Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Adding batch files to start menu


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 kruuth

kruuth

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 April 2008 - 05:57 PM

I'd like to have an extra folder under programs that has a bunch of batch files I've written for certain installations. Is there an existing script or some easy way to add something to the program files menu like this?

#2 JonF

JonF

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1185 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 April 2008 - 08:20 PM

Does it have to be under Programs? If you enable the custom folder script under Base\Custom Folder, whatever you put in that folder will wind up under the root of the CD, with whatever directory structure you created.

#3 kruuth

kruuth

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 April 2008 - 09:25 PM

Does it have to be under Programs? If you enable the custom folder script under Base\Custom Folder, whatever you put in that folder will wind up under the root of the CD, with whatever directory structure you created.


That might work, my big thing is that it can be accessed from the start menu.

#4 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 28 April 2008 - 11:27 PM

That might work, my big thing is that it can be accessed from the start menu.

Try like this :
[Main]

Title=My Program

Description=

Selected=True

Level=5

Version=001

Date=29/04/2008

Author=

Credit=



[Process]

Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,My Menu,#$pCDDrive#$p\MyFolder\MyFile.bat,Bat File 1
//Syntax==> Add_Shortcut,[Type],[Folder],[FullFileName],[Title],[Work Folder],[Parameters],[IconFile( .ico .exe)],[StartMode(1, 2, 3, or 4)]

#5 kruuth

kruuth

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 April 2008 - 11:39 PM

Try like this :

[Main]

Title=My Program

Description=

Selected=True

Level=5

Version=001

Date=29/04/2008

Author=

Credit=



[Process]

Add_Shortcut,StartMenu,My Menu,#$pCDDrive#$p\MyFolder\MyFile.bat,Bat File 1
//Syntax==> Add_Shortcut,[Type],[Folder],[FullFileName],[Title],[Work Folder],[Parameters],[IconFile( .ico .exe)],[StartMode(1, 2, 3, or 4)]


Thank you, but I'm still a little green on a lot of this. Where do I put this?

#6 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:20 AM

Thank you, but I'm still a little green on a lot of this. Where do I put this?

Give me the name of the Batch file and the name of the folder you want to add to the CD
and i write the script

Pedro

#7 kruuth

kruuth

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:29 AM

Give me the name of the Batch file and the name of the folder you want to add to the CD
and i write the script

Pedro


The names of the batchfiles are:

mountshares.bat
frontdesk.bat
callcent.bat
fieldinstall.bat

The folder I'd like would be called autoinstallers

Oh, and where would I place the batch files?

#8 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:57 AM

The names of the batchfiles are:

mountshares.bat
frontdesk.bat
callcent.bat
fieldinstall.bat

The folder I'd like would be called autoinstallers

Oh, and where would I place the batch files?

OK
Name a folder "autoinstallers" put your batch in it
Put the folder "autoinstallers" in Base\Custom Folder (like say JonF)
Extract this archive in Winbuilder\Projects\VistaPE\App
Attached File  autoinstallers.7z   383bytes   262 downloads

#9 kruuth

kruuth

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:01 AM

OK
Name a folder "autoinstallers" put your batch in it
Put the folder "autoinstallers" in Base\Custom Folder (like say JonF)
Extract this archive in Winbuilder\Projects\VistaPE\App
Attached File  autoinstallers.7z   383bytes   262 downloads


Thanks. That really helps.

#10 kruuth

kruuth

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 29 April 2008 - 10:26 PM

OK
Name a folder "autoinstallers" put your batch in it
Put the folder "autoinstallers" in Base\Custom Folder (like say JonF)
Extract this archive in Winbuilder\Projects\VistaPE\App
Attached File  autoinstallers.7z   383bytes   262 downloads


I feel silly asking this, but where is base/custom?

#11 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 April 2008 - 11:21 PM

I feel silly asking this, but where is base/custom?

2008_04_30_012247.jpg

#12 kruuth

kruuth

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 30 April 2008 - 02:05 PM

2008_04_30_012247.jpg


I don't think that it worked. However, Makescript looks really promising. Is there a way to add lots of stuff to it at once? I'm trying to add multiple apps under a single folder.

#13 Augusto

Augusto

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Dominican Republic

Posted 04 June 2008 - 09:55 PM

//Syntax==> Add_Shortcut,[Type],[Folder],[FullFileName],[Title],[Work Folder],[Parameters],[IconFile( .ico .exe)],[StartMode(1, 2, 3, or 4)]


Hey Predro Thanks... been reading a lot and just found what i wanted But still i need from info
[Type] i see some scripts use this as Programs, Antivirus etc but then i see [Folder] and i get confused is that the work folder inside the CD or in the startmenu?

the Start mode? ... whats their use?

#14 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 05 June 2008 - 12:13 AM

//Syntax==> Add_Shortcut,[Type],[Folder],[FullFileName],[Title],[Work Folder],[Parameters],[IconFile( .ico .exe)],[StartMode(1, 2, 3, or 4)]


Hey Predro Thanks... been reading a lot and just found what i wanted But still i need from info
[Type] i see some scripts use this as Programs, Antivirus etc but then i see [Folder] and i get confused is that the work folder inside the CD or in the startmenu?

the Start mode? ... whats their use?

Hi Augusto
Well, the syntax for Add_ShortCut you give is full working for LiveXP
We use the same in VistaPE but some option are not valid in VistaPE

[Type]
in LiveXP can be : Desktop, StartMenu, QuickLaunch, AutoRun or AutoStart, SendTo
in VistaPE : same except for SendTo

[Folder] is use only for setting the folder in StartMenu ==> Add_ShortCut,StartMenu,Antivirus or Add_ShortCut,StartMenu,. (For no folder in StartMenu)

[FullFileName] is use if you want set a shortcut for a program different of %ProgramEXE%
[Title] to change the shortcut name
[Work Folder] folder where you want start the program (Work only in LiveXP)
[Parameters] for the program

[IconFile]
in VistaPE you must give a FullFilename and you can give the icon number ==> %PE_Programs%\ProgramFolder%\Icon.dll#$c15
in LiveXP you must give Filename without path and no icon number ==> Icon.ico
In next API LiveXP and VistaPE will be same

[StartMode]
In LiveXP you can use different StartMode for each Shortcut type ( 1=SW_SHOW - 2=SW_SHOWMINIMIZED - 3=SW_SHOWMAXIMIZED - 4=SW_HIDE)
In VistaPE you can set StartMode only for Autorun (1=Wait - 2=nowait - 3=hidewait - 4=hidenowait)
In LiveXP I'm not sure if it still working

Pedro

#15 Augusto

Augusto

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    Dominican Republic

Posted 06 June 2008 - 07:51 PM

Thanks again for ur kind information ;) now i can do some better scripting gotta add lots of Start menu shortcuts for some tools i got as i put the ERD Commander inside the VistaPE CD i needed shortcuts for their fast Explorer, search engine, windows system restore and the locksmith. Sadly i found my problem wasnt with the shortcuts itself ... i was trying to add them to vistape.cfg before the file was made O_o noob mistake :thumbup:. But thanks to it now i can make propert shortcuts with the mouse hover information and the working dir.

Hi Augusto
Well, the syntax for Add_ShortCut you give is full working for LiveXP
We use the same in VistaPE but some option are not valid in VistaPE

[Type]
in LiveXP can be : Desktop, StartMenu, QuickLaunch, AutoRun or AutoStart, SendTo
in VistaPE : same except for SendTo

[Folder] is use only for setting the folder in StartMenu ==> Add_ShortCut,StartMenu,Antivirus or Add_ShortCut,StartMenu,. (For no folder in StartMenu)

[FullFileName] is use if you want set a shortcut for a program different of %ProgramEXE%
[Title] to change the shortcut name
[Work Folder] folder where you want start the program (Work only in LiveXP)
[Parameters] for the program

[IconFile]
in VistaPE you must give a FullFilename and you can give the icon number ==> %PE_Programs%\ProgramFolder%\Icon.dll#$c15
in LiveXP you must give Filename without path and no icon number ==> Icon.ico
In next API LiveXP and VistaPE will be same

[StartMode]
In LiveXP you can use different StartMode for each Shortcut type ( 1=SW_SHOW - 2=SW_SHOWMINIMIZED - 3=SW_SHOWMAXIMIZED - 4=SW_HIDE)
In VistaPE you can set StartMode only for Autorun (1=Wait - 2=nowait - 3=hidewait - 4=hidenowait)
In LiveXP I'm not sure if it still working

Pedro






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users