Photo
* * * - - 1 votes

I'm sure your sick of assisting noobs but...

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Claw

Claw

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 February 2008 - 06:22 AM

Background:

I do a lot of side work fixing peoples systems, Diagnosing ways to streamline processes to increase productivity, Build systems, reinstall/upgrade OSes, and much much more.
Recently I started studying Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition. So I can work with a friend of mine in larger corp. Based projects. I have a licensed copy of W2k3 SSE and server licensed copies of XP Pro OEM and Retail.
One of the tasks I'm undergoing is Advanced Hard Disk Optimizations. (Basically aligning the Physical sector size and windows projected formated sector size.) On a PC it doesn't make a lick of difference. How ever when
working with SAN Drives and other various configurations it can be a 20% - 40% increase in server performance. Now I can physically pull all the drives out stick them in a test bed and pre-partition/Format them. Or Learn to
Use this very impressive tool every one has worked so hard to make. I started out working with RyanVM.net preloading Updates then used NLite to tweak settings for a WINNT.sif then manually edit to do a few extra settings.
This saves alot of time on this aspect of the process. However I couldn't find a way to incorperate the special partitions and formating needs into this file. Thats when I stumbled across WinBuilder, and after looking over all the
awesome tools, and freeware apps incorperated in to LiveXP I was hooked. I have spent the last 3 days trying to make a successful boot CD.

Now I'm not one to easily ask questions. I prefer to find it VIA Google/forums/ask. I tend to find it faster to read other peoples problems and solutions and try to diagnose my own problems. Its taught me well in the past.
But here I am 3 days later and I guess its time for help from your WinBuilder Guru's. Thanks in advance.