Jump to content











Photo

Run BartPE from Hard at boot time


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 06 June 2008 - 02:33 PM

===========================================================
Run BartPE from Hard at boot time
===========================================================

Hi

BartPE is a nice program and there are a lot of My friends that use
live CD created by PEbuider. and some of theme asked me to write a
Tutorial about using that from hard disk.They thought that information
about installing it in hard disk is not clear.

I searched web,used pebuilder 3.1.10a,and did install that to hard disk
and it worked very well.

So i am going to tell you the process of installing bartpe in my drive
c: and using that in detail.

Just pay attention that:

1.I suppose you are familiar by pebuilder and making ISO by that.

2.I have installed my PEbuilder in D:\PE\ and all refrences in tutor
uses this address.

Step_1
=======
Run pebuilder.exe and and Make just files needed( By selecting None
in Media output section .See pic_1 in attachment),because we do not
need making ISO in this Tutorial.and accept the default folder
(D:\PE\BartPE) for placing files.
program will make D:\PE\BartPE directory and will place all needed
files on that.

Step_2
=======
Go to D:\PE\plugin\peinst\ and Run peinst.cmd. The program will show
lines below in command window:

=================================================
-[MAIN]-
1) Change source path []
- Path to BartPE source files -
2) Change target path []
- Path where BartPE will be installed -
3) List or format volume(s).
- use for formatting USB Flash Devices -
4) Create, delete partition(s).
- use for partitioning a harddisk -
Q) Quit.

Enter your choice :

=================================================

type 1 an hit enter the lines below will be shown:

=================================================
Enter your choice :1

PEINST: Please give the location to your BartPE files
Enter Source path :

=================================================

Type the address of D:\PE\BartPE and hit enter the lines bellow will
be shown:

=================================================
Enter Source path ;):\pe\bartpe

-[MAIN]-
1) Change source path [d:\pe\bartpe]
- Path to BartPE source files -
2) Change target path []
- Path where BartPE will be installed -
3) List or format volume(s).
- use for formatting USB Flash Devices -
4) Create, delete partition(s).
- use for partitioning a harddisk -
Q) Quit.

Enter your choice :


===============================================
Type 2 and hit enter you will have:

=================================================

Enter your choice :2

PEINST: Please give the location where to install to
Enter Target path :

=================================================

Type the name of drive that you want to install PE on
it for this example type c: and push enter. you will have:

=================================================

PEINST: Please give the location where to install to
Enter Target path :c:

-[MAIN]-
1) Change source path [d:\pe\bartpe]
- Path to BartPE source files -
2) Change target path [c:]
- Path where BartPE will be installed -
3) List or format volume(s).
- use for formatting USB Flash Devices -
4) Create, delete partition(s).
- use for partitioning a harddisk -
5) Install BartPE to e:
- Install BartPE files -
Q) Quit.

Enter your choice :

=================================================

Type 5 and enter you will have:

=================================================

Enter your choice :5

-[INSTALL]-
1) Install BartPE files to c:
- Install the files (takes a few minutes) -
2) Install PE-loader in c:\boot.ini
- use this if you want to select BartPE in your boot.ini menu -
Q) Quit

Enter your choice :

=================================================

Type 2 and enter you will have:

=================================================

Enter your choice :2
PEINST: Checking if NT Loader is installed on drive c:
PEINST: Checking if boot.ini is on drive c:
PEINST: Installing PE Bootsector (peboot.bin)
* Expert mode (-x)
* Copy bootsector mode (-c)
Reading source boot sector from "\\.\C:"
Writing boot sector back to "c:\peboot.bin"
PEINST: Updating peboot.bin
File "c:\peboot.bin" has been read
1 replacements done
Changes written back to "c:\peboot.bin"
PEINST: Updating boot.ini
PEINST: Setting timeout to 30 seconds
PEINST: Adding BartPE entry to c:\boot.ini
PEINST: Installing PE Loader (peldr)
1 file(s) copied.
PEINST: PE-Loader installed...
Press any key to continue . . .

=================================================

Press a key you will have:

=================================================


-[MAIN]-
1) Change source path [d:\pe\bartpe]
- Path to BartPE source files -
2) Change target path [c:]
- Path where BartPE will be installed -
3) List or format volume(s).
- use for formatting USB Flash Devices -
4) Create, delete partition(s).
- use for partitioning a harddisk -
5) Install BartPE to c:
- Install BartPE files -
Q) Quit.

Enter your choice :

=================================================

Select 5 and enter you will have:

=================================================

Enter your choice :5

-[INSTALL]-
1) Install BartPE files to c:
- Install the files (takes a few minutes) -
2) Install PE-loader in c:\boot.ini
- use this if you want to select BartPE in your boot.ini menu -
Q) Quit

Enter your choice :

=================================================

select 1 and enter you will have (after a while):

=================================================
.
.
.

1210 File(s) copied
PEINST: Copying files from "d:\pe\bartpe\programs" to "c:\programs"
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\A43\a43.dat
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\A43\a43.exe
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\A43\a43.ini
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\A43\a43help.txt
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\A43\unrar.dll
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\bst5\bst5.exe
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\bst5\bst5.txt
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\bst5\bstfelic.txt
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\bst5\bstpelic.txt
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\Nu2Menu\nu2go.bmp
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\Nu2Menu\nu2menu.exe
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\Nu2Menu\nu2menu.lic
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\Nu2Menu\nu2menu.xml
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\Nu2Menu\setres.exe
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\peinst\mkbt.exe
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\peinst\nt2peldr.exe
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\peinst\peinst.cmd
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\peinst\peinst.txt
D:\pe\bartpe\programs\snapshot\snapshot.exe
19 File(s) copied

PEINST: Installation completed...
Press any key to continue . . .

=================================================

press a key you will have:

=================================================

File(s) copied

PEINST: Installation completed...
Press any key to continue . . .

-[MAIN]-
1) Change source path [d:\pe\bartpe]
- Path to BartPE source files -
2) Change target path [c:]
- Path where BartPE will be installed -
3) List or format volume(s).
- use for formatting USB Flash Devices -
4) Create, delete partition(s).
- use for partitioning a harddisk -
5) Install BartPE to c:
- Install BartPE files -
Q) Quit.

Enter your choice :

=================================================

Type Q and enter you will have:

=================================================

Enter your choice :q

PEINST: Done (PEINST.CMD will be closed)
Press any key to continue . . .

=================================================

press a key,the command window will close.Now if you Reboot your
system and select "Boot BartPE (by PE Builder)" from the boot.ini
menu ,BartPE will run from hard disk

=========================================
Notes:
1.By this proccess we will have files and directories bellow on
drive C:

Directories: "minint" and "programs"
Files:peboot.bin and peldr
and also edited boot ini files (added line below to boot.ini file):
c:\peboot.bin="Boot BartPE (by PE Builder)"

2.In this example the drive C: will be shown as X: when booting from
pe.

---------------------------
thats all .If there was a question,i am in your service.

shirin

Attached Files



#2 mahdi

mahdi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  •  
    Iran

Posted 20 February 2009 - 04:17 PM

Thanks
One day ago i tried this

worked
very good and complete

#3 Happy Haynes

Happy Haynes
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 June 2009 - 01:08 AM

Shirin:

When I attempt to install PE-loader in c:\boot.ini, I get the error code 0x20: The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process. Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help.

Happy Haynes

#4 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 08 June 2009 - 06:09 AM

Shirin:

When I attempt to install PE-loader in c:\boot.ini, I get the error code 0x20: The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process. Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help.

Happy Haynes

=================================
happy haynes
May be i could not understand your problem clearly,but if the error is not accessing to boot.ini,you should
do as below befor changing contents of boot.ini:
first you should change attribute of this file by command like "attrib -r -h"
then change contents of that

shirin zaban

#5 u0021241

u0021241
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 21 June 2009 - 12:42 AM

Hi
Verey interesting as i was using another usb boot util to set bart to run from h/d
As i am looking after our imaging across a university, creating a universal base image for all our desktop pc`s and laptops, which works pretty well.
the main reson i need bart pe reside on h/d is the use of the offlinesysprep, change hal types.

as say just looked into this way of booting to bart.
once tried it, then run offlinesysprep (plugin)
no suitable drives found
RAMDisk[B:]
Kingston [C:] (my usb stick)
WXPCCP_EN [D:] win sp3 cd
Local Disk [X:] (my C drive)

When i used my other option, it also has bart on the same drive as c:
then allows the change.
is there a way of altering this? so bart sits on with the o/s?
so c: will have both the o/s and bart?
rather than c as barp then x:\ as my drive
thx

#6 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 21 June 2009 - 06:26 AM

hi u0021241

I have worked in this tutor a long time ago after some requests.
please give me some time to work with that again,then i will try
to find out the way.

thank you

shirin zaban

#7 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 22 June 2009 - 02:47 PM

Hi u0021241

I have looked for most types of liveCd's properties as BartPE , Reatogo-X-PE ,
VistaPE ,WinBuilder,and some others,All of them are working in ram.

By my knowledge,they can not run in C:,D:. or ... (when you put them in C:\
and run from boot.ini.as my tutor,again it will work in ram).

The only program that i know and can run from C: is "XXXX" (i am sorry i can
not tell it's name,if i do ,jaclaz will punish me!!).

Any way for learning purpose,note that if you select "run from C:\...." in "XXXX"
it will extract needed files to c:\ ,then will boot from c:

note that XXXX can do this by using win98 boot files,and it can be done only in
FAT and FAT32 partitions.

May be other friends know other methodes and will tell us about.

hope these notes can be some help.

shirin zaban

#8 u0021241

u0021241
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 June 2009 - 12:59 AM

Thankyou for the prompt responce.
Not too bothered that this boots from ram.
My main concern is when i run offlinesysprep (added into the build)
tried this way as well as your post. "no suitable drives found"
Again could you please help me out with this much appreciated.

1. Select 1) C:\pebuilder3110a\BartPE
2. Select 2) C:
3. Select 5)
4. Select 2) (press any key to continue)
5. Select 2) (usb drive (f:)
6. Select 5) 5) Install BartPE to f:
- Install BartPE files -
7. Select 1) (copies all files) 196 Files copied
PEINST: complete

USB stick: Files/folders...
minint
programs
NT detect.com
ntkldr

Now tried each 1 copied over to c: without joy.
Boot into PE
Offlinesysprep

Rescan "no suitable drives found"
O/S System: undetermined
Service Pack level: undetermined
system is drive "x" not detected no matter what files/folders i copied over.

Just needing an easyier way to run offlinesysprep to give the HAL change option.

regards

#9 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 24 June 2009 - 05:52 AM

Hi u0021241

Just needing an easyier way to run offlinesysprep to give the HAL change option.

I havent clearly understand your problem, I see you can run "BartPE from Hard at boot time", galapo is the author of offlinesysprep and it may be better to ask question about offlinesysprep (&realated staff) on its topic. http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=3207
Check topic first, maybe somebody else already had and solved your issue. If not Please make summary of your goals like ""universal base image" across a university" and details for what method you are trying and issue on offline topic.

Good luck ;)

#10 wilma05

wilma05

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 December 2009 - 02:12 AM

great tutorial so far, but this only works if the target drive already has a ntldr and a boot.ini-file, because the OS is already installed on it for example.

What if I want to create a HDD that just contains the BartPE? What kind of ntldr and boot.ini am I supposed to use?! I tried to copy those of my internal system disk, but after peinst went on fine, I get an MBR Error upon boot...

I appreciate any helpful hints...

#11 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 21 December 2009 - 08:13 AM

Hi wilma05

I have not thought about this topic,so let me time
to test and i will answer.

shirin zaban.

#12 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 December 2009 - 04:51 PM

Discussion on specific problems encountered by wilma05 continues here:
http://www.boot-land...showtopic=10034

jaclaz

#13 Shirin Zaban

Shirin Zaban

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 423 posts
  • Location:Tehran
  • Interests:1_Making Unattended and Customized XP<br /><br />2_Making different types of Bootable and Multiboot CD/DVD<br /><br />3_Like to learn more about grub and grub4DOS
  •  
    Iran

Posted 24 December 2009 - 07:49 AM

great tutorial so far, but this only works if the target drive already has a ntldr and a boot.ini-file, because the OS is already installed on it for example.

What if I want to create a HDD that just contains the BartPE? What kind of ntldr and boot.ini am I supposed to use?! I tried to copy those of my internal system disk, but after peinst went on fine, I get an MBR Error upon boot...

I appreciate any helpful hints...

======================================
Hi wilma05

After your note i tried as below and it worked.(See attachment picture).

May be bartpe is hardware dependent,and because of that you need to
install it inside system.

Any way by the method below you can have HDD with no OS and just bootable
by BartPE

===================================
1.Install Windows xp in drive C: (I install customized Tiny XP "about 80M").

2.Do as i said in tutor to create runing BartPE from HDD,then test it to
be sure it works.

3.Open C:\boot.ini and delete line below from it:

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft windows XP" /noexecute=optin

/fastdetect

and in default section delete line "multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows"
and type: c:\peboot.bin

Now your boot.ini will be as below:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=c:\peboot.bin
[operating systems]
c:\peboot.bin="Boot BartPE (by PE Builder)"

4.Boot by BartPE and Delet folders "Windows" and "Program files"

Now you have HDD that does not have OS and just boots by BartPE

Note that the drive C: will be shown as X:

=========================
Thats all
hope may be some help

shirin zaban

Attached Files

  • Attached File  01.png   93.81KB   123 downloads


#14 liv_lov_laf

liv_lov_laf
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 January 2010 - 03:00 AM

Thanks so much Shirin, you rule brother! I've searched all over the web for help on this and mostly came up with ... well, tuz! :)
Have a great new year!

#15 liv_lov_laf

liv_lov_laf
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 January 2010 - 03:04 AM

Best explanation I've found. Thank you!

#16 moaz823

moaz823

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Egypt

Posted 14 February 2010 - 09:59 PM

deer Shirin
very good
i tryed it
worked good

#17 binam

binam

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 February 2010 - 02:33 AM

Here is another voice from the wilderness saying "THank You Shirin!"

I tried a tutorial from another place but was not successful with it,
then I kept googling for "boot BartPE from hard drive in RAM"
and found this tutorial.

I wasn't successful on my 1st try - it couldn't find "peldr",
so I deleted my existing BartPE folder from a previous ISO build
and made a fresh build - it worked!

My goal was/is to use Drive Snapshot for imaging,
and man did things go FAST by booting BartPE from the hdd in RAM.

These "little" successes add up,
and give a noob the confidence to keep trying the next new thing.

Next I want to have success in using WinBuilder to accomplish this same thing,
plus add Macrium and IFW to the PE also, to experiment with these imaging apps.

Blessings & best to all who come this way ~

#18 Trowa

Trowa
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 15 September 2010 - 05:41 AM

is it possible to build bart PE using a source from windows98 OS?

thx

#19 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15046 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 September 2010 - 08:25 AM

is it possible to build bart PE using a source from windows98 OS?

thx

NO.
And you cannot with ANYTHING but XP or 2003. (i.e. NOT NT 4.00, not Windows 2000), see the BartPE page:
http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

Requirements to build:

  • The files from your Windows Installation CD-Rom.
    Supported Windows versions are:
  • Windows XP Home Edition (must be slip streamed with Service Pack 1 or higher)
  • Windows XP Professional (must be slip streamed with Service Pack 1 or higher)
  • Windows Server 2003, Web Edition
  • Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition
  • Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition


and it's FAQ:
http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/faq/

Why can't Windows 2000/NT4 be used to build BartPE? Is there a reason for this?
Yes, that kernel does not support the "/minint" switch and therefore cannot boot from readonly media... Also the layout.inf does not contain required information.

Can Windows 9x/ME be used to build BartPE?
No, absolutely not!


Now, if your question should be meant as:
Is it possible to build a Windows 9x bootable from CDor form external USB flash/HD?
The answer is yes, but it has NOTHING to do with BartPE (and nothing connected to the thread where you posted).

:hyper:
Wonko

#20 Trowa

Trowa
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 16 September 2010 - 12:28 AM

WOW. thanks for the reply's =)

i just made bart PE boot in my HDD , its all ok, =)
i use build source from winXP (is what i have suppose to do :hyper:)

im just curious if bart PE can use source build from a windows98 ^^
thats why i ask =) but its "NO"

thanks for the reply's =)

cheers =)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users