Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Image forger


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 April 2008 - 11:29 PM

Posted Image

This little app lets users create a bootable iso from a directory with their setup files from any
ntbased os, except vista...

i dont really think i have to explain, so just check it out...

it features also a right click menu option for those that use that...

let me know what you guys think...

New version uploaded.

Main changes: ability to create bootable vista iso's from directory.
Just check the little box, and your in vista mode :thumbsup:


Damian666

Image Forger

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 April 2008 - 09:16 PM

Good tool! :thumbsup:

#3 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 14 April 2008 - 10:06 PM

thanx man, i also have a UpxGui, and a replacer program.
want to see them too?

Damian666

#4 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 April 2008 - 10:27 PM

Sure! :thumbsup:

This section is dedicated to projects created by members so you're certainly welcome to post them here.

:tabletalk:

#5 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 18 April 2008 - 08:06 PM

First post link updated with teh new version 1.6.

see first post for changelog

Damian666

#6 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 29 April 2008 - 09:07 AM

did anyone try the new vista feature?
did it work, or not?

let me know guys :lol:

damian666

#7 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 29 April 2008 - 09:53 AM

did anyone try the new vista feature?
did it work, or not?

let me know guys :thumbup:

damian666


When I get a minute, I'm going to test out everything you've got.

You'll hear from me... :lol:

#8 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 29 April 2008 - 12:16 PM

aaah, my friend... i should have known man.

your welcome to man, i like working with you :lol:

Damian666

#9 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 02 May 2008 - 05:45 AM

aaah, my friend... i should have known man.

your welcome to man, i like working with you :lol:

Damian666


Sorry, but I can't find anything wrong with Image Forger. ... :thumbup: ...

Building a 'WinPE 2.1' (Vista) ISO on an XP Host. Here it is booted in Virtual PC ('pe21_IF.iso').

[attachment=5226:pe21_IF.png]

The size of the .iso from IF is 23KB bigger than with oscdimg... ? I'll do another test to make sure.

This is definitely up to your high standard.... thoughtful interface and a real breeze to use.

Thanks :thumbup:

#10 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 May 2008 - 11:28 PM

:lol: thanx man. let me know if you find out why its bigger.
i use cdimage to so...
very weird...

and about the reschanger, well if you have 1 that works, then forget about it man :thumbup:
but if you like me to do it, let me know, i will help you man :thumbup:

with whatever you want.

Damian666

#11 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 03 May 2008 - 04:24 AM

:lol: thanx man. let me know if you find out why its bigger.
i use cdimage to so...
very weird...


I have only tested Image Forger one way. Here is my folder to create the .iso from:

[attachment=5250:isotree.png]

The only .iso files I make these days are for booting WinPE2... the only thing changing in the folder is boot.wim - updated with each new build made with WinBuilder. The .iso is created with command-line oscdimg from Windows Automated Installation KIt - not cdimage. The command-line in WinBuilder .script is basically
oscdimg.exe -n -b"C:\winbuilder\Temp\pe2\ISO\boot\etfsboot.com" "C:\winbuilder\Temp\pe2\ISO" "C:\winbuilder\ISO\pe21.iso"

From the booted .iso, the boot.wim is loaded into RAM and WinPE runs from RAM - the CD can be ejected.

Some programs and other files can optionally be placed in the root of the ISO\ folder and these would be run only from the CD, not RAM.

Using Image Forger, I have created .iso files from the exact same ISO\ folder, and they are consistently 20-30KB bigger. Maybe you can explain the difference - really nothing to bother about IMO.


Regarding the reschanger, I know you would do a good one - and a suite of tools would be excellent - but Galapo's is working - still waiting to see if there will be an interface to let users know which hot-keys to use. ... :thumbup: ... I don't know...
EDIT: Galapo's has been updated to provide a usage message.


Regarding wall-paper changer - now that would be fantastic! How can it work considering that with each shutdown/restart, WinPE2 loses all memory, and starts up again with the same-old settings. A random selection of the wall-paper? Where to place the autorun code to start wall-changer early enough to swap the winpe.bmp? Could that be done?

Regards and thanks :thumbup:

#12 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 03 May 2008 - 06:53 AM

well, then we forget about the res changedr man, its ok.
and abot the wallchanger, i have a cmdline version of it, which will switch the wallpaper
you give the path to in the cmdline option.

so that could do the job....

want it?

Damian666

btw, i think oscdim = cdimage man

#13 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 03 May 2008 - 09:49 AM

well, then we forget about the res changedr man, its ok.
and abot the wallchanger, i have a cmdline version of it, which will switch the wallpaper
you give the path to in the cmdline option.

so that could do the job....

want it?

Damian666

btw, i think oscdim = cdimage man


I am looking for a random wall-paper so that it might be different each boot. Say, a folder with four or five .bmp files (compressed?) to replace the default \system32\winpe.bmp before the shell loads.

Remember, there is no way of recording the last wall-paper used because the registry of WinPE cannot be saved.

BTW, I am going away for a few days. I will have to leave it til then, and will start again on the proper thread... :lol: ...

Regards :thumbup:

#14 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 May 2008 - 10:27 AM

I am looking for a random wall-paper so that it might be different each boot. Say, a folder with four or five .bmp files (compressed?) to replace the default \system32\winpe.bmp before the shell loads.

Remember, there is no way of recording the last wall-paper used because the registry of WinPE cannot be saved.

BTW, I am going away for a few days. I will have to leave it til then, and will start again on the proper thread... :lol: ...

Regards :thumbup:


Wouldn't a simple batch be more than enough? :thumbup:
http://www.robvander...wallpapr_nt.txt

jaclaz

#15 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 03 May 2008 - 10:02 PM

:lol: ofcourse that could be enough Jaclaz, but thats not the point man :thumbup:
i like working with him, and so i want to help him.

Thats all man, and i can learn stuff by doing things i havend tried before man.

we are just having fun :thumbup:

Damian666

#16 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 June 2008 - 03:45 PM

Today I needed a tool for creating a bootable windows 98 install CD and tried to use this tool.

- One detail - if we open the source folder select box and close it (without selecting anything) it will output an error message

Is it possible to allow creating a CD for Windows 9x or at the very least allow to use your own boot sector or none at all? ;)


Just an idea, I could as well build with command line mkisofs but I prefer a GUI based tool.

:thumbup:

#17 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7100 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 06 June 2008 - 04:55 PM

Just an idea, I could as well build with command line mkisofs but I prefer a GUI based tool.

:thumbup:


Hmmm, ;)

http://members.chell...100/The_GUI.htm
http://mysite.verizo...artsec/make.htm
http://www.solriche....mgiso/mgiso.htm

jaclaz

#18 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 07 June 2008 - 08:02 AM

well, my programs are only meant to run on nt based OS es, so no...
but i see that jaclaz has shown you a alternative ;)

and about bootsector, yes i was thinking about it yesterday, when i had to create a iso for a dvd :thumbup:
i will try to implement that too.
but 9x support, no i dont think so man :thumbup:

Damian666

#19 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 June 2008 - 10:01 AM

All that is necessary is the option to use another boot sector and skip checking for I386 or Sources folders, it's not specific to Win9x but can be used for creating them if neded.

I ended doing all the install from a floppy image since it was still necessary to partition the drive and formats with the FAT32 file system.

;)

#20 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 08 June 2008 - 07:28 AM

hmm yes, but i dont know if it can support a 9x sector. maybe it needs a other cmdline with that.
and i cant get that in, without checking for it.

which is not a real tidy way of doing things you know.

Damian666

#21 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 June 2008 - 11:11 AM

Don't worry, was just an idea - guess few people even try to install Windows 9x these days anyways so I'm not sure if it was worth the trouble to get it working.. ;)

#22 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 10 June 2008 - 07:02 AM

yeah, exactly my point man ;)

Damian666




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users