Jump to content











Photo
* * * * - 2 votes

Where is the Custom folder on VistaPE?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 htdw3

htdw3
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 10 February 2008 - 11:43 PM

when i am adding a program to the my vistape build do i just put the script into the the "copy custom folder"
for ex. c:\winbuilder\custom\chess.script?

#2 Brito

Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10566 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 February 2008 - 12:07 AM

I'm moving this question to the VistaPE forum since you may find more people able to help you there.

:thumbsup:

#3 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 11 February 2008 - 12:43 AM

when i am adding a program to the my vistape build do i just put the script into the the "copy custom folder"
for ex. c:\winbuilder\custom\chess.script?

To be selected for running as a VistaPE project script, it needs to be located within the \WinBuilder\Projects\VistaPE folder. To be consistent with the current layout logic, you'd locate a chess script in \WinBuilder\Projects\VistaPE\App\Games or something like that. You can call the subfolder App\Custom if you want to. Subfolder naming isn't especially critical, but Level=5 is the normal sequencing flag for VistaPE application scripts.

#4 htdw3

htdw3
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 12 February 2008 - 03:25 PM

ah man thats easy thanks
So If i wanted to add the DTemp program i just add the DTemp folder containing the .exe and the DTemp.script
to the winbuilder\Projects\VistaPE\App\Disk Tools folder

#5 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 12 February 2008 - 07:50 PM

Yup. Well, that's the theory at least. Some script created for other WinBuilder projects may require a little 'tweaking' for VistaPE which has a few API 'extensions' and related syntax of its own. I'm not familiar with DTemp and so can't be more specific about that particular case.

#6 htdw3

htdw3
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 February 2008 - 03:05 PM

I'll download virtual pc and try it out this weekend. My brothers got high speed.

#7 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 13 February 2008 - 03:22 PM

Good luck with your try-outs. If you haven't used VistaPE before, you might want to start with only the 'Recommended' downloads and script selections and build up from there. In addition to the on-site documentation here and here, there's a reasonably decent third party tutorial here.

I hope your brother's high speed connection is better than my stinking satellite service. That's what I get for retiring in the wilderness of the 'Great White North'. :thumbsup:

#8 htdw3

htdw3
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 17 February 2008 - 12:07 AM

How do i add themes to litestep i was hoping to add this one
screenshot
http://www.litestep....147231-1252.png

download link
http://www.litestep....?mod=1252,theme

i was looking for a folder where the themes are stored but i guess it's all in the .script file

i had the windowblinds.script and main folder in ....winbuilder\Projects\VistaPE\App and it wouldn't run and i didnt give me an option to load shell or default shell.
i tried cutting and pasting a some code from the total commander script to and old windowblinds script but i dont know what im doing.

[Main]
Title=WindowBlinds 6.1
Author=Max_Real Qnx
Level=5
Version=11
Description=Stardock WindowBlinds 6.1 build-57 Public Theme Manager For VistaPE
Locked=false
Contact=QnxMaxQnx@netscape.net
Date=21.12.2007
Selected=True
Credits=Needs Windows Vista DVD as source..... http://www.windowblinds.net & http://maxrealqnx.boot-land.net

[Variables]
%OutDir%=WindowBlinds
%PName%=Stardock WindowBlinds 6.1 build-57 Public For VistaPE

[Process]
If,%pCheckBox8%,Equal,True,run,"%ScriptFile%,WB61"
If,%pCheckBox8%,Equal,True,run,"%ScriptFile%,WB61x"
If,%pCheckBox6%,Equal,True,run,"%ScriptFile%,TTR"
If,%pCheckBox9%,Equal,True,run,"%ScriptFile%,TRANS"
If,%pCheckBox10%,Equal,True,run,"%ScriptFile%,UBR"
If,NotExistFile,"%pFileBox1%\%ProgramEXE%",run,%ScriptFile%,Download
Echo,Processing %ProgramTitle%...
RunFromRam,True
CopyProgram,%pFileBox1%
Add_Shortcut,StartMenu
Add_Shortcut,Desktop
#
If,%pCheckBox3%,Equal,True,If,%pCheckBox4%,Equal,True,AddToPEShell,%ProgramTitle%,,True
If,%pCheckBox3%,Equal,True,If,%pCheckBox4%,Equal,False,AddToPEShell,%ProgramTitle%
#

[Interface]
pCheckBox3="Add to PE Shell",1,3,10,60,200,18,True
pCheckBox4="Set as default shell in PE Shell",1,3,10,80,200,18,True
pFileBox1=%ScriptDir%\Main,1,13,79,98,207,27,dir
pTextLabel1="Source folder",1,1,10,103,72,18,8,Normal
pTextLabel2="I dont know what this is for.",1,1,10,132,436,40,8,Normal

I'm just trying to get vistape to look like vista I saw it in a screenshot somewhere.

#9 htdw3

htdw3
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 17 February 2008 - 02:39 PM

i tried converting a bartpe windowblinds plugin wb5.inf
http://www.911cd.net...p;mode=threaded

i just want my boot cd to look cool so when i fix this chicks computer shell think im cool

#10 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 17 February 2008 - 08:01 PM

i just want my boot cd to look cool so when i fix this chicks computer shell think im cool

Hmmmm. I'm not sure if I want to help you impress 'chicks' or not. Oh well. I too was young once -- many many moons ago when dinosaurs roamed the earth. :(

How do i add themes to litestep ...

1) In WinBuilder, select the LiteStep script and click its edit icon (the little wrench).
2) In WinBuilder's script editor, select the Attachments tab (paperclip)
3) Select the Litestep.7z attachment, hit the Extract button on the left, and choose a work location in which to put the extracted file.
4) In the work location, use 7zip to extract (uncompress) the Litestep.7z file's contents.
5) The resulting folders/files structure includes a themes folder with two subfolders (austerity and EcyStep).
6) Add your new theme subfolder and its contents to that themes folder.
7) Use 7zip to recompress the entire structure with your added theme into a new Litestep.7z file,
8) Returning to the WinBuilder editor's attachment tab, hit the Remove File(s) button to delete the existing Litestep.7z attachment.
9) Hit the Add button to attach your newly created Litestep.7z file that includes your added theme.
10) Switch to the WinBuilder editor's Interface and Source tabs to add a selectable option for your new theme.

Based on what you've already posted, I'm assuming that step #10 isn't a problem for you, but let us know if you do need help with it also.

Good luck showing off. I just hope your 'chick' is more impressed by 'cool technology' than mine ever was. :)

#11 htdw3

htdw3
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 17 February 2008 - 09:26 PM

thanks man
shes always messing her computer up.

#12 Arvy

Arvy

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Location:Canada, Parry Sound
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 18 February 2008 - 02:06 PM

You're welcome. Be sure to keep us posted. We'll be interested in your progress. :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users