Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

BartPE .INF


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2008 - 03:18 PM

Currently in the BartPE conversion of WB 075 beta 4 I have an issue with some shortcuts.

I have the snippet:

[WinntDirectories]
a="Programs\freeCommander",2

[SourceDisksFolders]
files=a,,1

What has to be done:

Copy the content of 'files' to ...\Programs\freeCommander ?
Copy the complete folder 'files' to ...\Programs\freeCommander, generating ...\Programs\freeCommander\files ?

Peter

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2008 - 03:33 PM

Maybe the MS orientated documentation can help.

BartPE .INF is a wrapper to the MS .INF

Codes in the [Files] Section of TXTSETUP.SIF for File Copy

Status Code - Copy Action
0 - Always copies the file
1 - Copies the file only if it exists in the installation directory
2 - Does not copy the file if it exists in the installation directory
3 - Does not copy the file

http://gosh.msfn.org/txtsetup.htm

:)

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2008 - 03:37 PM

Maybe the MS orientated documentation can help.

BartPE .INF is a wrapper to the MS .INF


http://gosh.msfn.org/txtsetup.htm

:)

That unfortunatelly does not help me.
My question meant whether should I get the result
  • ...\Programs\freeCommander\file1
    ...\Programs\freeCommander\file2
    ...\Programs\freeCommander\filex
  • ...\Programs\freeCommander\files\file1
    ...\Programs\freeCommander\files\file2
    ...\Programs\freeCommander\files\filex
Peter

#4 smiley

smiley

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 905 posts
  •  
    Greece

Posted 17 June 2008 - 03:38 PM

This is the correct the result:
[list][*]...\Programs\freeCommander\file1

...\Programs\freeCommander\file2

...\Programs\freeCommander\filex[/list]

Maybe the MS orientated documentation can help.

BartPE .INF is a wrapper to the MS .INF

That's wrong because bartpe inf files and ms inf files have different sysntax

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2008 - 03:41 PM

This is the correct the result:

[list][*]...\Programs\freeCommander\file1

 ...\Programs\freeCommander\file2

 ...\Programs\freeCommander\filex[/list]

Thanks smiley!

I unfortunatelly in previous times decided for the second choice.
Something to do now ...

Peter

#6 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 17 June 2008 - 05:56 PM

I unfortunatelly in previous times decided for the second choice.

:) Why did you choose to go with the less likely option?

:)

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2008 - 06:18 PM

:) Why did you choose to go with the less likely option?

:)

Since the middle of the 80th my logic helps me to earn money.
If my logic would be generally bad, I'm sure that I would be already bancrupt.

And here my logic says:
'move [SourceDiskFolder] to [WinNTDirectories]'
  • Copy the folder >> True
  • Copy the contents of the folder >> False
Maybe B. has his own logic. I sometimes think so.

Peter

#8 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 17 June 2008 - 06:33 PM

My logic would have said this:
FreeCommander.exe in folder Programs\FreeCommander = logical
FreeCommander.exe in folder Programs\FreeCommander\Files = illogical

Live long and prosper! :)

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2008 - 06:55 PM

My logic would have said this:
FreeCommander.exe in folder Programs\FreeCommander = logical
FreeCommander.exe in folder Programs\FreeCommander\Files = illogical

Live long and prosper! :)

That's the difference why I survived as freelancer and you maybe as employee.
If you are looking for a general rule of 'something' (in this case 'copy') you must never look at the contents itself!

Peter :)

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 17 June 2008 - 08:50 PM

That's the difference why I survived as freelancer and you maybe as employee.
If you are looking for a general rule of 'something' (in this case 'copy') you must never look at the contents itself!

So your survival as a freelancer was pure luck, i guess, since your way yielded a wrong result! :)

:)

#11 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2008 - 09:16 PM

....
That's wrong because bartpe inf files and ms inf files have different sysntax


It's an visual illusion.. :)

The syntax found on bartpe plugins is the result of a small cosmetic operation some years ago introduced by version 2.x to please the MS staff because bart pe is uses the same .INF engine as Windows PE 1.x/XP uses to be installed/created.

Bart's PE builder loads the bartPE plugin, replaces all his cosmetic titles into MS .INF titles (along with appropriate paths) and it's a done deal to run great with setupapi.dll

Why do you think that bartpe doesn't support choosing which files to copy over to the boot disk and it's plugins "natively" support functions and switches that are nowhere closely documented (except in MS related articles regarding .INF structure)? :)

Nice hat trick isn't it? :)

#12 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2008 - 10:01 PM

So your survival as a freelancer was pure luck, i guess, since your way yielded a wrong result! :)

:)

The result was correct. A different way (to look at the contents itself) would declare all OOP to comedy.
But the result has been different from that what fools expected!

That's the issue all ingenious people are usually confrontated with!

Peter

BTW: Enough of philosopic brain storming now. I have some serious tasks my boss gave me.

#13 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 17 June 2008 - 11:05 PM

1 - Always create this directory (even when empty)

2 - Create directory from (output) root (in \ and not in \i386).

Just add the values to combine. Default value for is 0

For the [SourceDisksFolders] options the line says copy the contents of the folder to the destination folder hence the Files folder does not appear in the output.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users