Jump to content











Photo

Newcomer's Tutorial - LiveXP with Optional BootSDI!


  • Please log in to reply
440 replies to this topic

#426 tefole

tefole

    Member

  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • Location:Heidelberg
  •  
    Germany

Posted 14 September 2010 - 04:06 AM

Hi,
ppApps is wonderful thing. working like a charm, its much more than the icing on the cake.
i would like to move ppapps to one deeper subfolder [root]/boot/ppapps..
just one question, is it possible to use an other path/folder than [root]/ppapps?

#427 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 September 2010 - 04:49 AM

ppApps is wonderful thing. working like a charm, its much more than the icing on the cake.

:)

i would like to move ppapps to one deeper subfolder [root]/boot/ppapps..
just one question, is it possible to use an other path/folder than [root]/ppapps?

Currently, ppAppsGenPE.exe only looks for ppApps or ppappsLive (ncs) at the root of every drive so more than one folder is possible. If you want to change this, it will have to be done in source; should be easy but I haven't tried it. Here's all you need if you want to give it a go :hyper:
Attached File  ppAppsGenPE_v1.5.0.zip   687.3KB   80 downloads

--
Here's a working mod that looks for ppapps in any ":\boot\" --tip: you can use iso editor and gimagex to replace file without need to rebuild from scratch ;)
Attached File  ppAppsGenPE_mod.zip   366.73KB   60 downloads

#428 tefole

tefole

    Member

  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • Location:Heidelberg
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 September 2010 - 04:19 PM

thx for reply and for the source.
by your leave, i've included the path to the app script (interface), to be more flexible :hyper:
there was some bugs in the original au3 source, i made some additional changes at Line 53x (;Script) and 55x (;RegEntries), otherwise it wouldnt work with changed path.
The source files are included in the script.

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

http://www.mediafire...46e6e73dbb4b085

#429 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 September 2010 - 08:19 PM

Nice! Thank you, I'll check it out next build :hyper:

#430 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 414 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 October 2010 - 03:34 AM

Thanks for all your work amalux.

Unfortunately, after I ran the default build and tried to test it in Virtualbox, I just get a black screen. I think I should be seeing a Grub menu but it's not even getting that far.

Hmm, I've zipped up the log file but now I can't work out how to add attachments to my post! Who's hidden the button :dubbio:

#431 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 October 2010 - 04:06 AM

Hey doveman :dubbio: , yeah it'll work fine in Vbox, VM etc. Just make sure you allow enough RAM (default should be fine) and that you setup the ISO like this:
Attached File  iso.png   5.92KB   16 downloads
(in your case LiveXP)

Not really a button; you don't see this, bottom-right, under the text edit screen?
Attached File  choose.png   1.66KB   14 downloads

At least tell me the source you're using; should be untouched retail (not OEM), XP SP2+ if possible. Tell me about any changes made from the default setup as downloaded, which project it is and your base directory path e.g. "C:\lxBuild". OS it's built on shouldn't matter but if it's 64bit, give me some details so I can try to reproduce conditions for testing.

#432 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 414 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 October 2010 - 09:51 PM

Yeah, I've got RAM set to 256MB and the CD settings look OK, like this. I tried changing the Type from PIIX4 to ICH6 but that didn't make any difference.

Posted Image

As for the missing attachment section, this is what my screen looks in both Opera 10.63 and IE7.

Posted Image

As for the source I'm building from, it's untouched XP Pro SP3. I have configured the WinNT.sif to make it unattended, although that's not going to stop the CD ISO booting to the Grub4Dos menu.

I didn't make any changes from the default setup, it's running from D:\lx78sp6cxw and I'm building on XP Pro SP3 (32bit).

I've uploaded the log to here for now, in case it's useful.

EDIT: I've just booted the ISO from my real grub4dos menu (IE on baremetal) and that works fine, so it's a VirtualBox issue, not a problem with the ISO.

Edited by doveman, 23 October 2010 - 10:18 PM.


#433 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 October 2010 - 12:38 AM

Yeah, I've got RAM set to 256MB and the CD settings look OK, like this. I tried changing the Type from PIIX4 to ICH6 but that didn't make any difference.

You're right, it seems Vbox doesn't recognize the grldr setup because the same image without it works fine. Grldr setup works in VM lite here so would appear to confirm Vbox is the issue :dubbio:


As for the missing attachment section, this is what my screen looks in both Opera 10.63 and IE7.

Sorry, just heard from Nuno you need to have 100+ posts now for this option :hi:

#434 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 414 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 October 2010 - 10:39 AM

Ah, stupid Vbox. I'll have to use VM for testing grldr ISOs then.

Only another 35 postings to go till I can post attachments :dubbio:

#435 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 October 2010 - 10:07 PM

Only another 35 postings to go till I can post attachments :dubbio:

Yes, at your current rate of 0.07/day, that's only 245 500 more days! ;)

Ah, stupid Vbox. I'll have to use VM for testing grldr ISOs then.

According to Lancelot, tinybit's version of grldr should fix this; I'll let you know when I test it.

:hi:

--
Yeah, Tinybit's grldr still not working in Vbox, better to stick with VMware for testing ;)

#436 MattMan85

MattMan85
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 January 2011 - 04:51 PM

I'm having an issue where the winbuilder is seeing an nlite source and its causing winbuilder to abort project build. here is a mediafire link for my log.zip:

log.zip

Edited by MattMan85, 25 January 2011 - 05:10 PM.


#437 olegpov

olegpov

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Orel
  • Interests:BSD systems

Posted 25 January 2011 - 05:18 PM

I'm having an issue where the winbuilder is seeing an nlite source and its causing winbuilder to abort project build. here is a mediafire link for my log.zip:
log.zip

And should be.
Project LiveXP can be created only from the original WinXP or Win2003 distribution. Or you should make necessary changes in options of OnProjectRun script

#438 sagar.bua

sagar.bua
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 23 February 2012 - 02:27 PM

I've followed the project and didn't change nething bt after reache dat the desktop screen it again restarts showing message not enough page file. I have 2GB ram. Plz help

#439 raphaelmg

raphaelmg
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 27 September 2012 - 05:08 AM

First of all, i would like to apologize because my post is not stricly related to any problem on following Amalux great tutorial (excellent job, it really open my mind!!), however, i can´t figure out a better place to post it... :(

So, let's to the point: i can not get Amalux LiveXP "version" to work with, due to it was deleted from mediafire (and rapidshare too), thus i would like some help on how to get it. I´ve searched for it in others hosters and even on torrents but not getting success.

Anyone can suggest something? Is it possible that someone seed it on torrent?

Sorry again if i was inconvenient in posting this issue here.

Thank you in advance.

PS: sorry for my english... i am still learning!

#440 carib909

carib909
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 December 2012 - 01:30 AM

Brand new newbie at this. Where do you put all those files you indicate we will need for the project? for  How do you insert into the build?



#441 TheJ

TheJ
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 November 2013 - 10:04 PM

The download links in the tutorial (specifically, pointing to;)

 

Win7PE_SE (W7.061612) with full portable app's (ppApps) support, driver import, built-in HDD backup/restore and much more.

 

hosted (at least formerly) on Rapid Share returns the error "File Not Found."

 

Could you please provide a working link, or send me a copy of the project?

 

I would prefer to follow along with the tutorial.

 

Thanking you in advance ...






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users