Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Most annoying Winbuilder bug ever


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 May 2008 - 02:01 PM

Just had a runin with the worst bug in Winbuilder, again.
It's called the 'interface editor'!
I know, it will probably never get really fixed.
But could we at least change it, so that the viewable area of the editor is the same size as it will be presented later!
Or how about a simple multi colored background that shows the sizes of, default interface size, default interface size with scrollbars, interface size of a maximized WB and interface size of a maximized WB with scrollbars?

'interface editor' missing features:
- ability to name the controls
- ability to move a group of elements, while keeping the relative spacing
- ability to align a group of elements

:lol:

PS: Off Topic: Could we finally get a search feature in the souce editor?

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 May 2008 - 02:11 PM

Just had a runin with the worst bug in Winbuilder, again.
It's called the 'interface editor'!

It's not a bug!
It's a 'low featured feature' :)

- ability to name the controls :)
- ability to move a group of elements, while keeping the relative spacing :) :) :lol: :) :thumbup:
- ability to align a group of elements :thumbup: :thumbup:
PS: Off Topic: Could we finally get a search feature in the souce editor? :thumbup: :thumbup: :)
(With range from 1 to 5 smileys)

Remaind me on this when we are thinking about after-next beta (075 - 2)

Peter

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 May 2008 - 02:40 PM

So you overlooked the most annoying bug mentioned or did you choose to ignore it?

:lol:

#4 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 May 2008 - 02:45 PM

So you overlooked the most annoying bug mentioned or did you choose to ignore it?


This is a feature by design.
http://www.boot-land...?...ost&p=25374

:lol:

#5 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 May 2008 - 03:01 PM

So you overlooked the most annoying bug mentioned or did you choose to ignore it?

I'm rather sure that I've seen this statement.
But when IMHO a statement is wrong:
  • If it is an importent issue, I contradict
  • If it is an unimportant statement, I just ignore it.
    As you see, anywhen it comes back as 'important' and then I can react with option #1
Peter

#6 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 May 2008 - 05:16 PM

Well in case any other script developers hate it too, if they can't work in a WYSIWYG editor.
Here's a little quick and dirty patch:
Before you start to build the GUI for your script, put the following line into the interface section. (top most position!!!)
pBevel0=pBevel0,1,12,0,-1,530,307
This will give you a Bevel the size of the default interface without scrollbars.

After your GUI is completed, you can eighter keep it or delete it.


:lol:

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 May 2008 - 06:06 PM

pBevel0=pBevel0,1,12,0,-1,530,307
This will give you a Bevel the size of the default interface without scrollbars.

Maybe you are right in version 072 / 074.

But what's with 076?

Because this is a 'random possibility' which is not documented (and therefore may change w/o notice), is cannot be a suggestion for other developers how to work.

But the suggestion / idea is still a good and senceful item.

Maybe after the next beta appeared, you create a new 'Interface' topic.
Best would be to describe everything again, not to use links to existing posts.
This holds the complete topic 'self-supported' and 'self-explaining'

I personally at once would add one item:

Group radio buttons by bevels, rather than by the complete interface.

Peter

#8 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 May 2008 - 06:47 PM

I personally at once would add one item:

Group radio buttons by bevels, rather than by the complete interface.

Would be really handy, but i'm afraid only possible if we would change the operation of the script interface to use tables instead of Bevels. This way we would get a hirarchy of elements. Right now all elements are top level elements.

Maybe you are right in version 072 / 074.

But what's with 076?

You mean how do i dare to post a solution, when you will make it a point to change this in the next version, to break compatibility? :thumbup:

No matter what Nuno says :thumbup: this is a bug and should be fixed by the developer, not by a script writer as "add-on".

:lol:

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 May 2008 - 07:02 PM

You mean how do i dare to post a solution, when you will make it a point to change this in the next version, to break compatibility? :lol:

No matter what Nuno says :thumbup: this is a bug and should be fixed by the developer, not by a script writer as "add-on".

My concern has been:
What you are proposing to use is an unspecified and undocumented feature.
(If it is described anywhere: My fault. Please give the URL)

And as software supplyers all over the world define: undocumented features can be changed w/o notice.

It is nice that your suggestion works, and I'm rather sure that it will still work in version 100. Nobody is planning to change this. But it is not serious to suggest an undocumented feature as future-safe solution.

Peter

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 May 2008 - 08:46 PM

But it is not serious to suggest an undocumented feature as future-safe solution.

:lol:
Which part of

Here's a little quick and dirty patch:

lead you to beliefe, it was a future safe solution?

And for that matter, which part of

pBevel0=pBevel0,1,12,0,-1,530,307

lead you to believe it was an undocumented feature?


:thumbup:

#11 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 10 May 2008 - 10:42 PM

Because this is a 'random possibility' which is not documented (and therefore may change w/o notice), is cannot be a suggestion for other developers how to work.


That's right. I'd just like to see WB open by default fully maximised.

Regards,
Galapo.

#12 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 May 2008 - 11:20 PM

That's right. I'd just like to see WB open by default fully maximised.

Nothing wrong with that, but how do you go about it if you wanna design an interface that works also in default size without scrollbars?

I think small is beautiful :lol: and if there is no need for it, why should there be scrollbars?

See your SetResolution Interface.
Interface1.gif

And my Version for NaughtyPE.
Interface2.gif


:thumbup:

#13 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 11 May 2008 - 03:43 AM

See your SetResolution Interface.

Exactly. It tells you two things: a) default interface can be too small; and b) I don't generally work with the default interface myself.

Regards,
Galapo.

#14 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 24 May 2008 - 11:29 AM

Could it help to show grey border lines in the editor?

Peter

guieditor.gif

#15 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 24 May 2008 - 12:59 PM

Could it help to show grey border lines in the editor?

Sure, that sort of what i had in mind here.

Or how about a simple multi colored background that shows the sizes of, default interface size, default interface size with scrollbars, interface size of a maximized WB and interface size of a maximized WB with scrollbars?

If you could also add a second one, which shows the size of the viewable area when scrollbars are present i would be absolutely happy with this solution.

;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users