Jump to content











Photo

Run ISO in RAM (LiveXP.ISO)


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 04 July 2008 - 09:19 PM

=============================================================================
Run ISO in RAM (LiveXP.ISO)
=============================================================================

Hi

In this small tutor ,i am going to tell you how to Run LiveXP.ISO in Ram.Remember that
it is essential to use files that i have uploaded as Needs.zip in attachment.

In Needs.zip you will find all you need to make ISO to work.

I have tried the tutorial contents several times ,all were OK (Ofcourse my checks was
done by QEMU ).

Please Do the steps as i explain,if not it may not work.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
============================================
Step_1.Making Files needed for creating ISO
============================================

1.Run WinBuilder,to make your favorite LiveXP ISO.If you have selected the default pathes
for output folders,after a few minutes,program will make two folders in WinBuilder
directory:

ISO folder that contain livexp.iso and target directory that contains LiveXP folder.
LiveXP folder contais files needed for making livexp.iso

2.Copy "LiveXP" directoy to C:\,(so you will have C:/LiveXP).

3.Delete files below from C:\LiveXP\I386\directory:

SETUPLDR.BIN
NTDETECT.COM

4.Copy SETUPLDR.BIN and NTDETECT.COM from needs folder (get from attachment) to
C:\LiveXP\I386\directory


5.Delete file RAMDISK.SYS from C:\LiveXP\I386\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ directory and
copy RAMDISK.SYS from needs folder (get from attachment) to there.


6.Open C:\LiveXP\I386\txtsetup.sif by notepad and add line "ramdisk=ramdisk.sys"
in [ScsiClass.Load] section.it should be some thing like:

[ScsiClass.Load]
cdrom=cdrom.sys
disk=disk.sys
ramdisk=ramdisk.sys

7.Copy RamPE folder from attachment to C: (you will have C:\C:\RamPE).

=================================
Step_2.Making First needed ISO
=================================

Now you should make ISO of folder C:\LiveXP\ as below:

1.Open UltraIso ,select C:\LiveXP\ contents to make iso (see figur_01),use file
C:\LiveXP\bootsect.bin as boot loader.

2.go to file in menue and click on properties,then in comming window (see figur_02),
uncheck "Allow lower case" and click on OK

3.Save ISO by the name of LIVEXP in C:\RamPE\

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
=================================
Step_3.Making Ram ISO
=================================

1.Copy mkisofs.exe (from attachment) to C:\

2.Run Makexp.bat (from attachment),it will make C:\LXP_ram.iso (120M in my exprement)
from contents of C:\RamPE folder.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

That is all,check that then burn it and enjoy.

Hope will help some

have nice times

shirin zaban

Attached Files

  • Attached File  01.png   58.47KB   733 downloads


#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 06 July 2008 - 11:38 AM

THE ATTACHMENT CONTAINS MICROSOFT FILES THAT ARE NOT REDISTRIBUTABLE

jaclaz

#3 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 06 July 2008 - 03:39 PM

===================================
Modification
===================================
Hi

1.Thanks jaclaz for informing me.

2.As dear jaclaz mentioned and i did not know,I can not send you the real files
but you can continue as below to do that your self:

================================================================================

-------------------------------------------------
Making RamPE folder and needed files for tutoial
-------------------------------------------------

A).Make directory C:\RamPE

:).Make directory C:\RamPE\I386

C).Copy C:\LiveXP\bootsect.bin, make it upper case (BOOTSECT.BIN) and paste in
C:\RamPE\ directory.

D).Open notepad and type lines below on it ,then save it as WINNT.SIF (upper case)
in RamPE\ directory

[SetupData]
BootDevice = "ramdisk(0)"
BootPath = "\i386\System32\"
OsLoadOptions = "/noguiboot /fastdetect /minint /rdexportascd /rdpath=LiveXP.iso"

E).Copy files below from windows 2003 sp1 to C:\RamPE\I386\

NTDETECT.COM (upper case)
SETUPLDR.BIN (upper case)

================================================================================
------------------------
Making MakeXP.bat file:
------------------------

Type lines below on notepad,then save it as MakePE.bat (not MakeXP.bat.txt !!!)

----------


c:
mkisofs.exe -iso-level 4 -volid "shirin" -A shirin/MKISOFS -sysid "Win32" -no-emul-boot -b BOOTSECT.BIN

-hide BOOTSECT.BIN -o LXP_ram.iso "C:\rampe"

-----------
================================================================================

------------------------
Other needs:
------------------------
After Deleting file RAMDISK.SYS from C:\LiveXP\I386\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ directory
Get RAMDISK.SY_ from windows 2003 sp1,extract it some where ,you will have
RAMDISK.SYS (make it upper case).

Copy this RAMDISK.SYS and paste it in C:\LiveXP\I386\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ directory .

You can get file mkisofs.exe that is used in tutor from winbuilder in address below:

Winbuilder directory\\Projects\Tools\

================================================================================

thats all
have nice times

shirin zaban

#4 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 10 July 2008 - 10:58 AM

I missed the winnt.sif step you wrote, now everthing works fine.

why "ramdisk=ramdisk.sys" is missing in creating iso, i dont know yet. (need to read more i guess)
and it would be nicer to have " I provide this files ramdisk.sys, setupldr.bin from 2k3sp1 at " section on create iso script. :).
or maybe adding a "create bootable iso section" too :).

till that day, thanks for this nice tutorial.

#5 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 10 July 2008 - 11:03 AM

It could be added without much difficulty by copying the necessary lines from the BootSDI script. I'll try to get around to this if no one else takes it up.

Regards,
Galapo.

#6 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 10 July 2008 - 12:58 PM

I missed the winnt.sif step you wrote, now everthing works fine.

why "ramdisk=ramdisk.sys" is missing in creating iso, i dont know yet. (need to read more i guess)
and it would be nicer to have " I provide this files ramdisk.sys, setupldr.bin from 2k3sp1 at " section on create iso script. :).
or maybe adding a "create bootable iso section" too :).

till that day, thanks for this nice tutorial.

====================================

Hi dear Lancelot

Thank you for your attention and idea

have nice times

shirin zaban

#7 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 10 July 2008 - 11:26 PM

I've uploaded version 26 of the CreateISO script to the LiveXP server to which I have added the option of including setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys from 2k3 prior to ISO creation.

Regards,
Galapo.

#8 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 11 July 2008 - 12:00 AM

I've uploaded version 26 of the CreateISO script to the LiveXP server to which I have added the option of including setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys from 2k3 prior to ISO creation.

Regards,
Galapo.

=========================================

Hi Dear

Thank you for nice and fast work.

have good times

shirin zaban

#9 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 11 July 2008 - 12:02 AM

That's OK, Shirin. Hope it's useful to you and Lancelot.

Regards,
Galapo.

#10 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 11 July 2008 - 01:03 AM

It could be added without much difficulty by copying the necessary lines from the BootSDI script. I'll try to get around to this if no one else takes it up.
--------------------------

I've uploaded version 26 of the CreateISO script to the LiveXP server to which I have added the option of including setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys from 2k3 prior to ISO creation.

Regards,
Galapo.


Thanks Galapo, I wish i can write .script and send here, still learning, in future I think I will do that too.

Now it is easier and faster to make real computer trials using winbuilder on x64 at faster pc :) .

#11 magic12kenneth

magic12kenneth

    Member

  • Members
  • 79 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 August 2008 - 06:18 AM

I've uploaded version 26 of the CreateISO script to the LiveXP server to which I have added the option of including setupldr.bin and ramdisk.sys from 2k3 prior to ISO creation.

Regards,
Galapo.


Is there any advantage of using CreateISO.script to boot LiveXP in RAM compare to BootSDI.script? I'm new to all this.

Kenneth

#12 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 15 August 2008 - 06:34 AM

Is there any advantage of using CreateISO.script to boot LiveXP in RAM compare to BootSDI.script? I'm new to all this.

Kenneth


1) Faster Tests :whistling: on real computer
also
2) You can use already made livexp cd iso's on your computer harddisk by reading Shirin's tutorial.

#13 mahdi

mahdi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  •  
    Iran

Posted 24 February 2009 - 05:21 PM

Thanks it works.very usefull tutorial




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users