Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

What Operating System do you use?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 June 2008 - 02:29 PM

I use ubuntu on my work machine, install XP on the client machines scattered across the LAN and use Vista that came bundled on my new laptop.

I see good points and bad points about each one of them but I would like to read how other members around here do their daily work tasks and maybe the reasons that motivate them to keep using any given OS.


Please post a screenshot whenever possible to get an idea of how your desktop is organized, no matter if you're using an exotic OS or whatever, it would still be nice to hear your thoughts.


So, what OS do you use?

;)

#2 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 06 June 2008 - 07:31 PM

My work (ISP) PCs have always run Linux 24/7/365
I've been using Ubuntu since 7.04 on my main work machine, .....

At home i have:

Linux - Kubuntu, Sabayon, Debian, Mepis, Pappy.
.
My recommendation is Linux, the free computer operating
system that is the choice of many techies and IT managers.


Linux is free from adware, trialware, shovelware, and bloatware. ;)


Mikorist

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 06 June 2008 - 08:46 PM

I use mostly XP on work and home. It's my OS of choice whenever possible. It's stable, reliable, fast, runs even ok on really old hardware and there's more software around for it than for any other OS.

Other OS i use for specific things.

QNX the world best OS!!!
If i were king, i would make it the law that every OS has to be a real time OS! :thumbup:
Pluspoints:
- lighning fast
- pretty small
- because it's a real time OS, it feels even faster than it already is
Drawbacks:
- almost all software has to be compiled by yourself
- You have to buy the hardware according to the OS, as no manufacturer offers QNX drivers

PE, Knoppix, Slax, Kanotix as live systems for fixing and testing.

But if things really get dire, there's only one OS i trust. Only one i have confidence in, to not do anything, but what i tell it to do. DOS! :thumbup: :thumbup: ;)

btw. If i should ever switch to Linux fulltime, there's only one Linux for me. Xandros!
It's not for free, but works like a charm straight out of the box, is Debian based and runs all my favorite Windows programs.

:thumbup:

#4 ispy

ispy

    Silver Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 596 posts
  • Location:PILGRIM

Posted 06 June 2008 - 10:23 PM

Hi ;),

btw. If i should ever switch to Linux fulltime, there's only one Linux for me. Xandros!
It's not for free, but works like a charm straight out of the box, is Debian based and runs all my favorite Windows programs.

Just a Quickie Question? Will Xandros run all Windows Programs or just a selected few?

Regards & Best Wishes,
ispy :thumbup:

P.S. Wish they would get ReactOS Mainstream Tis taking a long time?

#5 Alexei

Alexei

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 664 posts

Posted 07 June 2008 - 06:24 AM

I use haevily nLited 2003 with several virtual PCs on VPC 2004 for specific tasks.
;)
Alexei

#6 wendy

wendy

    Frequent Member

  • Lady
  • 273 posts
  • Location:one mile from the QR main line
  • Interests:Operating systems, Weights and Measures, Geometry
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 June 2008 - 06:46 AM

I usually multiboot several operating systems, and use the flavour of the month.

I currently have eCS 1.2R and Winnt 5.0 loaded. I'm looking for a suitable DOS boot as well, but might just settle for six or seven of them.

The #2 frame has an assortment of DOS (6.31), OS/2 and Windows NT 3.51, 5.20) on it, but it's not currently in its slot.

Frame #3 is yet to see its first DOS

Laptop 1 has Windows XP on it. The space bar does not work: typical of XP.

#7 bilou_gateux

bilou_gateux

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 230 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 07 June 2008 - 08:59 AM

Microsoft Windows XP Embedded w/ SP2
installed on Kingston Ultimate 266x 8Gb CF with CF-to-SATA adapter.
System partition is protected by EWF and contains only core OS and a RamDisk for temporary files and internet cache.
All required applications are installed on the fly when required (using disk image files .img, ImDisk and junction points, silent install) or using portable version.
All changes are gone after shutdown.

Posted Image

Everything else i canno't run on primary install, run it in VMs.

VMware Server 1.0x silent install using img files.
@ECHO OFF&SETLOCAL ENABLEEXTENSIONS ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

call :__preinit



:## if not already installed, install Imdisk driver

for /f "tokens=*" %%A in ('dir /a /s /b %~d0\0imdiskinst.cmd') do (

 call "%%A" 2>NUL

)

 

::# Windows Embedded default source path set to %SystemRoot%

if exist %SystemRoot%\system32\CatRoot\{F750E6C3-38EE-11D1-85E5-00C04FC295EE}\wepos.cat (

  call _WEPoS_prep.cmd

)

  if not exist "%ProgramFiles%\Common Files\%DEST_Dir%\NUL" md "%ProgramFiles%\Common Files\%DEST_Dir%"

  imdisk  -a -t vm -b 32256 -f %~dp016M.img -m "%ProgramFiles%\Common Files\%DEST_Dir%"

  if not exist "%ProgramFiles%\%DEST_Dir%\NUL" md "%ProgramFiles%\%DEST_Dir%"

  imdisk -a -t vm -b 32256 -f %~dp064M.img -m "%ProgramFiles%\%DEST_Dir%"

msiexec -i  "%~dp0VMServer\VMware Server Standalone.msi" ADDLOCAL=ALL REMOVE=diskUtil,Perfmon,Tools DESKTOP_SHORTCUT=0 STARTMENU_SHORTCUT=0 QUICKLAUNCH_SHORTCUT=1 SERIALNUMBER="XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX" /qn REBOOT="ReallySuppress"

if exist %SystemRoot%\system32\CatRoot\{F750E6C3-38EE-11D1-85E5-00C04FC295EE}\wepos.cat (

  call _WEPoS_post.cmd

)

goto :eof



:__preinit

SET AUTO_START_VB=TRUE

set INST_ABORT=

set INST_Dir=%~dp0

set INST_Dir=%INST_Dir:~0,-1%

set BIN_Dir=%~d0\bin

set DEST_Dir=VMware

goto :eof

Innotek Virtualbox 1.5.6 image
@ECHO OFF&SETLOCAL ENABLEEXTENSIONS ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

call :__preinit

 

  if not exist %DEST_Dir% md %DEST_Dir%

  imdisk -a -t vm -f %~dp0VirtualBox.img -m %DEST_Dir%

  IF %AUTO_START_VB%==TRUE GOTO __autoStart

goto :eof



::##############################

::#

::# functions

::#



:__preinit

SET AUTO_START_VB=TRUE

set INST_ABORT=

set INST_Dir=%~dp0

set INST_Dir=%INST_Dir:~0,-1%

set BIN_Dir=%~d0\bin

set DEST_Dir="%ProgramFiles%\innotek VirtualBox"

goto :eof



:__autostart

pushd %DEST_Dir%

copy /y .\drivers\VBoxDrv\VBoxDrv.sys %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers

%BIN_Dir%\instdrvw VBoxDrv %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\VBoxDrv.sys

.\VBoxSVC.exe /reregserver

regsvr32.exe /s .\VBoxC.dll

copy /y .\drivers\USB\filter\VBoxUSBMon.sys %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers

%BIN_Dir%\instdrvw VBoxUSBMon %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\VBoxUSBMon.sys

copy /y .\drivers\network\VBoxTAP.inf %SystemRoot%\inf

copy /y .\drivers\network\VBoxTAP.sys %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers

popd

goto :eof


#8 sanbarrow

sanbarrow

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Germany - Sauerland

Posted 12 June 2008 - 02:20 PM

I use PE (2k3-sp2) - loading a 280 Mb image (i386-dir only) into RAM with persistent home and programs.
Everything that does not run in PE - I run in VMware Workstation.

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 June 2008 - 02:38 PM

In the past I always had to use what my customers required, and that since DOS has been usually (nonsence!) the latest version of Bill the doors, inspite of any bugs.

But as prof I had several static PC's in my home network, on some of them I hold the 'old' OS.

So, my server is still running on W2000, on my Office PC I can boot into W98.

In my current WB development I'm working under XP SP3 on my development PC.

In the past I often tried Linux. The first version I bought in the last century. But I never installed for use, because KDE and whatelse always have been too slow for me.
(BTW I did a lot of development on customer's machines under Unix, especially AIX, so I'm familar with UNIX / Linux, but I do not like it. UNIX is a subset overset of DOS, but with less comfortability. See the VI editor!)

And if somebody wants to know, when I'm going to Vista: NEVER

Peter

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 12 June 2008 - 05:56 PM

Just a Quickie Question? Will Xandros run all Windows Programs or just a selected few?

It does run a selected lot of Windows programs ;), but doubt all.
I doubt especialy tool programs, like undelete, format, partition ...

:thumbup:

#11 benxhi

benxhi

    Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 87 posts
  • Location:Shkup
  •  
    Albania

Posted 12 June 2008 - 09:25 PM

I used a dual boot on my PC Ubuntu 7.10 and XP but as i ordered a Ubuntu free install cd now i'm waiting for it in mean time i'm using only XP i feel vista is way too much bloated with stuff i could possibly never use :thumbup: and i love free software :thumbup: so i try to get the most free apps as far as I can but there are some that don't have opensource versions so i stick with the commercials ;) but in Linux i feel pretty free :clap: cuz i love the Kernel and all the commands but what i mostly love about linux is WINE (wine is not an emulator) the layer which allows you to install and run windows apps :clap: yes windows apps so any commercial app not fitting on Linux ? i don't think so :clap: but the main lack is that the Linux folders are way too complicated for me to understand them ;)

but the most biggest thing that kept me from totally using Linux was my cousin :thumbup: we used to play Counter Strike like Maniacs so i tried to connect from linux to my cousin to play CS but no way so had too keep Windows :thumbup:

/benxhi

Am I noticing something weird round here or everyone is using Open-Source/Freeware ? :clap: :clap: :D so looks like we are all open source users :clap:




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users