Jump to content











Photo
* * * * - 2 votes

How to use "myOptions" & "WB Manager" ?


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 06 April 2008 - 05:06 PM

Can someone explain to me what "myOptions" & "WB Manager" are designed for and how to use them properly?

I am having some trouble using them.

Thanks

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 April 2008 - 05:42 PM

Can someone explain to me what "myOptions" & "WB Manager" are designed for and how to use them properly?

I am having some trouble using them.

Thanks

I'm not a good tutor, maybe Ispy makes a separate tutorial from this question.

But as 'father' and programmer of the ideas I can give you a short technical explanation.

Reason to develop something like this was:

Imagine you have a running project. Inside this project you have customised a lot of input data, check marks, radio buttons etc. to build the PE of your personal requirements.
Now you download newer versions of some scripts. These newer versions of course overwrite the personal settings of the current scripts.
And you have to go through all the scripts, compare the options with your personal values and change if necessary ...

Using myOptions you do:
  • save the current stage
  • download the new scripts
  • restore the status (options) as it has been before download
  • build your project
    logically (besides script changes) it is identical with the project before download.
That has been explanation part one.

Explanation part two is rather short:

With WBManager you can save 'myOptions' under a name of your choice.
And at everytime you can change your project to a certain presaved status.

With nativeEx_barebone you can check some very different predefined versions.
  • 'CMD' e.g. gives a minimized project with cmd.exe as shell
  • 'Standard' is the project constellation you get with a fresh download
  • 'Minimum' gives you an explorer shell w/o networking
  • etc.
Peter

#3 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 06 April 2008 - 07:37 PM

Peter,

Thank you for the quick reply. I know that I have a need to save the option sets of my various tests. I was guessing what these two scripts are for. What I am not clear is the relationship between the two scripts.

Let me see if I understand how it works. Please correct the following statements if they were wrong:

1. "myOptions" & WB Manager" scripts are meant to be used together.

2. There is only one "myOptions" stored at any given time, clicking "Save" will replace the stored one with a new one.

3. "WB Manager" is to store the current "myOptions" set as "Constellation" with a name so that it can be restore later as require.

4. Only save a "contellation" with "WB Manager" after a new "myOptions" set has been saved.

-------------------------------------------

Question: How do I delete a "contellation" in "WB Manager" I no longer need?

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 April 2008 - 07:54 PM

Peter,

Thank you for the quick reply. I know that I have a need to save the option sets of my various tests. I was guessing what these two scripts are for. What I am not clear is the relationship between the two scripts.

Let me see if I understand how it works. Please correct the following statements if they were wrong:

1. "myOptions" & WB Manager" scripts are meant to be used together.

2. There is only one "myOptions" stored at any given time, clicking "Save" will replace the stored one with a new one.

3. "WB Manager" is to store the current "myOptions" set as "Constellation" with a name so that it can be restore later as require.

4. Only save a "contellation" with "WB Manager" after a new "myOptions" set has been saved.

-------------------------------------------

Question: How do I delete a "contellation" in "WB Manager" I no longer need?

It is easier than you think:
You can use myOptions to save / restore one and only one actual constellation w/o giving a name to this constellation

If you use WBManager, it internally processes the myOptions functionality, but as user you do not have to call myOptions in any case.

Obsolete WBManager deletion: I did not provide that functionality in the script, but you can just by explorer delete the corresponding folder including the two files in it.

Peter

#5 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 06 April 2008 - 08:15 PM

If you use WBManager, it internally processes the myOptions functionality, but as user you do not have to call myOptions in any case.


If I have just made many changes in the selection of app scripts; do you mean that I can just use WB Manager to save a contellation without saving myOptions first?


Obsolete WBManager deletion: I did not provide that functionality in the script, but you can just by explorer delete the corresponding folder including the two files in it.


I have already tried that, the deleted item still appear in the drop down selection box of WBManager.

#6 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 April 2008 - 08:31 PM

If I have just made many changes in the selection of app scripts; do you mean that I can just use WB Manager to save a contellation without saving myOptions first?

I have already tried that, the deleted item still appear in the drop down selection box of WBManager.

question #1: Yes, you can
question #2: The scrollbox has to be updated.
That is done by click of 'Read Constellations'. Unfortunatelly WinBuilder here sometimes reacts with 'Access Violation' but that is only a unimportant 'feature'. The deleted option really disappears in the scrollbox.

BTW: after adding a new constallation it is sometimes necessary to 'Read Constellations', too. I do not know why, this is WBG internal, bat after 'Read Constellations' the list is ok.

In the worst case exit and restart WB. Then the list is really correct for all subsequent starts in the future.

Peter

#7 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 06 April 2008 - 08:54 PM

question #2: The scrollbox has to be updated.
That is done by click of 'Read Constellations'. Unfortunatelly WinBuilder here sometimes reacts with 'Access Violation' but that is only a unimportant 'feature'. The deleted option really disappears in the scrollbox.

BTW: after adding a new constallation it is sometimes necessary to 'Read Constellations', too. I do not know why, this is WBG internal, bat after 'Read Constellations' the list is ok.

In the worst case exit and restart WB. Then the list is really correct for all subsequent starts in the future.

Peter


I have to "Read Contellations" and restart WinBuilder before the deleted item will disappear. Thanks

I find WBManager crashes sometimes, it just say program will be terminated. Any idea why?

#8 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 April 2008 - 09:02 PM

I have to "Read Contellations" and restart WinBuilder before the deleted item will disappear. Thanks

I find WBManager crashes sometimes, it just say program will be terminated. Any idea why?


I'm not sure.
Could be that WBManager itself crashes. I think that is rather low propability. But in this case it would be nice if you post the log file.
If you are more experienced:
Just the line in the log which calls WBManager is sufficient.

Could also be that it is WinBuilder's 'feature' I mentioned above. This does not disturbe anything in the correct WBManager work. And I hope that this will be finished in the near future.

Peter

#9 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 06 April 2008 - 09:19 PM

I think the error message came from Windows XP, not from WinBuilder. As I recall, it said something like "..... encounter a problem... program will be shut down.."

I am not sure what "log file" you are refering to.

#10 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 April 2008 - 09:34 PM

I am not sure what "log file" you are refering to.

After you built the project, you see either
  • something showing some executed lines
  • have a tab 'LOG' on the upper right. Click 'log'
Click 'Save as log.html'

It generates a file 'log.html' in the folder where WinBuilder is installed.

This is the file we need (Please, ZIP to make it smaller)

BTW: log.html is the file which is needed for nearly all help requests.

Peter

#11 ispy

ispy

    Silver Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 618 posts
  • Location:PILGRIM

Posted 06 April 2008 - 09:37 PM

Hi Cdd :thumbsup: ,

Or see here http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=4355 but Peter beat me to it!

Regards,

ispy :tabletalk:

#12 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 April 2008 - 09:48 PM

Hi Cdd :thumbsup: ,

Or see here http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=4355 but Peter beat me to it!

Regards,

ispy :D


May be Off Topic: I first wanted to give that link, but then I thought :'This poor newby has to read several pages of Ispy's (really excellent) description'. :tabletalk:
And then I decided to write just some lines.

@Ispy: No attack, just kidding, I am familar whith only (and some people tell me that is my mistake) writing 'what is necessary' in black and / or white)

Peter :D

#13 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 06 April 2008 - 09:54 PM

After you built the project, you see either

  • something showing some executed lines
  • have a tab 'LOG' on the upper right. Click 'log'
Click 'Save as log.html'

It generates a file 'log.html' in the folder where WinBuilder is installed.

This is the file we need (Please, ZIP to make it smaller)

BTW: log.html is the file which is needed for nearly all help requests.

Peter


I know about the log file associated with Winbuilder generated error messages. This crash with WBManager did not trigger any error message from WinBuilder, I think the message is from Windows XP. After I acknowledged the "...Program will be shut down" message, only WBManager stop executing, WinBuilder still seem be runing normally without any protest. That is the sequence of events I remember. I don't beleive there is any log for the WBManager crashing. What all this means is that I just cannot save my current settings as a contellation. It is inconvenient, but no big deal.

#14 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 06 April 2008 - 10:04 PM

I don't beleive there is any log for the WBManager crashing.

You are wrong: There is one: The last line in the log before crash
And that is the line I need.

(Better: zip and post the complete log. It makesit easier for you)

Peter

#15 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 07 April 2008 - 01:48 AM

Sorry I was wrong saying that WBManger was giving error, that was based on my memory.

I was able to repeat the error just now by clicking the "Save set" button in WBManager. An error pops up saying " myOptions.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

It appears that WBManager calls myOptions.exe that is actually having the problem. I cannot see anywhere that I can view, save or find an error log file. See attach pic

Attached Thumbnails

  • error.png


#16 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 April 2008 - 07:12 AM

Sorry I was wrong saying that WBManger was giving error, that was base on my memory.

I was able to repeat the error just now by clicking the "Save set" button in WBManager. An error pops up saying " myOptions.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

It appears that WBManager calls myOptions.exe that is actually having the problem. I cannot see anywhere that I can view, save or find an error log file. See attach pic

The 'Save Constellation' text is used as directory name.
A plus sign inside is invalid and the file system crashes inside myOptions.

Peter

#17 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 07 April 2008 - 04:18 PM

The 'Save Constellation' text is used as directory name.
A plus sign inside is invalid and the file system crashes inside myOptions.

Peter


Does it mean that you have found the problem? Let me know when I can downloaded the fixed script. Thanks

#18 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 07 April 2008 - 04:37 PM

Does it mean that you have found the problem? Let me know when I can downloaded the fixed script. Thanks

I currently won't change the prog for this.
Just use only names allowed by Bill G.

Peter

#19 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 07 April 2008 - 05:32 PM

I currently won't change the prog for this.
Just use only names allowed by Bill G.

Peter


Sorry I misunderstood your answer. I thougth you meant some program internal problem.

Now I think I know what you are say; the constellation name used must follow the dir naming rules because it is used as a directory.

Thank you

#20 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 07 April 2008 - 06:18 PM

Peter,

I change the constellation name to something simple, it still crashes. See pic below:

Attached Thumbnails

  • ERRor1.png


#21 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 07 April 2008 - 06:49 PM

Peter,

I did more tests. myOption.exe crashes if I use a contellation name "Basic Test", but it works ok if I use "Basic-Test".

It appears that it only allows the contellation name to be in one word, it crashes if the name is in two words. Any idea why?

#22 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 April 2008 - 10:21 AM

Peter,

I did more tests. myOption.exe crashes if I use a contellation name "Basic Test", but it works ok if I use "Basic-Test".

It appears that it only allows the contellation name to be in one word, it crashes if the name is in two words. Any idea why?


Thanks!

It has been an until now unknown issue, depending on the space.

It is fixed and you can download myOptions.Script version 18 and !WBManager.Script version 15 from the nativeEx server.
I'm sure that Galaop will soon upload the new versions to the LiveXP server.

BTW: After download delete the temp directory, or you will use the old (wrong) .exes!

Peter

#23 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 08 April 2008 - 04:52 PM

Thanks!

It has been an until now unknown issue, depending on the space.

It is fixed and you can download myOptions.Script version 18 and !WBManager.Script version 15 from the nativeEx server.
I'm sure that Galaop will soon upload the new versions to the LiveXP server.

BTW: After download delete the temp directory, or you will use the old (wrong) .exes!

Peter


I downloaded the files and look at the content of the scripts; myOptions is till at version 17, !WBManager is at version 15.

#24 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 April 2008 - 05:00 PM

I downloaded the files and look at the content of the scripts; myOptions is till at version 17, !WBManager is at version 15.


Sorry, upload issue. :thumbsup:
Now the correct version is on server

Peter :tabletalk:

#25 cdd

cdd

    Member

  • Members
  • 93 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 08 April 2008 - 05:36 PM

Peter,

I just gave your new scripts a test, they accepted a multi-word contellation name without error. :thumbsup:

Thanks




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users