETUPLDR.BIN
this error:

comes from NTLDR

Now, can you still see the BOOT.INI choices?

jaclaz


Now, BOOT.INI in SCSI Hdd is this:

[boot loader]
timeout=1
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="XP SATA 0011" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(2)partition(1)\WINDOWS="XP SATA 0021" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect


but, at the reboot, after copied 100% files, it didn't ask me anything.

It has been directly appeared the error message.

#33 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 06:38 PM

but, at the reboot, after copied 100% files, it didn't ask me anything.

It has been directly appeared the error message.


timeout=1


You've been a bit slow... :whistling: or maybe it was set to 0 ;), set it back to 10.

Now, try re-connecting the SATA drive and boot to it, once there:
1) open a command prompt
2) Type in it DIR /S F:\>C:\list.txt
(supposing that the boot partition on the SATA drive is C:\ and the boot partition on the SCSI drive is F:\ )

Attach the list.txt to your next post, possibly compressed in a .zip or .7z archive, I seem not to be able to understand what is happening. ;)

jaclaz

#34 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 August 2008 - 08:54 PM

Hi jac :whistling:

I've tried doing this:

By nlite I've done a BOOTABLE Installation XP SP2 CD with Adaptec29320LPE driver included in TEXT MODE.

then, i booted from XP SATA and I've quickly formatted SCSI Hdd

then I've executed: f:\I386\WINNT32.EXE /syspart:d /tempdrive:d /noreboot

with the new XP SP2 Adaptec driver included in the f:

in the SCSI ROOT I've found again the NTLDR 256KB version, so I've changed it with the 246KB version.

I've edited BOOT.INI including the two SATA XP choice.

As i didn't find the NTBOOTDD.SYS file in the ROOT of the SCSI Hdd, I copied adpu320.sys to the root and renamed it into NTBOOTDD.SYS

Then, finally, I've rebooted the machine.

I've changed the Boot sequence in the Motherboard BIOS, choosing the SCSI Hdd as first drive.

The BOOT.INI text menù appears.

Choosing "Installazione Windows XP" appear this NEW error message:

(directory principale di Windows)\system32\hal.dll mancante o danneggiato

Instead, choosing the first XP SATA choice from the BOOT.INI text menù, XP on the SATA Hdd normally run.

Here is attached the list.txt file containing the list of SCSI Hdd files and folder.

P.S.:note that I've manually added the hal.dll file in the system32 directory.

But the error message still occur

Attached Files

  • Attached File  list.txt   6.84KB   219 downloads


#35 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 11:27 AM

in the SCSI ROOT I've found again the NTLDR 256KB version, so I've changed it with the 246KB version.

I know that this appears to be confusing, but you should have NOT changed it.
Probably it is my fault, I made a couple of wrong guesses, and I induced you in mixing two concepts, sorry.
The files that you have right now in $WIN_NT$.~BT cannot be loaded with the "real" NTLDR, since BOOTSECT.DAT is missing.

However, now that you have an integrated source, let's try again with the CD.

Since you have a floppy drive, make a boot floppy as detailed here:
http://www.xxcopy.com/xxcopy33.htm
(just to make sure that you can anyway boot to the SATA drive leaving the SCSI as first one)
test the floppy, then delete everything on the SCSI.

Disconnect the SATA drive, try booting from the new CD.

What happens?


jaclaz

#36 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 11:49 AM

After made the floppy,
do I have to format SCSI Hdd and retry to install XP SP2 normally booting from the new CD with adaptec29320lpe driver included?

Can I Format SCSI Hdd during XP Installation as usual or I need format SCSI Hdd before installation with the right click menù format?

#37 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 12:14 PM

You should be able to format it from XP setup normally.

jaclaz

#38 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 01:42 PM

Hi jac,

I've just installed XP SP2 Adaptec 29320LPE driver included CD into SCSI Hdd

Before i disconnected SATA Hdd, then I installed booting from the new CD.

Without pressing F6 at the beginning, the installation program correctly see the C: SCSI Hdd.

I removed the partition and created a new partition.

Then, I formatted with quick NTFS Format and the file copy started.

It reach 100% files copied and then rebooted the machine.

At the reboot, as usual, this error message appeared:

\WINDOWS\INF\biosinfo.inf non presente o danneggiato.

Here is the list2.txt attachment, it's new SCSI file and folders list after this installation.

:whistling:

Attached Files



#39 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 02:59 PM

The directory/file structure appears to be correct, the adpu320.sys is in \Windows\System32\drivers - where it should be.

The message you get is just like the volume is unmountable in the early part of booting, though I am still not sure of the reason why.

Can you try re-adding to boot.ini the scsi() entries and NTBOOTDD.SYS to ROOT?

Is the message the same or does it changes?

Next step will be to try using grub4dos to see how the BIOS "sees" the disk, then try with signature() syntax in BOOT.INI.

jaclaz

#40 ilko

ilko

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 500 posts
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 01 September 2008 - 05:32 PM

A few random shots:
- is the SCSI disk properly terminated? If I recall correctly I've seen similar behavior with badly terminated SCSI disk.
- try XP SP1 or if cannot find it- slipstream SP3 and give it a try
- try updating SCSI BIOS and eventually motherboard BIOS

#41 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 05:47 PM

A few random shots:
- is the SCSI disk properly terminated? If I recall correctly I've seen similar behavior with badly terminated SCSI disk.


SCSI BUS is perfectly terminated and connected :whistling:

- try XP SP1 or if cannot find it- slipstream SP3 and give it a try


I've already tried with SP3 slipstreamed too... Service Pack number isn't the problem... here the problem is the lack of driver in the pre-load XP step.

- try updating SCSI BIOS and eventually motherboard BIOS


Already done, I've the last Motherboard and SCSI Controller Bios version.

#42 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 06:14 PM

The directory/file structure appears to be correct, the adpu320.sys is in \Windows\System32\drivers - where it should be.

The message you get is just like the volume is unmountable in the early part of booting, though I am still not sure of the reason why.

Can you try re-adding to boot.ini the scsi() entries and NTBOOTDD.SYS to ROOT?

Is the message the same or does it changes?

Next step will be to try using grub4dos to see how the BIOS "sees" the disk, then try with signature() syntax in BOOT.INI.

jaclaz


Jac, I've just tried re-adding scsi() entries in the BOOT.INI and NTBOOTDD.SYS to the root.

Rebooting the machine and selecting in the Mother BIOS the SCSI Hdd as first drive to boot, the BOOT.INI text menù appear.

the first choice is the normal Windows XP (second part of installation)

the other choices are the scsi entries.

Selecting the first choice(Windows XP second part installation), the error message is the same: after about 10 seconds of Black screen while SCSI activity led flash one time evry 2-3 seconds, this appears: \WINDOWS\INF\biosinfo.inf mancante o danneggiato.

Selecting any other scsi choice, this error message quickly appear (the SCSI activity LED flash 3 quickly consecutive times):

Impossibile avviare Windows a causa di un problema di configurazione hardware del disco del computer.
Impossibile leggere il disco di avvio selezionato.
Controllare il percorso di avvio e l'hardware del disco.
Per la configurazione del disco rigido, controllare la documentazione di Windows e i manuali di riferimento del computer per informazioni aggiuntive.

#43 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 06:50 PM

The multi() entry looks like it can't find the "right" drive.
The scsi() entries seem like they cannot find the drive at all.
:whistling:

It cannot be a conflict between SATA and SCSI because the SATA has been removed.
It cannot be a BIOS conflict between BIOS and SCSI, usually when it happen you cannot even get to load the NTLDR/BOOT.INI

I am not familiar with the "newish" Adaptec SCSI cards BIOS, but the fact that you get as far as the NTLDR/BOOT.INI should mean that settings are correct.

Try booting from the CD the Recovery Console.

Once in it, try the following commands:
map

and

map arc

Post results.

Download grub4dos 2008-05-14 or later from here:
http://grub4dos.jot.com/WikiHome

copy grldr and menu.lst to root of the SCSI drive.
add to boot.ini and entry:
C:\GRLDR="grub4dos"

Boot, choose grub4dos, press "c" for command line, than type:

root (hd0,1)

[ENTER]

grub4dos should reply with some info on the partition on the SCSI disk.

Post result

now type:

find /

[TAB]

You should be able to see the files on ROOT of the SCSI drive.

jaclaz

#44 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 07:19 PM

These are the results of MAP and MAP ARC command:

MAP:

C:NTFS 140003 MB \Device\Harddisk0\Partition1
D:NTFS 20002 MB \Device\Harddisk1\Partition1
E:NTFS 58158 MB \Device\Harddisk1\Partition2
A: \Device\Floppy0
F: \Device\CdRom0
G: \Device\CdRom1



MAP ARC:

C: multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)
D: multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)
E: multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(2)
A: \device\Floppy0
F: \device\CdRom0
G: \device\CdRom1



In my opinion, it seems load BOOT.INI in real-mode and once selected the choice, it try running XP beofore have loaded Adaptec SCSI driver.

#45 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 07:39 PM

In my opinion, it seems load BOOT.INI in real-mode and once selected the choice, it try running XP beofore have loaded Adaptec SCSI driver.


Hmmm, no, it must be something else.

Otherwise you would have a BSOD STOP 0x0000007b or maybe 0x0000006f.

This happens BEFORE the protected mode "kicks in", and I seem not to find a possible reason, the results of RC are OK, exactly as expected.

jaclaz

#46 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 September 2008 - 07:54 PM

Hmmm, no, it must be something else.

Otherwise you would have a BSOD STOP 0x0000007b or maybe 0x0000006f.

This happens BEFORE the protected mode "kicks in", and I seem not to find a possible reason, the results of RC are OK, exactly as expected.

jaclaz


Jac, here are the results of Grub4Dos command:

root (hd0,1) [ENTER]
Error 22: No such partition

root [ENTER]
root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is NTFS partition type 0x07


find /[TAB]
Possible files are: Boot.ini bootfont.bin grldr menu.lst ntbootdd.sys ntdetect.com ntldr recycler system\ volume\ information SYSTEM~1 WINDOWS

:whistling:

#47 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 September 2008 - 10:20 AM

To recap (more like talking aloud to myself then anything useful) :
1) Recovery Console works on your machine
2) it gives for the SCSI disk:
C:NTFS 140003 MB \Device\Harddisk0\Partition1
C: multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)
(both correct, first partition on first disk)
3) grldr (read BIOS) sees it correctly as well as (hd0,0) (correct, first partition on first disk)

Yet Windows won't boot, and you do not even get as far as having a BSOD 0x0000007b - UNMOUNTABLE BOOT DEVICE (meaning that the SCSI driver is missing or wrong).

It seems like at a certain point of the early part of loading, the loader fails to see the drive as a Hard Disk, something that makes no sense, or at least that I never experienced before.

The following is more a shot in the dark than anything, it has no logic, no background, it is completely unrelated, but still worth a shot:
1) boot from the SATA disk (leaving the SCSI as first disk)
2) save on the SATA a copy of NTLDR+NTDTECT.COM+BOOT.INI+NTBOOTDD.SYS+grldr+menu.lst now on the SCSI disk
3) Open disk manager and delete all partitions on the SCSI disk
4) Create a new partition on the SCSI disk, primary, size just below 2 Gb: 1.95 Gb
5) Format it as FAT 16
6) make it active
7) create a WIN98 SE bootdisk
from any Win98SE bootdisk image, like this:
http://www.allbootdi...ownload/98.html
You can use the trial of Winimage:
http://www.winimage.com/
to make an image/modify it
8) copy back to the newly made partitions the files you saved before and the floppy image, calling it 98dos.img
9) edit menu.lst, adding to it an entry like this:
title 98DOS

find --set-root /98dos.img

map --mem /98dos.img (fd0)

root (fd0)

chainloader /io.sys
Note, you can also try using the bootdisk from floppy, but copying to hard disk should speed up things, after the initial longer time needed to create the image

However, try booting (if from HD in BOOT.INI choose grub4dos, in menu.lst choose 98DOS), and see if you can see the SCSI partition from DOS.

if you can, reboot to the SATA, and copy the \I386 folder from CD to the root of the SCSI diisk partition.

Switch off, disconnect the SATA drive, disconnect also the CD-ROM, boot to DOS as before, then:
cd I386

WINNT.EXE

Cross your fingers, and see if by pure chance this approach works. :whistling:

jaclaz

#48 ilko

ilko

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 500 posts
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 02 September 2008 - 11:15 AM

I see 2 options in SCSI BIOS which may be worth playing with:

Include in BIOS Scan—(Default: Yes) When set to Yes, the SCSI card BIOS controls the
SCSI device if it is an INT 13 device (such as a SCSI disk drive) without device driver
software. When set to No, the SCSI card BIOS does not control the SCSI device and device
driver software is required. The BIOS can support up to eight INT 13 devices without an
additional device driver.


SCSI Card INT 13 Support—(Default: Enabled) This option controls the state of the BIOS
at POST time. The following settings are available:
● Enabled—Supports INT 13 for booting from a SCSI disk drive connected to the SCSI
card. If you use this option, the following options are available:
● Extended INT 13 Translation for DOS Drives > 1 GB
● Support Removable Disks Under INT 13 as Fixed Disks
● Disabled:NOT Scan—Set to this option if all the devices on the SCSI bus (for example,
CD-ROM drives) are controlled by software drivers and do not need the BIOS, and
you do not want the BIOS to scan the SCSI bus. SCSISelect remains available if needed.
!
!
!Chapter 8: Configuring the Adaptec SCSI Card with SCSISelect ● 39
● Disabled:Scan Bus—Set to this option if all the devices on the SCSI bus (for example,
CD-ROM drives) are controlled by software drivers and you need the BIOS to scan the
SCSI bus. Allows devices to spin up according to the setting of the Send Start Unit
Command. SCSISelect remains available if needed.


BTW have you tried different version of the SCSI driver for F6 option during Text Mode part of Setup?
Could it be improper formatting or faulty hard disk...

#49 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 September 2008 - 11:55 AM

I see 2 options in SCSI BIOS which may be worth playing with:




BTW have you tried different version of the SCSI driver for F6 option during Text Mode part of Setup?
Could it be improper formatting or faulty hard disk...


That are SCSCI CARD BIOS Options.

I never tried other options then the default ones because i was thinking that was the right ones.

Default ones are:
Include in Bios Scan --> YES
SCSI Card INT13 Support --> YES

Jac, I'll try your approach this evening, now I must go to work.

Do you (ilko and Jac) think excluding INT13 Support and re-formatting (because changing that option you must re-format Hdd) I can correctly install XP into my new Hdd?

However, the new SCSI Hdd is ok... because all tests i've done are ok inculding Seagate enterprise tool tests.

Sisoft Sandra Benchmark is ok too and rate my SCSI Hdd at 125MB/s reading and 6ms random seek time.

#50 gianni_trad

gianni_trad

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Italy
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 September 2008 - 12:03 PM

Here is the Adaptec 29320LPE pdf Manual:

http://www.adaptec.c...e_02_07_pdf.htm




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users