Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

txtsetup.sif issues with LiveXP


  • Please log in to reply
122 replies to this topic

#1 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 May 2008 - 09:08 AM

first off, i'm a newbie at this computer stuff. whenever i try this, 2 problems arise.

1. it says can't find zcopy.exe.
i downloaded this manually and put it in the folder where it said it was missing from
2.it always says txtsetup.sif is missing or corrupt, altough it is ther

any help would be appreciated

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 May 2008 - 09:35 AM

Well, first thing welcome to the forum. :lol:

Next, we need to understand the problem in order to (maybe :thumbup: ) being able to help you fix it.

We need to know WHAT you are trying to do and HOW you are doing it.

Winbuilder is a .script engine that executes scripts, a number of .scripts assembled together are generally referred to as a "project".

Which project are you trying to run? VistaPE? Which version?

Also Winbuilder creates when run a log file.

Compress it to a .zip or .7z archive and attach the archive to your next post.

For the record, guess what was the idea behind having a "sticky" titled "TROUBLESHOOTING HOWTO (Read this first!), How to help in solving an issue"
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2420
and one titled "Read this before you post...":
http://www.boot-land.../?showtopic=431

:thumbup:

jaclaz

#3 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 May 2008 - 10:01 AM

lol ok i guess i was being a bit too amniguous. using the "Newcomer's Tutorial - LiveXP with Optional BootSDI!" made by 'amalux'
i was trying to make a bootable external hard drive. i was using a genuine windows XP home edition sp 1a disk.

being the obssessive type, i'd tried 5 times already, 4 times with the lx41208pg version, and once with the lx40308ln version, with the same result each time,

sorry, i've already exited the winbuilder program, so i don't know how to make a log.




w8, i just reread the guide, and it said i needed a 'valid Windows XP SP2 (Home or Pro) installation CD'. i had only tried i genuine home edition sp1, and a fake pro edition sp2. could that be the problem?

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 May 2008 - 10:48 AM

Since you ran it already 5 times, you should:
1) Delete your old C:\lx-base, re-extract downloaded file to C: as to re-create a brand new C:\lx-base
2) DO NOT change anything:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=4111

This is your base directory (%BaseDir%) and includes WinBuilder.exe:
Note: Don't change anything in this directory or it won't work!

3) copy the XP CD contents (from your original XP SP1) to, say, C:\XP-CD
4) download the XP SP2 and slipstream it:
http://www.helpwithw...sp2-bootcd.html
5) Run the program again (6th time yes :lol:) pointing it to the C:\XP-CD folder containing the slipstreamed files
6) Post the log

jaclaz

#5 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 May 2008 - 10:51 AM

umm sorry, what does slipstream mean?

#6 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 May 2008 - 11:20 AM

umm sorry, what does slipstream mean?


In this particular case, it means CLICK on the provided link just below:

4) download the XP SP2 and slipstream it:
http://www.helpwithw...sp2-bootcd.html

and you'll see! :lol:

More generally it means integrate a new Service Pack to a previous source, and the link provided tells you how to, in case you do not know how.
(there are several methods)

jaclaz

#7 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 May 2008 - 10:05 PM

i did what you said, and the slipstream worked fine, but the thing still didn't work. i've attached the log i think.

if this helps:

At the Boot SDI part it goes

Error-ExtractFile,“%ScriptFile%”,“Folder”,“ZCopy.exe”,“%Tools%”

Then it comes up with the ‘cannot find ‘C:\lx41208pg\Projects\Tools\zCopy.exe’ thing twice

Then, in qemu, it goes ‘Inf file txtsetup.sif is corrupt or missing, status 14

Attached Files

  • Attached File  log.html   3.5MB   498 downloads


#8 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3,841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 03 May 2008 - 10:12 PM

Error-ExtractFile,“%ScriptFile%”,“Folder”,“ZCopy.exe”,“%Tools%”

Sounds to me like a corrupted upload. try this one and report: http://livexp.boot-l.../BootSDI.script. Copy it to the 'Finish/2 Create Image' folder.

Regards,
Galapo.

#9 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 May 2008 - 10:18 PM

Not at all an expert on LiveXP, but where does the name "C:\lx41208pg" come from? :lol:

I am changing the title of the threaf, so that maybe it will get more "specific" attention.

jaclaz

#10 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 04 May 2008 - 02:55 AM

Galapo

i tried it and this time, it does not seem to create an iso. i have attached the log


jaclaz

lx41208pg was the default name. and thanks for changing the title

Attached Files

  • Attached File  log.rar   128.5KB   168 downloads


#11 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3,841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 04 May 2008 - 06:54 AM

The script is not enabled by default as under default LiveXP the CreateISO script builds the image. So an ISO isn't foound because you haven't enabled any of the 'Finish\2 Create Image' scripts. Since you're wanting to use BootSDI, enable it.

Regards,
Galapo.

#12 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 04 May 2008 - 08:01 AM

lol, do i do that by going to: XP Live CD - Finish - Create image and ticking bootSDI in winbuilder?

#13 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3,841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 04 May 2008 - 08:10 AM

Yes!

#14 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 May 2008 - 06:54 AM

lol, tnx it works now, but i have another problem. it comes up with the blue 0x000...00007b error screen, and i can't seem to fix it. i've used the modified ntdetect.com, and looked around on this site, but i don't seem to know what to do. could you help?

#15 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3,841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 05 May 2008 - 07:09 AM

Are you using ramdisk.sys from 2k3? It's essential.

Regards,
Galapo.

#16 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 May 2008 - 07:43 AM

umm, i think there is a ramdisk.sys included by default in the winbuilder thing. lol i'm assuming its the correct one

what is 2k3?

hey, i just found another ntdetect.com in the minint folder, does that need to be modified too?

#17 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 May 2008 - 11:00 AM

Are you using ramdisk.sys from 2k3? It's essential.

Regards,
Galapo.


To be more accurate, the problem lies more on SETUPLDR.BIN.

See this report by bilou_gateux:
http://www.911cd.net...o...19056&st=44


However, to be on the safe side both SETUPLDR.BIN and RAMDISK.SY_/RAMDISK.SYS are needed from:
Windows Server 2003 SP1
or
Windows Server 2003 R2

(Original Windows Server 2003 and Windows Server 2003 SP2 WILL NOT work, nor will ANY XP, not "gold", not SP1, not SP2)

Files are reported to be also included in ERD5:
http://www.boot-land...topic=4099&st=5
http://www.911cd.net...o...19676&st=27
(which is a smaller download then either 2K3 SP1 or 2K3 R2)

BTW, anyone checked/tested if anything is changed with XP SP3 files? :lol:

jaclaz

#18 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,309 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 05 May 2008 - 01:25 PM

In my opinion, the last posts are a bit 'fishing in the dark'.

Let's try to solve the issue starting from the very beginning.

The first two questions are:
  • Is the 'Source CD' ok?
  • Is the host environment ok?
To #1: XP SP1 as source definitively is problematic. Therefore XP SP2 or W2003 SP1 (R2) is recommended.
To #2: Several times there are issues reported when building a project under a W2000 host. Therefore you should install WinBuilder into a XP SP2 host (I personally do also not trust a Vista host)

If this is fullfilled, you should start with a 'Low Level Build'.
There is a simple project, creating an ISO with only necessary contents and some apps: nativeEx_barebone.
  • Use an empty directory on a NOT NTFS compressed drive, which only contains WinBuilder.exe
  • Start WinBuilder, and choose the 'Download' tab, and select the server nativeex.boot-land.net
  • Download nativeEx_barebone, and only nativeEx_barebone
  • Define the path to your source CD
  • Do not change anything else
  • Start the build
  • When asked, restart WinBuilder
  • Start the build again
This should build an ISO which is started in qEmu.

If that does not work, the issue surely is either your source CD or your host environment, and we should search there.

If that works, let's
  • switch to the LiveXP project
    • first with 'normal' ISO
    • second with BootSDI
  • try on a NTFS compressed drive
Peter

#19 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2,813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 May 2008 - 03:16 PM

lol, tnx it works now, but i have another problem. it comes up with the blue 0x000...00007b error screen, and i can't seem to fix it. i've used the modified ntdetect.com, and looked around on this site, but i don't seem to know what to do. could you help?

Hi Tom,

First of all, a belated, welcome! I can't add much to what has been said already; just make sure you've followed the instructions to the letter regarding the ntdetect.com mod.

Now, rt-click Paste to enter new text (you saved from web-site); choose Save and exit; confirm your new file is exactly 47,596 Bytes in rt-click properties (just confirms you entered the correct text), you're done.

When rt-clicking to paste text in TinyHexer, there should be NO text at 0x00! Can you confirm the size of the file as 47,596 Bytes, this will show you did it correctly. If this doesn't work, I can only go back to what Jaclaz has told you already; you must have a good XP SP2 source. This usually means retail SP2 disk from M$, not OEM. Slipstreamed retail SP1 disks should work IF done correctly but there are some variables here that are difficult to verify; is there any way to get an SP2 disk sent from M$? They used to 'upgrade' for free if you asked them nicely :lol:

#20 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2,813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 May 2008 - 03:29 PM

Sounds to me like a corrupted upload. try this one and report: http://livexp.boot-l.../BootSDI.script. Copy it to the 'Finish/2 Create Image' folder.

Regards,
Galapo.


lol, do i do that by going to: XP Live CD - Finish - Create image and ticking bootSDI in winbuilder?


Hi again Tom,

Going backwards through the posts (bad idea)... Yes, if you replace a script from inside the project, you will have to re-configure the project setup options for that script! (options are saved in the script itself) In this case, BootSDI options must look like this:
newbsdistup.JPG


@Galapo,

Corrupted file from inside the SFX? Worked before, I'll re-download and run to see if anything has changed :lol:

Tested: Downloaded projects run fine here; problem must be local on Tom's machine. Maybe corrupted after download but I think, more likely, another issue; my experience is that this is caused from re-running the project over again (not recommended). I think I need to add a warning about this in the tutorial :thumbup:

#21 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2,813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 May 2008 - 05:08 PM

lol, tnx it works now, but i have another problem. it comes up with the blue 0x000...00007b error screen, and i can't seem to fix it. i've used the modified ntdetect.com, and looked around on this site, but i don't seem to know what to do. could you help?

Tom,

Just so we are clear, is your livexp issue solved? are you now only asking about the BSOD error that can occur when trying to boot from a UFD? :lol:

Post edited for clarity

#22 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3,841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 05 May 2008 - 08:39 PM

@Galapo,

Corrupted file from inside the SFX? Worked before, I'll re-download and run to see if anything has changed :lol:

Yes, that would be quite strange indeed! I didn't realise your whole project came "packaged". Generally if there's I file extraction error, it due to corrupted upload/download, though not always and in this case it wasn't.

Regards,
Galapo.

#23 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 May 2008 - 11:04 AM

first, I would love to give a huge thank you to everyone who has posted on this post :lol: . over the next few days, i will work on the methods you guys have suggested and will get back to you asap.(but i may not reply for 2- 3 days)

could someone please check that there is nothing wrong with this list please

ok, i am using a genuine windows XP home edition SP1a slipstreamed using the method described by jaclaz as the source cd.

the host environment is a fake windows XP professional SP2 (was told was real when purchased) :thumbup: it has performed exactly like a real windows so far.

i am using a 320gb western digital external hdd, which was given a fat16 750mb primary partition, flagged bootable; and a second fat32, rest of space, primary partition. the partitioning was done using an ubuntu live cd (as its much faster in my opinion)

lol hope there are no problems so far

also, do i need to get a new SETUPLDR.BIN and RAMDISK.SYS? or can i use the one included the winbuilder thing

lol, i think i finally found a method which may actually work :thumbup:

#24 tom fredenson

tom fredenson

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 May 2008 - 11:11 AM

@amalux

in all honesty, i don't know anymore :lol: . i had assumed that my liveXP issue was solved, as the thing booted in qemu, but now you tell me that i needed to change the BootSDI thing settings too. i had used the default ones, which had 'of target' selected instead of 'free space', and the iso label was NativeExCD. but would that actually make a difference? because it did boot in qemu.
but im going to try your method out anyway, and hope that it works

#25 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,309 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 May 2008 - 11:15 AM

ok, i am using a genuine windows XP home edition SP1a slipstreamed using the method described by jaclaz as the source cd.

This will bring you an error message about a file similar xpsp2res.dll.
But that does not affect boot of the ISO. (I do not know whether there are some malfunctions in any app)

also, do i need to get a new SETUPLDR.BIN and RAMDISK.SYS? or can i use the one included the winbuilder thing

If you want to use the BootSDI script (which makes your running PE writable), you really need these files from W2003 SP1 (R2).

Even if your source CD is W2003 SP2, you need these SP1 files. With those from the SP2 source CD the PE hangs on boot.

If you want to run the MakeISO script (PE not writable) you do not need any additional file.

Peter




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users