5 replies to this topic

#1 iceangel89

iceangel89

• Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 09 February 2008 - 01:59 AM

i am new to GRUB4DOS and think i need some clarifications on what i am doing.

map command

13.3.23 map
— Command: map to_drive from_drive

Map the drive from_drive to the drive to_drive. This is necessary when you chain-load some operating systems, such as DOS, if such an OS resides at a non-first drive. Here is an example:

grub> map (hd0) (hd1)
grub> map (hd1) (hd0)

The example exchanges the order between the first hard disk and the second hard disk. See also DOS/Windows.

the 1st command is to? map the 2nd HDD to the 1st? then 1st HDD will "disappear"?
then the 2nd line is to map the "disappear"-ed HDD (1st) to the 2nd?

this is used if something like DOS can be used from the 1st HDD only?
and how long does this apply? in this GRUB4DOS session only?

alot of times i see [Chainloader]

chainloader (hd0)+1

13.3.4 chainloader
— Command: chainloader [--force] file

Load file as a chain-loader. Like any other file loaded by the filesystem code, it can use the blocklist notation to grab the first sector of the current partition with `+1'. If you specify the option --force, then load file forcibly, whether it has a correct signature or not. This is required when you want to load a defective boot loader, such as SCO UnixWare 7.1 (see SCO UnixWare).

whats the +1 for? and if i don't put +1 in it won't work?

the find --set-root

find --set-root /bootmgr

this command finds the partition with the file /bootmgr and sets the partition to root? then what if there are more than 1 partition with the file /bootmgr?

err when i try

find --set-root /deploy.tag

chainloader /ntldr

does the find --set-root sets the partition with the tag file as root such that when i do a chainloader, it looks for the correct file? in this case ntldr? or do i need a map/root command?

rootnoverify whats it for?

13.3.32 rootnoverify