Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

VistaPE V.12 Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 BrianT

BrianT
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 February 2008 - 08:25 PM

Got VistaPE V.12 loaded to CD just, but with I use a USB device its not loading the extra vistape.cfg config file from the root of the usb drive, like is does when it boots from CD.

Thanks

#2 PatrickF

PatrickF

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 14 February 2008 - 12:53 PM

Same problem here. I had this also with V.11 and was waiting for V.12. But it seems the problem still exists.
When i click "reload Vista PE Settings" then it works but that is not a solution for me. I hope somebody has an idea how to fix the problem.

#3 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 14 February 2008 - 02:32 PM

Just so you don't feel too lonely, some similar 'glitches' were noted during the v.12 limited testing (pre-public beta) phase. But, in my own case at least, the incomplete start-up processing of vistape.cfg was a transient non-reproduceable phenomenon that occured once only on a USB device boot using the BS Explorer shell. Still not sure about specific (either, both, neither) contributing factors.

In the circumstances, pinning it down could be tricky, but, hopefully, more public beta experience like yours may help in finding the culprit.

#4 BrianT

BrianT
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 February 2008 - 03:29 AM

BTW, If you make all the programs run from ram it works great. The problem is that its looking for %CD Drive% and there isn't one.

#5 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 15 February 2008 - 03:50 AM

Did you also try reloading VistaPE settings? When it happened to me, and apparently in PatrickF's case as well, that made if recognize the USB device and load the vistape.cfg sections (shortcuts, etc.) to use programs residing there.

I'm not suggesting that is a proper 'cure' for the problem. I'm just asking 'cuz repeatable symptoms might help NightMan in tracking it down.

#6 PatrickF

PatrickF

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 February 2008 - 09:51 AM

... But, in my own case at least, the incomplete start-up processing of vistape.cfg was a transient non-reproduceable phenomenon that occured once only on a USB device boot using the BS Explorer shell.


In my case it's reproducable and it seems that there is no correlation to the used shell.
I use a USB Harddisk and force not all programs to ram.

#7 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 18 February 2008 - 11:00 AM

Yes, sometimes we have some problem with booting from USB, i plan fully rewrite VistaPE Loaded (vpeldr.exe) in VistaPE v.12 and this bug will be fully fixed :)

ps right now vpeldr writed on perl and i plan rewrite it with autoIT, but it can take many time..

#8 PatrickF

PatrickF

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 19 February 2008 - 06:31 AM

how complex is the work that vpeldr does?
i am a software developer and maybe could help out.
my languages are delphi (win32) oder c# (.net).

#9 Brito

Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10565 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2008 - 12:45 PM

how complex is the work that vpeldr does?
i am a software developer and maybe could help out.
my languages are delphi (win32) oder c# (.net).


This is good to hear - if you're really interested in helping out then perhaps we could work together on a few custom software to improve things.

:)

#10 risolutore

risolutore

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 311 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 February 2008 - 04:18 PM

This is hte set env under VinRE used by Norton Ghost, if can be of any help for all the good :( developer. I would like to make a full in one recovery env adding the Norton and active boot disk functionality under Our personalized VistaPe env.. :)

###
ALLUSERSPROFILE=X:\ProgramData
CommonProgramFiles=x:\Program Files\Common Files
COMPUTERNAME=MINWINPC
ComSpec=X:\windows\system32\cmd.exe
FP_NO_HOST_CHECK=NO
locale=en
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=1
OS=Windows_NT
Path=X:\windows\system32;X:\windows;X:\windows\Shell;X:\windows\System32\Wbem
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 15 Model 0 Stepping 10, GenuineIntel
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=15
PROCESSOR_REVISION=000a
ProgramData=X:\ProgramData
ProgramFiles=x:\Program Files
PROMPT=$P$G
PUBLIC=X:\Users\Public
resourceloc=
ShellPath=X:\windows\shell
SystemDrive=X:
SystemRoot=X:\windows
TEMP=X:\windows\TEMP
TimeZone=(GMT+01:00)
TMP=X:\windows\TEMP
USERNAME=SYSTEM
USERPROFILE=X:\windows\system32\config\systemprofile
windir=X:\windows
###

#11 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 20 February 2008 - 08:52 AM

i am a software developer and maybe could help out.
my languages are delphi (win32) oder c# (.net).

Big thanks! But i don't know this languages and can not control it .... but, if you can write small Windows Vista native program that can configure network without "TCP/IP Registry Compatibility" service, it's will be very very good... PeNetCfg is very good tool, but it's not working without Vista DVD :)

#12 PatrickF

PatrickF

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 21 February 2008 - 07:34 AM

Big thanks! But i don't know this languages and can not control it .... but, if you can write small Windows Vista native program that can configure network without "TCP/IP Registry Compatibility" service, it's will be very very good... PeNetCfg is very good tool, but it's not working without Vista DVD :)



what about netsh ?

http://technet2.micr...3.mspx?mfr=true

(I am not familiar with this PE solutions, i am new to it.)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users