Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Boot from usb without formatting it first


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 mtsblogs

mtsblogs
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 June 2008 - 12:00 AM

Hi,

I have grub4dos that works fine and SLAX on 8gb usb

I want to add LiveXP. I've compiled it and got LiveXP directory. When I copy it to usb and add relevant chages to run from Grub4DOS - the system crashes and restarts after I've selected it from the boot menu.

How can i avoid formatting the stick and what are the best commands to start livexp from grub4dos manually? Its hard to find documentation on memory, etc.

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 June 2008 - 09:07 AM

Hmmm, this game is played a bit differently....:)

You tell us WHAT:

relevant chages to run from Grub4DOS

you made and maybe we can spot where the problem is.

General:
directory /minint or, better yet /I386 with SETUPLDR.BIN hexedited:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=17504

title PE build
find --set-root /I386/setupldr.bin
chainloader /I386/setupldr.bin
boot


Did you check that the Build you made is otherwise working (in Qemu)?

Are you using "particular" drivers (SATA, SCSI, etc.) for disk drives?

Are you booting directly or through Ramdisk?

Which filesystems are used on the stick partition(s)?

jaclaz

#3 mtsblogs

mtsblogs
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 June 2008 - 09:43 AM

I see the potential errors already.

In Grub4dos I have the following:

title LiveXP
find --set-root /LiveXP/i386/setupldr.bin
chainloader /LiveXP/i386/setupldr.bin


So, straight away, could it be that I tried to keep things tidy and copied LiveXP directory, rather than it's contents. I think i've fould the article you reffer to, and hence this message.

Next, about Qemu
No, it did not work in there. I blame my laptop - Should it always work on a systme that you used to build the project?

USB stick has 1 partition as FAT32 (as it is 8gb) and I am booting directly of it.

Any ideas on the problem area?

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 June 2008 - 11:28 AM

Yes, that won't work.

The PE files NEED to be on a directory in ROOT of the device:
\I386 if on CD
\minint if on HD like

these are hardcoded in setupldr.bin, and can be edited (within limits - theoretically it maybe possible to change "\minint" to something like "\min\nt" but I see no point in doing so), as seen in the example, using \I386 "everywhere" makes sense as one can easily make a USB stick from a .iso or a .iso from a USB stick, it solves some (actually rather unusual) BIOS problems dettecting wrongly the device and, moreover, not on Winbuilder projects, but on some BartPE ones, there are some "badly written" plug-ins that have \I386 hard-coded in them.

A build should work in Qemu, do ou have any errors in the log?

Just in case:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2420
http://www.boot-land...p?showtopic=431
post your log, possibly compressed in a .zip or .7z archive.

jaclaz

#5 mtsblogs

mtsblogs
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 June 2008 - 10:09 PM

Hi again

The image now loads in emulator. Originally I used Win XP Pro SP2 disk that came with my machine, it was branded by Dell. So, i've got hold of a copy of XP Pro SP3 OEM and that image loads ok.

But it still does not boot from GRUB4DOS.

I've copied files from LiveXP directory to USB root, but I could not overwrite file called BOOT in the root folder, as one is already present on the USB. It is a 0-byte file. Here are the contents of my menu.lst file, the first part of it.

It feels that it does not even try to load PE, reboots straight away.

color black/cyan yellow/cyan
timeout 30
default /default

title Slax Graphics mode (KDE)
find --set-root /boot/vmlinuz
kernel /boot/vmlinuz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw
initrd /boot/initrd.gz

title LiveXP
find --set-root /i386/SETUPLDR.BIN
chainloader /i386/SETUPLDR.BIN
boot

title find and load NTLDR of Windows NT/2K/XP
fallback 1
find --set-root /ntldr
chainloader /ntldr
savedefault --wait=2
...

I am not sure if grub is case sensetive, so just incase the directory is "i386" and filename is capitalised.

#6 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 June 2008 - 09:21 AM

Use command line and enter commands manually, read these:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3833
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3086


You may have multiple files named alike....
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=4799

Check the version of grub4dos you are using, I would upgrade to version 14/05/2008 if I were you, anyway.

We still have the use of appending a little "hook like" character to sentences, called question marks :), that mean that we are asking something and would like to have an answer:

Are you using "particular" drivers (SATA, SCSI, etc.) for disk drives?

Are you booting directly or through Ramdisk?

Which filesystems are used on the stick partition(s)?


Though first one should NOT be connected to your problem, last two, may.

Re-read Common sense advice within Rules:
http://www.boot-land...?act=boardrules

With particular attention to points #d. and #f. :)

jaclaz

#7 ilko

ilko

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 500 posts
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 20 June 2008 - 05:44 PM

Umm... this has been already answered:

The PE files NEED to be on a directory in ROOT of the device:
\I386 if on CD
\minint if on HD like


I've copied files from LiveXP directory to USB root

title LiveXP
find --set-root /i386/SETUPLDR.BIN
chainloader /i386/SETUPLDR.BIN


In short- rename folder I386 to minint when booting from HD-like media. Change entries in menu.lst to /minint/...

#8 mtsblogs

mtsblogs
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 June 2008 - 11:36 AM

Umm... this has been already answered:





In short- rename folder I386 to minint when booting from HD-like media. Change entries in menu.lst to /minint/...

Hi

i've renamed i386 to minint and ammended the entries and still no progress.

Once a choice is made through GRUB4DOS the system reboots.

i've tried console commands and it does verify that minimt is found on HD0,0, at some address and that .bin file is bootable, but it does not load the system. I do not see anything - black screen followed by reboot straight away.

anything else i should be aware of?

#9 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 27 June 2008 - 11:46 AM

anything else i should be aware of?


No, but SEVERAL things WE should be aware of.

As you were told, this game is played this way:
1) you give us informations we ask
2) we may be able to help you

Shooting in the dark is simply a waste of time for both the poster and people trying to help him.

DO provide the information you were asked, ADD what you think it may be relevant.

i've tried console commands and it does verify that minimt is found on HD0,0, at some address and that .bin file is bootable, but it does not load the system. I do not see anything - black screen followed by reboot straight away.


I've never seen grub4dos reporting that a file is found "at some address" :), post the EXACT commands you typed and the EXACT feedback grub4dos gave you.

jaclaz

#10 mtsblogs

mtsblogs
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 June 2008 - 01:19 PM

No, but SEVERAL things WE should be aware of.

As you were told, this game is played this way:
1) you give us informations we ask
2) we may be able to help you

Shooting in the dark is simply a waste of time for both the poster and people trying to help him.

DO provide the information you were asked, ADD what you think it may be relevant.



I've never seen grub4dos reporting that a file is found "at some address" :), post the EXACT commands you typed and the EXACT feedback grub4dos gave you.

jaclaz


OK, here is the full responce to the two boot commands

find --set-root /minint/SETUPLDR.BIN
grub> (hd0,0)
Filesystem is FAT, partition type 0xC


chainloader /minint/SETUPLDR.BIN
grub> Will boot NTLDR from drive 0x80 partition = 0x0 (hidden sectors=0x3f)


I hope this helps, let me know what other commands are of high importance to you. As per topics you've reffered to above - i do get expected hd0,0 as the main root drive.

#11 ilko

ilko

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 500 posts
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 27 June 2008 - 03:30 PM

Why do you keep using /i386/ :)
You also have to have ntdetect.com in the root of in your case (hd0,0).

#12 mtsblogs

mtsblogs
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 June 2008 - 05:19 PM

Why do you keep using /i386/ :)
You also have to have ntdetect.com in the root of in your case (hd0,0).

Yes, you are right!

I have changed to minint, but when doing the post i've copy/pasted from an earlier topic the entries and simply added grub's responce.
This is the responce from minint directory, not i386. I've also edited the post.

i've copied ntdetect. com to the root too, will try it now..

#13 mtsblogs

mtsblogs
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 30 June 2008 - 10:43 AM

i've tried winbuilder 075 beta 4, but still the same problem.

This time i have much more folders in the root of the memory stick and i did rename i386 to minint

Once grub has loaded and i have made a choice to boot LiveXP - the system reboots. What can i try to get it to work?

#14 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:21 AM

What can i try to get it to work?


Look, you are the first one reporting this kind of problem, so you might want to start again from scratch, there must be something that you either do improperly or fail to report.

1) Forget (momentarily) about LiveXP
2) Read this tutorial by Amalux:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=4111
and get one of the pre-packaged thingies, possibly this one:
lx40308ln
http://amalux.winbui...t/lx40308ln.exe
build EXACTLY as explained in the tutorial, DO NOT add anything, DO NOT remove anything
3) test the build in Qemu
4) burn the CD
5) test the burned CD on your machine
6) copy the /I386 directory on CD to your stick
7) do what you were told to do on post #2:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=17504
edit SETUPLDR.BIN to use \I386 on stick/hd
8) have the modified SETUPLDR.BIN and NTDETECT.COM in the root of the stick
9) for the sake of the experiment add to the root of the stick:
NTLDR
a boot.ini with this contents:
[boot loader]

timeout=30

default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS

[operating systems]

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="A NT based System" /fastdetect

C:\grldr="grub4dos"
an empty file named thisisit.tag
10) Add to the root of the stick grldr from the grub4dos package, get this package:
http://grub4dos.jot....-2008-05-14.zip?
11) Add to menu.lst in root of the stick these entries:
title NTLDR

find --set-root /thisisit.tag

chainloader /ntldr



title SETUPLDR.BIN

find --set-root /thisisit.tag

chainloader /setupldr.bin

Try booting from the stick, choose "NTLDR".
Can you see the BOOT.INI choices between "a NT based system" and "grub4dos"?
Choose grub4dos.
This time choose "SETUPLDR.BIN".

What happens?

jaclaz

#15 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 10 July 2008 - 03:10 PM

me also use slax6, with Livexp on 2nd disk (not with this method, but i tried this one before i write here).

mtsblogs, in livexp:
dont select Finish-->1 Optimization-->Wimpack
select Finish-->2 Create Image-->Boot SDI, and provide files mentioned there (at the bottom)
(if you have x64 os, Boot sdi will end with error, but dont worry it wont effect the procedure i write here)

go to
%base%\Target\LiveXP
folder, and rename i386 to minint
than copy
%base%\Target\LiveXP\minint
%base%\Target\LiveXP\Program Files
to the 2nd drive.

than in menu.lst write:

title LiveXP

find --set-root /minint/SETUPLDR.BIN

chainloader /minint/SETUPLDR.BIN

boot

This worked for me. (just tried and post this message here)
Inform if it works fo you too :) .


i am not an expert like jaclaz, these are what i do to make livexp work as mentioned here. Thanks to jaclaz for links, i am still reading and learning things about winbuilder and winpe and links of jaclaz helps a lot.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users