Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

VistaPE v.12 beta


  • Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#1 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 12 February 2008 - 08:51 AM

VistaPE v.12 beta available for public testing, now only limited functions, but Windows Vista SP1, Windows 2008 and new WAIK 1.1 is fully supported... more details will be soon :thumbsup:

http://vistape.net/beta/

#2 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 12 February 2008 - 10:26 AM

VistaPE v.12 beta available for public testing, now only limited functions, but Windows Vista SP1, Windows 2008 and new WAIK 1.1 is fully supported... more details will be soon :thumbsup:

http://vistape.net/beta/

vpeldr.exe has been modificated for usb or is similar to vista 11?
thanks

#3 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 12 February 2008 - 10:32 AM

hardware detection was fully rewrited ... :thumbsup:

#4 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 12 February 2008 - 10:36 AM

hardware detection was fully rewrited ... :thumbsup:

ok, thanks :D

#5 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 12 February 2008 - 10:42 AM

one question, sorry. When i run vmware mozka5 in vistape from usb it said that pagination file is very small. is posible modify it parameter from vistape?

#6 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 12 February 2008 - 10:59 AM

pagination file is loaded in ram, x, hard disk?

#7 risolutore

risolutore

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 311 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 February 2008 - 11:16 AM

thank you nightman. I will try soon the new hardware detection.. :thumbsup: .
Have yoou take a look at Active Boot Disk recovery cd solution? besta regards

#8 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 12 February 2008 - 12:49 PM

pagination file is loaded in ram, x, hard disk?

what is "pagination file"? ... it's working and not use virtual memory by default, if you ask about it :thumbsup:

Have you take a look at Active Boot Disk recovery cd solution?

yes, i have it :D

#9 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 February 2008 - 01:48 PM

Hi NightMan,

Started testing the new beta version.

- WimUtil will trigger free Avast! antivirus when it's being downloaded and is marked as Trojan, maybe a solution is avoiding UPX or send a copy of wimutil to their services to be marked as safe. One other solution is attaching inside


- KNOPPIX.dat is very big sized (>40Mb) and takes around 2 hours to download on non-adsl web links. It also fails the MD5 integrity test.


- script.project - interface doesn't allow to click on any of the links. The frame needs to be placed first in the [interface] section.


--------------

The project didn't build because of my source lacks SP1 and this was correctly displayed by the project.


----

Will try to find a SP1 or wait until march to see it available for PT language.

:thumbsup:

#10 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 12 February 2008 - 02:37 PM

The project didn't build because of my source lacks SP1 and this was correctly displayed by the project.

That's strange. I don't have SP1 integrated into my Vista (Ultimate Edition) source yet either and the VistaPE project v.12beta has been building and running okay for me. My last test build was just prior to the public beta release. Hope I didn't mislead NightMan with my "all's well" report.

Did it show you any particular errors, or just refuse to process the build scripts entirely?

#11 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 12 February 2008 - 03:07 PM

Hope I didn't mislead NightMan with my "all's well" report.



You didn't! :)

I have downloaded fresh VistaPE12 beta and made OK build (as usual)
with my simple Vista Ultimate source. It works flawlessly in VirtualPC!

:thumbsup: :) :D :D :D ;) ;)

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 February 2008 - 03:07 PM

I'm running on Vista Home Portuguese x64 and here are the relevant log lines:

Processing section: [AutoDetectWimTool] From file: [%BaseDir%\Projects\VistaPE-Core\Base\01-preconfig.script]



Processing section: [AutoFindImagex] From file: [%BaseDir%\Projects\VistaPE-Core\Base\01-preconfig.script]

[Info] Detecting "imagex.exe"...
[Ignore] IF - File does not exist: [C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\imagex.exe] evaluated string: [If,ExistFile,"%pFileBox1%\Tools\%SysType%\imagex.exe",Set,"%IMAGEX%","%pFileBox1%\Tools\%SysType%\imagex.exe"]
[Ignore] IF - File does not exist: [C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\imagex.exe] evaluated string: [If,ExistFile,"%pFileBox1%\Tools\%SysType%\imagex.exe",Set,%ImageTool%,"ImageX"]
[Ignore] IF - File does not exist: [%BaseDir%\Projects\Tools\imagex.exe] evaluated string: [If,ExistFile,"%Tools%\imagex.exe",Set,"%IMAGEX%","%Tools%\imagex.exe"]
[Ignore] IF - File does not exist: [%BaseDir%\Projects\Tools\imagex.exe] evaluated string: [If,ExistFile,"%Tools%\imagex.exe",Set,%ImageTool%,"ImageX"]
[Ignore] IF - File does not exist: [C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\imagex.exe] evaluated string: [If,ExistFile,"%ProgramFilesDir%\Windows AIK\Tools\%SysType%\imagex.exe",Set,"%IMAGEX%","%ProgramFilesDir%\Windows AIK\Tools\%SysType%\imagex.exe"]
[Ignore] IF - File does not exist: [C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\imagex.exe] evaluated string: [If,ExistFile,"%ProgramFilesDir%\Windows AIK\Tools\%SysType%\imagex.exe",Set,%ImageTool%,"ImageX"]
[Ignore] IF - [x86] is not equal to: [amd64] evaluated string: [If,"%SysType%",Equal,"amd64",run,%ScriptFile%,Win64Check]

Processing section: [Find-WimUtil] From file: [%BaseDir%\Projects\VistaPE-Core\Base\01-preconfig.script]

[Ignore] IF - [x86] is not equal to: [amd64] evaluated string: [If,"%SysType%",Equal,"amd64",Echo,"WimUtil not compatible with Windows x64. #$x#$xExiting..."]
[Ignore] IF - [x86] is not equal to: [amd64] evaluated string: [If,"%SysType%",Equal,"amd64",Message,"WimUtil not compatible with Windows x64. #$x#$xExiting..."]
[Ignore] IF - [x86] is not equal to: [amd64] evaluated string: [If,"%SysType%",Equal,"amd64",exit,"Exiting.."]
[Info] Detecting WimUtil...
[Failed] RegRead - Failed to read specified key from: [HKLM] Section: [SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\FltMgr] Key: [DisplayName] to variable: [%RegName%]
[Success] IF [%regname%] is equal to: [fltmgr]


Processing section: [FltMgr] From file: [%BaseDir%\Projects\VistaPE-Core\Base\01-preconfig.script]

[Success] Message: Microsoft Filesystem Filter Manager (fltmgr.sys) not found, please install latest SP. Exiting...

Exiting..


Now that you mention your success - did you installed the WAIK?

This seems a plausible reason for the lack of this driver or maybe WimUtil has something to do with this? :thumbsup:

At the moment I'm just trying to test as any other newbie would see it for the first time when using their Vista DVD as source.

Thanks for helping debug this matter.

:D

#13 risolutore

risolutore

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 311 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 February 2008 - 05:37 PM

now 1838 I am running 00-postconfig.script... packing boot.wim I hope it will work. Is there any changelog.txt since I found the script in different folder than ver 0.11 ..thank you Night Man

#14 hectorma

hectorma

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 12 February 2008 - 06:36 PM

what is "pagination file"? ... it's working and not use virtual memory by default, if you ask about it :thumbsup:


yes, i have it :D

No, sorry. Ram is insuficient, it is the problem.

#15 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 12 February 2008 - 07:18 PM

@phox - Thanks for that confirmation. I was a little worried that I might be deep trouble for a while. :thumbsup:
__

I'm running on Vista Home Portuguese x64 and here are the relevant log lines:
(log omitted for brevity - see original above)
Now that you mention your success - did you installed the WAIK?

No. My ONLY source for VistaPE is from my Vista installation DVD copied to a hard drive folder. But I had previously installed the WIM driver on my system. That is to say that my first usage of WinBuilder/VistaPE did it for me.

This seems a plausible reason for the lack of this driver or maybe WimUtil has something to do with this? :D

Certainly looks that way. The [FltMgr] section referred to in your posted log is just an error handler triggered by the [Find-WimUtil] section of the same script. It is testing for the presence of the FltMgr and WimFltr services in Windows by examining your registry's HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services keys. My recollection (which may be faulty) is that a failure used to result in an offer to install the wimfltr.sys driver for you. In any case, the absence of those Windows services appears to be the cause of your problem.

At the moment I'm just trying to test as any other newbie would see it for the first time when using their Vista DVD as source.

Makes sense to me. I guess great minds think alike 'cuz I'm doing the same thing. :D

Thanks for helping debug this matter. :D

And thank you for the input. Seems like a potential biggie if it's not identifying the problem and required solution more clearly than that.

#16 risolutore

risolutore

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 311 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 February 2008 - 11:52 PM

it worked woooow :-) the vPeloader 0.80 command box and the autoit script worked...but very slowly inside VMware...

#17 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1256 posts

Posted 12 February 2008 - 11:53 PM

No, sorry. Ram is insuficient, it is the problem.



hectorma,

you can create pagefile on local HDD with:

'wpeutil createpagefile /path... /size...'

#18 booty#1

booty#1

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 285 posts
  • Location:Near Frankfurt
  •  
    Germany

Posted 13 February 2008 - 08:34 AM

VistaPE v.12 beta available for public testing, now only limited functions, but Windows Vista SP1, Windows 2008 and new WAIK 1.1 is fully supported... more details will be soon :thumbsup:


Ok, here are the results of my first quicktest using the german WAIK 1.1 and executing using VMWare Player:

System boots up works as expected.
The virtual E1000 network card is not beeing detected/loaded. The previous versions did recognize this network adapter without additional drivers.
XnView does not start because of a missing dll: "MSACM32.DLL"
DiskPartitioner does not see any partitions on the virtual HDD
Startmenu command System/"Map Network Drive" does not do anything

booty#1

#19 risolutore

risolutore

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 311 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 February 2008 - 02:03 PM

it's normal to have X drive as the ISo..and D mounted with the same iso..but with programs dir?

#20 yahoouk

yahoouk

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 518 posts

Posted 13 February 2008 - 06:43 PM

Hi NightMan,

Just quick test report.
Based 2k8RC1.
Used Explorer, IE7 scripts.
All're smooth on vmware.
Piece of missing files = framedynos.dll for penetcfg, wbemcomn.dll for Everest while looking inside.
I'll post Screen Shot on Weekends.
Too busy, sorry about that.
Thanks to all.

Regards.

yahooUK

#21 yahoouk

yahoouk

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 518 posts

Posted 16 February 2008 - 08:02 PM

Here it is. There is a bug for wpeinit.exe. All results (Vista dvd source, real mode or in vmware) are the same.
Thanks.
2k_8_02_16_2k8.jpg

#22 Max_Real Qnx

Max_Real Qnx

    Gold Member

  • Patrician
  • 1382 posts
  • Location:Istanbul
  • Interests:To be or not to be that is the question.
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 18 February 2008 - 04:14 PM

Hi NightMan :)

I don't download VistaPE 12 project with WinBuilder, because http://www.vistape.net server very slowly.

Can you compile this nice project and upload RapidShare :(

#23 Pavel Azanov

Pavel Azanov

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 18 February 2008 - 04:50 PM

Yeah. that would be very helpful because i can't download it. please upload the whole project on rapidshare or http://bigshare.net

#24 NightMan

NightMan

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Russian, Moscow

Posted 18 February 2008 - 08:15 PM

WimUtil will trigger free Avast! antivirus when it's being downloaded and is marked as Trojan, maybe a solution is avoiding UPX or send a copy of wimutil to their services to be marked as safe. One other solution is attaching inside

hm... we have this version very long time and all good... today Nikzzzz sent to me new version of WimUtil, maybe it's will be working more better :cheers:

KNOPPIX.dat is very big sized (>40Mb) and takes around 2 hours to download on non-adsl web links. It also fails the MD5 integrity test.

it's example for new multiboot engine ... i try upload all files again very soon :(

I'm running on Vista Home Portuguese x64 and here are the relevant log lines:

no one still not test it with Vista x64, can you send full log? :cheers:

... and x64 host request installed WAIK anyway :cheers:

The virtual E1000 network card is not beeing detected/loaded. The previous versions did recognize this network adapter without additional drivers.

yes, it's bug, thanks :cheers:

XnView does not start because of a missing dll: "MSACM32.DLL"

fixed

DiskPartitioner does not see any partitions on the virtual HDD

DiskPartitioner work only with English VistaPE ... maybe problem here..

Startmenu command System/"Map Network Drive" does not do anything

it's request explorer...

it's normal to have X drive as the ISo..and D mounted with the same iso..but with programs dir?

hm... yes

Piece of missing files = framedynos.dll for penetcfg,

penetcfg not request framedynos.dll... problem with wpeinit.exe... try disable "Common components (WSH/MDAC/HTA/WMI/XML)" script :cheers:

I don't download VistaPE 12 project with WinBuilder, because http://www.vistape.net server very slowly.

i know, sorry, we have too big server load, apache request too many resources and not working good, now i migrate to lighttpd server, but it request time (we have not only one site on this server) ....:)

#25 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10549 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2008 - 10:28 AM

I will work to solve these issues with the x64 versions to avoid confusion on new users when things don't work out of the box.


Why is the WAIK necessary?

Is this a x64 limitation because of incompatibilities between x32 binaries and drivers or applies to x32 vista as well? :)

:(




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users