Jump to content











Photo
* * * - - 1 votes

Gavotte's RRamdisk


  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#1 NaX

NaX
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Afghanistan

Posted 29 February 2008 - 09:30 PM

There is a problem with Gavotte's RAMDISK. On a full NTFS system the FAT formatted RAMDISK doesn't work.

Windows XP Update:
Installing the Ramdisk sample driver in a NTFS only machine might make it unusable. To resolve this problem make the following change:
While you call the IoCreateDevice function (RamdiskAddDevice function in pnp.c), change the device type from FILE_DEVICE_VIRTUAL_DISK to FILE_DEVICE_DISK and recompile the driver. After you install the driver, restart the system in order to access the Ramdisk through Explorer.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/257405


if someone has the source, could you recompile it to correct this problem OR pass this along to Gavotte.
also i have seen later releases of the RAMDISK

ChangeLog:
12.09.2003 fix SMP/HT compatibility
11.26.2003 fix re-format problem & some typo
11.25.2003 merge rdpack and rdj to rdutil
11.24.2003 add DiskSizeK registry, more compatible w/ antivirus software
05.23.2007 x64 support
01.01.2008 support >=4G ram under 32bit windows (UsePAE=1)

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 February 2008 - 09:59 PM

Nax,
first thing welcome to the board. :)

I moved your post to this new thread as you might have missed last part of my post in the original thread:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=1507

I'll update and complete the post from time to time, if you have any more hints/links, please post it below, I'll add/edit this post and delete yours.

In other words, this thread is NOT meant for comments, just as a quick list of links, if you have meaningful comments, opinions or whatever, do post to a new thread with them and I'll add here a link to it


Please, also make sure to read this thread:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=3153&hl=

and behave accordingly.

I have no way to contact Gavotte, but user thunn might be interested in your report.

It seems like you are right, a newish version of RRAMDISK is out:

01.01.2008 support >=4G ram under 32bit windows (UsePAE=1)


Since it is not immediate to find it on the internet, I am attaching it here. :(

jaclaz

Attached Files



#3 YeOld

YeOld
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 March 2008 - 07:58 PM

It seems like you are right, a newish version of RRAMDISK is out:


Since it is not immediate to find it on the internet, I am attaching it here. :)

jaclaz


[For Italian users /ON]

Ciao, ja' !

Ho appena analizzato la versione a 32 bit del driver contenuto nell'archivio da te messo a disposizione con PE Explorer, e sembra che NON sia l'ultima disponibile: essendo quella contrassegnata come 1.0.4096.2 (01.01.2008), su alcuni siti cinesi ho trovato anche altre due versioni, una 1.0.4096.3 e una 1.0.4096.4 (25.01.2008).

Consentirebbero di oltrepassare il limite dei 4 GB, raddoppiandolo.

[For Italian users /OFF]

Hi, jaclaz.

I've just analyzed with PE Explorer the 32 bit driver included in the archive you linked, and it seems it's NOT the latest available: being it labeled as 1.0.4096.2 (2008.01.01), some Chinese sites report also the 1.0.4096.3 and the 1.0.4096.4 (2008.01.25) releases.

They would allow to push the size limit beyond 4GB, doubling it.

#4 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 March 2008 - 08:04 PM

I would have guessed that a file named "gavotte_ramdisk_20080101.rar" is the 01.01.2008 version! :)

If you have new versions, please do upload them. :(

Though the need of a Ramdisk bigger than 4 Gb appears to me rather remote...:cheers:, maybe these newish versions fix the problem Nax reported....

jaclaz

#5 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 March 2008 - 08:24 PM

I did recompile this driver once for my 'personal' version called simply ntramdrv.

Thanks for the leads, I'll be interested to investigate further!

btw,
I have encountered a problem from the kb, twice I think.

#6 YeOld

YeOld
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 March 2008 - 11:15 PM

Well, I've got good and bad news !

First the good ones: new versions seem to be available HERE !

Then the bad ones: the links you and me need are

- Gavotte RAMdisk v.1.0.4096.3 @ http://www.badongo.com/file/7409943 ;

- Gavotte RAMdisk v.1.0.4096.4 @ http://www.badongo.com/file/7601855 .

And they seem sadly to be DEAD !!!

A side note: Nax reported leads you could found HERE.

I hope Forum rules allow to use external links: if they don't please forgive me ! :)

And I hope Thunn will manage to give us a fully functional recompiled version of the ramdisk driver.



PS jaclaz: "I would have guessed that a file named "gavotte_ramdisk_20080101.rar" is the 01.01.2008 version!"

No doubt. :(

I was MAINLY reporting the version numbers of driver releases, though. :cheers:

#7 Rinrin

Rinrin
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 02 March 2008 - 03:27 AM

Hi All:
The original thread:
http://bbs.et8.net/b...ad.php?t=906641

registration is disabled in CCF forum, also I cannot post a message to that thread.

#8 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 12:04 PM

@YeOld
Thanks, got the files from your links. :)

@all
Please find attached the newish versions.

jaclaz

Attached Files



#9 YeOld

YeOld
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 12:24 PM

A gift for you all: just see attachment !

It's now possible, Thunn, to make these drivers even better ?

I mean: eventually recompiling them the way MS suggested in its knowledge base article.

Attached Files



#10 YeOld

YeOld
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2008 - 12:34 PM

Damn, jaclaz, I didn't manage to download those files from the links I gave, and I can't still do it !

I found another way and another forum, though: http://blog.chweng.idv.tw .

I have to correct my early statement, too: you were right, it's pretty clear that "4096" in the driver label refers to a RAMdisk max size of 4GB.

#11 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 March 2008 - 11:03 PM

I'm not testing these drivers currently, I have too much on my plate.
--

If anyone has tested each version and has a reason to believe the latest version is not the best, please post some info. or PM. I'll check back quickly to see if anymore updates are collected prior to 'clean' work on the driver.

#12 YeOld

YeOld
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 March 2008 - 03:50 PM

Could this be useful ?

I hope so.

From SpeedGuide.net forums it seems possible to solve (?) the kb257405 article related issue through this simple procedure: (after RAMdisk installation) "before you reboot [...] change the following registry setting:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Fastfat\Start

You need to change it from 4 to 1.

Reboot".

(Well, I think a registry backup and the creation of a system restore point are COMPULSORY EVEN BEFORE YOU INSTALL your RAMdisk...)

Could someone explain how good is this "solution" ?

#13 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 March 2008 - 05:12 PM

Could this be useful ?

I hope so.

From SpeedGuide.net forums it seems possible to solve (?) the kb257405 article related issue through this simple procedure: (after RAMdisk installation) "before you reboot [...] change the following registry setting:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Fastfat\Start

You need to change it from 4 to 1.

Reboot".

(Well, I think a registry backup and the creation of a system restore point are COMPULSORY EVEN BEFORE YOU INSTALL your RAMdisk...)

Could someone explain how good is this "solution" ?


Well, it appears the most "logical" one.

On a "NTFS only" system, it is probable that the start entry is set to 4 (Disabled).

Setting it to 1 (System) or (maybe) to 2 (Automatic) is correct.

While changing it for 1 or 2 to 4 will cause problems on a NON "NTFS only" system, there is no or very little risk to change the setting the other way round.

Reference:
http://www.jsifaq.co...ip.aspx?id=0324

jaclaz

#14 thunn

thunn

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:computers<br />mechanics<br />distortion<br /><br />
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 March 2008 - 12:53 AM

Last night I did a quick inspection of the new rramdisk driver. I did make some changes that included removing creation of a "temp" folder in the ramdisk. This was the original reason for rebuilding it. I tested it in winpe and it worked to create functional 64 and 32 MB ramdisks. I don't see needing 4GB anytime soon, but go for it.
The updated driver may be found inside the (ntramdrv)ramdrive script uploaded to the winbuilder nativePE server.
http://thuun.boot-la...NTRamdrv.Script

No front-end is used, only the driver file. The script is used to provide a FAT ramdisk for the build. NTFS requires reconfiguration in notepad.

**to add the setting discussed, open the script and update it as follows.
find this portion:
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-Setup\ControlSet001\Services\FastFat\Enum","Count","1"
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-Setup\ControlSet001\Services\FastFat\Enum","NextInstance","1"

add this above it or below it:
RegWrite,HKLM,0x4,"WB-Setup\ControlSet001\Services\Fastfat","Start","1"

I would simply add the setting to the script online, but it's not the default setting so I want to test it first.

#15 dog

dog

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 231 posts

Posted 05 March 2008 - 12:32 PM

Does this ramdisk have any advantages over imdisk?

#16 yurif999

yurif999
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 March 2008 - 02:11 PM

Hi to all!

a simple question: is there a way to create a pre-formatted NTFS ramdisk?

pretty simple question uh? :thumbsup:

#17 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 March 2008 - 03:04 PM

Hi to all!

a simple question: is there a way to create a pre-formatted NTFS ramdisk?

pretty simple question uh? :thumbsup:


Sure, simple, but also not understandable, what do you mean?

Please do describe what you would like to do.

jaclaz

#18 yurif999

yurif999
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 March 2008 - 06:53 PM

i mean that i want RRamdisk create a 512 Mb NTFS ramdisk and not FAT32. however i'm experiencing big problems. after installing RRamdisk and moving the swap file on the ram disk, windows xp does not boot anymore... even in safe mode. i've to reinstall from scratch... too bad! (this happened on two machines!)

#19 BLJ

BLJ
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Switzerland

Posted 07 August 2008 - 05:43 PM

I have to correct my early statement, too: you were right, it's pretty clear that "4096" in the driver label refers to a RAMdisk max size of 4GB.


That's wrong.
on x64 it's working with bigger sizes (and pae switch = 0).
I have it running on a System with 8GB of Ram. 5GB RRamdisk @ R: ...

#20 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 August 2008 - 05:58 PM

That's wrong.


Well, at most it's inaccurate.

I have seen better incipits in my experience. :cheers:

Welcome to the board, BLJ. :cheers:

Thank you for your report, even if made in a slightly aggressive way, remember Rule #12:
http://www.boot-land...?act=boardrules
:cheers:

If you would top it with the EXACT version you are using, it may be even more helpful.

:cheers:

jaclaz

#21 BLJ

BLJ
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Switzerland

Posted 08 August 2008 - 02:38 PM

Thank you for your report, even if made in a slightly aggressive way, remember Rule #12:


Well, sorry. I guess i have to learn more some adequate etiquette english vocabulary.

If you would top it with the EXACT version you are using, it may be even more helpful.

:cheers:

jaclaz


From 4096.2 to 4096.4, tried em all.
I had some problems setting it up, though. Don't know why exactly it worked sometimes and sometimes it would. Anyway, i've made a backup of the relevant registry keys and it's working like a charm again ;-)


PS: it just hit me: You could add a "no double posts" rule, too. Especially if the content's exactly the same :cheers: ;-)

#22 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 August 2008 - 05:20 PM

Well, sorry. I guess i have to learn more some adequate etiquette english vocabulary.

No harm was done. :cheers:

To better clear my post, the board is a gathering place, and we like to keep it as friendly and "plain" as possible.

As an example, imagine you are at your local bar/pub/club/whatever is used in Switzerland as a relaxing place, talking and exchanging ideas with your friends and with some passers by, when the door slams open and a foreigner you've never seen in your life enters the room pointing his finger at you and shouting:

YOU ARE WRONG!


Usually in these situations one of the following happens:
1) you begin yelling back at the foreigner and soon a fight starts

2) an elderly, distinct gentleman goes towards the foreigner telling him something to the effect of:

Hallo, nice to meet you, please take a seat, let me introduce you to ......



3) the local champion of weightlifting, 1.95 m x 135 Kg, nicknamed "hardmeat" for it's peculiar way of cracking
coconuts open by banging them with an unnameable part of his anatomy, stands up and gently escorts the foreigner out of the place
:cheers:

From 4096.2 to 4096.4, tried em all.
I had some problems setting it up, though. Don't know why exactly it worked sometimes and sometimes it would. Anyway, i've made a backup of the relevant registry keys and it's working like a charm again ;-)

Could you share your findings? :cheers:
One or more .REG files may be of help for some other user.

PS: it just hit me: You could add a "no double posts" rule, too. Especially if the content's exactly the same :cheers: ;-)

Yes :cheers:, we are having a lot of these "stupid" SERVER 500 errors, and it happens that one inadvertently clicks the button twice.

:cheers:

jaclaz

#23 BLJ

BLJ
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Switzerland

Posted 08 August 2008 - 07:07 PM

No harm was done. :cheers:

To better clear my post, the board is a gathering place, and we like to keep it as friendly and "plain" as possible.

As an example, imagine you are at your local bar/pub/club/whatever is used in Switzerland as a relaxing place, talking and exchanging ideas with your friends and with some passers by, when the door slams open and a foreigner you've never seen in your life enters the room pointing his finger at you and shouting:


Usually in these situations one of the following happens:
1) you begin yelling back at the foreigner and soon a fight starts

2) an elderly, distinct gentleman goes towards the foreigner telling him something to the effect of:


3) the local champion of weightlifting, 1.95 m x 135 Kg, nicknamed "hardmeat" for it's peculiar way of cracking
coconuts open by banging them with an unnameable part of his anatomy, stands up and gently escorts the foreigner out of the place
:cheers:


:cheers:
thanks for putting it down so eloquently. Nice story. It shows the temper of a true italian ;-) ;-) ;-)
Anyway- i've been a member to several boards from 2000 onwards...


Could you share your findings? :cheers:
One or more .REG files may be of help for some other user.


Yes :cheers:, we are having a lot of these "stupid" SERVER 500 errors, and it happens that one inadvertently clicks the button twice.

:cheers:

jaclaz


Well yes.. i can.
or .. at least i wanted to. I just remarked that the regfile seems to be somehow corrupted, at least the Size attribute is wrong.
I'll set up a new one and post the new Registry Export.


PS: i'm usually not asking lot's of question i 'could' find the answers to myself. So just oneself, it's kinda offtopic:
Anybody got Windows XP x64 to run (Boot) from Ramdisk?
I guess it might be possible by altering WinPE (not x64 compatible) or Win x64... i've done quite some hours of research but i haven't found that much yet. So if anybody is reading that and has got it working please send me a PM. thx.

#24 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

    Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 7,098 posts
  • Location:Gone in the mist
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 August 2008 - 02:35 PM

PS: i'm usually not asking lot's of question i 'could' find the answers to myself. So just oneself, it's kinda offtopic:
Anybody got Windows XP x64 to run (Boot) from Ramdisk?
I guess it might be possible by altering WinPE (not x64 compatible) or Win x64... i've done quite some hours of research but i haven't found that much yet. So if anybody is reading that and has got it working please send me a PM. thx.


Not at all my field of competence, mind you, but I had the impression that the only non-bootable through RAMDISK was Itanium based builds:
http://technet.micro...e/cc160905.aspx
x64 (using Server 2003 SP1 files) should work allright. :cheers:

jaclaz

#25 bilou_gateux

bilou_gateux

    Frequent Member

  • Expert
  • 208 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 11 August 2008 - 05:51 PM

PS: i'm usually not asking lot's of question i 'could' find the answers to myself. So just oneself, it's kinda offtopic:
Anybody got Windows XP x64 to run (Boot) from Ramdisk?
I guess it might be possible by altering WinPE (not x64 compatible) or Win x64... i've done quite some hours of research but i haven't found that much yet. So if anybody is reading that and has got it working please send me a PM. thx.

I don't have the answer but another question related to Windows XP x64:
EWF (Enhanced Write Filter) from Microsoft SCT (Shared Computer Toolkit) 1.1: that driver is not compiled for x64. Anybody to recompile for x64? Probably not possible because Microsoft binaries source are not available...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users