Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Recovery Console not working from USB Stick


  • Please log in to reply
159 replies to this topic

#76 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 June 2009 - 08:42 PM

I swear that I thought about just this "option" :), but I can see "Thanks!" button even through the classical board skin... ;)
However, many thanks for your reply! ;)




That is NOT the "real" classical skin. (but probably it's just the "Admin view" that changes :)) I Delete or Edit, instead of Thanking.... :angry:

Posted Image

:cheers:

jaclaz

#77 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 23 June 2009 - 08:48 PM

That is NOT the "real" classical skin. (but probably it's just the "Admin view" that changes ;)) I Delete or Edit, instead of Thanking.... ;)

Posted Image

:)

jaclaz

:)
Noooo! You have not to look below YOUR posts (since you can NOT thank yourself! :angry: ) you have to TRY to look below the OTHER user's posts!!! :cheers:

:cheers:

#78 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 June 2009 - 09:00 PM

;)
Noooo! You have not to look below YOUR posts (since you can NOT thank yourself! :) ) you have to TRY to look below the OTHER user's posts!!! :)

;)


You joking right?

I'am Admin.

Everything on the board is mine! :angry:

All your base are belong to us. :cheers:

:cheers:

jaclaz
  • Motasem likes this

#79 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 23 June 2009 - 09:06 PM

Everything on the board is mine! ;)

:)

Btw: now I understand why you actually have 352 thanks! ;)

#80 cdob

cdob

    Silver Member

  • Expert
  • 976 posts

Posted 03 July 2009 - 10:16 PM

RAM load recovery console from a single image.
All recovery console files are included to the image.
CATCH22 is included in RAM loaded image, no external winnt.sif.
Direct boot to recovery console, no need to press r.

joakim described DisklessAngel driver usage.
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=8265

Create a small hard disk image.
There is mkimg.cmd http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3191
Set a disk signature at offsets 1B8h through 1BBh.
http://www.geocities...br/Win2kmbr.htm

Change the bootsector too: MSDOS5.0->cmdcons and ntldr->setupldrbin
http://www.boot-land...?...ost&p=41075

I used a 8gb image, 64 heads and 32 sectors. And set disk signature 52,41,4D,4C

The RAM image contains:

\cmdcons\
\catch22\
\NTDETECT.COM
\SETUPLDR.BIN

Insert DisklessAngel (wdsys.sys) driver:
Copy file wdsys.sys to \cmdcons\
Delete \cmdcons\ramdisk.sy?
rename wdsys.sys to ramdisk.sys

The image is mapped to letter C: by default.
Add a \cmdcons\migrate.inf to change this.
[Version]

Signature = "$Windows NT$"



[Addreg]

HKLM,"SYSTEM\MountedDevices","\DosDevices\R:", \

0x00030001,52,41,4D,4C,00,40,00,00,00,00,00,00
You have to adjust this if you use different disk signature or sectors count.
Compare http://www.geocities...br/Win2kmbr.htm

menu.lst
title Ramloading - /cmdc/cmdcons.dsk (hd0)

map --mem /cmdc/cmdcons.dsk (hd0)

map --hook

root (hd0,0)

chainloader (hd0,0)+1

You may gzip the image in addition.
title Ramloading - /cmdc/cmdcons.gz (hd0)

map --mem /cmdc/cmdcons.gz (hd0)

map --hook

root (hd0,0)

chainloader (hd0,0)+1
Boot recovery console and connect to catch22.

#81 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 July 2009 - 09:13 AM

Very interesting. :lol:

Just for the record, some info on the migrate.inf idea:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19663

And a couple of questions, just to make sure:
  • is the SETUPLDR.BIN from Server 2003 SP1 or R2 needed as well?
  • or does this work with other more "common" versions of the file?

and another, more difficult one:
  • would Gavotte's RRamdisk work as well (renamed rramdisk.sys to ramdisk.sys)? ;)

;)

jaclaz

#82 cdob

cdob

    Silver Member

  • Expert
  • 976 posts

Posted 04 July 2009 - 11:35 AM

is the SETUPLDR.BIN from Server 2003 SP1 or R2 needed as well?

There is no need for 2003 SP1 setupldr.bin.
Setupldr.bin dosn't load image to RAM, grub4dos load the image to RAM.
A XP SP2 setupldr.bin does work.

would Gavotte's RRamdisk work as well (renamed rramdisk.sys to ramdisk.sys)? :lol:

Gavotte's RRamdisk renamed to ramdisk.sys: BSOD 0x7b
The driver dosn't map the grub4DOS Ramdisk.

Hopefully there exist another ramdisk driver in future.
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=8168

Next step:
RAM loading XP install. Well, that's another story to be written.

#83 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 July 2009 - 12:11 PM

There is no need for 2003 SP1 setupldr.bin.
Setupldr.bin dosn't load image to RAM, grub4dos load the image to RAM.
A XP SP2 setupldr.bin does work.

Very good. ;)

Gavotte's RRamdisk renamed to ramdisk.sys: BSOD 0x7b
The driver dosn't map the grub4DOS Ramdisk.

;)
Maybe the "Dietmar's limited to 32 Mb" ramdisk driver may work (of course only for RC)?

You remember the "good ol' times", don't you? ;)
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19960
Maybe re-reading that thread two years later, and with added knowledge/experience may be useful as an inspiration for some new ideas? :lol:

Sorry to bother you, but, should you have enough time, you are now having ready setup sources and the topic is "fresh" in your mind:

Did you happen by chance to have a look at/test with the "newish entries":
Possibly overlooked:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=6492&hl=
Just recently posted:
http://www.boot-land...?...=4064&st=52


Hopefully there exist another ramdisk driver in future.
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=8168

Yep. ;)

Next step:
RAM loading XP install. Well, that's another story to be written.

Since it seems like the wdsys.sys is limited in it's free version to 640 Mb, it should be possible, at least for a "normal" install:
http://sanbarrow.com...opic.php?t=1560
but even if it exceeds this size, hopefully the 1 hour limit of the driver should not be crossed, a machine with more that 1.5 Gb of Ram should also be pretty fast.



;)

jaclaz

#84 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 05 July 2009 - 07:55 PM

@cdob

Really great job! ;)

Just tested and it works fine, but I've a couple of questions for your attention. :lol:

Please, which is the exact content of the "catch22" folder?
I've extracted the jaclaz's one (existing in this thread as attachment) and copied its content (just "catch22" folder) in the image root, but after Recovery Console loading then it asks for the following "installations"
D:\WINDOWS

C:\catch22
If I remove the "catch22" folder from the image root, then after loading it asks for
D:\WINDOWS
So, the result does not seem mapped to the default C:\ drive letter.
Please, note that I did not set the image disk signature.

Also I would like to know if in this configuration the "wdsys.sys" file has an expiration period...

Many thanks for your very nice procedure. ;)

#85 cdob

cdob

    Silver Member

  • Expert
  • 976 posts

Posted 05 July 2009 - 09:23 PM

@online
Of course catch22 content is jaclaz's catch22 content, part of this thread.

D:\WINDOWS maybe your hard disk.
RAM disk is mapped to C: by default. You may adjust this default: migrate.inf
C:\catch22 is the RAM loaded image without a proper migrate.inf.

So, the result does not seem mapped to the default C:\ drive letter.

I don't understand this.
With catch22, there is a c:\catch22.
Without catch22, there is no catch22.
Dosn't indicate this: default is mapped to C:\ drive letter?

Just enter 'dir c:\' to view content.

I've no idea about wdsys.sys. Hopefully there is a replacement in future.

#86 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 885 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 05 July 2009 - 09:59 PM

Also I would like to know if in this configuration the "wdsys.sys" file has an expiration period...


To my knowledge, the wdsys.sys has no restrictions with ramloads under 640 Mb in PE-mode.

Joakim

#87 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 885 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 05 July 2009 - 10:28 PM

There is no need for 2003 SP1 setupldr.bin.
Setupldr.bin dosn't load image to RAM, grub4dos load the image to RAM.
A XP SP2 setupldr.bin does work.


The only reason why that one would be preferred, is probably because its checksum cracked, and one could stick to the I386 instead of minint..?

Original setupldr.bin whatever version would fail if not minint as %SystemRoot% is present, for diskimages loaded to ram with g4d. The 512 limit is present in both setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys, but for the g4d ramloads only ramdisk.sys detects it, as setupldr.bin/ntldr doesn't do the actual ramloading.

Btw, does anyone know if it's possible to xp-install from a ramloaded system with 2k3 sources?
Can g4d load more than 1 ramdisk (I tested once, but failed)?

Joakim

#88 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 06 July 2009 - 06:24 AM

Just enter 'dir c:\' to view content.

Yes, I see: so, it is enough the simple presence of "catch22" folder in image root without further action? :lol:
However, about Windows- installation drive letter assignment, in my opinion then there is virtually no difference if it is C:\ or D:\... ;)

To my knowledge, the wdsys.sys has no restrictions with ramloads under 640 Mb in PE-mode.

Thanks for your reply, now I can confirm that: changing the PC date to ten years (!) later then no issue/expiration occurs. ;)

#89 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 06 July 2009 - 07:30 AM

I've just found a simpler way to boot XP Recovery Console with minimal hacking. ;) :lol:

First of all create a "XRC.iso" following the related instructions here http://www.boot-land...?...ost&p=70268 or here http://www.boot-land...?...ost&p=14548 and then compress it from Command Prompt with the following

makecab xrc.iso
the result will be "xrc.is_" (with the size reduced about 20%)

Then create a HD image named "xrc.dsk" of an appropriate size with jaclaz's MKIMG batch following the related instructions from here http://www.boot-land...amp;#entry38187

Copy in your mounted image root:

"xrc.is_" file

"ntdetect.com" and "setupldr.bin" files from WS2003SP1

"winnt.sif" file with the following entries

[SetupData]

BootDevice = "ramdisk(0)"

BootPath = "\I386\"

OsLoadOptions = "/noguiboot /fastdetect /rdexportascd /rdpath=xrc.is_"
Then hex-edit the image replacing the "NTLDR" occurrence in its MBR with "SETUPLDRBIN" one.

Unmount the image and copy it to a "boot" folder on your USB Flash Drive root.

Add the following entries in your "menu.lst"

title XP Recovery Console

map --mem /boot/xrc.dsk (hd0)

map --hook

root (hd0,0)

chainloader (hd0,0)+1

Enjoy! ;)

#90 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 06 July 2009 - 10:24 PM

Then hex-edit the image replacing the "NTLDR" occurrence in its MBR with "SETUPLDRBIN" one.


JFYI :lol::
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2362

Following one of cdob's hint here:
http://www.msfn.org/...o...1384&st=197


I put together a small batch file to perform a copy of current bootsector of a partition (FAT16 or FAT32, NT/2K/XP/2003 "standard" bootsector invoking NTLDR) and to modify this copy as to load ANOTHER loader, for example SETUPLDR.BIN, thus making this copy "chainloadable" from NTLDR through a BOOT.INI entry.



When using a .iso ( or a compressed .is_) unfortunately there is no way to use the "no more CATCH 22" trick, thus limiting greatly the amount of things possible with Recovery Console, unless of course the user of the PC had foreseen the need to use RC and actually set the appropriate values in Registry when the system was healthy.
In my personal experience I NEVER found a machine that had these "properly" set. ;)

For the record, the original post about the "no more CATCH 22" trick is here:
http://www.911cd.net...o...20983&st=25

online,
since you are willing to experiment with RC ;) , there are a few possible betterings that still need to be tested/detailed (of course only if you have time and wish to ;)) :

Next steps:
1) Remove "oldish" unneeded drivers
2) Minimize TXTSETUP.SIF/TXTSETUP.SI_ from 461 Kb/74 Kb
(I made a test where TXTSETUP.SIF/TXTSETUP.SI_ were 8 Kb/3 Kb, but it needs a few betterings)
3) find a "modular" way to remove/add drivers and remove unused keyboard mappings
4) find a way to avoid the 5 seconds delay for different keyboard layout choosing
5) find the smallest possible image size and "better" filesystem for it
6) automate the whole thing via batch
7) some other semi-random ideas that may come out


Points 1) to 4) may shave off several seconds off boot time.

;)

jaclaz

#91 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 07 July 2009 - 08:05 PM

@cdob

After some tests now I think your procedure result is better rather than my "simpler" one offering 2 advantages: it's not needed to press the "R" key in order to start RC and the (jaclaz's) "catch22" trick can work. ;)

For the record, the original post about the "no more CATCH 22" trick is here:
http://www.911cd.net...o...20983&st=25

Sorry if I had misunderstood its usage, but really I did not remember it. ;)

Btw: during a preliminary test the "gzip" compression does not seem to offer a great (really it is very small) image-size reduction...


@jaclaz
So many thanks for your appreciated reply. ;)

I've just renamed your "SETALLON" file to "ON" and your "catch22" folder to "batch_on" in order to remember (really, not to forget) the related command when_&_if it will be needed. ;)

Btw1: with a bit of time I will try to "accept" (at least partially) your further challenge... :lol:

Btw2: please, could you tell me if there is any circumstance in which the letter assignment about the connected Windows installation under RC could be an issue?
In my opinion http://www.boot-land...?...ost&p=70268 it seems to me no matter...
Many thanks again! ;)

#92 cdob

cdob

    Silver Member

  • Expert
  • 976 posts

Posted 07 July 2009 - 09:50 PM

Btw: during a preliminary test the "gzip" compression does not seem to offer a great (really it is very small) image-size reduction...

I've: a 8 mb image, 1.2 mb free.
gzip compressed image is 4.4 mb.
Zero unused space first, compress 'gzip -9' the image next.

could you tell me if there is any circumstance in which the letter assignment about the connected Windows installation under RC could be an issue?

There is no real issue at RC. Just a nice feature, free letter c: for other usage.
It's isssue at Windows installation: a average end user expect windows at c:

@jaclaz
Yes, I rember http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19960
Actually this was the reason to introduce drive letter assignment at recovery console.
Just a proove of concept: drive letter assignment does work at RAM loaded image.
Final goal back then and now: XP installation from a RAM loaded image
General I don't abonden a open question, sometimes I put a question on hold, a answer may take several years.

#93 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 08 July 2009 - 06:15 AM

Zero unused space first, compress 'gzip -9' the image next.

Really I did try (one attempt, just for testing) with 7-Zip (containing "gzip" code) on a 65MB image and then the result was as already reported...
Thanks for your hint, I will try so.

a answer may take several years.

:lol: ;) ;)

#94 online

online

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 767 posts

Posted 08 July 2009 - 06:37 AM

To avoid the grub4dos warning, use a "correct size":
10Mb=10x1,024x1,024=10,485,760 bytes
10,485,760/512=20,480 sectors
20,480/63=325.0793.... heads
326/16=20.375 cylinders
Then:
21x16x63x512=21,168 sectors
21,168*512=10,838,016 bytes

@jaclaz

Just to report a typo (bolding is mine).
Please, note that the x512 factor should be removed from your (appreciated) example. :lol:

#95 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,178 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 08 July 2009 - 09:13 AM

For the record, the original post about the "no more CATCH 22" trick is here:
http://www.911cd.net...o...20983&st=25

The CATCH22 trick is very usefull to unlimit the functionality of the Recovery Console, so that one has access to any folder.

In case of a Recovery Console Superfloppy Image file it is possible to use the CATCH22 trick of jaclaz as well. In that case one can provide the CATCH22 folder in the root of an USB-stick and can boot with the RC Superfloppy Image from Local Harddisk or from USB-stick.
So in that case the CATCH22 folder should not be part of the Image file.

#96 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 July 2009 - 12:22 PM

The CATCH22 trick is very usefull to unlimit the functionality of the Recovery Console, so that one has access to any folder.

In case of a Recovery Console Superfloppy Image file it is possible to use the CATCH22 trick of jaclaz as well. In that case one can provide the CATCH22 folder in the root of an USB-stick and can boot with the RC Superfloppy Image from Local Harddisk or from USB-stick.
So in that case the CATCH22 folder should not be part of the Image file.


Yes, if we accept the idea of something "external" to the image and the device on which the CATCH22 directory is made is a "HD-like" one (i.e. it can generate a valid "bootable" ARCPATH), it should work also with the compressed .iso->.is_ method by online.

jaclaz

#97 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,178 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 09 July 2009 - 10:55 AM

Now you can use my NEW program Make_IMG.exe of U_XP_SET package to Make and Install 15 MB XP Recovery Console FAT12 IMG file Booting from RAMDISK and made from Windows XP Setup Source.
http://www.boot-land...?...5306&st=259

I would like to thank jaclaz to allow me to add his CATCH22 folder to the U_XP_SET package.
Make_IMG.exe will add the CATCH22 folder to the root of HD-like Target device, when Make_IMG.exe is used for Install of a Recovery Console Superfloppy Boot Image file.
This allows to use the Recovery Console without using admin password and to get unlimited access to any folder by connecting to CATCH22 instead of to the WINDOWS folder.
http://www.911cd.net...o...20983&st=25

#98 maanu

maanu

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1,125 posts
  •  
    Pakistan

Posted 09 July 2009 - 12:48 PM

thanks for the efforts mate , i ll test and reply back asap.

ps . latest G4D is from 20.6.09 . not 11th , i was also following nufans page ,bt then i read this post ,

http://www.boot-land...art=#entry71382

#99 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 885 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 18 July 2009 - 11:24 PM

Final goal back then and now: XP installation from a RAM loaded image
General I don't abonden a open question, sometimes I put a question on hold, a answer may take several years.

It is no problem to include a whole unattended install on the image in such a ramboot (assuming the job is done in less than an hour).

It may eventually take about a minute or so more in boottime, but where is the actual time saver from such an install from ramdisk?

Joakim

#100 maanu

maanu

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1,125 posts
  •  
    Pakistan

Posted 19 July 2009 - 07:41 PM

hi guys , i have some confusions/questions about booting RC from usb.

a. does wimb's new tool can manage to add mass storage drivers to RC ? i mean if im not wrong ,i have read that his tool can read the configs from a xp sp3 sliptstreamed with mass storage drivers , to make a RC image that can be used on sata systems .
i have made 2 RC images of xp sp3 ,2k3 sp2 (both slipstreamed first with mass storage drivers ) , they produced .img files ,i just replaced setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys ,and now can be called as super floppy image from G4D , BUT if there is no ntdetect.com present in the root of usb , sweet NTDETECT.COM failed is always waiting for me at the very beginning.

now my question is , is THERE anyway by which we can PACK CATCH22 folder(which is now automatically made by wimb's latest make_IMG) ,rcons.sif,ntdetect.com inside the same RECONS.img

i just want all this stuff in one single image , p.s IF it can be called just as super floppy image on its own . then i guess we wont need recons.sif ? ..

the reason why im asking all this in one packed ? read the post # 577 . 580 and post# 581 here ...
http://www.boot-land...?...1580&st=570